Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Keep Calm And Discuss Retro Generally!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Damn boards & it's oap hamsters! Anyone else finding pages slow to load/new posts not lined up properly etc?? All bloody day :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

EnterNow wrote: »
    Damn boards & it's oap hamsters! Anyone else finding pages slow to load/new posts not lined up properly etc?? All bloody day :mad:

Been like that for a couple of days. The whole thing was up and down the other night and wasn't even pingable. It was around 4-5am so most people prob didn't notice.

Pyongyang wrote: »

In a future episode, yer wan goes round SteveSI's gaf and breaks the news to him he's only allowed 1 of everything. :D

Did I mention I also collect weapons? :)
    CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    I've got colleagues who are clinical psychologists, consultant psychiatrists, behaviour therapists and grief counsellors.
    Give me a couple of hours we can have the authority to clear half of Steves stuff and the means for him to get over it!
    Let me make a few calls!

I also know those type of people, my GF is one of them.
    They've tried but failed to "fix" me before. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Steve SI wrote: »
    Been like that for a couple of days. The whole thing was up and down the other night and wasn't even pingable. It was around 4-5am so most people prob didn't notice.

Remember the olden days of it going down at about 3am every night for a refresh. Ahhhhh

I reckon they should give us our very own server. We're better than the rest of the boards riff raff :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

Did I mention I also collect weapons? :)

I also know those type of people, my GF is one of them.
    They've tried but failed to "fix" me before. :rolleyes:

Are you still doing the paranormal stuff as well? That can be an expensive hobby too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,435 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Ah! I can't believe there was Breaking Bad discussion and I missed it!

Was waiting ages for season 5 (as I'm sure the rest of you were too) and didn't realize it started ages ago. So over the last few nights I've had 5 episodes to catch up on in a row. It's been glorious!!!

There's been some real tragic moments in it lately.

Did you see the scene when Walt Junior had his bacon taken from him...? that was harsh!

DinoRex wrote: »
    Are you still doing the paranormal stuff as well? That can be an expensive hobby too.

Yeah, still at it. Not been able to put as much time into it of late and 2 of our members moved to New Zealand.
    It is darn pricey alright if you get all the equipment (which I do because that's just the way I am). But you really only need eyes, ears and a pen and paper and most importantly common sense to do it (as I think you probably know yourself).

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

o1s1n wrote: »
    Ah! I can't believe there was Breaking Bad discussion and I missed it!

Was waiting ages for season 5 (as I'm sure the rest of you were too) and didn't realize it started ages ago. So over the last few nights I've had 5 episodes to catch up on in a row. It's been glorious!!!

Lucky you! Having to wait a week for each new episode is a pain in the arse. :(

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Optimus Prime

I havent got into breaking bad at all, i tried watching the first ep and lost interest after about ten minutes. The Newsroom is quality though, anyone watch that? ill have to give breaking bad another go.. when i have a break in all my scifi\nerd shows.

Master of the Universe

Andrew76 wrote: »
    Lucky you! Having to wait a week for each new episode is a pain in the arse. :(

Isn't it just!

But then every time an episode is over I get so sad as there aren't many of them left :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭MrVestek

Achilles wrote: »
    Yeah accept it seems to only want to belittle them and try and make out that they have a form of OCD.

It could be worse, we could be watching soaps, x-factor, & jersey shore all day thinking tv has never been better
    Take Jersey Shore out of it and that's all that's ever on the TV.

My TV. The 42" TV I bought for the purposes of gaming...then there's the UPC package I'm sick of paying for.

Ugh sooner I clear out my spare and make it a mini cave the better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

Sounds like one of Atavan's many women... :pac:

keithgeo wrote: »
    I havent got into breaking bad at all, i tried watching the first ep and lost interest after about ten minutes. The Newsroom is quality though, anyone watch that? ill have to give breaking bad another go.. when i have a break in all my scifi\nerd shows.

Is there any decent scifi on TV or Netflix these days? Star Trek TNG and Firefly were the only two I liked. Usually end up trying to find decent documentaries instead.

Yeah, still at it. Not been able to put as much time into it of late and 2 of our members moved to New Zealand.
    It is darn pricey alright if you get all the equipment (which I do because that's just the way I am). But you really only need eyes, ears and a pen and paper and most importantly common sense to do it (as I think you probably know yourself).

It's even more expensive when you run paranormal conventions at a massive loss of a couple of grand. :(
    Is there any decent scifi on TV or Netflix these days? Star Trek TNG and Firefly were the only two I liked. Usually end up trying to find decent documentaries instead.

I love Warehouse 13. It's pretty silly but a lot of fun. Think the X-files meets Moonlighting.

I see Pier Solar got cracked and is now out and about in rom form.
    Wonder will this effect the price of it now that its not physical media only?

I hope not, I have an unopened copy I plan to flog at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

Having to wait a week for each new episode is a pain in the arse. :(
    I remember this feel when watching Nichijou, still have it for Adventure Time though

Achilles wrote: »
    My TV. The 42" TV I bought for the purposes of gaming...then there's the UPC package I'm sick of paying for.

Ugh sooner I clear out my spare and make it a mini cave the better.

I'm the same. Then I wandered into the world of HTPC's. I havn't turned on my UPC box in months, I only really have it for the little fella...personally there's nothing but bollox on it. F1 would be the only tv I watch on tv per se, everything else is either streamed or put on my HTPC for hd ad-free viewing. My plasma is much happier now :)

Yeah was only gonna be a matter of time really. As for it devaluing? I don't think so, & now that it has exposure, it may even drive up demand for physical copies as those who now play it in rom format might decide they want the real deal?

Master of the Universe

Always pisses me off when someone goes out of their way to crack protection on a homebrew game like this. :( It's pretty low.

Got my hands on The Last Bandit's Ikea cab this afternoon. Interesting little yolk.

The monitor is hooked up with VGA, so I'm going to use it as a Dreamcast vertical cab too.

Actually I went to try that out this evening and could not find a single VGA cable anywhere in the house!

At one point I thought I'd found one, went to wire it up and it turned out to be an old db9 cable which just happened to look like a VGA one :(

My plasma is much happier now :)

So is mine. 1 x 28.8E Astra FTA and 1 x 13E Hotbird w/ Al Jazeera Sports card, 8 channels of sport inc. F1. Oh and RTL Switzerland in HD for all the box office boxing cards, in English.

My plasma whispers quiet thankyou's to me.* :D

*and hates me when my wife fills up the PVR with PETER FECKIN' ANDRE REALITY SHOWS AND STUPID FECKING REALITY GUFF AND TWATFODDER! :mad::mad::mad::mad:

Sounds v cool man! How do you have hotbird & astra recieving at the same time? Or have you a motorised dish?

I have two dishes at my gaf. 1 is an old Sky dish, I replaced the LNB with a 4 port LNB for HD/PVR goodness. My 2nd dish is an 80cm champ, pointed firmly at the mighty Hotbird 13E.

The Al Jazeera Sports card I bought in the UK. I now renew it every year with a company based in Jordan. :)

We've no Irish TV in my gaf as we've no aerial (we both prefer the UK channels and we have all regional variations on FTA anyway). I use bunny ears on a separate CRT to watch the Ros na Run omnibus every Sunday but come October I'll have to get Saorview to keep watching it. :(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,314 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Pyongyang wrote: »
    I use bunny ears on a separate CRT to watch the Ros na Run omnibus every Sunday but come October I'll have to get Saorview to keep watching it. :(

What?

I've no shame in admitting I love watching Ros na Run! :)

...if that's what you were quoting anyway. :pac:

Classic 90's cheese :)

Sega Mega-CD Promo Video (1993)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

Just incase no one sees it on the Beers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Anyone got any idea how i can get a transparancy made for my Kindle cover

I want it to say "Don't Panic" in large friendly letters

Would reids do it or is there any better way?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,754 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Remember, it has to say it in Large Friendly Letters.....
    None of this encyclopedia galactica little script nonsense!