Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Home made Arcade Machine???

There are also a couple of things worth noting about displaying the games and vids when you do get them working. There are a couple of options in the settings for HS that allow you to display clone roms as well as parent roms, or just parent roms on their own, and also to display only games that have artwork, or display everything and just use text names based on your XML file.

Specifying artwork only is good and looks better, but you lose out on games you don't have title pics for. Not displaying clones keeps your wheels a lot neater, but you lose out on some unique games, which are actually technically clones of other ones (for example street fighter 2 turbo is an official clone of Street fighter 2 champion edition, but they're two totally different games, and most people think the clone, which came later, is the better game). Also some clones of games are better than others-some versions of games were bugged, more difficult, easier, etc. You'll want to be able to choose which ones you want displayed individually.

You can manually mark clones as originals by removing the text between the "<cloneof>" and "</cloneof>" tags in the mame.xml database file for your games. If there's a game name between those two tags, then your game is seen as a clone of that game by HS, if there's no text between them, it's seen as an original and is shown on the wheel even if you've disabled displaying of clones. Most ROM sets have lots of clones for many of the games in them (bigger games often had multiple cloned releases worldwide) and the clone ROM uses the same artwork and video as the parent, so enabling clones means you can have several games on your wheel that all look the exact same one after the other when scrolling, and kick in the same videos and sounds. It's messy.

I'd recommend first displaying all clones, then going through your wheel and seeing which ones you want to show and which ones you don't. Then set HS to display parents only and games with artwork only, and do these 3 things.

1-Edit the <cloneof> tags in the database file as described above for the clones you like, so they get displayed. Just open the file in notepad, make your changes and save. (it's manual data entry and is a bore to do, so back up your original and save your work regularly. Use copy/paste rather than typing the same values each time.)

2-Edit the title artwork for the clone, so it looks different to the parent's artwork on your wheel (use a colour balance in photoshop to change the colours in the parent title image, or just do a google image search for a different PNG file that has transparency), then save it as a new image named to match your clone and drop it in the artwork folder with the rest.

3-download an alternate FLV video from youtube and rename it in the same way, to match the clone. The original video sets you download will only have videos for the parents. Clone ROM videos typically don't exist, so you've got to make your own.

This way your wheel will be tidy and won't have multiple copies of the same art and videos kicking in, you'll have all the games you want, and each game on it (including clones) will have their own unique media and titles etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,918 ✭✭✭Steve X2

I have clones turned off to keep it clean but have loads of custom genre lists that I use. Solves that prob for me and sometimes I just want games from the 80's or 90's or 1986 etc.

Steve SI wrote: »
    I have clones turned off to keep it clean but have loads of custom genre lists that I use. Solves that prob for me and sometimes I just want games from the 80's or 90's or 1986 etc.

I have clones off, but with a good few of my faves marked as parents. Certain versions of games had cool bugs in them (SF2 guile walk forward flash kick FTW!).

I got genres working for mame, but it was a pain in the bum to sort out. Loads of fiddling with XML files and separate downloads for every genre list. I still don't think i have them sorted out for the console emulators and i'm not sure if i ever will. It's just too much hassle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭andrew241983

i dont mind having all the parents and clones there doesnt bother me coz im just gonna have all my favs setup anyway as there the ones ill be playing the most and if my mates or me want to play another game they remember we can just look through the other..

i downloaded all the vid snaps and by luck they are already named the same as my mame games havent tried yet so cud be wrong...
    so heres to w eekend of eyes glued to a computer screen
    CHEERS!!!

p.s thanks for all the help so far lads

i dont mind having all the parents and clones there doesnt bother me coz im just gonna have all my favs setup anyway...

p.s thanks for all the help so far lads

you're welcome. You can edit the hyperspin .ini files for each emulator to start on favourites by default if you want. Just go in and find the line that says "start on favorites=NO" and change the no to yes and re-save.

You can also make a master favourites list if you want, which launches games from all your different emulators all from one wheel. I havent done it myself but as far as I know its just a bit of list editing to redefine what .exe file hyperspin launches for each game on the list. I'm sure somebody in here could help more than I could.

you're welcome. You can edit the hyperspin .ini files for each emulator to start on favourites by default if you want. Just go in and find the line that says "start on favorites=NO" and change the no to yes and re-save.

You can also make a master favourites list if you want, which launches games from all your different emulators all from one wheel. I havent done it myself but as far as I know its just a bit of list editing to redefine what .exe file hyperspin launches for each game on the list. I'm sure somebody in here could help more than I could.

that's grand mate will def do this makes it that little bit handier

i think ill leave the hi scores cant get it going for the life of me tried following the tutorial to compile my oen and keep getting errors when i try to apply patch...
    ill just have to do without or put it on the back burner for a while

i think ill leave the hi scores cant get it going for the life of me tried following the tutorial to compile my oen and keep getting errors when i try to apply patch...
    ill just have to do without or put it on the back burner for a while

Just download a pre-compiled version.

do u know ehere i can get one i tried looking for one but dont know which is which:confused::confused::confused::confused:
    and are the pre compiled ones setup for hiscore and nonag

do u know ehere i can get one i tried looking for one but dont know which is which:confused::confused::confused::confused:
    and are the pre compiled ones setup for hiscore and nonag

I'm not sure I'm allowed to post links to them here.

On a completely separate subject, do you like my signature ;);)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Similarly, I like the development over on Gadunky :cool:

i think thats the best signature ever:D:D:D

i know its like talking to a baby lads so forgive me.. when i download the pre compiled is that it im ready to go for hi scores?? or do i have to put in the hiscore.dat??

Get the hiscore.dat for that version and drop it in the main mame folder and make sure you have a "hi" folder there as well.

thats grand already have that downloaded ill do that now..
    thanks steve

EnterNow wrote: »
    Similarly, I like the development over on Gadunky :cool:

Just some basic stuff at the moment. I wanted to have the eBay auctions on the main page as well as Facebook and twitter links etc.
    Will be useful when its a bit more established (and I've more time to do a proper design on it as well as sort out the branding.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭unky chop chop

Just checked it out there. looks nice Steve..fair bloody play to you.
    Follow your dreams man
    Great prices I must say
    And it's got a forum...See ya later boards. GADUNKY is where its at YO

Just checked it out there. looks nice Steve..fair bloody play to you.
    Follow your dreams man
    Great prices I must say
    And it's got a forum...See ya later boards. GADUNKY is where its at YO

Cheers, not much to it at the moment but it's a foundation to build on.
    The forum is almost a blank slate on Gadunky but I have plans for it in the future (how about turning those forum posts and in particular someones liked posts and other helpful stuff into actual credit to use online or in the shop when its open etc etc, so many ideas so little time/cash). The Retrovia forums have a bit more to them these days with some guides, mods and other bits and pieces but nothing compares in Ireland to the monster that is Boards.ie :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭a5y

Cheers, not much to it at the moment but it's a foundation to build on.
    The forum is almost a blank slate on Gadunky but I have plans for it in the future (how about turning those forum posts and in particular someones liked posts and other helpful stuff into actual credit to use online or in the shop when its open etc etc, so many ideas so little time/cash). The Retrovia forums have a bit more to them these days with some guides, mods and other bits and pieces but nothing compares in Ireland to the monster that is Boards.ie :D

Will you be joining the Gadunky and Retrovia forums together? So registering for one gets you the username on the other?

It could prevent some nuisances like impersonation and some types of scams.

a5y wrote: »
    Will you be joining the Gadunky and Retrovia forums together? So registering for one gets you the username on the other?

It could prevent some nuisances like impersonation and some types of scams.

No, they are two separate things really.
    Every newly created account is verified manually once created to keep the spammers out and impersonation is easily sorted if it should ever happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭unky chop chop

Crap didn't realise Retrovia existed either.
    Again I tip my hat to you sir..Nice work.

Regarding spammers and manually checking signed up members,Couldn't you just add a captcha script to register page and then sit back and smoke cigars.
    Also...Join the two sites together into a monster:)

Crap didn't realise Retrovia existed either.
    Again I tip my hat to you sir..Nice work.

Regarding spammers and manually checking signed up members,Couldn't you just add a captcha script to register page and then sit back and smoke cigars.
    Also...Join the two sites together into a monster

I've used captchas in the past and they are very easy for spammer bots to get around. I have a system in place now that requires an actual human to register so that way I get very few fake accounts. When an account is created I manually have to enable/approve it so I'm the last security layer if you will.

I've used captchas in the past and they are very easy for spammer bots to get around...

Plus they f**king suck and are seriously annoying! Please don't put them anywhere near your site.

Yeah, I hate them as well. They used to be ok but as the bots got better at guess the letters the captcha's got feckin terrible.

I mean WTF!!
    2269029028acb1c52622.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭a5y

2269029028acb1c52622.jpg

220116.png

quick question lads is the ftp utility worth the 25dollar donation on the hyperspin website.. i mean can i download all the game themes for mame in one go or do they have to be done one-by-one.. i dont mind donating coz alot of work goes into doing all the themes and frontends.. i have my hyperspin setup with just mame .NES, super nes,sega megadrive and sega master system for the time being and just wanted to download all the game themes to set the whole frontend up nicely ...

It is worth the fee to download everything in one go, it takes a lot of hassle out of the process and you'll be spending far more on the cab than the $25 it will cost you for the software.

Be aware though that most of the console games don't have their own custom themes. Unless you create your own from scratch the games will just use the same default theme most of the time. Most mame games generally have custom themes, but don't sign up expecting to download hundreds for the various consoles, because they aren't there.

It is worth the fee to download everything in one go, it takes a lot of hassle out of the process and you'll be spending far more on the cab than the $25 it will cost you for the software.

Be aware though that most of the console games don't have their own custom themes. Unless you create your own from scratch the games will just use the same default theme most of the time. Most mame games generally have custom themes, but don't sign up expecting to download hundreds for the various consoles, because they aren't there.

ye i think ill just donate... ye im only really worried about the mame game themes as there the ones i will be playing most and prob some nes and snes...

Just thinking ill have to start trimming down my ps3 and xbox 360 game collection to fund a bit of cash for this build have a jtag and all the games are just sitting there gathering dust so might aswell put them to good use:D:D:D

lads decided to ditch the mk2 theme and gonna go for a custom artwork route.. im gonna try design my own artwork(try being the word) whats the best software to do this with photoshop or is there other programmes that are better suited ??
    wanna make my cp as fun as possible with all my old favourite characters all over it but not messy cheers...