Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

reilig wrote: »
    Bought a ring roller last weekend. Tested it out on ground that was poached last summer yesterday evening and it works a dream - doesn'tcompact the top of the soil flat like an ordinary roller. Hoping to make a frame for it to add a barrel of water to it for extra weight for drier ground in the coming weeks - although it is deceivingly heavy! Should also be very useful for any reseeding that I do this year.

Every flat roller ever built should be smelted down, work of the devil along with powerharrows for working soil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Bought a ring roller last weekend. Tested it out on ground that was poached last summer yesterday evening and it works a dream - doesn'tcompact the top of the soil flat like an ordinary roller. Hoping to make a frame for it to add a barrel of water to it for extra weight for drier ground in the coming weeks - although it is deceivingly heavy! Should also be very useful for any reseeding that I do this year.

I see a few of them on donedeal, ones off bigger machines with frames made up for them.

Do you think it'I be a better job than the chain harrow Reilig? Could you not have levelled with the link box with a few blocks in it, then used the chain harrow or is this a quicker and simpler job? Would it be any good for rolling in grass seed or have you a flat roller for this? Sorry for the 'questions and answers' session :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

Muckit wrote: »

I see a few of them on donedeal, ones off bigger machines with frames made up for them.

Do you think it'I be a better job than the chain harrow Reilig? Could you not have levelled with the link box with a few blocks in it, then used the chain harrow or is this a quicker and simpler job? Would it be any good for rolling in grass seed or have you a flat roller for this? Sorry for the 'questions and answers' session :D
    Have a chain harrow works well once ya take your time using it results are fine with it I find nice and slow does the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

Muckit wrote: »
    +1. It's borderline genius :) I'd rip out the back seat, mats and boot lining though and pull the bung out of the wheel well for the p*ss!! Bit of straw and bobs your uncle. 4door be the way to go to get in to clean out!! :D

Oh and cut out a sheet of ply to keep him out of the front seats.... that way you could just hop in and drive to the vets if he started to go down hill !!!!!! :D:p:D:D:D:D:D:D

oh and I'd wire the fan directly to have it on all the time so the engine wouldn't blow up!!!

You could go a step further buy and old merc sprinter or iveco daily, rear the calves in it then drop them round wherever you want and still use it to take them to the mart at 2yr olds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Suckler wrote: »
    Since I've emigrated, It's a blessing having mine there keeping things ticking over. He is retired but enjoys the pressure free farming.

Although - Anyone here with a Psychiatry degree - I want a study done on the subject of "Aul lads loving Hardship". Some ideas lead to so much hardship it looks as though he thought out ways to waste time and punish himself!

I reckon that'd make a great book. One half with the ould lads giving out stink about the young fellas folly with this gadget or that, and the other half with the hardship stories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Every flat roller ever built should be smelted down, work of the devil along with powerharrows for working soil.
    What's the issue with power harrows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Massey10 wrote: »
    If there is a hard way to do a thing they will find it alright

It's more than that I think they stay up at night thinking things through and dismissing options one after the other until they come up with the most awkward and time consuming method possible. You couldn't think this s**t up on the spot.

just do it wrote: »
    What's the issue with power harrows?

There mustn't be enough stone where bob is farming so he feels the need to use a spring tine to bring a few to the surface.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

One of those days here folks. Watching a cow calf from work. All grand but decided to come home and check anyway, as she kinda calved him into a corner. Cow was stone mad and wouldn't let me near the calf. Calf was full of life and trying to get up so decided to head back to work. Looking at the calf again from work and thinking, fook - they look like his intestines.
    Back home again and yep, he had all his small intestines lying out on the dirty straw. Luckily vet was only 10 mins away, so she put them back in and stitched him up.
    Time to stomach tube him so had to milk the mad bitch in the crush.Get 1 litre from her and on 2nd run she stands down on the tube and breaks it half way down. Had an old stomach tube bag so used that. Anyway fingers crossed, he'll live.Vet was going on the colour of the intestines. They were starting to go black, which is not a good sign. They were out maybe 2 hours. Vet reckons cow tore him open when licking the naval.:( There's always something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

pakalasa wrote: »
    One of those days here folks. Watching a cow calf from work. All grand but decided to come home and check anyway, as she kinda calved him into a corner. Cow was stone mad and wouldn't let me near the calf. Calf was full of life and trying to get up so decided to head back to work. Looking at the calf again from work and thinking, fook - they look like his intestines.
    Back home again and yep, he had all his small intestines lying out on the dirty straw. Luckily vet was only 10 mins away, so she put them back in and stitched him up.
    Time to stomach tube him so had to milk the mad bitch in the crush.Get 1 litre from her and on 2nd run she stands down on the tube and breaks it half way down. Had an old stomach tube bag so used that. Anyway fingers crossed, he'll live.Vet was going on the colour of the intestines. They were starting to go black, which is not a good sign. They were out maybe 2 hours. :( There's always something.

Christ, some dose. Is that from the cow going to hard on the navel or what?

Bizzum wrote: »
    Yep, vet reckons so. Cow was also the one that got caught up in cubicles so maybe that too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Yep, vet reckons so. Cow was also the one that got caught up in cubicles so maybe that too.

We had a cow tear put the intestines like that before. I know a lot of people will not agree, but we stopped pitting the iodine on the navel after ot as the cows were mad after it and were licking it all the time. We spray alamycin on it now. We find they don't like this so much ;-).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Bizzum wrote: »

Jeez that's hard luck. You'd think ure ok when the cow calves him alright.

Time to stomach tube him so had to milk the mad bitch in the crush.Get 1 litre from her and on 2nd run she stands down on the tube and breaks it half way down. Had an old stomach tube bag so used that. Anyway fingers crossed, he'll live.Vet was going on the colour of the intestines. They were starting to go black, which is not a good sign. They were out maybe 2 hours. Vet reckons cow tore him open when licking the naval.:( There's always something.
    Jeez pak that is tough look. I hope the calf pulls through and his fighting spirit should help, doesn't sound good though. Those mad cows just aren't worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

The camera is worth its weight in gold for spotting that kinda thing , hope he does well for you

We had a cow tear put the intestines like that before. I know a lot of people will not agree, but we stopped pitting the iodine on the navel after ot as the cows were mad after it and were licking it all the time. We spray alamycin on it now. We find they don't like this so much ;-).
    Treating the navel is over-rated. A clean dry bed is ten times more important. Think about it. The umbilical cord remains fresh for 2-3 hours during which time bugs can travel up and cause infection. Iodine/ alymcin spray is worn off/ licked off in a few minutes. Prevention is better than cure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

sea12 wrote: »

Jeez that's hard luck. You'd think ure ok when the cow calves him alright.
    When you are doing everything right there are still things like this that will happen that you won't be prepared for, that's farming for ya. Hope he pulls through for u pak, a friend had the same happen with a lamb last year and he lived after the vet stitched him up. On another note I had a calf last year and the cord stayed bleeding fairly heavily because the cow was licking it, I tied a bot of baler twine around it to stop it and he was ok, yet another use for a bit of twine :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

There is always something, hope calf pulls tru, never heard that before, by the way how far is your camera to work

moy83 wrote: »
    The camera is worth its weight in gold for spotting that kinda thing , hope he does well for you
    Thanks, camera has been great in fairness. What I like most about it is, I can keep on things without disturbing the cow. You know when you go into a shed to look at a cow, it takes her a long time to calm down again and get on with things. Record function is handy too. I put it on low fps (frames per second) and check if calf drinks cow.
    just do it wrote: »
    Jeez pak that is tough look. I hope the calf pulls through and his fighting spirit should help, doesn't sound good though. Those mad cows just aren't worth it.
    She was marked to go, but I had two heifers throw calves this year, so she will stay a while more. I've had wilder to be honest.

Thanks, camera has been great in fairness. What I like most about it is, I can keep on things without disturbing the cow. You know when you go into a shed to look at a cow, it takes her a long time to calm down again and get on with things. Record function is handy too. I put it on low fps (frames per second) and check if calf drinks cow.
    Agree 100% with you regarding not disturbing the cow. It's also been an education watching them as you see a lot more of their pre-calving antics on camera than when they know you're hiding around the corner.
    She was marked to go, but I had two heifers throw calves this year, so she will stay a while more. I've had wilder to be honest.
    I know what you mean. At times I think you'd be left with no cow in the place if you culled for everything. She's one for a terminal sire so.

hugo29 wrote: »
    There is always something, hope calf pulls tru, never heard that before, by the way how far is your camera to work
    Work is 15 mins away. It's an IP camera, so access over the internet. I've a brother in the states, who looks in the odd time. He's amazed by it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Work is 15 mins away. It's an IP camera, so access over the internet. I've a brother in the states, who looks in the odd time. He's amazed by it.

Where would a man start to research one of these, sounds just what I need ,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

I've heard this linked with iodine deficiency in the cow too.
    Redzer mentioned tying the cord. I used to tie off the cord on every calf born at one time. I came across some article citing tying off the cord being linked with increased infection, so I stopped. We dip now with iodine but only after the cow has cleaned off and accepted the calf. We had a Geiger reject a calf and rightly or wrongly I blamed the iodine goin on too soon.
    Particularly a heifer, they can be funny!

hugo29 wrote: »
    Where would a man start to research one of these, sounds just what I need ,
    Here's a good starting point: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056741425. Paka and myself have posted about our recently set up cameras. Did the same set up for a friend about a fortnight ago and he's delighted with it.

P.S. Now the smartphone is a justifiable expense as I need it to watch the cows while I'm away with the real job ;)

Just to let ye know, I had no iodine on the naval when this happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

The navels are a disaster if you have a cow who is rough cleaning the calf .
    Happened here a couple of years ago . Navel pulled off and the calf bled out .

Since then every calf that is born , has the string cut as short as possible with a surgical scissors which has been dipped in iodine minutes after its born , and a thick spraying on the area , provided were there at that time .

We tried it with the first few calves , expecting them to begin bleeding straight away , or eventually get infected due to the shortness of the navel , but we never have any trouble wit either .

Just peace of mind when you can go back to bed after calving , with one less thing running through the head keeping you awake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Sorry pak to hear about your calf hopefully it'll make full recovery.

I started digging for entrance / cattle crush on new place today... Lifted a section of stone wall too.. It's great feeling to start afresh on tidying up a new piece ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Bodacious wrote: »
    Sorry pak to hear about your calf hopefully it'll make full recovery.

I started digging for entrance / cattle crush on new place today... Lifted a section of stone wall too.. It's great feeling to start afresh on tidying up a new piece ...

Don't forget to take a few photos as it progresses, we're nosey folk round here. And they are nice to have down the line too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Few years ago we bought a young limousin bull and had him running with a small part of the herd as he wasn't too strong. Every second calf that was born from him had the gut come out like that through the navel. Some of them had the gut pulled out as they dropped from the cow. We lost 4 calves in this way over a few weeks and on the vet's advice, we didn't keep the bull. Vet reconed that the bull had a genetic weakness which was passed to the calves to cause this.

Vet reconed that the bull had a genetic weakness which was passed to the calves to cause this.

I wonder are they doing genomic tests for that one?