Kerry CC support permit system which allows rural people drink and drive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Im not sure if we are comparing like for like. The local pubs near me wouldnt be making enough for a taxi driver(during the weekdays anyway). Local post office,primary school,shop have all closed in the last few years. Nearest gardai station is closed except for a few hours. Another rural pub nearby is closing due to nobody buying.

Like for like. One is a pub in a small village, urban population of 300, rural population of 800, according to last accounts.

Another is a smaller village with an urban population of 250, rural population of about 600. The smaller village actually is the busier one, as the bar puts on different events, has a good BBQ during decent weather, bands, Ann Summers nights, and gets quite a draw from more than the surrounding area.

I know country pubs are struggling. But unfortunately, it's business. Innovate, and move with the times. Don't rely on stupid outdated ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭False Prophet

JustinDee wrote: »
    That's the problem with Ireland. Local politicking. All based on what they can do for you and you alone.
    Maybe, but the people elected in my county dont seem to care about the local people except at election time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

JustinDee wrote: »
    That's the problem with Ireland. Local politicking. All based on what they can do for you and you alone.
    Tip O Neill,
    not just in Ireland,or rural Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

What others are at risk? Who else is on the small rural roads at that time at night?
    Why not allow a half an hour window for these drivers(no risk for other people)

Nonsense. What about the people who don't work 9-5 hours, who are going to/from work at the same times that the pubs close? What about people coming home after being out visiting their families for the evening? What about tourists driving back to their hotels and B&B's after a day/night out? (This is Kerry for godsake. Tourism is the life blood for a lot of people in that part of the world, isn't it?)

Don't all those people deserve to be able to drive on our roads without some inebriated gobshyte ploughing into them? It's not all about the poor crathurs stuck at home all night because the anti drink do gooders don't want them to drink and drive FFS ! :mad:

.....Goes to check Paddy Power to see what the odds are of seeing an article in tomorrows paper from the Healy Rae's whinging about the Dublin meeja not caring about the concerns of rural folk ! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭JustinDee

Maybe, but the people elected in my county dont seem to care about the local people except at election time
    And your point is what? Best of a bad bunch?
    This populist and at the same time self-serving grave dancing is inexcusable. Shame on any weasel who supports it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭False Prophet

Like for like. One is a pub in a small village, urban population of 300, rural population of 800, according to last accounts.

Another is a smaller village with an urban population of 250, rural population of about 600. The smaller village actually is the busier one, as the bar puts on different events, has a good BBQ during decent weather, bands, Ann Summers nights, and gets quite a draw from more than the surrounding area.

I know country pubs are struggling. But unfortunately, it's business. Innovate, and move with the times. Don't rely on stupid outdated ideas.
    Fair points but im talking about the normal quiet weekdays not the event nights.
    As you said its a business and more of them are closing. It wont effect me or most other people on boards but it will effect the elderly bachelor that has no other outlet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭Fiery mutant

Roger_007 wrote: »
    I think it's a great idea. What about a dispensation for Kerry people to exceed speed limits and not pay car tax. Didn't they already have public meetings about not paying property tax or septic tank charge. They might as well go the whole hog and declare independence.

That's not a bad idea. Then we can laugh and point at them instead of being embarrassed that they are one of us. I wonder how many pints he had when he came up with this wacky idea.

I'd swear some of these f.uckers were put on this earth to bring about the downfall of this nation.

One day our future generations will weep for what we did.

We should defend our way of life to an extent that any attempt on it is crushed, so that any adversary will never make such an attempt in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

How about we allow it for 6 months but only for those who've drank excessively?

Finish the bottle of Powers and you can drive home.

After 6 months we shouldn't have an issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

shows how stupid the people of Kerry were when they voted two more Healy-Raes onto the CC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

shows how stupid the people of Kerry were when they voted two more Healy-Raes onto the CC.

Kinda supports the old Kerryman stereotype alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭Janedoe10

According to http://www.kerrycoco.ie/en/allservices/corporateservices/yourcouncil/ 14 of the councilors are labour/ fine Gael . If they gave a damn this wouldn't have hit thru but it did .
    Make sure u highlight this by emails . Even if it's hightlighting the demise of transport in rural Ireland and pubs ( which is a worthy topic in its own right ) it will also show those gombeens for what they are . How unsulting that these dopes use our taxes to pass this for the greater good .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭Janedoe10

dan1895 wrote: »

I don't think they were elected in . Co-opted in one of them because michael went onto dail glory up there in Dublin.
    Keeping the dynasty alive of course .

parachuted in when mhr got the nod for TD, unelected afaik,Kerry south also

dan1895 wrote: »

he said with a needle full of smack in his arm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

The Healy Raes are like a royal family down in South Kerry,they have the council all sown up,the council sub contract work to there plant hire business and they are usually among the highest paid as well.

If there so worried about there customers the Healys Rae's should buy a mini bus for there customers to drop them home from the pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭bluecode

And they wonder why everyone tells Kerryman jokes? Besides why do the need a permit? Everyone does it already. The chances of getting caught are nil unless you wrap the car around a tree.

The one little thing these idiots seem to have forgotten is that drink driving is dangerous. That's why it's illegal. Dimwits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,055 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

Of course they will drive slow as they will be pissed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭alphabeat

Video feed from the council vote yesterday :

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

crockholm wrote: »

he said with a needle full of smack in his arm

You stay classy now. It's a fukcing stupid idea by a gombeen who is only out for himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

If you can afford to go for a feed of pints, you can afford the taxi home. Old or not, people have to be responsible for their actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

If you can afford to go for a feed of pints, you can afford the taxi home. Old or not, people have to be responsible for their actions.

As stated by a few already in the thread, this is nothing to do with old people not wanting to pay for a taxi. It's a self-serving proposal from a politician (very loose use of that word) who just so happens to be a rural publican.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭vigos

This comes to mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Danny Healy-Rae said:
    “A lot of these people are living in isolated rural areas where there’s no public transport of any kind, and they end up at home looking at the four walls, night in and night out, because they don’t want to take the risk of losing their licence,”

Now, this might sound crazy, but can't these people go to the pub and not drink?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭jimmy180sx

Is anyone else reading these posts in a south kerry accent?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

jimmy180sx wrote: »
    Is anyone else reading these posts in a south kerry accent?

No they'd be unintelligible then :P

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Roger_007 wrote: »
    I think it's a great idea. What about a dispensation for Kerry people to exceed speed limits and not pay car tax. Didn't they already have public meetings about not paying property tax or septic tank charge. They might as well go the whole hog and declare independence.
    When the NCT came in there was talk all right of asking for older people living on the Berra(sp) Pinensula not to have to do one because of the remoteness and how they depended on their cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭omega666

its not a bad idea, it's sad to see the old rural pub die out.
    I'd imagine the permits would be only given out selectively, some of these rural
    roads would have no traffic at all as most of them would only have a few houses or in some cases the only house would be the drivers themselves.

4 or 5 pints and tip away home at 20 or 30 miles an hour up your own
    booreen. The chances of killing some one are fairly slim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

they should all be arrested and fired for incitement to drink driving or some thing.. eh yep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

omega666 wrote: »
    its not a bad idea, it's sad to see the old rural pub die out.
    I'd imagine the permits would be only given out selectively, some of these rural
    roads would have no traffic at all as most of them would only have a few houses or in some cases the only house would be the drivers themselves.

4 or 5 pints and tip away home at 20 or 30 miles an hour up your own
    booreen. The chances of killing some one are fairly slim.

Yeah, that's completely crap. "fairly slim"? Nice. Have had family killed by drunk drivers who probably fancied their odds too. Nobody needs to drink. There's absolutely no excuse, ever, for getting in the car after drinking. If you want to socialise, go to the pub and don't drink. There is never, ever any excuse for driving after drinking, because there's never any reason anyone has to drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Eamon O Cuiv wanted to expand the rural transport scheme to nighttime.
    The buses are there and it creates a bit of employment

Got laughed out of it by his comrade politicians and was told no taxpayer money would be spent for buses to pubs

Clearly ignoring the money that gets pumped into the transport systems in the cities!