Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭flogging a dead horse

Squareball wrote: »
    Easy mistake to make I would think......Just read somewhere there are 6 Burke brothers on the team!!

Now it did not happen, but if there was to be a 2nd yellow card. Then that would be a major ****-up. If a player deserves two yellows then the opposing team has the advantage of the extra man. Luckily for O Shaughnessy it did'nt transpire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭flogging a dead horse

Downfall- Johnny Maher on youtube is brilliant.
    Not his namesake the Smiths guitarist

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L5SpsSALp9A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭fearruanua

Any word yet from the Galway CCCC regarding certain incidents in the county final? Not many talking about it anymore. It'll probably be swept under the cairpéad!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Starie1975

This morning we wake up with the news that Galway legend Pádraic Joyce has retired from intercounty football. Pádraic first played in the senior jersey for Galway in 1997 won 6 Connacht titles, 3 All Stars and 2 All Irelands. He has also won 1 Sigerson with Tralee IT, a hogan cup with St Jarlath's and so far has won 4 county titles with his native club Killererin. Pádraic captain Ireland to victory in the international rules in 2004. In 2001 Pádraic was named footballer of the year. Ní beidh an leithéad ann arís, go raibh mile maith agat a Phádraic. #thankspj

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Best I've ever seen in a Galway jersey. This is the big test for Mull now though. If they sink further without PJ he's done. If they settle a bit then we could have the makings of a decent team but they're devoid of any confidence come the summer. That should be Ó'Gríofa in the starting 15 now I presume?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

One of the very few Gaelic footballers I would pay to watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭maroondog

I see the Maher incident made this weeks Classic Youtube list on the Guardian Sports. Really doesnt reflect well on hurling seeing this turning up here.

For those of you not familiar with it, every week sports clips of the week from all sorts of sports are posted up. Shows all sorts of random things that happened in the world of sports and gets posted every Friday on Guardian website.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 213 ✭✭rambojon

Spent some time in digs while in college with the great pa.... Have to say you knew at the time that these guys dont come along very often and can rem well that this guy was truly a special talent.. some of his displays for i t tralee were simply just different class.. and that was in company of some of the best at the time.. mickey d and jimmy g included in that... Prob the 1 thing i will rem from this time was that he was just one the lads off field.. totally down to earth and not a bad cook either..( oh thats 2 things) best of luck. mh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,582 ✭✭✭MfMan

rambojon wrote: »
    Spent some time in digs while in college with the great pa.... Have to say you knew at the time that these guys dont come along very often and can rem well that this guy was truly a special talent.. some of his displays for i t tralee were simply just different class.. and that was in company of some of the best at the time.. mickey d and jimmy g included in that... Prob the 1 thing i will rem from this time was that he was just one the lads off field.. totally down to earth and not a bad cook either..( oh thats 2 things) best of luck. mh.

PJ didn't play senior for Galway until season 1998. I think Kerry folk (who saw him playing for Tralee) were amazed at the time he hadn't made the team sooner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

When you look at the forwards team sheet from 1998 you can see why they were in no rush to fast-track Joyce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Any word on the new jersey? Anyone know who the sponsor will be or what crest we'll be taking? Saw a piece today in the Independent saying that they're still in talks with a sponsor. They'll surely have to have one released by the end of January?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

THFC wrote: »
    Any word on the new jersey? Anyone know who the sponsor will be or what crest we'll be taking? Saw a piece today in the Independent saying that they're still in talks with a sponsor. They'll surely have to have one released by the end of January?

Wasn't until the middle of the league our players got their new jerseys this year, and later when they were available to the public. Don't bet on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

MfMan wrote: »
    PJ didn't play senior for Galway until season 1998. I think Kerry folk (who saw him playing for Tralee) were amazed at the time he hadn't made the team sooner.

Pretty sure he was a sub in 1997.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,558 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Correct. Paraic was on the Senior Panel in '97 under the management

of Val Daly. If only he had played instead of Val!!

Not at all. It'll be April/May before we know.

I reckon it'll be Supermacs' as sponsor & a new crest

Are any of ye reading Sylvie's book? 'True Grit - The Making Of Legend'

I recommend it. Sylvie Linnane is my all time favourite hurler. To me a true legend. 3 All Ireland Medals,2 National Leagues & 5 Railway Cups & a County Title.

A strong & courageous defender that was feared by the best that Kilkenny,Cork,Offaly & Tipp had to offer

This book has it all. From boyhood to legend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 RightHalfBack

Read most of it this morning on the train from Roscommon back to Dublin, very enjoyable. brief epilogue at the end would bring a tear to the eye,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,164 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Couple of my uncles are in the book but my granny couldn't find my Dad. He hurled for Gort with Sylvie. She said she might not have recognised him though. :pac:
    She said the book was ****e too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,646 ✭✭✭basillarkin

Kavanagh back in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,019 ✭✭✭nagirrac

Kavanagh back in

Now that's a happy new year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Anybody know how legit the James Kavanagh story is? Would be a tidy addition to the seniors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Kavanagh back in
    James Kavanagh is it? ;) Just saw the rumour mentioned on the Galway Advertiser facebook page there. Would be a bit out of the blue but as above, would be very welcome indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,582 ✭✭✭MfMan

He has some connection with Milltown (and Mullahy's) I think. He was a boarder in Jarlath's for a while too so he'd know the local scene I'd say. While not entirely world-class he'd still be an addition to our forwards, if for no other reason than we have so few proper ones at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Anyone know what the story with Barry Daly is? Would be a massive boost to the hurlers if he's fit again.
    Also, I've heard that Daithí Burke won't be joining the senior panel this year (a decision made by the player himself), which is a bit disappointing. In his last year of U-21 now so surely next year he'll make the step up.

Also, delighted the news about Kavanagh, according the an article I read recently he wants to settle in Milltown. He used to play on the Jarlath's team with Michael Meehan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,024 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Also, delighted the news about Kavanagh, according the an article I read recently he wants to settle in Milltown. He used to play on the Jarlath's team with Michael Meehan.

No guarantee that Kavanagh will declare for Galway I'd say. He may be moving back to Galway eventually but he may just be taking a break from Kildare as his wife is having a baby. I'm sure he would be made welcome though if he did switch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Anyone know who has been dropped off the football panel or what new players have been called up? I know a few of last year's panel were culled along with the retirements of Bergin and PJ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭spiritcrusher

Talk seems to be that Meehan is starting tomorrow. Only first game of the season I know but I'm guessing that it's a good sign for him to be playing full games (or nearly full) this early in the year. I'll be in Tuam anyway tomorrow, mostly out of curiosity to see what team he has out.

Good start yesterday for the footballers. But NUIG were terrible.

Meehan did ok, his frees were good. But he had a couple of chances to shoot and did not go for it. So he is a long way from his best.

Michael Martin looked really sharp at number 11 yesterday. Had a great match.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

Michael Martin looked really sharp at number 11 yesterday. Had a great match.

guy looks fit as a fiddle

Agueroooo wrote: »
    guy looks fit as a fiddle

Yeah, he really did. I wasnt sure it was him when I saw him first. Has he been putting in big hours in the gym? Looked well bulked up yesterday.