If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Black ice everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭MB Lacey

kenmc wrote: »
    You need to run them for 40ish km without any ice first according to the instructions so get them on before you need them.
    Thanks - I've already done my 40k on them, so the studs should be well and truely in. I put them on my bike just before Christmas and have been cycling on them since, so far, no need for them, but wont take them off until March (or when risk of ice has completely gone).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭maloner

MB Lacey wrote: »
    Someone posted about that exact bend on this thread last Fri, I was going to cycle it but saw the post and cycled along Laraghcon instead.
    Shame you didn't see that post too! Hope you're ok.

That was me. Need a new bottom bracket. Bike is in the LBS so fingers crossed its just a bottom bracket and not something more serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Pigeon Reaper

Zorba wrote: »
    Actually are the normal marathons any good in the ice ?

They're not great on ice as the compound is hard wearing rather than grippy.

I was on the mtb with winter tyres and thought the roads where grand this morning. Then I got off and almost fell on my arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

Grand Goatstown -> Parkwest (D14-12). Sparkly underwheel, couple of frozen puddles, footpaths looked icy in places, but the winter-shod Kaffenback didn't notice anything slippy. Bring on tomorrow and the hopeful snow!!!! :D

If there is snow tomorrow I'll be looking for you to punch you in the head for wishing it upon us :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,299 ✭✭✭kenmc

colm_gti wrote: »
    If there is snow tomorrow I'll be looking for you to punch you in the head for wishing it upon us :p

oh you're one of those "glass half empty" types. Bah Humbug and all that. :(
    Snow rocks :) Bestest thing ever!

oh you're one of those "glass half empty" types. Bah Humbug and all that. :(
    Snow rocks :) Bestest thing ever!

Only because I don't have studded tyres, and I can't justify buying them in the middle of January. I'll make sure to have a pair by next November, and I'll join you in the wishing for snow, but until then, if it snows you better watch yourself on the roads I'll be out looking for ye! :P

maloner wrote: »
    That was me. Need a new bottom bracket. Bike is in the LBS so fingers crossed its just a bottom bracket and not something more serious.
    Thanks for taking the time to post the map of the black ice patch, seemed to save me on Sunday, hope you're bike's ok, at least it's in the best place and being looked after by professional doctors.

Unfortunately I think we're going to miss it this time. England to get a pelting. Lucky feckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,387 ✭✭✭lennymc

Only because I don't have studded tyres, and I can't justify buying them in the middle of January. I'll make sure to have a pair by next November, and I'll join you in the wishing for snow, but until then, if it snows you better watch yourself on the roads I'll be out looking for ye! :P

but you will be walking, and those of us with studded tyres will be able to speedily cycle away on our tyres with their lovely stud covered grippyness.

lennymc wrote: »
    but you will be walking, and those of us with studded tyres will be able to speedily cycle away on our tyres with their lovely stud covered grippyness.

I have snow studs for my shoes, I'll run if I have to catch ye :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Grand Goatstown -> Parkwest (D14-12). Sparkly underwheel, couple of frozen puddles, footpaths looked icy in places, but the winter-shod Kaffenback didn't notice anything slippy. Bring on tomorrow and the hopeful snow!!!! :D

The turn from Cherry Orchard into Parkwest was a little dodgy this morning. Only cos I was pushing off at those stupid new lights though. Foot slipping on path as I pushed off was probably the dodgiest part tbh.

I have snow studs for my shoes, I'll run if I have to catch ye :D
    Now see what you did. Not even a bit of frost. Grrrrrrr.:mad:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,270 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

cold and wet this morning. Got a poxy puncture (again) and looks like my back wheel is punctured. Thats probably me done for the week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,149 ✭✭✭monkeybutter

what kind of puncture and what kind of tyres?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,243 ✭✭✭scotchy

Was overtaken by a gritting truck on a narrow road last night. Interesting experience. Myself and the bike got sand blasted.

In fairness to the driver he tried to warn me by beeping, but I didn't know why he was beeping till after he passed and I realised what was going on.

so another thing to be watching out for :rolleyes:

💙 💛 💙 💛 💙 💛

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Looks very much like there's a snow event of some level imminent over the next five days. Main roads at sea level should be OK today and tomorrow, but Wicklow will be no-go for club spins over the weekend. Monday morning seems set to bring snow to almost everyone to some degree. So get your studded tyres/MTBs out over the weekend...

seamus wrote: »
    Looks very much like there's a snow event of some level imminent over the next five days. Main roads at sea level should be OK today and tomorrow, but Wicklow will be no-go for club spins over the weekend. Monday morning seems set to bring snow to almost everyone to some degree. So get your studded tyres/MTBs out over the weekend...

B0ll0x :(

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Seamus, you just made me swear out loud in my office.

I heard you from here :pac:

Finally!

Hold on, where are you getting this from? All the weather sites I check (yr.no, accuweather, met eireann) say that sleet/snow will be confined to Ulster and nothern Connaught/Leinster....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭route66

Doesn't look too toasty here: link

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Hold on, where are you getting this from? All the weather sites I check (yr.no, accuweather, met eireann) say that sleet/snow will be confined to Ulster and nothern Connaught/Leinster....

Right now a few are saying snow etc is definite for the North and that there's s trong chance of it moving further South to Dublin and beyond, but they just can't be sure how bad it'll get here.

Weather forum, weather sites, charts, etc.

Monday is a long way out in weather terms, but we're set for a fairly sharp drop in temperatures tonight until about next Thursday.

It won't snow like back in 2010, but all of the gaps in wicklow will definitely be filled with snow tomorrow (OK, not "filled", but snowy). There's obviously a chance that it'll just be cold with no snow at all, but the models are going the other way for the moment, showing at least some kind of snow during that cold snap. Could be a light dusting, could be a couple of cm. Either way, not road biking conditions.

Met Eireann are notoriously slow to forecast any kind of snow, because you're usually wrong. As I may well be :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,387 ✭✭✭lennymc

B0ll0x :(

its ok, you have studded shoe covers.

lennymc wrote: »
    its ok, you have studded shoe covers.

I'm not gonna run 60k :-/

Can lend rent you my spikey tires :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,270 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

what kind of puncture and what kind of tyres?

Gator skins.

I think it maybe an issue with the rim tape. Taking it to the bike shop tomorrow

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 357 ✭✭ballygowan1

Turbo it is. Pity, was dying for a long spin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭JOHN_70

I'd reckon that the probability of snow/icy roads decreases the further south you are.