Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I saw an abandoned classic and took a pic thread!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

68deville wrote: »

it could be?currently its on the Ross road side of the town
    I think I may know where it is, is it near carleys bridge? And is it for sale?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭Blue850

hi5 wrote: »
    ^ whats that to the right of it?

Ford Pilot V8?

4923139636_eba4687d1c_z.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Saab Ed wrote: »
    Thats a bit of an under statement ....

54085.jpg

( taken from a post by rotorhead in 2008 )

This is what I get for spending my afternoon looking through old threads! I'm fairly local to that garage :)

The Rover P4 used to be owned by a Doctor, Doctor McDonald to be exact. Used to visit my Dad in the late 50s, early 60s when he was a child. He can't remember the exact year, thinks it was 1954. Original Meath reg too, ZN 3209. He reckons it was lying there since the early 70s. Suicide rear doors

The O Neils like holding cars, my Dad told me of a 1967 Anglia that was crashed in 1968 was brought to that garage and was still there over 40 years later... Just in the door is a Zodiac, 1964. Can't remember how long it was there, since the 70s he thinks.

Orange Manta was theirs, TAI 333. Drove till the engine gave up and parked up, since the early 80s.

Most of those cars are gone a few years, to where I don't know. Dad was sad to see the Rover gone (and annoyed to see it left to rot) he hopes it went to an enthusiast to be restored :)

In the field behind and to one side of the shed in the pic were more cars. For years there was a pair of Escorts beside the shed just visible from the road, long gone now

• Registered Users Posts: 959 ✭✭✭manta mad

all brought in to a yard and out of site ,im told ..

orange A series manta is still their and to be restored !

think the rover was sold ,dunno but i can find out ..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭hi5

Blue850 wrote: »
    Ford Pilot V8?

4923139636_eba4687d1c_z.jpg

I thought so too, but the grille, bumpers and headlights look different, I was thinking more American 36 Ford, but the wings are different and it has a different grille too?
    Head lights look like they're side mounted.
    ford-36-coupe-replica-02.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 576 ✭✭✭MrFoxman360

dgt wrote: »
    This is what I get for spending my afternoon looking through old threads! I'm fairly local to that garage :)

The Rover P4 used to be owned by a Doctor, Doctor McDonald to be exact. Used to visit my Dad in the late 50s, early 60s when he was a child. He can't remember the exact year, thinks it was 1954. Original Meath reg too, ZN 3209. He reckons it was lying there since the early 70s. Suicide rear doors

I got that Rover p4 a few years back, a total and utter wreck, which was sad to see, would have been nice if it was restorable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I got that Rover p4 a few years back, a total and utter wreck, which was sad to see, would have been nice if it was restorable.

Well at least we know where it went! It was lying there for the guts of 40 years...

Cheers for sharing your story :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

This thing has been sitting in the car park of my local supermarket for a few weeks now with the ragtop open, it'll have squirrells living in it soon. I'll link to the pic as its quite big.

• Registered Users Posts: 822 ✭✭✭johnty56

FearDark wrote: »
    This thing has been sitting in the car park of my local supermarket for a few weeks now with the ragtop open, it'll have squirrells living in it soon. I'll link to the pic as its quite big.

What??? Jaysus that just doesn't seem right! Has it not moved in that time? Maybe nicked and left there? I wouldn't be able to stop myself from going over and closing roof at least

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

It's in New Zealand, it'll stay there for ages and nobody will go near it. Looks like theres something hanging off the car near the front wheels, like sunpension or womething so it's not going anywhere...

• Registered Users Posts: 822 ✭✭✭johnty56

Just saw that in the enlarged photo.. I was wondering how it had remained unmolested in an Irish supermarket car park for weeks!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

johnty56 wrote: »
    Just saw that in the enlarged photo.. I was wondering how it had remained unmolested in an Irish supermarket car park for weeks!

Same rules apply worldwide - nobody touches anything until ONE eejit does something then everybody does it. Same from dropping litter to burning disused factories :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 18 mk1eighty

I saw this today in the red cow scrapyard.

I would say fresh from a dry garage, but now wrecked.

The body is very clean and 100k on her.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Silvera

mk1eighty wrote: »

Now that is a rarity!
    Havent seen a Nissan Prarie like that in years.
    It even has it's original 1988-style reg plates (which I wouldnt mind having to hang on my garage wall!). Pity it wasnt saved?!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Bigus

It was for sale on done deal for 400 euro , no takers

They're not too sympathetic in that red cow scrapyard:(

And what the hell is a scrapyard doing at what must be one of the most strategically placed and expensive pieces of land in the country anyway:confused:?

mk1eighty wrote: »

I'd say someone's going to get those plates over the w/end :eek::eek:

There IS something wrong with a country that can't get a market for a clean rust free 25 yo people carrier - surely half of Africa's taximen are crying out for them ???;)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Bigus

Capri wrote: »
    I'd say someone's going to get those plates over the w/end :eek::eek:

There IS something wrong with a country that can't get a market for a clean rust free 25 yo people carrier - surely half of Africa's taximen are crying out for them ???;)

Two grand sterling to get it to Africa

Bigus wrote: »
    Two grand sterling to get it to Africa

40' double deck container ? 4 cars ? :eek:

They sometimes cut the roofs off and weld them back on again when they arrive, to fit more in the containers.
    I wouldn't fancy welding the roof back onto that Prairie when it arrives:D

hi5 wrote: »
    They sometimes cut the roofs off and weld them back on again when they arrive, to fit more in the containers.
    I wouldn't fancy welding the roof back onto that Prairie when it arrives:D

I saw a programme about the Nigerians buying up in Germany and exporting to Africa. They seem to use drive on ships but they loaded all the wagons with spare engines etc and welded the doors so the stuff wouldn't be robbed in different ports along the way :eek::eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭greenpilot

Here's a pic of an abandoned 1988 t25 I have been doing up. I put a new bumper on it yesterday, its up and running with a mark 1 vw golf 1.6 straight diesel. It's my getaway camper for the summer. Bought it for 500 Euro and spent 1200 on it. Passed nct. Sweet.

A mazda 323 1987 in a house for sale across from Kilkenny castle.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭rugbyman

greenpilot wrote: »
    Here's a pic of an abandoned 1988 t25 I have been doing up. I put a new bumper on it yesterday, its up and running with a mark 1 vw golf 1.6 straight diesel. It's my getaway camper for the summer. Bought it for 500 Euro and spent 1200 on it. Passed nct. Sweet.

Pic?

• Registered Users Posts: 231 ✭✭DarenO

found locally

DarenO wrote: »
    found locally

Hope you snapped it up before it's thrown out :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 333 ✭✭mondymike

found locally
    doesn't show for me

• Registered Users Posts: 231 ✭✭DarenO

Capri wrote: »

Hope you snapped it up before it's thrown out :eek:

It's still there, I'm after an early bay or split as being of a certain age makes me look at that VW as modern even if it coming up on 30 years old

Trade - snap it up, tidy it and trade for bay/split when one comes up ? :cool:

Near Moate