Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭h2005

cgpg5 wrote: »
    Not really. 5 teams in a relegation group is asking for trouble

Mellows ended up playing each team when they had something to play for. carnmore had 2 matches against teams playing for nothing. It's really not fair when it comes to something as serious as relegation from senior championship
    Why didn`t they object when this was brought up before the championship happened? Was this held in the back pocket as a safety net?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

h2005 wrote: »
    Why didn`t they object when this was brought up before the championship happened? Was this held in the back pocket as a safety net?

I think Mellows can be excused for not studying the relegation system in detail at the start of the year, they'd have had their sights much higher. they're well within their rights to appeal to be fair

This is firmly the county board's fault, not Liam Mellows

Also the whole notion that the worst team in senior hurling couldn't go down this year too was baffling to say the least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭flogging a dead horse

Who is the referee for the county final?
    St.Thomas's may not win this year's but as for 2013, 14.
    They may well win the next two.
    Loughrea really must make it 2 from 6!
    Might not be there next year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Owen Shaughnessy. And from what I saw on the TV, it will be a wile before he gets another final. The Laughrea full forward hit 2 opponents and was let off scot free. He should be banned for 12 months for that behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Owen Shaughnessy. And from what I saw on the TV, it will be a wile before he gets another final. The Laughrea full forward hit 2 opponents and was let off scot free. He should be banned for 12 months for that behaviour.

Completely agree. He deliberately struck 2 opponents with the hurl within a matter of seconds and the ref didn't do anything.
    And also, after he scored his first penalty he rang up to the St. Thomas' goalkeeper and hit in the back with hurl!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Not only was the full forward not sent off after striking two players with the hurley, the ref didn't even throw the ball in. Terrible decision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Dan Chipowski

Have to agree. It was disgraceful behaviour from the full forward and appalling from the referee to do absolutely nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭flogging a dead horse

Despite the St Thoms 2nd goal, which was a goalkeeping howler, I think that the best team won the game. And it wont be St Thoms last.

Yep. The definitely played with more intensity. Great to see a new team in the Co.Champions list. Another Portumna??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,582 ✭✭✭MfMan

Have to agree. It was disgraceful behaviour from the full forward and appalling from the referee to do absolutely nothing.

Ref more than likely didn't see it. His umpires should have spotted it though. In fairness, he's one of the better refs in Galway. Nothing new in Loughrea lads hitting a few slaps unfortunately.

MfMan wrote: »
    Ref more than likely didn't see it. His umpires should have spotted it though. In fairness, he's one of the better refs in Galway. Nothing new in Loughrea lads hitting a few slaps unfortunately.

How could he miss it? And did'nt one of the umpires come on to the field to say something to him. I'm sure it was'nt about the weather:). But then, that was atrocious:D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Would hate to be the Loughrea keeper tonight. That goal took the momentum out of Loughrea for a long time. Nice to see some good sideline cuts especially seeing how wet it was out there. Johnny Maher was Johnny Maher. Good to see a new team on top though, especially knowing how hard they've been hit recently. Excellent year for David Burke but could have been a different story if Coen's great run ending with a goal. One of the more exciting matches I've seen this year.

It's always weird seeing Ryan for Craughwell outfield too. Decent finish in the shield match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭liamos43

Glad St Thomas won - this sort of talk 'Vinny Maher was Vinny Maher' is simply not good enough. He should be summoned by the county board and given 12 months suspension for each offence i.e. 24 months. Our games are better off without the likes of him. Would prefer my child to play soccer or rugby where the law is the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭Treble20

A shocking referee in today's County final. The GAA harp on about respect for refs but this eejit of a ref shouldn't be let officiate at a game for the next 12 months at least!

Would hate to be the Loughrea keeper tonight. That goal took the momentum out of Loughrea for a long time. Nice to see some good sideline cuts especially seeing how wet it was out there. Johnny Maher was Johnny Maher. Good to see a new team on top though, especially knowing how hard they've been hit recently. Excellent year for David Burke but could have been a different story if Coen's great run ending with a goal. One of the more exciting matches I've seen this year.

It's always weird seeing Ryan for Craughwell outfield too. Decent finish in the shield match.

To his credit he stopped Shane Cooney's shot in the 2nd half, when another goal looked certain. One of the better county finals, esp. given the conditions. Good displays in 2 semi's and the final by St. Toms, in light of the fact that they're very much a dry day team and all of those were played on horrid days. A big pitch like Croker on a fine day should really suit them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 jaysusREF

To his credit he stopped Shane Cooney's shot in the 2nd half, when another goal looked certain. One of the better county finals, esp. given the conditions. Good displays in 2 semi's and the final by St. Toms, in light of the fact that they're very much a dry day team and all of those were played on horrid days. A big pitch like Croker on a fine day should really suit them.

They'll only get to play in Croker if the semi final is played there. They ran out of steam in the last 10 minutes and they're up against the fittest club side in the country. No doubt they're a fine side but those Antrim fellas will match them for hurling and outlast them in fitness. Just look at last year's semi final and final if you don't believe that. Their No 5 (tannion?) looks to be carrying a lot of beef and it could be roast beef on the menu if Eddie McCloskey goes up against him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭gigawatt2007

Lads just saw the video of the Johnny Maher carry on around the penalty.

Q1 How did he stay on the pitch
    Q2 How was he not floored by one of the Thomas's team

If the GAA don't go an ban him for at least a year they should be ashmed of themselves. Shocking carry-on:

http://www.joe.ie/gaa/gaa-news/video-johnny-mahers-few-minutes-of-madness-in-the-galway-county-final-yesterday-0030635-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭meriwether

I saw the delayed coverage yesterday on TG4.

Now, I knoiw Loughrea are Loughrea, and was expecting the usual, but that behaviour yesterday took the biscuit.

The referee was hilarious.

Did Maher have immunity from prosecution, or something?

jaysusREF wrote: »
    They'll only get to play in Croker if the semi final is played there. They ran out of steam in the last 10 minutes and they're up against the fittest club side in the country. No doubt they're a fine side but those Antrim fellas will match them for hurling and outlast them in fitness. Just look at last year's semi final and final if you don't believe that. Their No 5 (tannion?) looks to be carrying a lot of beef and it could be roast beef on the menu if Eddie McCloskey goes up against him

Not a hope in hell will they match them for hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 jaysusREF

peterswellman, that'll be music to Antrim ears. If St Thomas go into the match with that attitude they'll be on very dangerous ground. It's the sort of attitude Na Piarsaigh had last year. They talked about the respect they had for Loughgiel and how they wouldn't underestimate them but Sean Stack as much as admitted afterwards that he'd been looking at the final. Loughgiel have serious hurlers like Liam Watson & Eddie McCloskey and a team full of battle hardened experienced hurlers seasoned with a sprinkling of young lads.
    St Thomas look a better team than Na Piarsaigh and with class players too but they'd need to be taking Loughgiel very seriously indeed. It'll be a cracking game anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Willie_Power

Lads and Lassies, I was a neutral at the game yesterday and St Thomas were a joy to watch, they held their heads and didn't retaliate when goaded and wronged by Loughrea and the referee. They deserve great credit for concentrating on hurling. Loughrea have been getting away with this behaviour for years at all levels, always operating on the edge, go back to 2006 and they had the ref on their side that day as well. Heard the Co. board Chairman on Galway Bay this morning and he more or less said that it was a fine sporting game yesterday and saw nothing wrong during the game.

And he's actually right for the most part. I was at the game and had the radio in my ear; analyst Conor Hayes correctly stated that both teams went out to hurl and were going for it. It was only near the end that a bit of silly stuff crept in and it would be a shame if this detracted from a fine Thomas' performance and victory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭Grats

Lads just saw the video of the Johnny Maher carry on around the penalty.

Q1 How did he stay on the pitch
    Q2 How was he not floored by one of the Thomas's team

If the GAA don't go an ban him for at least a year they should be ashmed of themselves. Shocking carry-on:

http://www.joe.ie/gaa/gaa-news/video-johnny-mahers-few-minutes-of-madness-in-the-galway-county-final-yesterday-0030635-1

Now you know how Kilkenny folk feel after what both Tipp and Galway got away with in the Semi and Final. If Croke Park did nothing about that, they're hardly likely to do anything about Galway club problems.

Pa Cronin got reprimanded for a foul on Tannian, yet, Tannian got away with his own dirt in the Cork game and the Final replay. Padraig Maher acted the thug in the Semi final and Croke Park saw nothing wrong with it either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭fearruanua

peterswellman, have you ever watched loughgiel hurl?? by the sounds of it you musn't have. i was in parnell park for their semi final last year(supporting na piarsaigh) and in croke park for their all ireland final and take it from me they are a serious outfit and it will take a very good team to dethrone them this year. here's hoping that st thomas' can do it but underestimate the men from the north at your peril.

Grats wrote: »
    Now you know how Kilkenny folk feel after what both Tipp and Galway got away with in the Semi and Final. If Croke Park did nothing about that, they're hardly likely to do anything about Galway club problems.

Pa Cronin got reprimanded for a foul on Tannian, yet, Tannian got away with his own dirt in the Cork game and the Final replay. Padraig Maher acted the thug in the Semi final and Croke Park saw nothing wrong with it either.

Blah, blah, blah. KK get away with plenty when they're let. Watch Tommy's high pull c. 16 minutes into the drawn game, nowhere near the ball. Do you remember Noel Hickey nearly taking the head off Eugene Cloonan in Thurles in '04? Not condoning rough play by any means but KK are well able to mind themselves.

I mentioned just a few incidents but if you want detailed analysis of the filth both Tipp and Galway got away with I can let you have it. And if you want to go back over the years I can give you plenty of Galway dirt for digesting. Sylvie Linnane is a Galway hero - a legend - for dishing out dirt during his hurling career. Tommy Walsh is a saint by comparison. You know full well that Galway club hurling is riddled with dirty play - and that's why you see nothing wrong with how your County team play. It's what you're use to watching. Thankfully the true hurling counties have better expectations and standards.

While never seeing anything wrong with your own county? (Which is KK I presume?) I'm not saying Galway (or Tipp) haven't crossed the line in their time but so have the KK hurlers, and they've perfected the sly little digs, pulls, tugs on the jersey that are in the game now. (And that's not just in my opinion.) Sylvie was a tough hurler, yes, but also a very good one.

Galway club hurling is no more riddled with dirty play than any other county. In fact, all the club winners the county has produced over the past 20 years have been fine hurling sides.

I couldn't see anything wrong with the way Galway played in the Leinster championship this year. Could you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭h2005

What have Tipp and Kilkenny got to do with Galway club hurling?

While never seeing anything wrong with your own county? (Which is KK I presume?) I'm not saying Galway (or Tipp) haven't crossed the line in their time but so have the KK hurlers, and they've perfected the sly little digs, pulls, tugs on the jersey that are in the game now. (And that's not just in my opinion.) Sylvie was a tough hurler, yes, but also a very good one.

Galway club hurling is no more riddled with dirty play than any other county. In fact, all the club winners the county has produced over the past 20 years have been fine hurling sides.

I couldn't see anything wrong with the way Galway played in the Leinster championship this year. Could you?

The so called "playing on the edge" by Kilkenny is well documented and Kilkenny folk are only too well aware that it goes with the territory i.e. being so successful. There is nothing wrong with playing on the edge - just like Kilkenny have perfected - it means that a team is playing to its full potential and is skillful. Playing OVER the edge i.e. dirty - is the problem and that's how Galway play when they're under pressure. Remember Richie Murray in Tullamore??? Ye weren't under any pressure in the Leinster Final but when the pressure cam on in the Final ye resoted to what ye are best at - playing OVER the edge. Ye got away with it in the Final - not Galway's fault but the GAA's fault. Ditto Tipp in the Semi.

And I agree, it is never acceptable to play OVER the edge - that's why we have refs and rules - such as displayed Tommy Dunne, Cyril Donnellan and Richie Murray. And indeed like some carry on in the Galway Final y'day - but ye have your own rules it would appear.

The so called "playing on the edge" by Kilkenny is well documented and Kilkenny folk are only too well aware that it goes with the territory i.e. being so successful. There is nothing wrong with playing on the edge - just like Kilkenny have perfected - it means that a team is playing to its full potential and is skillful. Playing OVER the edge i.e. dirty - is the problem and that's how Galway play when they're under pressure. Remember Richie Murray in Tullamore??? Ye weren't under any pressure in the Leinster Final but when the pressure cam on in the Final ye resoted to what ye are best at - playing OVER the edge. Ye got away with it in the Final - not Galway's fault but the GAA's fault. Ditto Tipp in the Semi.

And I agree, it is never acceptable to play OVER the edge - that's why we have refs and rules - such as displayed Tommy Dunne, Cyril Donnellan and Richie Murray. And indeed like some carry on in the Galway Final y'day - but ye have your own rules it would appear.

So why not include Noel Hickey also? Is KK hurling some kind of utopia where there's never a mean belt or dirty stroke? Is it a truism that Galway will always resort to playing over the edge when the pressure comes on? I remember the '05 semi-final when KK launched a stirring comeback from 9 points down to reduce the deficit to 3 with minutes remaining. I think Galway kept the heads that day without resorting to any of the tough stuff.

Did someone use Galway club hurling as a kind of bogeyman to frighten you when you were a child? What age are you?