If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Maybe they will go on line? A youtube channel and a webstream station. Sorted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭yohan the great

Who is going to present the football show I wonder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭sundula

Richie Sadiler.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭soc160

Any chance we could see them move over to television, Eoin has worked for Setanta already. Not sure how it would work though, just a possibility. Or they could all head onto different projects, I mean Ken could move to England and find work over there, no way could I see them all move abroad though, wouldn't work as someone mentioned already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

George Hook currently do a half hour piece on botox. :pac:

If it turns out to be the case (which I doubt) that they resigned largely due to not getting the hour, all I can say is LOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

Ger Gilroy, Newstalk Sports Editor, who devised Off the Ball in 2002, will be joined by mainstays of the Newstalk sports team - Cian Murtagh, David McIntyre and Joe Molloy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

"Good Evening, I'm Fionn Davenport and you're very welcome to the Football Show"

scream.jpg

I feel sorry for poor Cian....

".....tomorrow on Liveline, Joe asks for you to share your memories of OTB....."

Mary in Clontarf: ".....ah yeah Joe it had to be the time, when Ken met Haddaway during the 2010 World Cup....."

Shane Coleman? He seems to pop up on all the other shows on the station anyway... or Ian Geiger as well...

Heh, just saw a comment on Facebook that said:

"The way NT is going ye'll probably give the OTB slot to Global Village." :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,198 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

dvcireland wrote: »
    Ger Gilroy, Newstalk Sports Editor, who devised Off the Ball in 2002, will be joined by mainstays of the Newstalk sports team - Cian Murtagh, David McIntyre and Joe Molloy

Not exactly a lot of laughs there for a start although I'm sure they will do a competent job.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

Not exactly a lot of laughs there for a start although I'm sure they will do a competent job.

Ah Gilroy ain't the worse. He does a fine job of the Saturday & Sunday show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭AngeGal

Aidric wrote: »
    It is widely regarded as the best sports show on radio, not just within Ireland but also abroad. Just look at the reaction on twitter from British and European football writers and commentators.

Therefore, yes, I do consider them to be prized assets.

Can you give some links or quotes please? I'm not a twitter user.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭sundula

It's the football show that's going to take the hit, Murph and Eoin are more replaceable than Ken in my opinion. Ger Gilroy does great at weekends and can easily handle OTB. I won't miss Hick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

Absolutely disgusted at this. Fair play to the lads for sticking together and walking en masse. Its a rare occurance in radio that you have listeners to a man voicing displeasure at the departure of one or more radio hosts. Off The Ball has been the best sports magazine show on national radio for years not purely because Eoin and the lads are sports fans first and radio hosts second but because of the almost casual jockular way they went about integrating banter and terrific interviews on every kind of sporting subject. This is a massive mistake by newstalk and I hope they are collectively on air again as soon as possible, i'll be lost a 7pm weeknights till they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

Cienciano wrote: »
    Gilroy is a scab, I'll refuse to listen to his show :mad:

ridiculously harsh statement. if someone i work with resigns, that doesn't mean that i refuse to work. gilroy is a very good interviewer, maybe not as 'fun' as the hairy fella, but he does get the most out of anyone he speaks to.

Ah Gilroy ain't the worse. He does a fine job of the Saturday & Sunday show

I agree but don't think he's in the same league as the lads. Put it this way I listened to it every night, won't be as bothered now.

sundula wrote: »
    It's the football show that's going to take the hit, Murph and Eoin are more replaceable than Ken in my opinion. Ger Gilroy does great at weekends and can easily handle OTB. I won't miss Hick.

Not sure about that, think Eoin is an excellent interviewer. And Murph is a funny fecker. It'll be hard to recreate that atmosphere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

ridiculously harsh statement. if someone i work with resigns, that doesn't mean that i refuse to work. gilroy is a very good interviewer, maybe not as 'fun' as the hairy fella, but he does get the most out of anyone he speaks to.

They can't be replaced and if they get a slot @ the same time on another station they will take 90% of the listeners with them, I'd love to know the details of the split. Going to tune in for the last time in tonight just to hear what's said on the departure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Ultimate Ultan

Not long now till the all new OTB. I wonder how many of the old jingles/music/quotes they'll use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

It is hard to know what is going on. I always thought Eoin McDevitt would fit in nicely at Five Live, but It is hard to see any foreign Broadcaster taking the whole Off The Ball Team. You would have to think they must have something lined up, but it is a huge loss to Newstalk.

I loved that show, along with Today with Pat Kenny it was one of the few Irish Speech Radio programmes that was as good or better than it's nearest equivalent on the BBC (In my opinion).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

Lol Hookie just said that Off The Boil was up next :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

Am devastated. I'm a fairly casual sports follower, but really enjoyed the banter with the lads even when I didn't have a clue what they were talking about.

Loved George Hook's Freudian slip just now about "Off the Boil" coming up next! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭styron

Hook's Freudian slip - just said "off the boil " on next ... followed by a plea for patience with the 'new team'.

*Snap*

Ger Gilroy,Joe Molloy, Dave McIntyre.....arrggghhhhh
    Noise-Pollution.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭opinionatedfan

looks like its not going to be addressed

Not long now till the all new OTB. I wonder how many of the old jingles/music/quotes they'll use?

Probably virtually all of them for the short-term anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Ultimate Ultan

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Probably virtually all of them for the short-term anyway.

Seems so so far.

That Hookie "Off the boil" line was hilarious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

Welllllll. Sticking to the 6pm start story??? Not bitter at all Newstalk! Sounds very odd.