Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry CC support permit system which allows rural people drink and drive

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

And by the same token a sober, perfectly able person could make a thousand safe journeys and on one occasion get momentarily distracted and cause an accident. That doesn't justify taking everybody off the road.
    This argument is moot anyway because this proposal won't go any further. It's too open to abuse and hasn't been thought through. A solution is needed though, as I've said people are and will continue drink driving in rural areas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Ranicand

efb wrote: »
    I lived in rural Ireland 7 miles to town.

Taxis are available. People to scabby to use them and publicans want the money spent in their pub.

Country people being mean scroungers may be a stereotype with is a true one in many cases.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,687 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Balmed Out wrote: »
    listermint wrote: »
    . So praytell why you want someone who has purposefully impaired themselves behind the wheel of a 2 ton death machine.
    QUOTE]

Where did anyone say that they want drunks to be driving.

As a society we can either deal with a problem or stick fingers in our ears, shut our eyes and hope the problem fixes itself.
    If were ever going to minimise drink related tests then we will have to create a culture in rural areas that wont tolerate dangerous behaviour. Unfortunately a zero tolerance approach isnt working and can never ever be enforced.

IT IS WORKING! Do you actually know where we are in relation to road deaths in Europe. Its hilarious that you are commenting on it and you havent a clue that we are right up the top of the list with road safety.

Why do YOU want us to go backwards by 'normalising' illegal and unsafe behaviour.

some stats for your perusal http://ec.europa.eu/transport/road_safety/pdf/observatory/historical_evol_popul.pdf

we are below the EU average which is a superb feat.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

I also live rural and the rural pubs a ****ing **** anyway, it cost me 30 quid in taxis if I want to go to the town to drink and to be fair on the weekend it's worth it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

efb wrote: »
    I lived in rural Ireland 7 miles to town.

Taxis are available. People to scabby to use them and publicans want the money spent in their pub.

Thats your particular town. Where I live there are numerous hotels catering for numerous weddings of people from all over the country and even some abroad most of the year. All the taxis get guaranteed business from them and as they are normally full rides are happy to spend the night doing that and collect others only at quiter times.. You can get a taxi weekends ok but you may be waiting two hours and you may then not be brought home any time soon. A few years ago a friend spent 3 hours been driven around the countryside as the taxi (all in area would be minibuses) brough anyone living closer home first and only dropped him home when he had a gang of 3 or 4 in that direction.

You would never ever consider the possibility of getting a taxi on a wednesday night unless you were drinnking in an actual main town.

Thats your particular town. Where I live there are numerous hotels catering for numerous weddings of people from all over the country and even some abroad most of the year. All the taxis get guaranteed business from them and as they are normally full rides are happy to spend the night doing that and collect others only at quiter times.. You can get a taxi weekends ok but you may be waiting two hours and you may then not be brought home any time soon. A few years ago a friend spent 3 hours been driven around the countryside as the taxi (all in area would be minibuses) brough anyone living closer home first and only dropped him home when he had a gang of 3 or 4 in that direction.

You would never ever consider the possibility of getting a taxi on a wednesday night unless you were drinnking in an actual main town.

Get a Taxi license then. Sounds like they are screaming out for it there...........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

This is real-life Kilinascully stuff, beyond belief.

IT IS WORKING! Do you actually know where we are in relation to road deaths in Europe. Its hilarious that you are commenting on it and you havent a clue that we are right up the top of the list with road safety.

Why do YOU want us to go backwards by 'normalising' illegal and unsafe behaviour.

some stats for your perusal http://ec.europa.eu/transport/road_safety/pdf/observatory/historical_evol_popul.pdf

we are below the EU average which is a superb feat.

Im sorry but I think your not responding to anything anyone actually says just what you wish they said for the sake of an argument.
    I know where we are.....
    That doesnt mean I dont want us to improve.
    We have successfully created a culture in urban areas of zero tolerance but we have created a situation in rural areas where people think a short journey home is fine no matter how drunk they are because they see it as being a ridiculous rule.
    Unfortunately we ALREADY have normalised illegal and unsafe behaviour. I want us to change that.

I dont know what the answer is but were not there yet.

Im sorry but I think your not responding to anything anyone actually says just what you wish they said for the sake of an argument.
    I know where we are.....
    That doesnt mean I want us to improve.
    We have successfully created a culture in urban areas of zero tolerance but we have created a situation in rural areas where people think a short journey home is fine no matter how drunk they are because they see it as being a ridiculous rule.
    Unfortunately we ALREADY have normalised illegal and unsafe behaviour. I want us to change that.

I dont know what the answer is but were not there yet.

I think you will find you havent responded to anything legitimate what so ever. So I literally have no idea what you are talking about.

With each new post you advocating reversing our very good road safety stats of which i have linked to.

With each new post you contribute to my feelings that you have no idea what you are on about OR what point you are trying to convey.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Ya see, this sounds like arrogance. I mean. these are the same people who probably rang up Joe to get the head-sops closed down. And, of course, they all knew everything about the legal highs on offer at the time.

What's good for the goose, as they say...

No because the people he's referring to would ask why are they selling heads in a shop and wouldn't know who Joe is. You're still applying Dublin logic to a rural issue :)

I understand fully that drink driving is bad and this idea from HR is stupid but the simple fact is it's done out in the sticks. I appreciate people from the big city might not understand what it's like to have tiny roads with no lighting that can wind for miles without passing a house or places with no easy/cheap access to taxis or a bus service that comes along every ten minutes etc but it exists as do the lads that go to the local have a few drinks and potter home at 20mph. I know in my local if someone has had too much he'll get a lift home and won't be allowed to drive but as a rule they know what's what themselves.

I've never seen the harm in it and as already said the gardai know bloody well it goes on. They poke their heads out once or twice a year to let people know they exist but by and large they let it go on. There's no solution to this. The local pub is the social hub for farmers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭johnr1

Ridiculous idea by DHR. Should Could or Would never get further than it did. He'd be doing these people he's concerned about a bigger favour by just shutting up and letting the current 'blind eye' situation continue. The guards in each area know who is taking the piss and who isn't. Those who take the piss usually get caught.

Side issue: I wonder how many of those bleating outrage here would also be supportive of relaxation of drug laws.... after all they're soooo much cooler.:cool:

* I dont drink alcohol, I used to live in S Kerry, now Dublin, and have never voted for a Healy Rae.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Who drinks midweek?

Get a Taxi license then. Sounds like they are screaming out for it there...........

I lived relatively near to my local town with the only nightclub in the area. That was 12 miles. You find me a taxi that can offer an affordable rate to run a person out 12 miles+ and then return for another fare AND make a living when the only proper business will be on the Saturday night.....

Jeez, I remember when I was young. Waiting around for hours after a club trying to get a taxi/lift home... Not fun although got a few shifts so maybe it wasn't that bad.

I think you will find you havent responded to anything legitimate what so ever. So I literally have no idea what you are talking about.

With each new post you advocating reversing our very good road safety stats of which i have linked to.

With each new post you contribute to my feelings that you have no idea what you are on about OR what point you are trying to convey.

Ive done so over and over again. You dont seem to realise that the current laws and law enforcement have not changed the culture of people in rural areas drink driving.

By constantly attacking what im saying I can only assume this to be something you would apparently be delighted in and feel the status quo is grand, sure if were the best in class we should sit on our heels and not attempt to improve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

CruelCoin wrote: »
    Most country people drink drive.

errrr, no they don't. Maybe around your parish but certainly not around here.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

You dont seem to realise that the current laws and law enforcement have not changed the culture of people in rural areas drink driving.
    But wait....the claim here is that our stricter drink-driving laws are causing the death of the rural pub and serious isolation because people are afraid to go to the pub. Therefore they want permits so people can drink-drive.

That's the point of this entire farce.

Yet here you are, claiming that nothing at all has changed.

So which is it? If nothing has changed, then why do we need a permit system?

Ive done so over and over again. You dont seem to realise that the current laws and law enforcement have not changed the culture of people in rural areas drink driving.

By constantly attacking what im saying I can only assume this to be something you would apparently be delighted in and feel the status quo is grand, sure if were the best in class we should sit on our heels and not attempt to improve.

Of course they have, whats more is you know it. Gone are the days where Johnny Murphy from Timahoe would have 5-6 pints and drive home now. Go to any rural pub and the attitude IS changed. I am sure you are well aware of it. Yes of course there are people that will have 2-3 and risk it. But gone is the time of spending the whole night in there and driving.

The system has changed peoples outlook for the better. Get over it.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,982 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

This is the sort of crap to be expected of the **** on Kerry County Council. All of them bar one (Toiréasa Ferris), recently voted for pay and expenses increases for themselves, despite Kerry and the rest of the country being in the sh1t.

seamus wrote: »
    But wait....the claim here is that our stricter drink-driving laws are causing the death of the rural pub and serious isolation because people are afraid to go to the pub. Therefore they want permits so people can drink-drive.

Ask HR, he's the one that owns the pub :P

• Registered Users Posts: 459 ✭✭Old_-_School

Ranicand wrote: »
    Sure they are from Kerry what can we expect?

And before anybody starts trying to defend the hicks they voted for this their stupidly is on record for all to see.

Surely not as bad as the stupidity of Dublin people who voted for Charlie Haughey and Bertie Ahern, the stupidity of Cork people who voted for PJ Sheehan, etc.

Any of these lads still in power ? ?

seamus wrote: »

Can you please quote where I said we need a permit system??
    I do think the issue of drink driving in rural areas is something we need to examine logically rather then emotively in order to reduce road deaths. The system at present doesnt seem to work from the rural areas I have experience of.
    Nobody has died or been in an alcahol related accident there but I cant help but worry that so many people completely disregarding a law that they view as being irrelevant to them as it takes no regard for their circumstances could lead to a normalisation of drink driving and lead certain people to more and more risky behaviour.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Someone should remind Kerry council that one never goes full retard.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,540 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Democracy at work.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

errrr, no they don't. Maybe around your parish but certainly not around here.
    parish :D what a term, haven't heard that in years. So quaint and perochial. First name terms with the parish priest?

• Registered Users Posts: 459 ✭✭Old_-_School

Any of these lads still in power ? ?

No, but most of those who voted for them are still alive and still part of the electorate.
    To switch to incumbent politicians so:
    The stupidity of Tipperary people to vote for Michael Lowry.
    The stupidity of Limerick people to vote for Willie O'Dea.

No but most of those who voted them are still alive and still part of the electorate.
    To switch to incumbent politicians so:
    The stupidity of Tipperary people to vote for Michael Lowry.
    The stupidity of Limerick people to vote for Willie O'Dea.

Whats this debate about. As soon as the electorate find out about these people they get ousted.

Doesnt appear to happen in local parishes but thats for another debate which you may want to start a thread on.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Can you please quote where I said we need a permit system??
    ...that's what the entire topic of the thread is. I didn't say you were advocating the permit system.
    I do think the issue of drink driving in rural areas is something we need to examine logically rather then emotively in order to reduce road deaths. The system at present doesnt seem to work from the rural areas I have experience of.
    Drink-driving causes a massive and demonstrable increase in the risk of crashing. Therefore logically it should be stamped on.

Rural isolation is an issue and the pub has long been a source of socialising. Many rural dwellers choose to drive to the pub. These two are not compatible.
    Therefore logically the solution is to encourage means of socialising which do not involve alcohol or which do not involve vehicles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭Nippledragon

Eight of their 27 councillors bothered their arse to vote. The people of Kerry should be hounding those who didn't vote right now.

That's the problem right there, too many cooks spoil the broth. 27 councillors for one county? :eek: Our political system is overloaded with absolute Muppets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Kerry- the place they shake hands with convicted sex offenders