Black ice everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

colm_gti wrote: »
    Hold on, where are you getting this from? All the weather sites I check (yr.no, accuweather, met eireann) say that sleet/snow will be confined to Ulster and nothern Connaught/Leinster....
    Oh ye of little faith :p
    Following heavy snow, the Wicklow Gap and Sally Gap are impassable. Snow reported around Roundwood, Laragh, Annamoe and Aughrim
    Was hammering down snow around me when I left for work, but then I'm halfway up Montpelier hill. Also wasn't sticking cos of the rain beforehand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭G rock

Few heavy enough snow flurries here in monaghan this morning. Still coming down, but wet enough that it isn't sticking around. Yet.

Coming your way (i hope!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Definitely considering it. Maybe on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Pigeon Reaper

Mountain Rescue are currently on Military road pulling out motorists who ignored the warnings and tried to go over it.

Ah yeah, it's too snowy for stupid cars. The tyres on my car are so **** at the moment the thing will barely go in a straight line on a wet road. Talking about going up on the MTB of course.

Edit: Not because they're worn, but because they're **** tyres. I'm changing them next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭monkeyslayer

any one any idea what 3 rock/2rock will be like in the morning??

From the weather forum:

So I'm guessing the answer is "snowy"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,467 ✭✭✭fletch

seamus wrote: »
    From the weather forum:

So I'm guessing the answer is "snowy"
    Oooh reminds me of Goldeneye on the N64! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

Lads, watch yourselves today. I'm going to assume every cyclist in town is one of you guys that was wishing for snow, and punch them in the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,515 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

SSSSSSSSSNNNNNNNNNNNOOOOOOOOOOOOWWWWWWWW!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭seven stars

Conditions are fairly atrocious out Leixlip / Lucan way on the N4. Wouldn't advise it without a MTB.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,500 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Snowing a bit in North County Dublin on the commute in, but the roads were awash with real water with no chance of any ice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,299 ✭✭✭kenmc

WHEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!

\o/

SNOWWWWWWWW!

First snowy commute on the winter bike. So nice. Only issue I had was the ould glasses misting up a bit when I stopped at lights. Might dig out the snowboarding goggles tonite so. Graupel for the last 2 km or so was a bit nasty, but otherwise, the nicest commute of the year so far!

Great craic. I need to upgrade my mountain bike for the two weeks of every year that I use it. No, really :D

Lovely snow up at my place, satisfying burning past the 2km tailbacks. City centre is a bit crap though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Pigeon Reaper

Started out in heavy sleet and finished in snow. I got soaked but it was enjoyable and the winter tyres did the job perfectly. The only problem was the rear cassette and Derailuer becoming iced up so I couldn't change gears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,387 ✭✭✭lennymc

colm_gti wrote: »
    Lads, watch yourselves today. I'm going to assume every cyclist in town is one of you guys that was wishing for snow, and punch them in the head.

you will have to catch us first!! :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,373 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Couple of slippy moments coming down Dundrum hill but other than that the commute over to Tallaght was grand. Except for the snow plough that decided to turn across a bus lane with no warning.

My ass is uncomfortably numb due to damp and cold at the minute though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Roddy23

Great craic coming in on the mountain bike. Mudguards are needed though, soaked. Flying past the traffic all the way in. SUUUUCCCKKKKKEEEERRRRRRSSSSSS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭MB Lacey

Cycled in through sludge, sludge spray, sleet and snow this morning - it was invigorating shall we say. Tried to keep to the outside of the bike lane/ roads as much as possible.
    Pure satisfaction cycling past the huge tail backs of traffic :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭daragh_

Little bit snowy around the house but otherwise slushy and wet - Deansgrange to Kilmainham. Flew in on the MTB, but would have been fine on the SS.

If any of that slush freezes it will be 'interesting' going home.

If that happens, let the air out of the MTB tyres a bit and spin home in an easier gear. I did this back in the snow of Jan 2010 and had no incidents. I could barely stand on the road, but my unstudded tyres had no issue. The commute was slow as hell, but enjoyable.

seamus wrote: »
    If that happens, let the air out of the MTB tyres a bit and spin home in an easier gear. I did this back in the snow of Jan 2010 and had no incidents. I could barely stand on the road, but my unstudded tyres had no issue. The commute was slow as hell, but enjoyable.
    especially as you go up hills that cars can't get up. Make sure to shake your head disapprovingly as you breeze past. The odd "tsch" helps reinforce the superiority too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭dermo1990

Hit a bit of slush when turning in Dundrum and before I knew it I was on my side....That stuff is slippery! One of the better commutes other than that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Lumen wrote: »
    SSSSSSSSSNNNNNNNNNNNOOOOOOOOOOOOWWWWWWWW!!!!!!!

Where? Where?!!

Not a flake to be seen on my commute...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭irishmotorist

Great commute this morning on my snow tyred MTB. Snow, sleet, rain and hail all in the one day. I had a problem with foggy glasses too, but got rid of them when I couldn't see. For the most part, motorists gave me a good berth today.

I did see one lad in shorts on the way, nutcase. To be fair to him he's in shorts every day, but even still, I reckon that's just *really* nuts...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,682 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

None on mine either (fecking cold though, as was the beach in Rush yesterday walking the mutt)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

cdaly_ wrote: »
    Not a flake to be seen on my commute...

None on mine either. The northside seems to have escaped, if wet and baltic counts as escape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

There was already a layer of snow on the ground in my estate (Dublin 16) by 07h00 today, more snow fell by the time I left at 08h30. There was enough on the local roads that cars had turned it to ridges/mounds a few inches high in places. That was fine though as it was all still soft and easy to cycle through - it'll be a real pain in the arse if it freezes before my commute home as even with spiked tyres it is difficult to negotiate frozen ruts and ridges.

I wasn't aware of any ice on the way in (past Rathfarnham and into the city centre) but my front (spiked) tyre did feel a little unstable at times, though possibly just because of the volume of slush rather than any ice. The snow that accumulated on my cassette was making a mess of my gears at times though, initially I thought my freehub was freezing in freewheel-both-ways mode, and perhaps it was, but it was more likely just that the chain was being pushed about by the buildup.

'Twas a largely uneventful commute though, the odd car that decided to drive in the cycle lane and skim the footpath edge (why??) aside. In the last 50m before I got to work though, some presumably extremely important bint in a car decided that speeding up behind me and immediately overtaking me was essential to her very survival. I was in the middle of my lane, between the LUAS rails on my side, since I was making a right turn, which she seemed to take exception to. My arm indicating my intention to turn did nothing to calm her mood, and as I slowed to carefully negotiate the wet rails she gestured wildly for me to get a move on and get out of her way. Clearly she had important places to be, and important things to do, how dare I delay her by a further few milliseconds. Her grumpy face suggested that my vocal response wasn't quite the apology she felt entitled to expect.