Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irishisms

• Registered Users Posts: 670 ✭✭✭123 LC

I will ya = no

• Registered Users Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Apanachi

'Grand'.

That's a uniquely Irish thing apparently that tends to confuse people who aren't from here!

My English cousin finds it hilarious when I say "grand". I was over visiting her a while back and she kept asking me questions for which the standard Irish person's answer would be "grand" and kept giggling, took me a while to cop on...

• Registered Users Posts: 295 ✭✭shrewd

using the word "Jumper." instead of a sweater

This had in confused state for a couple weeks after arriving in Ireland.
    i was determined to find the origin of this word.

then one day,someone told me that it became famous due to the song by The sultans of Ping FC. "Where is my jumper" ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

shrewd wrote: »
    using the word "Jumper." instead of a sweater

This had in confused state for a couple weeks after arriving in Ireland.
    i was determined to find the origin of this word.

then one day,someone told me that it became famous due to the song by The sultans of Ping FC. "Where is my jumper" ;)

People were saying jumper loooooong before that song came out.

• Registered Users Posts: 47 fehenry

MCMLXXV wrote: »

Ah, jumper was in common use long before the Sultans came along.
    I'm in Enda Kenny's age bracket and it was widely used when I was a child and probably for long before that.

• Registered Users Posts: 295 ✭✭shrewd

fehenry wrote: »
    Ah, jumper was in common use long before the Sultans came along.
    I'm in Enda Kenny's age bracket and it was widely used when I was a child and probably for long before that.

wow..,really?. Jaysus! <--that's another common irish saying. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

If we get anything resembling a heat wave
    'tis too hot'.

replacing the word great with mighty. Sure twas mighty craic altogether.

Old lads pronouncing cap as cwap and calling anyone by the name of Séamus Shamus

• Registered Users Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Hidalgo wrote: »
    Old lads pronouncing cap as cwap and calling anyone by the name of Séamus Shamus

Say wha?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Holy scutterin' Jaysus!

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭bob the bob

referring to the weather (as we do)

"it's fierce mild"

• Registered Users Posts: 863 ✭✭✭GastroBoy

Not liking the "cut" of someone...

or for that matter..

Not liking the cut of someones "jib"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

Say wha?

Cap is often pronounced kwáp. Not a very good attempt at trying to spell it phonetically. Could be just a phrase used in certain parts of the wilderness.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Phoney comes from fáinne, meaning ring: A cheap-ass ring that Irish emmigrants flogged to the Yanks.

Smithereens comes from smiodarín / smidrín: meaning 'little bits'.

Galore comes from Go Leor: Plenty.

There are many more, but these ones are confirmed.
    "Can you dig it?" comes from "An dtuigeann tú?", meaning "Do you understand?"

• Registered Users Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭trashcan

Absolutely. It's always been a jumper to me. I've never heard any Irish person refer to it as a Sweater, never.

• Registered Users Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

despite being an irish-english native of england to a rough talking tipp dad, and donegal mum,and having a irish upbringing,there is some words that am caught out by,and which also bring many a laugh to those who can understand his accent.
    firstly,-
    -turd [third]. eg,dad anouncing his latest hospital appointment 'have to go to osbidal on the turd'. or otherwise anouncing the third of a month gets some looks and laughs.
    -tree [three]. eg,he used to ask locals where a riding school was when had first started going and because it had the name 'three' in it,they all assumed he meant tree and thus denied all existance of the place.
    -danus [dangerous],he makes the word sound less serious than it shoud be.
    -cripes. whenever talking to his bredrins in ireland he cannot stop saying cripes.
    -fierce bad. -he is also the same with this one,eg 'cripes dats fierce bad alan,da weathor isnt to bad over here,some storm clouds maybe...'.
    -tae. uncle is mad for using this instead of tea.
    -filim.
    -jaysus get away wid yah.

• Registered Users Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Paddyfield

One of my kids was born premature a spent a long time in a Special Care Baby Unit.

During that time, I encountered many other parents from various parts of the world who were often left bewildered by the irishisms of the medical staff.

One French mum asked a a doctor about her little son who weighed less than 1KG.
    "He's grand" came the reply which translates as 'big' in to French.

Another parent, I'd say she was Polish, was told that her son "...was not too bad". She burst into tears as she took this as bad news.

My favourite was when a dad of African origin asked from a nurse who came from the ar$e end of Mayo about his child. "She's sucking diesel" came the reply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

-Leelo- wrote: »
    Gis a goo - Let me see

LOL, hadn't heard that in ages

Or "put the goo on me for....." ie a craving for something.

Also, has anybody said "What's de story?" yet?(tlr after pg 10:D)

One of my favorites

"Ya blind feckin goobee"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

humberklog wrote: »
    We go to the shops for messages, some of these messages are minerals. We put some of these messages in a press.

And when you really want to confuse the fordiners tell them about the "hot press":pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,136 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

Hidalgo wrote: »
    If we get anything resembling a heat wave
    'tis too hot'.

replacing the word great with mighty. Sure twas mighty craic altogether.

Cwap? Kwap? I've heard 'kyap' - but neither of those variants...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,136 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

Gah - accidental replication. Apologies

• Registered Users Posts: 4 cyril peter

i cant keep up with you dragging behind me.

now i know where i am, i'm lost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

'' How's the form '' ?

which to an English/British person sounds like

'' How's the farm '' ?

and is usually met with the reply

'' but I don't live on or own a farm ''

• Registered Users Posts: 33 Sensual Cucumber

West Kerry elderly relation who refuses to curse.

Well holy be to peter = Oh my fcukin god
    "Ah Jeeerrusalem" in a very loud and aggressive tone = ah for fcuk sake

• Registered Users Posts: 4,760 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

I was often called a "Ludramon" in my youth, not sure how common that one is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

Latchy wrote: »
    '' How's the form '' ?

which to an English/British person sounds like

'' How's the farm '' ?

and is usually met with the reply

'' but I don't live on or own a farm ''

However the French say "en forme?" all the time so it's not the worst one.

Northern people saying "I'll lift ya at your house".

Kerry people saying "yerra ya" meaning no.

Cork people saying "I will, boyyy" meaning no.

Ludramán would be a common replacement for amadán in Gaeltacht areas.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

That feen is clayn rulya.
    Yon beure is pure munya.
    How's the gassuns and gershas?
    Yer ma's yer da. (your mas is your da.)
    How's it segastiating? Fierce combunctious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

****ed if I know

get out a dat garden

go wan ta ****

what are you on?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭El Inho

i remember a big black lad in San Diego had to be calmed down fairly lively when I asked him "Could I bum a fag?".

• Registered Users Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

He's some boy for one boy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

"well, if it is'nt yourself"! :D

(On unexpectedly meeting an aquaintance).