If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Ger Gilroy putting the split solely down to the starting at 6pm issue...

Sorry, I'm not buying that. I can't believe that five men would give up their jobs over an issue like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭Peanut Butter Jelly

Seems the Indo got it right, they looked for extra time and didn't get it. Seem a bit of an excessive reaction for them to be gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Ger said the lads pitched to start at six, but station management couldnt accomdate them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭lmao

Doesn't add up for me I'm afraid!

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Ger Gilroy putting the split solely down to the starting at 6pm issue...

Sorry, I'm not buying that. I can't believe that five men would give up their jobs over an issue like that.

Totally agree. I cant believe five people would resign over that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

They fell out over starting at 6pm, hookie must have got the hump, surely they could have split the difference at 6.30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Seems the Indo got it right, they looked for extra time and didn't get it. Seem a bit of an excessive reaction for them to be gone.

Two sides to every story, there has to be more to this than a disagreement about the Programme's scheduling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

Thats a big dummy to spit.. I can't imagine they would have walked all together without something else to go to.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 91 ✭✭TheOldHand

Very acrimonious ending with the instant ending of the show and removal of pictures form the newstalk site. The 6pm start will be at best a minor factor in whatever happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭Doctor Strange

Feck sake :( Loved listening to the lads in the evening. Ger's a good host, but it's not the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭armchair fusilier

I don't buy this wanting to start at 6 0'clock pitch nonsense. Ger was just just towing the company line. Ah Feck it, I couldn't be arsed listening to the rest this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Ultimate Ultan

TheOldHand wrote: »
    Very acrimonious ending with the instant ending of the show and removal of pictures form the newstalk site. The 6pm start will be at best a minor factor in whatever happened.

In fairness, once they'd gone, they had to take the pictures down. I'm sure Eoin and the boys wouldn't want their images used to advertise a show that they'd just left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,199 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

No way a disagreement over starting the show an hour earlier would have triggered an almost instant mass resignation. Certainly more to it than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

can anybody think of a reason why they'd want to start at 6?

it doesn't make sense as they can't really finish at 9 with any games taking place, and 4 hours live would be a very long haul.

as much as anyone may not like hook, his listenership was much higher, so there's no way NT would run with cutting his show.

If Ger's doing OTB, who's gonna do the weekend shows?

To be honest, i'm not certain that I want to know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭Doctor Strange

Also, Ger sounded like he was reading out what he was told to say about the split. Didn't sound convinced at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Wierd listening to the 'new' show now.

Oh and Sam Smyth will be hosting Vincent Browne tonight instead of auld Vinny,presumably he's too broken up about today's OTB happenings to appear on TV!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,594 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Also, Ger sounded like he was reading out what he was told to say about the split. Didn't sound convinced at all.

Agreed. Sounds like a fudge to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Totally agree. I cant believe five people would resign over that.

the only thing i'm thinking is that maybe the 5 of them were one company, and that company was contracted to present the show. would save a lot of money tax wise for them. plenty of shows on bbc radio are presented this way, as are many of the 'stars' on RTE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

They fell out over starting at 6pm, hookie must have got the hump, surely they could have split the difference at 6.30

What? They can't go around dictating the scheduling of the station. If this is indeed all there is to it, (hard enough to believe I agree) the lads are very much in the wrong here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

Maybe they wanted to be told no rather than just resigning ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,746 ✭✭✭touts

No way the whole team would suddenly resign for a stupid issue like starting at 6pm. They must have something else lined up. My bet is they will serve their notice time off air (like Ian Dempsey did when he left RTE) and will then appear on another station probably with live coverage of midweek matches etc. I actually feel sorry for the rest of the crew at Newstalk having their workmates jump ship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Ultimate Ultan

Off The Ball are meant to part of a Table Quiz upstairs in Whelan's on Thursday in aid of Ballyowen Meadows Special School. I wonder which OTB will be there?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 243 ✭✭Fits Morris

Some serious sifting through a big pile of abusive texts going on in the production room right now.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

Kinda sad to hear the tweets being read out for the lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,430 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

I actually really like Ger Gilroy , but on his show at the weekend. During the week I'm looking for something a little more.

Ken and the lads offered us something different. It almost felt like I was sitting beside them in their football and sport discussions.

It was (how would you put it) intimate. It was a like a group therapy session for all thing sports. It was something for the lads. I could listen whilst out for a run and was never overly quizzed about what was going on by the other half.

They never took themselves to seriously, but took all things sport seriously which is what I loved.

It will genuinely not be the same without them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,594 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

AngeGal wrote: »
    Can you give some links or quotes please? I'm not a twitter user.

Too many to quote. Here is the timeline with #offtheball mentions. Have a read through this. It has been top trending in Ireland this evening which says a lot for its popularity.

https://twitter.com/search/realtime?q=%23offtheball&src=tren

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

The over reaction here is absolutely hilarious. Well done lads, ye truly have put a grin on my ace on this bleak hungover Monday. I am sure Newstalk will be devastated at losing a few interweb fanboys.

Kudos.

Ciaran_B wrote: »
    Kinda sad to hear the tweets being read out for the lads.

Yeah, it is. Very sad. This b*llocks is making me pretty angry.

gimmick wrote: »
    The over reaction here is absolutely hilarious. Well done lads, ye truly have put a grin on my ace on this bleak hungover Monday. I am sure Newstalk will be devastated at losing a few interweb fanboys.

Kudos.

Em...i'd say a radio station probably should be concerned about losing some interweb fanboys. Or "listeners" as they probably call them.