Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭armchair fusilier

what is mark horgan's job then? i'm not trying to annoy you, i'm genuinely interested.
    are all the researchers/producers on moncreiff's show considered journalists too then?

Mark took a year off, I'm not sure whether Simon was then the producer or maybe it was a joint venture with him and Murph. Before Horgan left he was the producer and the other two were the researchers, since he came back I think the definitions of roles have become a bit blurred. Has to said, the show didn't suffer any while he was away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 BertMark

what is mark horgan's job then? i'm not trying to annoy you, i'm genuinely interested.
    are all the researchers/producers on moncreiff's show considered journalists too then?

Afaik Horgan is the one closest to what outsiders would think of when they hear "producer". He's the boss essentially.

Yeah, everyone on moncrieff is a journalist too. Same with every show at Newstalk really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

BertMark wrote: »
    Afaik Horgan is the one closest to what outsiders would think of when they hear "producer". He's the boss essentially.

Yeah, everyone on moncrieff is a journalist too. Same with every show at Newstalk really.

as armchair fusilier said, there's a serious blurring of the lines all over the shop. moncrieff lists off a load of people at the end of every show, as producers - michael quilligan, caroline clark, henry mckean etc. some of them are comfortable with the microphone, like what would be the case with off the ball.
    why don't they call themselves journalists if they are? their twitter/linkedin etc all say producers but not journos. :confused:

anyway, veering way off topic, it's probably one for the main newstalk thread, but i can't be arsed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 BertMark

as armchair fusilier said, there's a serious blurring of the lines all over the shop. moncrieff lists off a load of people at the end of every show, as producers - michael quilligan, caroline clark, henry mckean etc. some of them are comfortable with the microphone, like what would be the case with off the ball.
    why don't they call themselves journalists if they are? their twitter/linkedin etc all say producers but not journos. :confused:

anyway, veering way off topic, it's probably one for the main newstalk thread, but i can't be arsed.

I don't want to sound smart but what do you think a radio producer or researcher does? And where do you see a difference between that and a journalist?

I'd imagine they call themselves producers because that's what they are. They don't feel the need to point out that they're also journalists. Much like an editor at a newspaper wouldn't need to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 374 ✭✭theholyghost

Gilroy on again today. He must be the hardest working man in radio. If he worked for RTE he d been on serious money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭Chris 80

Brats. Spolied brats the lot of them....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

McDevitt was hosting the Dublin match on Setanta earlier on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

McDevitt was hosting the Dublin match on Setanta earlier on.

He surely has to be the target for RTE when Bill O Herlihy retires after the 14 World Cup (Darragh doesn't cut it Imo). If were him I'd keep building my tv profile and forget about radio, McDevitt's future lies in television.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

He surely has to be the target for RTE when Bill O Herlihy retires after the 14 World Cup (Darragh doesn't cut it Imo). If were him I'd keep building my tv profile and forget about radio, McDevitt's future lies in television.

I was at a Newstalk OB at christmas, Bill O herlihy was talking to Tom Dunne promoting his book, now like you, I thought Eoin would be a good replacement for Bill who said he will retire after the world cup in Brazil, however, Bill said that day that Darragh Maloney was being lined up to replace him, Bill said he thought it was the right choice because he was fulfilling that role already in the sports department in rte and was an excellent broadcaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

It's fairly obvious that Darragh is the planned replacement. He has been in the secondary role for quite a while now. Unless he doesnt want it, it's his.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

Was passing a newstand this morning & I'm almost the Irish Times had a line on the front page saying Ken Early is joining them.
    (apologies if this is old news & has already been posted)

Hidalgo wrote: »
    Was passing a newstand this morning & I'm almost the Irish Times had a line on the front page saying Ken Early is joining them.
    (apologies if this is old news & has already been posted)

His debut column...

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/lucky-general-trapattoni-hasn-t-met-his-waterloo-just-yet-1.1337844#.UVAhl5qI_Y5.twitter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,693 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Well the Times took on a lot of ex-Tribune staff so I guess they see themselves as having a 'duty of care' to high-profile unemployed journos..

I suppose next thing Murph will be churning out his own 'country pages' for the Tuam Herald...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,043 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

dulpit wrote: »
    Jesus, could he have made that column more high-brow if he tried?

That is one way of describing it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Decent article,makes a change from the usual Paul Hyland-esque shíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,581 ✭✭✭quad_red

I loved Ken's little tangents on the air but that just reads like total drivel.

quad_red wrote: »

I loved Ken's little tangents on the air but that just reads like total drivel.

I don't think it's drivel, it's just Ken. You could easily imagine him fitting in the battle of Waterloo, ABBA, Le Mis...etc into one of his news rounds - it would have been one of his better ones. He has been writing a column for Irish Examiner for the past couple of years and on the whole they have been very good (I assume he has left the examiner now).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Temaz

Pretty terrible article

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

these "football writers" just get smugger and smugger with their views

Early makes an arse out of himself trying to sound witty and intelligent, not the first time and certainly won't be the last

Yes, those posters who have expressed a dislike for ken on the radio also dislike him in print - what a surprise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭soc160

Yes, those posters who have expressed a dislike for ken on the radio also dislike him in print - what a surprise.

Least they're being consistent....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Nice one Ken.

Is it a weekly column or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,693 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Was that Colm Parkinson reporting on the Arsenal game tonight?

Well at least they had a genuine soccer expert on this evening talking about the Austria game. David Brady.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Jasus they've killed the IT with a copy cat design of the indo!

(terrible column as well, I assume its meant to be a side-ways glance at sport or some such)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Ciaran

I heard some of the show tonight not having listened in a while. Who was the guy on with Ger? He mentioned a name at the end but I didn't catch it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭The Guardian

these new developments are not working for anyone
    earley is a useless writer
    and david brady on off the ball tonight talking bout everything from nfl helmets to ireland -v- austria - wtf :eek:
    total farce of a show now
    the rte version will soon sound more professional
    jaysus, even fiona looney on otb is now sounding like an option

• Subscribers Posts: 16,894 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

He's grand on air as can throw a pile of that kinda stuff out, some hits, some misses. In print a massive miss like that isn't good enough. Shockingly bad article. First half is meaningless drivel.

Hopefully they will a actually do a bit of editorial work with him in future and help him along rather than letting something like that through. They should have let the first paragraph go, then lost the rest of the first half and put more actual intelligent sports reporting in rather than poor historical analysis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Ciaran

and david brady on off the ball tonight talking bout everything from nfl helmets to ireland -v- austria - wtf :eek:

I had to google him to see who he is. Has he any background in anything other than GAA? He sounded to me like he was spoofing on Austria game preview and seemed unaware that Ireland had played in the stadium in Montenegro that England are playing in tomorrow.

copacetic wrote: »
    He's grand on air as can throw a pile of that kinda stuff out, some hits, some misses. In print a massive miss like that isn't good enough. Shockingly bad article. First half is meaningless drivel.

Hopefully they will a actually do a bit of editorial work with him in future and help him along rather than letting something like that through. They should have let the first paragraph go, then lost the rest of the first half and put more actual intelligent sports reporting in rather than poor historical analysis.

I thought it was an entertaining read.

It's not his first column, these would be more typical of the work he has been doing...

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/columnists/ken-early/curious-case-of-a-natural-born-thriller-198237.html

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/columnists/ken-early/bigots-keeping-thatchers-flame-alive-207811.html