Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

Very quiet here today,everyone must be away for the weekend!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

td5man wrote: »

No getting away with cows!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

What's the story with 2014 being the base year for SFP calculations? Is that gone out the window at this stage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Dont be daft

yip, Probably one of the easiest diseases to spot and treat. So simple that I taught she may have something more complicated. Gave her a big shot of Cortisone to reduce any swelling on the brain and an anti-biotic to kill the infection which is usually easy enough depending on how far it has advanced, probably too late in my case.

Sickener.
    TBH it sounds to me like it might have been something different.
    Most times I lost anything to listeriosis they just faded away for a week or two and I ended up shooting them.

Might have been a case of the swelling causing some kind of haemorrhage or other unusual complication.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

we where at foooooootball, alls good her team won 2-1 and are top of the table, there are only 2 girls on the team

watching the rugby, think i will go and let my cows in after that try:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

Well the wooden spoon it looks like sad way for BOD to go if he does retire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭saranac1

Thanks guys for the help, went to vet and got injection and anti inflammatory injection. Gave it to the heifer today, went out just now to put a blanket over the heifer and she was up standing on all four feet, will be gingerly I'd say till mon but ill fatten her from now till jan and hopefully get something from her in jan

saranac1 wrote: »
    Thanks guys for the help, went to vet and got injection and anti inflammatory injection. Gave it to the heifer today, went out just now to put a blanket over the heifer and she was up standing on all four feet, will be gingerly I'd say till mon but ill fatten her from now till jan and hopefully get something from her in jan
    Good stuff, great to hear she's up. Tie her back legs together above the hocks if you think she could do the splits. 7-10 days will she her right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭dzer2

No went to the mart today happy enough. I tell you there is some serious cattle out there and fair play to the lads that are doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

just do it wrote: »
    I take the opposite view regarding lifting her. Leave her time. Imagine your pelvis is in bits and you've nerve paralysis. Time is what you need. When you break a bone in your leg the advice isn't to stand on it as soon as you can and walk as soon as you can. It is immobilsed to give it time to heal. Lift her only to ensure she is on either a deep soft bed or outside. When she's ready she'll get up, and this can take 3 to 4 weeks. That of course is unless there is too much damage done.

Not according to the only research I could find on it. They induced paralysis in a number of cows to create nerve damage. They seperated them into groups and treated them in a number of different ways. The one with the best success rate was where they got stuck in early and kept working on the cow as much as possible keeping them rolled onto different sides and lifting regularly. I can't find that study but here's a couple of other links.

http://www.merckvetmanual.com/mvm/index.jsp?cfile=htm/bc/91100.htm

http://www.smithtonvet.com/downloads/Nursing%20Downer%20Cows.pdf

http://www.nda.da.gov.ph/vetbuddy151.htm

I can't find one advocating the same course of action as you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

just do it wrote: »
    I take the opposite view regarding lifting her. Leave her time. Imagine your pelvis is in bits and you've nerve paralysis. Time is what you need. When you break a bone in your leg the advice isn't to stand on it as soon as you can and walk as soon as you can. It is immobilsed to give it time to heal. Lift her only to ensure she is on either a deep soft bed or outside. When she's ready she'll get up, and this can take 3 to 4 weeks. That of course is unless there is too much damage done.

Does the same apply to people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

My best heifer threw out an OZS bull calf there 290 days . Scanner man says heifer but fine red lim bull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Lofty0990

Happy paddys day to one and all!

Does the same apply to people?
    Yes. People spend weeks in traction for a severe pelvic fracture. However nerve paralysis is different and can't say what they do. I'd imagine though that it will be controlled rehabilitation. On that note, my heart goes out to RT McNamara who's current in an induced coma. Here's hoping he makes a full recovery.

snowing heavy here this morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

Same here .
    And sticking .
    Hope it stops , for the sake of the kids and the parades

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

whelan1 wrote: »
    snowing heavy here this morning

Seriously? We put weanlings out this morning. Lovely day, it was time to get rid of the body warmer.when we were coming in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Same here Freedom, gone alittle overcast now, but snow, naaay!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

No snow here, but got my lambing dates correct after all, first ewe lamb arrived this morning.

raining here now... getting turkey ready for oven, milk early and have a few sociables... if everything goes to plan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

raining here now... getting turkey ready for oven, milk early and have a few sociables... if everything goes to plan
    what time will it be ready and on the table as i dont want to be late:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭case 5150

can sing that whelan1, cows be in staright after the hurling match and either celebrations or cosmirations we will drink the pub dry tonight, come on kk

my arm has been twisted going to have a beer. cheers, enjoy the day:)

leg wax wrote: »
    what time will it be ready and on the table as i dont want to be late:D
    turkey was delish, cooked it in aga and could smell it while i was in yard doing jobs.... just like a christmas dinner had all the trimmings, roasties, brussel sprouts, ham... am stuffed now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

you would swear the bull planned it. cow started to calve just before parade, so had to avoid beering and now watching another 1 for shortly and 4 more within the next few days. Glad to be getting them out of the way but they should know its paddys day.
    Apart from that the cow that calved threw the biggest limo heifer i ever seen round this place, absolute cracker. The bull only got to clean up the last few last year on a trial basis, so it looks like he is staying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

turkey was delish, cooked it in aga and could smell it while i was in yard doing jobs.... just like a christmas dinner had all the trimmings, roasties, brussel sprouts, ham... am stuffed now
    we went out for something to eat after the oh finished work at the parade and i had turkey and ham and it was fantastic, smiled when i saw it on the menu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

hugo29 wrote: »
    Have a calf with what seems sore back leg, standing with hump, gingerly puts weight on it, not swollen and calf sucking so confused

Jayus been nursing that calf all weekend, no temp, no swollen navel, just stands ther with hump, had to call vet today, tubed her vitamins gave her rumen booster, vet can't see anything wrong, spent two hours there now and evanyually got calf to suck but she just sucks a bit stands there sucks a bit more and so on, anyone had a calf like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,887 ✭✭✭mf240

hugo29 wrote: »
    Jayus been nursing that calf all weekend, no temp, no swollen navel, just stands ther with hump, had to call vet today, tubed her vitamins gave her rumen booster, vet can't see anything wrong, spent two hours there now and evanyually got calf to suck but she just sucks a bit stands there sucks a bit more and so on, anyone had a calf like that

Does she pull back real quick when sucking, like as if she has hurt herself?

Any chance she has a broken/bruised rib could the cow have stood on her?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

mf240 wrote: »
    Does she pull back real quick when sucking, like as if she has hurt herself?

Any chance she has a broken/bruised rib could the cow have stood on her?

Don't think stood on, possibility a puck though from other cows on slats, doesn't pull back but like she can't suck that much without stopping, and coughs after, very weak there tonight but came round a bit after suckle,