Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Couch to 5k thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

You don't run every day, just three days a week.
    The main thing is, if you find it tough - slow down. Run slower rather than giving up and walking. It doesn't matter how fast or slow you run, as long as you run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Hobbitfeet wrote: »
    I want to start this so just looking for some tips first. Can anyone recommend iPhone app for it? Do you have to go out every night? Any other tips for beginner? Thanks

http://www.nhs.uk/Tools/Pages/couch-5K-running-plan.aspx

Download this podcast to your phone or ipod. I was doing this last year and this running programme got me from 30 odd years of absolutely no running to running a 5k race non-stop in December 2011. Am running a half marathon next weekend. My tip is to JUST DO IT and stick to it. Don't overdo it. Do exactly what's required of you and get used to running in all weathers. Never use the weather as an excuse not to run, then you have no choice :D
    Agree with what Ray says. Don't run too fast. Keep reminding yourself to slow down and don't worry about pace. The main aim should be to be able to run 5k at the end of the 9 weeks no matter what time it's taking you. You can work on speed when you've the programme completed.
    Best of luck! If I can do it anyone can! And really try to enjoy it as much as possible.
    p.s. you should really make sure you have correct running shoes and gait analysis. The gait analysis is free but the runners may cost you a few quid but they are totally worth every cent.
    BEST OF LUCK:):pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,440 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Just back from Week 1 Day 3.

Spending the weekend in my gf's and it lashed rain ALL DAY. I sat waiting for the rain to stop but it never did, so I just got out there.

So glad I did. I think I actually prefer the rain.

It went really well. Can't wait to step it up and graduate to Week 2 on Monday :)

Graduated to Week 2 Day 1 tonight.

It was fine. Tougher than Week 1 but not TOO tough. I'd describe it as appropriately more difficult. Once I concentrated on my breathing I was able to drift through it (still jogging very slowly of course). Just as I was starting to feel like i'd start to struggle, i'd power through and the lady would tell me to slow down to an easy pace.

Very encouraged by tonight. Looking forward to Days 2 & 3 :D

MrStuffins wrote: »

It was fine. Tougher than Week 1 but not TOO tough. I'd describe it as appropriately more difficult. Once I concentrated on my breathing I was able to drift through it (still jogging very slowly of course). Just as I was starting to feel like i'd start to struggle, i'd power through and the lady would tell me to slow down to an easy pace.

Well done! Is that the NHS lady telling you what to do on the podcast? Laura I think? I miss her and wish she was with me on all my runs! She's so positive and encouraging!
    Will enjoy watching your progress.

Ososlo wrote: »
    Well done! Is that the NHS lady telling you what to do on the podcast? Laura I think? I miss her and wish she was with me on all my runs! She's so positive and encouraging!
    Will enjoy watching your progress.

Cheers dude. Thanks a million for the support, it's much appreciated.

No not from the podcast. I got the RunDouble app for my phone. Tracks my progress with GSP too which is handy. The lady on it is abrupt but does the job :P

Cheers dude. Thanks a million for the support, it's much appreciated.

No not from the podcast. I got the RunDouble app for my phone. Tracks my progress with GSP too which is handy. The lady on it is abrupt but does the job :P

I was EXACTLY where you are now this time last year. Seriously it's one of the best things I ever did and has opened up a whole new world to me. I just wish I had discovered it 10 years ago. You'll do brilliantly as you seem to have a great attitude and sound like you're enjoying it.
    Abrupt is good;)

I was EXACTLY where you are now this time last year. Seriously it's one of the best things I ever did and has opened up a whole new world to me. I just wish I had discovered it 10 years ago. You'll do brilliantly as you seem to have a great attitude and sound like you're enjoying it.
    Abrupt is good;)

Yeah, i'm coming to the tail end of a good bit of weight-loss so i'm hoping that my routine of "diet" is replaced by the routine of running.

I was afraid when I reached my weight goal i'd be like "now what". Hopefully when I reach the goal i'll be like "Grand. Time for a run so" :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 happydays1

You're a day ahead of me, I did week2/day 1 today!!:)...I did the whole first week on the treadmill though and today on a running track and I struggled through the last 2 90 second jogs with my calf muscles....hoping they will be alright to go on Thursday!!!!!

happydays1 wrote: »
    You're a day ahead of me, I did week2/day 1 today!!:)...I did the whole first week on the treadmill though and today on a running track and I struggled through the last 2 90 second jogs with my calf muscles....hoping they will be alright to go on Thursday!!!!!

This was happening to me too but I found that if I did a proper stretch beforehand & afterward it minimised the strain on my calves.

I've heard day 2 is much easier than day 1 so that's something for us to look forward to :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭scriba

MrStuffins is spot on. I had the same issues myself starting out. Warming up, and especially warming down with some good calf stretching will soon make a difference.

Fair play lads. The toughest part was starting this. Consider this a hearty and rousing cheer in your direction!

scriba wrote: »
    MrStuffins is spot on. I had the same issues myself starting out. Warming up, and especially warming down with some good calf stretching will soon make a difference.

Fair play lads. The toughest part was starting this. Consider this a hearty and rousing cheer in your direction!

me too! You guys should really try to keep this thread very active. I'm sure there are loads of lurkers out there who would love to join in. I wish I had had something like this thread when I was doing it last year. It can be very beneficial sharing experiences and tips and motivating each other. :)

Cheers guys!

Well, there's a chance i'll be busy on Saturday, so in order to give myself the option of doing Run 3 on a Friday, I went out for Week 2 Day 2 today.

Have to say, it was handy. Breathing-wise I was never uncomfortable and I could even give it socks for the last run and run faster than I had been.

The only thing was that my legs ached a bit. But i'm guessing that they will get used to it and the running itself will build them up. Might start doing some squats too just to work my legs.

Really liking this program so far. I always feel great after every run for having done it and the fact i'm progressing does a lot for the confidence :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Well done lads. You's are making fantastic progress. Keep up the good work.
    I really can't emphasise enough the feeling of accomplishment at the end.
    Well worth the journey lads. :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Week one day one begins at the weekend, app downloaded, thread subscribed to :pac:

Good luck Tar!!

Great words of encouragement here, tis really great to follow other people doing the same thing!!

I'm meant to do week 2/day 2 today but my achilles/calves just don't seem to agree so I am hoping an extra days rest will let me do it tomorrow instead!!:(...went to physio yesterday (yes I know,only in wk 2 and already at the physio) and he reckons getting my gait done and making sure I have the proper pair of runners will help so I will get that done today.
    Just a few questions:

1: Should you go to a few sports shops when getting your gait analysis done? I'm wary of getting it done by some guy/girl who doesn't jnow what He/she is talking about or just wants to sell me an expensive pair of runners!!

2:I know swimming is great for fitness but does anyone know if it helps in the way of muscle strains?

3:Anyone got any thoughts on cold stretching? ie. random stretching without any warming up of the muscles!! Physio told me to stretch whenever I got the chance but I thought I read somewhere that it was meant to be bad for the muscles???

Great words of encouragement here, tis really great to follow other people doing the same thing!!

I'm meant to do week 2/day 2 today but my achilles/calves just don't seem to agree so I am hoping an extra days rest will let me do it tomorrow instead!!:(...went to physio yesterday (yes I know,only in wk 2 and already at the physio) and he reckons getting my gait done and making sure I have the proper pair of runners will help so I will get that done today.
    Just a few questions:

1: Should you go to a few sports shops when getting your gait analysis done? I'm wary of getting it done by some guy/girl who doesn't jnow what He/she is talking about or just wants to sell me an expensive pair of runners!!

2:I know swimming is great for fitness but does anyone know if it helps in the way of muscle strains?

3:Anyone got any thoughts on cold stretching? ie. random stretching without any warming up of the muscles!! Physio told me to stretch whenever I got the chance but I thought I read somewhere that it was meant to be bad for the muscles???

1. To answer your first question, without doubt, your physio is correct, you need to get your gait analysed asap before you do any more damage to yourself. This is imperative and can't be stressed enough. I would advise you to go straight to Amphibian King in Ballymount (if you live in or near Dublin), or Bray. If you're outside Dublin someone else can advise perhaps? Ring them first to make an appointment and one of the guys there will take a video of you running and advise you on what shoe suits you best. They will cost you a few quid alright but will save you on physio visits in the long run :) I started couch 25k a year ago and 2 other people I know started it then too. 2 of us got gait analysed at the start of the programme and got proper fitting shoes and 2 didn't despite my protestations. The 2 that used off-the-shelf runners got injury after injury but I kept on at them to get the gait analysed. They gave in after about 4 months and their problems decreased big time. 100s wasted on physio visits by them and 100 spent on runners by me:D

3. Cold stretching: I'm not an expert but this does not sound like a good idea at all. I would definitely be looking at changing my physio if he suggested this! But maybe everyone is different and it's suitable for you! I doubt it though. Maybe someone more qualified can advise here. A very fast walk or extremely gentle jog should be enough to get you warmed up nicely.

Thanks Ososlo, you have definitely convinced me about getting my gait analysed...makes sense if my efforts at running so far are anything to go by!! I would be finished the C25K by now if I didn't have to take breaks due to muscle strains etc.....its so frustrating..:(

I'm in the Enniscorthy/Wexford area if anyone can reccommend somewhere trustworthy to get my gait analysed???

Thanks Ososlo, you have definitely convinced me about getting my gait analysed...makes sense if my efforts at running so far are anything to go by!! I would be finished the C25K by now if I didn't have to take breaks due to muscle strains etc.....its so frustrating..:(

I'm in the Enniscorthy/Wexford area if anyone can reccommend somewhere trustworthy to get my gait analysed???

maybe try posting in the Gear & Equipment thread as more people will see your post and you might get suggestions from people who live in your area.

You won't regret getting the correct runners. It'll also encourage you to get out more as you'll feel guilty having a fancy pair of training shoes just lying there:D That kind of worked for me anyways:)

Haha yep, good motivational tactics!!:)

Just got back from Week 2 Day 3.

Was the toughest yet for me. But still, not overly tough which is encouraging.

Still, not looking forward to next week. Running for 3 minutes? :(

How's everyone else doing?

You're getting through it nicely there MrStuffins! well done! Well, it's supposed to be tough but always remind yourself to slow down if you're finding it very hard. It's far better to continue running at a very very slow pace rather than having to stop and walk. Start looking at the calendar and at your predicted date to complete the programme and pencil in a 5k race for yourself! If you're near Dublin you could do a Parkrun race. I found that having a race to focus on in the future added some extra motivation. Keep at it.

Nice one Ososlo, i'm way ahead of ya! When I started I looked forward to see when I could run a 5K and I found Parkrun!

I'm scheduled in to run it the week I'm supposed to finish the programme.

Not looking forward to 3 mins tonight but i've no choice! Gotta get out there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Started a 0-10K programme four weeks ago with a view to running a marathon next June 2nd (six months time). Is this do-able? I haven't run for over twenty years!

The programme I'm doing has a five minute warm up walk at the start and a five minute cool down walk at the end of each session. Tonight, it was run for 3mins, walk for 2mins, run for 5mins, walk for 3mins and then the same in reverse. I found it quite challenging! :eek:

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

Penfailed wrote: »
    Started a 0-10K programme four weeks ago with a view to running a marathon next June 2nd (six months time). Is this do-able? I haven't run for over twenty years!

The programme I'm doing has a five minute warm up walk at the start and a five minute cool down walk at the end of each session. Tonight, it was run for 3mins, walk for 2mins, run for 5mins, walk for 3mins and then the same in reverse. I found it quite challenging! :eek:

Sounds like it could be similar to this one! Challenging indeed but you'll get back into it. Thats what the programme is designed for :)

Nice one Ososlo, i'm way ahead of ya! When I started I looked forward to see when I could run a 5K and I found Parkrun!

I'm scheduled in to run it the week I'm supposed to finish the programme.

Not looking forward to 3 mins tonight but i've no choice! Gotta get out there :)

excellent! Am looking forward to partaking in one of these in the New Year too!

Did Week 3 Day 1 last night.

Didn't think i'd get anywhere near 3 minutes considering what 90 secs was like last week.

I was VERY surprised how easy it was! Before I came anywhere near struggling the 3 minutes was up, both times.

Very encouraged. Although I DO find running for a prolonged period of time very unnatural as i'm doing it :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Finished Week Four tonight! Got a wee 'half way to 5K' badge :D

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

Just finished Week 3 Day 2.

I'm always pleasantly surprised that during every run I never get out of breath!

However, my legs ache like f*ck! Gonna try mix in some leg exercises to strengthen them up!