Livestock/General Farming photo thread ***READ MOD NOTE IN POST #1***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

Tractordata tells me its 105hp, thought it was about 120 myself to be honest. Its awful comfortable and smooth though and seems to pull well. I see your own field is nearly ready for a run of a harrow, well burnt looking today :p

:D jeez you are well up on the place
    spray is only out a week yesterday but i think the heat and the wind accelerated the burnoff, they were talking of discing today or tomorrow but wont know till i get home this evening now whether they came or not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

:D jeez you are well up on the place
    spray is only out a week yesterday but i think the heat and the wind accelerated the burnoff, they were talking of discing today or tomorrow but wont know till i get home this evening now whether they came or not

It wasnt done an hour ago anyway, its hard to miss coming back from town to be honest....and sure I had to pick up my dehorner aswell :rolleyes:

may as well buy another one and be donw with it :D

I wont give in that easy, I think hes finished calving for 2012 anyway :) I see he burnt off half a field with the licker himself too... :D

ya i noticed, that would be a good one to bring up in the pub some night if you wanted a reaction :D

:D I'll take note ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

At silage yesterday

007ozg.jpg
    By stanflt at 2012-05-29009ht.jpg
    By stanflt at 2012-05-29

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Cow not taking calf after yet another suck... 2 herefords from Kerry they like something out of the 70's!!

7F69ACF6.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Dupont

stanflt wrote: »
    At silage yesterday

007ozg.jpg
    By stanflt at 2012-05-29

f&*$ your kuhn ive a horse outside;) (hopes its a kuhn)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

2012-05-29163925.jpg

2012-05-29163921.jpg
    First pictures so sorry about the size of them . They might not be great photos but im wondering could any of ye hazard a guess as to wether this calf is a parthenaise or limo ? He is four days old and out of an angus x fr cow .

2012-05-29163829.jpg
    This is the mom hopefully the size is better

2012-05-29163708.jpgThis is one more of the calf and i should have the size right this time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭johnpawl

moy83 wrote: »
    2012-05-29163708.jpgThis is one more of the calf and i should have the size right this time

Not too sure. this is a young part calf out of an identical aaxfr cow. what do you reckon
    dscn0425s.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

I dont know id say he could go the same colour as yours alright . All the other limos out of those type cows we have would be black but this lad definitely seems a lighter colour. Time will tell more i suppose

moy83 wrote: »
    I dont know id say he could go the same colour as yours alright . All the other limos out of those type cows we have would be black but this lad definitely seems a lighter colour. Time will tell more i suppose

He's getting lighter in colour all the time.He's 7 wks old now and really starting to thrive. Changing colour again now getting black circles around his eyes and nose.I think it mighn't be a bad cross, she got the same bull again anyway.

Thats him now.

dscn0458h.jpg

another one that i showed when he was born already. same age

dscn0453p.jpg

heifers for next year, prob get a part bull

dscn0450w.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭dar31

top field of the farm, just got one of them 360 panoroma apps, must try it from up here.
    207024.jpg

field of bulling heifers
    207025.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

johnpawl wrote: »
    Thats him now.

dscn0458h.jpg

another one that i showed when he was born already. same age

dscn0453p.jpg

heifers for next year, prob get a part bull

dscn0450w.jpg
    Where did you source the heifers? Your own or bought in? What breeding is in the blacks? I was hoping to source LMxBritFR from dairy lads but the ones I've been going to source off have switched to FR bulls in anticipation of 2015.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Little bit of Ham for the Christmas dinner ;)
    Three little weaners we picked up for the freezer..

img04771.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Oopsy...

tractor1.jpg

Daisy...

tractor2.jpg

you want 4wd johngalway;) is that a 240 and 35??

Dupont wrote: »

Think so, can't remember if it's a 35 or 135, tractors aren't my thing, I like quads.... Anyone care to guess why? :D

Guy that owns the first tractor is bringing in his 4x4 tractor on Friday, which will be nice, cos it's green and will provide a bit of contrast when it get's stuck :pac:

johngalway wrote: »
    Think so, can't remember if it's a 35 or 135, tractors aren't my thing, I like quads.... Anyone care to guess why? :D

Guy that owns the first tractor is bringing in his 4x4 tractor on Friday, which will be nice, cos it's green and will provide a bit of contrast when it get's stuck :pac:

ha ha gas. good long strong chain and put him on dry (drier)ground and youl be out in a flash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

you could leave it there to sink and in 20 years all us boardies can meet up and dig it up for CHARITY:D:D

ha ha gas. good long strong chain and put him on dry (drier)ground and youl be out in a flash

I spotted a flaw in your plan :p
    you could leave it there to sink and in 20 years all us boardies can meet up and dig it up for CHARITY:D:D

Haha, I was telling the ould fella about that charity dig on our way home.

Ah no, hopefully the two of them will be out on Friday. The owner of the first tractor burst a back tire though, I told him I had a stake tied to it and he throttled the fcuk out of it, bang, pshhht....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

johngalway wrote: »
    Oopsy...

tractor1.jpg

Daisy...

tractor2.jpg

Did ya try tying those planks to the rims across behind the back wheels. Put into low gear, diff lock on, and reverse. Should be able to get back 3 r 4 feet. Repeat until you are out.

jimmy G M wrote: »
    Did ya try tying those planks to the rims across behind the back wheels. Put into low gear, diff lock on, and reverse. Should be able to get back 3 r 4 feet. Repeat until you are out.

Yeah, if you look you'll see the ropes through the rims, we hit trouble though. Dad couldn't get the diff lock to engage and the high wheel would spin and the bogged wheel wouldn't budge. She may have come out had the owner not gunned the throttle and burst the tire, as he could get the diff working, but we'll not know now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,466 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

first pic is of our best cow.
    plenty of milk, goes in calf first time every time, always has a smashing calf and is as quite as a mouse. all you could want really.

second pic is this years heifer calf from her by fl22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Second tractor looks like it has a bonnet off a 6 series tractor but I thaught that the 675 was the smallest in that range. Which got stuck first.

Bigger timbers would have been a help and I would prefer to go forward. Neither of them are that heavy a good strong fella would lift them out like Sylvest.