FF bounce back - WTF???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,226 ✭✭✭Solair

i say we give sin fein a shot (even if the are terrorists :pac:) how much fecking worse can they be than either FF or FG

Just keep them away from the printer cartridge order forms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,571 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

Ha my arse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭johnr1

i say we give sin fein a shot (even if they are terrorists :pac:) how much fecking worse can they be than either FF or FG

It's not the ex-terrorist bit that would bother me tbh, it's more that they represent the welfare class, rather than those of us who break our holes and pay for their electorate.

That and the even more important fact that they have no policies that would stand up to even the scrutiny of a primary school child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

johnr1 wrote: »
    those of us who break our holes and pay for their electorate.

Selling your ass on the street?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Solair wrote: »
    People need to remember that Fianna Fail and the Greens signed us up to binding agreements to implement a property tax amongst other things.

Fianna Fail and the Greens also implement a lovely Blasphemy law that made us look like some kind of backwards-looking theocracy and got loads of very negative coverage abroad while stifling free speech at home.

And they're the people who brought you the HSE!

A lot of the current Government's policies are being dictated by terms of a horrendous 'bailout' agreement signed up by FF and the Greens.

If you agree with the "No Banker or Speculator Left Behind" policy, definitely vote FF. I mean, otherwise your buddies in the speculative sector might actually have to deal with the economic realities of failed investments.

Admittedly the current lot aren't exactly amazing, but I'd rather see an inanimate carbon rod running the country than FF !

So please tell me how much oppostion FG put up to the bank guarantee? Have they burnt the bondholders since they came to power? Or have they continued to burn the poor and defenceless of our society?

FF and FG are two sides of the one coin.

As a wise poster on here said some time ago, the only difference in FF and FG is which hill their grandfathers were up in 1922.

Other than that they're both right-wing parasites seeking to protect the status quo of the elite. And for some reason working class people vote for them. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,571 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

johnr1 wrote: »
    It's not the ex-terrorist bit that would bother me tbh, it's more that they represent the welfare class, rather than those of us who break our holes and pay for their electorate.

That and the even more important fact that they have no policies that would stand up to even the scrutiny of a primary school child.

having zero policies cant be much worse than what we have right now :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Ghandee wrote: »

Probably linked to their recent anti property tax rants.

Ironic given it was those clusterfûcks that created the mess we're in at the min.

If FF did get back into government, would they get rid of the property tax? Of course not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭czx

K-9 wrote: »
    It'll be another coalition, this seems to come as a surprise to many in a country that has had coalitions for over 30 years non stop.

I'd love a SF/ Labour coalition but it wont happen.

Anyone who thinks this will happen has book learning problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭maddragon

Fear not my fellow countrymen. Oil has been discovered off our shores which means the Americans will soon be here to liberate us.

I do think there is a niche to be filled in the political system by a socially liberal and economically centrist party. However FF have not really started espousing either of those so it makes the return in support quite disappointing.

I know it's almost a cliche to say it at this point but we really do have such a disappointing political system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

gaffer91 wrote: »
    I do think there is a niche to be filled in the political system by a socially liberal and economically centrist party. However FF have not really started espousing either of those so it makes the return in support quite disappointing.

I know it's almost a cliche to say it at this point but we really do have such a disappointing political system.

The last socially liberal party with power we had was Garret and FG, 30 years ago. FG have gone backwards since and Labour, who have liberal policies, wouldn't dare make an issue of liberal policies. Just refer differences to the usual policy think tank in Yes, Minster style.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭geetar

i say we give sin fein a shot (even if they are terrorists :pac:) how much fecking worse can they be than either FF or FG

I hope we never find out. Id prefer a lifetime of FF rule then one term of SF.

geetar wrote: »
    I hope we never find out. Id prefer a lifetime of FF rule then one term of SF.

You can feckin' pay for it so........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭yermanoffthetv

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Other than that they're both right-wing parasites seeking to protect the status quo of the elite. And for some reason working class people vote for them. :confused:

Surely you mean left wing? Protectionism and government interference are counter to "right wing" (I prefer the term free market) philosophy. The poblem IMHO is that there is far too much socialism in Irish politics and nobody to give balance to the debate. Theres not one party that I feel represents me. Any before any drags up the old "sure the PD's were a disaster" they were as clientelistic and elitest as FF, not a true economicaly and socialy liberal party. People are always whinging how the government are screwing up everthing, then surely less government and more choice is better?

The Greens might suit you. They dislike poor people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

It just shows how dire the opposition are and how weak the political system is in this country when some people would actually give their support to FF again after everything they've done.

And also how incredibly stupid a large percentage of the Irish electorate are.

I agree they're all the same anyway. Never again will any of them get my vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭yermanoffthetv

squod wrote: »
    The Greens might suit you. They dislike poor people.

Trust me im far from being rich or privileged. However I do dislike wastefulness and when its your taxes being pissed up against a wall on a ministers brain fart, I have a problem with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 930 ✭✭✭poeticseraphim

People have no choice???? Why are people surprised? It is A or B.....

People will nnever vote Sinn Féin. Irish people are not socialist they want to keep their own pensions and their own money in their pockets. SF rhetoric is cynically aimed at those they think they can manipulate.They know and accept that the middle class will not support them so they do not go after that demographic nor do they worry about it.

And the dmographic they do go after is small.

It is the current govt or FF.....??? I would say we are screwed without a miracle.

We need a new party.

A VOTE YES FOR JOBS PARTY :-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

When voters see that FG are getting just as bad as FF (were), people might look kinder on Martin's New Jerusalem.

Funnily enough, I don't remember Bruton & co telling cowen to GTFO during the 'boom' years.

The Rainbow coalition lof the 90's with Bruto Spring and De Rossa were thought by most to have done a good job. They brought in free third level education and did a lot for the peace process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭mhigh86

ilovesleep wrote: »
    I was just thinking about this lately. I can't find the thread now but last year before the elections Permabear(spelling) over in politics wrote a thread as to why we should vote FF. We all jumped on like WTF but looking back and remembering that thread, I think he was slightly right.

His thread was about FF's policy to reduce minimum wage. Many people will disagree and this is coming from a very low paid worker but I think a drop in minimum is needed for this country. To help employers with his/her business, to get more people back at work and to start reducing the cost of living.

I am never going to forget what FF did. They are a shower of maggots that deserve to be set alight.

But what we did in Feb 2011 we voted in our droves in anger to give FF the boot for the damage that they did and rightly so but we ignored policies and one on the minimum wage that's very important that will help things. They did wrong and very, very wrong but they were going to try and right things.

FG lied so much to get into power and they banging the nails into an already dead state. If we left FF in maybe, just maybe they might have felt guilty of their wrong-doings in government and started sorting out the top in.this country. No body knows.

LOL..........I'M with seven_eleven on this one.

Always wonder just who the Fcuk do the papers ask for these polls, is it randomers on Grafton Street Dublin or people at the Quinn Rally up in Cavan or people coming out of the pub at closing time, bizarre results either way.

**** Labour, Fianna Fail and Fine Gael rat bastards the lot of them.

I wonder who pays them to....seriously does anyone believe the polls?? But Irish people as a whole are lazy, compliant and would do anything for their own interests. They relate to FF look at the Quinn saga.

And yes i said IRISH PEOPLE THAT MEANS YOU PADDY! and not me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

Sinn Fein will do very well in the next General Election.

I doubt it....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

Sinn Fein will do very well in the next General Election.
    The FF gains we are discussing in this thread have been at the expense of SF.

keith16 wrote: »
    If FF did get back into government, would they get rid of the property tax? Of course not.
    Not even SF, if they got in, would get rid of the property tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

What amazes me is that, during the planning tribunal, the name of current leader of Fianna Fail cropped up in relation to the alleged receipt of a six figure sum for a favourable planning decision for a shopping centre and yet still he was elected the new face of Fianna Fail.

So let me get this right. Fianna Fail are found to be taking bucketloads of money in backhanders from property developers. They steer the economy off a cliff to keep the property bubble going and the property developers happy. They elect a man with the shadow of large brown paper envelope over him. After a year or so of a different government mopping up the mess, everyone says "Sure, they're all the same. Vote Fianna Fail."

Jesus wept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,344 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Duck Soup wrote: »
    After a year or so of a different government mopping up the mess, everyone Fianna Fáil supporters say "Sure, they're all the same. Vote Fianna Fail."

FYP.

I wouldn't get all hot and bothered by this poll. When you exclude the don't knows, the margin of error increases to nearly 4%. In reality, the next election will probably have a relatively low poll. People are pissed off with the politicians. We don't need 166 TDs; we don't need so many ministers. Ministers who can't perform their duties without highly paid advisors' help should quit and allow another TD to try the job.

Sinn Féin would do better in the next election if more of their natural constituency had a habit of voting. They need to energise the feckless class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Spread wrote: »
    When voters see that FG are getting just as bad as FF (were), people might look kinder on Martin's New Jerusalem.
    As bad? They're worse... At least FF did something, right or wrong, they still did something! Enda's so happy to have the title as taoiseach that he completely forgot what it actually means.

Bunch of incompetent fùcktards!

smash wrote: »
    As bad? They're worse... At least FF did something, right or wrong, they still did something! Enda's so happy to have the title as taoiseach that he completely forgot what it actually means.

Bunch of incompetent fùcktards!
    You're in doubt about what FF did was right or wrong!

Who's incompetent?