Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry CC support permit system which allows rural people drink and drive

• Registered Users Posts: 33,687 ✭✭✭✭listermint

To be fair, Kerry gets enough stick with Kerry Jokes without propagating this sort of nonsense.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,453 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shenshen

Balmed Out wrote: »
    There were far more smaller pubs then, and do you want a lot of drunk cyclists going around the place?

Ideally, I'd keep drunk people off the roads no matter what their choice of transportation.
    But the way I see it, if they're on a bike or on foot, they'll only end up killing themselves, not others.
    Youre comparing rural areas to urban, a car pool of 4 people could well be a 45 minute journey. Many a 4 miles as the crow flies can be 15 miles following a road.

I don't see the problem... apparently, they're happy to drive a good few miles to the pub, so why is it too difficult to pick people up along the way and drop them off after?

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Thankfully the Gardai are free to ignore the wishes of Kerry CC.

Alan Shatter and/or the Gardai should issue a statement telling Kerry CC to cop on and stop making a fool of themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,271 ✭✭✭Barna77

Heard him on the news... What did he say? I could only understand something about "messages"

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

listermint wrote: »
    Your comments sir are ridiculous. Im sorry but i cannot engage in utter stupidity.
    Are they though? I'm old enough to recall a time when driving with a couple on board wasn't near the level of being associated with being a babykiller as it is now. A couple, not pissed. The original limits backed this up. I should stress I never did it myself, think drink(or drugged) driving is daft and think any plan associated with the Healy-Raes should be dismissed on general principle. However if we look objectively at driving and what can cause distractions enough to cause accidents he may have some point to make. EG I've(stupidly) driven with a dose of the flu and with streaming snotters headcolds and IMH I would have been safer if I had been healthy with two pints in me.

Still lie I said it's the Healy-Raes, so point and laugh at the gombeens, ignore and move on.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Your comments sir are ridiculous. Im sorry but i cannot engage in utter stupidity.

I will surely cry myself to sleep.

(once i rampage round the country GTA style on my way home from being bladdered first of course).

CruelCoin wrote: »
    I will surely cry myself to sleep.

(once i rampage round the country GTA style on my way home from being bladdered first of course).

No youd have to confine that to Kerry sorry.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

No youd have to confine that to Kerry sorry.

Good GTA fun to be had all over.

Why stop at kerry?

Wibbs wrote: »
    Are they though? I'm old enough to recall a time when driving with a couple on board wasn't near the level of being associated with being a babykiller as it is now. A couple, not pissed. The original limits backed this up. I should stress I never did it myself, think drink(or drugged) driving is daft and think any plan associated with the Healy-Raes should be dismissed on general principle. However if we look objectively at driving and what can cause distractions enough to cause accidents he may have some point to make. EG I've(stupidly) driven with a dose of the flu and with streaming snotters headcolds and IMH I would have been safer if I had been healthy with two pints in me.

Still lie I said it's the Healy-Raes, so point and laugh at the gombeens, ignore and move on.

Are you old enough to recall a time when children were sent to big houses up the end of town to be 'looked after' by the state / church.

Well you see as we evolve over time we get more informed on issues. Such as the church were a bunch of scumbags for years in this country. And oh yeah drink driving actually kills people.

Gaining knowledge over time is a good thing, it also can show up how uttterly stupid people were in the past.

I think that this does to some extend ignore that fact that car ownership in Ireland has exploded over the last couple of decades, and that what would have been safe enough driving a while back, with little or no other traffic on the roads, now can be quite hazardous.

I do live in a rural location, though not quite as rural as some people on here who seem to live an hours drive from the nearest pub, and I can assure you that roads that a few years ago would have seen one or two cars a day are now as busy as any urban residential road.
    There are many more houses along these roads now, and most families living there will own and drive more than one car.

While I completely agree that driving with a little alcohol in your blood is no different than driving with a bad migraine or the flu, I still think that if a potential danger can practically be legislated against it should be.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Kerry County Council have about as much influence on the drafting of drink driving laws as I have.

Total non-story.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

hoodwinked wrote: »
    you are assuming all rural drink drivers live miles apart, the ones i know live on the same road and they still can't organise one of them to drive rather than drink.

You seem to be reading something completely different to what I wrote. I used the word "could" not "all". I am not talking about youre relatives at all neither am I talking about the area their from.
    shenshen wrote: »
    I don't see the problem... apparently, they're happy to drive a good few miles to the pub, so why is it too difficult to pick people up along the way and drop them off after?

Id love if this was likely to happen but in a lot of areas its not. I have often when visiting the in laws ended up being a designated driver for a few people all living down different small peninsulas. I live ten minutes beyond it and its the bones of an hour to drop them home and then go home myself.

My point is that this is a real issue and we can impose all the laws we want but unless we decide to increase the Guarda budget 100 fold we cant police it out of existance. As it is with the once every 10 years checkpoint every pub in the parish is rung and informed within 5 minutes of it being set up.
    What do we do then ?
    At the moment most rural people that I know wouldnt get into a car and drive drunk but they will after having 2 while watching a match or whatever (seems much more a male problem). This leads to a situation where after 6 or 7 they think to themselves Ive done it so many times and never seen a checkpoint and in their alcahol fueled idiocy get into the car. This same person gets cocky and will do a longer journey in the same condition in the future.
    We need to change the culture and what we are doing now which has been fantastic in urban areas does not seem to be getting through. Its not that these people are idiots either, they can be university educated etc etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

Haaaaaaggghhhh You're ****ing kidding.... this is laughable....

By the way hoodwinked if your relatives and their neighbours are getting into a car that drunk then it mightnt be a bad idea to contact the guarda.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

15 years ago we were close to the bottom of the EU vehicular deaths per 100,000, by 2011 only sweden and the UK had lower road fatalities, the number came down drastically again last year, due to better roads and drink-driving becoming more of a taboo than it was in the past. DHR is wrong wrong wrong on this(quelle surprise).With luck after the next election he will be just a publican,crying into his pint glass with john o donoghue

• Registered Users Posts: 11,301 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Do a county council have control over how the Garda will police this? Surely if they were the case then we would end up with a country like the US where there are different laws in each state.

Mr Shatter needs to make a statement on this and put it firmly in the bin, this is pissing on the graves of people who were killed by drink drivers, and making it worse for the families of those affected.

The Healy-Raes are a stern reminder that cousins should not be allowed to marry.

• Registered Users Posts: 459 ✭✭Old_-_School

Have the 3 councillors who voted against the motion been listed?
    The other 24 councillors who voted for the motion or abstained should never again see public office.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,633 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Wonder how the insurance companies will take the news after a crash. "I have a permit to drink/drive" Can't see them paying out on that.

And talking of paying out I wonder if there would be a charge for these permits? €2400pa sounds reasonable.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Are you old enough to recall a time when children were sent to big houses up the end of town to be 'looked after' by the state / church.

Well you see as we evolve over time we get more informed on issues. Such as the church were a bunch of scumbags for years in this country. And oh yeah drink driving actually kills people.
    Niiice, bring in the oul church too, the whipping boy for Irish failures and a dumping ground for all the ills of the past. Love it.
    Gaining knowledge over time is a good thing, it also can show up how uttterly stupid people were in the past.
    On that logic, future people will also think us at the moment to be "utterly stupid" too, or have we reached a perfect state now? Very simplistic and emotion driven argument.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Ranicand

Yes it is. Like it or not, many, many people are incapable of socialising without a drink. And for a lot of the people we're talking about, going to the pub is all they have. Sad but true.
    I'm sorry for your loss and I hope I haven't come across as insensitive. I do not agree with drink driving as we all understand it. A drunk person is a danger in a vehicle and should never be allowed to drive. But what I do believe is that a person can be over the legal limit, but not drunk, and be very capable of driving on a quiet road home.

Look your posting pure selfish crap and no we don't have to listen to you or show you any respect because your full of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,048 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Yes it is. Like it or not, many, many people are incapable of socialising without a drink. And for a lot of the people we're talking about, going to the pub is all they have. Sad but true.
    I'm sorry for your loss and I hope I haven't come across as insensitive. I do not agree with drink driving as we all understand it. A drunk person is a danger in a vehicle and should never be allowed to drive. But what I do believe is that a person can be over the legal limit, but not drunk, and be very capable of driving on a quiet road home.

Perhaps a wider range of social activities then? If all someone has is the pub, it's time to get soemthing more into your life.

The Haely-Raes would be better putting their voice behind more social-based initiatives than the pub, surely? (Yeah, I know, they own the pubs....)

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

They should get a bowling alley and a quasar in Kilgarvan for all the aul lads who can't drink and drive.

• Registered Users Posts: 595 ✭✭✭omega666

In fairness half the people on here haven't a single iota what's it like to live in a real rural area. Some of the suggestions of just simply ringing a taxi or walking home just show the ignorance on display. Living in rathfarnam is thier idea of the country side.

People in Rural pubs already drink and drive, the local Guards know perfectly well who do it and could catch any of them on any night of the week but they turn a blind eye. Obviously i'm not talking about fellas drinking 10 pints and driving off home plastered. I'm talking about the 70 year old farmer who goes to the local every night for 2 or 3 pints.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Ranicand

Shenshen wrote: »
    This really makes me wonder, what would all those poor, dry sods have done some 40 or 50 years ago, when next to nobody even owned a car?

Oh, yes, they may have just walked or taken a bicycle.

And now, obviously, they are utterly unable to get from their home to the nearest pub by any other means than their own car.... poor people.

Not even enough cop-on to organise a car pool or have a designated driver. Sad indeed.

Sure they are from Kerry what can we expect?

And before anybody starts trying to defend the hicks they voted for this their stupidly is on record for all to see.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,048 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

omega666 wrote: »
    In fairness half the people on here haven't a single iota what's it like to like in a real rural area. Some of the suggestions of just simply ringing a taxi or walking home just show the ignorance on display. Living in rathfarnam is thier idea of the country side.

People in Rural pubs already drink and drive, the local Guards know perfectly well who do it and could catch any of them on any night of the week but they turn a blind eye. Obviously i'm not talking about fellas drinking 10 pints and driving off home plastered. I'm talking about the 70 year old farmer who goes to the local every night for 2 or 3 pints.

Ya see, this sounds like arrogance. I mean. these are the same people who probably rang up Joe to get the head-sops closed down. And, of course, they all knew everything about the legal highs on offer at the time.

What's good for the goose, as they say...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Niiice, bring in the oul church too, the whipping boy for Irish failures and a dumping ground for all the ills of the past. Love it.

On that logic, future people will also think us at the moment to be "utterly stupid" too, or have we reached a perfect state now? Very simplistic and emotion driven argument.

No, im pretty confident you know entirely what i am getting at. But decided to side step that entirely.

Just because 'that used to be the way' doesnt mean its correct to carry on in that manner. Its been proven TIME AND TIME again that drinking impairs your reaction times. So praytell why you want someone who has purposefully impaired themselves behind the wheel of a 2 ton death machine.

Il wait here Wibbs while you enlighten my with your knowledge......

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Nice to tune into Ray D'arcy earlier when he had Healy Ray on.D'arcy got so vexed that he hung up on him.

How many more hair brained ideas will the Healy Rays come up with before the people of Kerry cop on to the fact they are electing morons?

omega666 wrote: »

So you're talking about someone who due to his age possibly already has an increased reaction time, and you think it's just dandy for him to go and reduce his driving ability a little further by drinking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I lived in rural Ireland 7 miles to town.

Taxis are available. People to scabby to use them and publicans want the money spent in their pub.

. So praytell why you want someone who has purposefully impaired themselves behind the wheel of a 2 ton death machine.
    QUOTE]

Where did anyone say that they want drunks to be driving.

As a society we can either deal with a problem or stick fingers in our ears, shut our eyes and hope the problem fixes itself.
    If were ever going to minimise drink related tests then we will have to create a culture in rural areas that wont tolerate dangerous behaviour. Unfortunately a zero tolerance approach isnt working and can never ever be enforced.