Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,024 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

This was the Galway panel for the NUIG game yesterday for those wondering.

1. Manus Breathnach (An Spidéal)

2. Donal Ó Neill (Cortoon Shamrocks)

3. David Finnegan (Cortoon Shamrocks)

4. Colin Forde (Killererin)

5. Conor Costello (Claregalway)

6. Gary Sice (Corofin)

7. Gareth Bradshaw (Moycullen)

8. Anthony Griffin (Leitir Mór)

9. Niall Coleman (Annaghdown)

10. John Ó Brien (Clifden)

11. Michael Martin (Milltown)

12. Sean Denvir (Michael Breathnach)

13. Michael Meehan (Caltra)

14. Paul Conroy (St. James)

15. Danny Cummins (Clareglaway)

16. John Egan (St. James)

17. David Reilly (Menlough)

18. Finian Hanley (Salthill/Knocknacarra)

19. Gary Ó Donnell (Tuam Stars)

20. Eoin Concannon (St James)

21. Michael Boyle (Killererin)

22. Mark Hehir (Milltown)

23. Peadar Ó Griofa (Michael Breathnach)

24. Sean Armstrong (Salthill/Knocknacarra)

25. Shane Maughan (St Michaels)

26. Shane Walsh (Kilkerrin-Clonberne)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭macslash

Thanks Utopia Parkway..Who played well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 tedd123

i was at the game in tuam....nuig were very very poor.....hard to judge and next up is sligo it next w-end and by all accounts they wont offer much opposition either......great to see michael meehan back,he played well,michael martin played in spots,over all no one really sticking their hands up looking for a spot coming summertime.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭nootroc

Saw elsewhere that Shane Kavanagh and Aonghus Callanan are back on the hurlers panel. Good news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

tedd123 wrote: »
    i was at the game in tuam....nuig were very very poor.....hard to judge and next up is sligo it next w-end and by all accounts they wont offer much opposition either......great to see michael meehan back,he played well,michael martin played in spots,over all no one really sticking their hands up looking for a spot coming summertime.....

I thought Martin had a great game. I didnt even realise it was him when the match started because I didnt have a programme and he was zipping around all over the place!
    Thanks Utopia Parkway..Who played well?

NUIG were really awful so it wasnt a game to judge players on really. Of the new players there, I thought Costello & O'Brien at 5 & 10 were good. Wasnt impressed with Denvir at 12. But I hadnt seen these guys play before so its early days for them. I'm hoping that Sice at no.6 was just for yesterday. I wouldnt like to see him there for more competitive matches.
    Saw elsewhere that Shane Kavanagh and Aonghus Callanan are back on the hurlers panel. Good news.

Kavanagh is a top player. Such a shame he wasnt there last last year.

nootroc wrote: »

Don't suppose you have the full panel by any chance?

Don't have the full panel but the new additions are.
    Turloughmore defender Ronan Burke has been added to the Galway Senior hurling panel. Ronan overcame a knee injury to win his place back on the Turloughmore senior team for the knockout stages of the 2012 County championship.

Other additions to the squad include goalkeeper Colm Callanan Kinvara, 2011 U21 defender Rory Foy of Ballindereen, forward Emmet Ward of Pearses, Gort’s Sylvie Og Linnane and 2012 Minor Jason Flynn of Tommie Larkins. Shane Kavanagh is also back on the Galway senior hurling squad. The former county captain was one of those dropped last year when Anthony Cunningham took over as manager but Cunningham has now invited him back into his extended panel for 2013.

Having taken a year out to travel, Aonghus Callanan is also back training with the squad.

Goalkeeper James Skehill remains sidelined following surgery and will miss most of the national hurling league. Last year's Leinster champions, currently on holiday in Dubai, will face either Carlow or Antrim in their first competitive match of the year later this month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Colm Callanan was in for Ryan last year anyways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭westsidestory

Michael Martin now playing for Milltown I see, if same player anyone know why he transferred from Cortoon ? Lad from Cortoon Martyn ?
    If contentious I'll be glad to get it by PM !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,646 ✭✭✭basillarkin

Kavanagh back in

Ye heard it here first about Kavanagh lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,582 ✭✭✭MfMan

Michael Martin now playing for Milltown I see, if same player anyone know why he transferred from Cortoon ? Lad from Cortoon Martyn ?
    If contentious I'll be glad to get it by PM !

He and the brothers had a bit of a disagreement with management so transferred to Milltown a couple of years ago. Hope his good form in the maroon jersey continues as he has a fair bit of ability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭westsidestory

MfMan wrote: »
    He and the brothers had a bit of a disagreement with management so transferred to Milltown a couple of years ago. Hope his good form in the maroon jersey continues as he has a fair bit of ability.

Thanks for that, he looked good on Sunday alright. Will meet better teams that NUIG along the year. Was a talented minor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭flogging a dead horse

Is Turlough's Daithi Burke on the panel. He seems like a possible replacement to Tony Og at 6.
    Is there the annual challenge match between county champions v Galway, before Walshe cup starts?
    Also what date are the All Ireland club semi's on. St. Thomas's wont have been too put out by there U21 defeat. I was talking to a chap from Tyrone who lives in Loughrea. He said he got chattin to the Loughgiel scout who was there at the now internationally infamous club final. Thurles SAars would be hot favourites in their semi, however the other semi with the reigning champs could go down to the wire and the last puck of a ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭RobbieRuns

Did not get to the Sligo IT match, sounds like the lads played well, even though the opposition were probably not the strongest again? Anyone in Tuam for the game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Starie1975

RobbieRuns wrote: »
    Did not get to the Sligo IT match, sounds like the lads played well, even though the opposition were probably not the strongest again? Anyone in Tuam for the game?

Ya I was there, I'll stick up a match report on Tribesmeegaa.ie later on.

First was was poor but after Sligo IT scored the goal the lads picked up. You can only play against the teams in front of you and scoring 32 points in two games is good for this time of year..

The list of players who are unavailable to play in the FBD but on the training panel are on the link below.
    http://www.tribesmengaa.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=1026:members-of-the-training-panel-who-are-currently-unavailable-to-play-in-the-fbd&catid=92:team-news&Itemid=70&Itemid=53

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Stanza2

Lots of great players to return ! Will Adrian Faherty come home for the league proper or is left for the season?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Starie1975

Stanza2 wrote: »
    Lots of great players to return ! Will Adrian Faherty come home for the league proper or is left for the season?

That I don't know but I'll ask around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭fearruanua

Draw made tonight for the Under 21 hurling championship.

u21 A Championship

Athenry vs Sarsfields
    Thomas's vs Gort
    Clarenbridge vs Craughwell
    Tynagh vs Liam Mellows
    Cappataggle vs Ardrahan
    Turloughmore vs Castlegar
    Loughrea vs Kilnadeema/Leitrim
    Tommy Larkins vs Ahascragh/Fohenagh

u21 B Championship

Carnmore vs Mullagh
    Killimordaly vs Balindereen
    Kinvara vs Portumna
    Abbeyknockmoy vs Moycullen
    Michael Cusacks vs Meelick/Eyrecourt
    Rahoon/Salthill vs Oranmore/Maree
    Cois Fharraige vs Killimor
    Kilconieron vs Pearses

the Galway hurling supporters facebook page saying there will be a major announcement re Galway Gaa later today. here's hoping that supermacs will also take over the sponsorship of the galway footballers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

fearruanua wrote: »
    the Galway hurling supporters facebook page saying there will be a major announcement re Galway Gaa later today. here's hoping that supermacs will also take over the sponsorship of the galway footballers.
    Just saw their tweet there, surely has to be about the jersey as they said for Galway GAA, not the hurlers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 tedd123

supermacs will b confirmed as sponsors for both hurlers and footballers this eve.....with new jersey due to b worn by the footballers in their first league match next sunday v derry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭cormac halpin

Should be interesting to see what jersey they come up with, don't think Galway have had too many bad ones since they moved away from Connolly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭jossnjuice

lads what did i hear on the news at lunch?? wasnt paying much attention, and then kind of heard "that now means Galway will play Dublin in Parnell Park next sunday"????????

could have misheard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭cormac halpin

jossnjuice wrote: »
    lads what did i hear on the news at lunch?? wasnt paying much attention, and then kind of heard "that now means Galway will play Dublin in Parnell Park next sunday"????????

could have misheard.
    UCD have pulled out of the Walsh Cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭jossnjuice

Lovely stuff.....thought i was losing it there for a while!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,023 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Really hope they keep the lighter maroon shade from the footballers Jersey. Some of them hurling jerseys during the 00's were basically brown. Supermacs does look good as a sponser however

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

The only reason i will not buy a Galway hurling and now the football jersey is because of Supermacs plastered on it. Despise the fuking place.

But that's just me.

Fair play for their continued sponsorship though and for taking on the footballers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

I preferred when Galway had seperate sets of jerseys for both codes. It made us unique and you could almost tell where people were from by the shirt they were wearing. ;)

I hope they keep some differences.

And, I hope this isn't a case of Supermacs bailing out our Footballers at the expense of the Hurlers.

314745_10151374599015890_139726385_n.jpg

new galway jersey for both codes in 2013

314745_10151374599015890_139726385_n.jpg