If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

But its cold outside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Mr Slow wrote: »
    Get as close as you can in the Boyne 10k, then nail it in Dunshaughlin.;)

Hey Mr Slow....Sounds like a plan;) and if not Dunshaughlin then the next one or the next one ,....but i will get it!!!!:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭meathcountysec

Younganne wrote: »
    Thanks meathcountysec, it would definitely be a PB as i've never raced a 5m before ;) and would love to do it but unfortunately i have other committments for Sat:(

I have the list of the Meath roads races and hope to get to plenty of them over the next few months...but even Dunboyne next week i'm unable to go too...but there'll be plenty more

B*gger that:mad: Mullaghmeen on 1st April should be a laugh :D not.

St. Brigid's AC Open 5k Hill Run incorporating Meath Hill Running Championships (IMRA Rules) St. Brigid's AC Mullaghmeen Forest Park, Oldcastle, Co. Meath.

how big are these "hills"???

Itsy bitsy teeny weeny.

They're not too bad really. Most of the run is on the forest access roads. The only "hands on the knees and walk bit" is an approx 100m stretch up to the summit. Then it's all downhill after that!!

Its a lovely forest to run in. All tranquil and stuff.

Itsy bitsy teeny weeny.

They're not too bad really. Most of the run is on the forest access roads. The only "hands on the knees and walk bit" is an approx 100m stretch up to the summit. Then it's all downhill after that!!

Its a lovely forest to run in. All tranquil and stuff.

it was looking ok until this bit...hands on the knees and walk bit" is an approx 100m stretch up to the summit:eek:....now its a no no...i'm afraid of heights:o

It aint that steep. Brought the OH and the kids up there on a walk once. She loved it. Now she's real afraid of heights.

Go on go on go on go on go on go on go go on

GO ON

I think the "hands on the knees" more reflected my fitness rather than any dizzying heights. I believe the front runners only cantered up it....

You can see four counties from the summit. And a lake. And some trees.

Sounds fantastic!!!! maybe, maybe!!! will have to look into it a bit more!!!

Kids have a show on that evening so will see how it fits in with dress rehearsals etc!!!:)

Wednesday 14th - 4.8m in 46.54 @9.46/155 Garmin Link

Went out for a 4 mile run and decided to try a different route for this one. Went from North Rd at Garda HQ carpark across to Wellington Rd, up the Kyber, left onto Acres Rd, up S bends and back up Wellington rd...got to the roundabout at Chesterfield and it was only 3.3m so headed up Chesterfield ave to Polo grounds around the back of them and out on the North rd...turned out to be 4.8 so little longer than planned but nice to have a different route!!!

m1=9.54/148
    m2=9.42/157
    m3=9.55/153
    m4=9.47/165
    m5(.80)=9..29/157

Wednesday evening - Meath Running Group

I started with the Meath Running group this evening.. Block 1 is an 8 week Core and conditioning class once a week. We did 3 laps of the track to warm up and then spent the rest of the time stretching...i really enjoyed this and it was tough at times but what I badly need!!!

Thursday 15th - 4.71 in 48.19 @ 10.16/150 Garmin link

Decided not to look at the watch for this one and just go easy...it felt so slow at times but i was determined to let the body do the pacing...legs were tired but this is the 6/7 day running and i'm not use to that so was happy with the pace overall.....but tend to speed up a bit when getting nearer home/end (which i suppose isn't a bad thing either:p)!!!

When i was heading out, i decided I'd just do a 3m, then got to the turn for the 3 mile and decided I do an out and back:rolleyes:...got to the turning point and was feeling ok so kept going on the loop:D..again ended up longer than planned but don't mind!!

m1=10.18/143
    m2=10.24/151
    m3=10.26/150
    m4=10.11/151
    m5(.71)=9.57/161

Thusday evening - 75min Kettlebells Class

I hadn't been to Kettlebells class for the last 5 weeks due to various reasons and i was starting to feel the back weakening and starting to slump in the running again so knew it was time to get back to it. I really enjoyed the class last night, lots of running and circuits. Either it was an easier class than normal or else my fitness levels are really improving as i had no problems during or after the class and today i have no aches or pains...

Totals:D
    WTD:18.67
    MTD:54.51
    YTD:190.75

so i'm having today Off:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭BobMac104

Two sessions a day! Now you're talking. Great week there in fairness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭shazkea

Have you tried the trails in the park for a change of scenery? I was out on them yesterday evening and it was like I was in another world altogether, really nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭beeduybe

Wednesday evening - Meath Running Group

I started with the Meath Running group this evening.. Block 1 is an 8 week Core and conditioning class once a week. We did 3 laps of the track to warm up and then spent the rest of the time stretching...i really enjoyed this and it was tough at times but what I badly need!!!

Was up in Claremont myself for this. You must be one of the many new faces in the group this year. Can't make it next week but I'm sure I'll see you again at some stage :)

shazkea wrote: »
    Have you tried the trails in the park for a change of scenery? I was out on them yesterday evening and it was like I was in another world altogether, really nice.

Hi Shazkea, ye i started running on them last year and it definitely make a difference on the legs, not being on the tarmac all the time!
    I just went back on them last week as i refuse to get my runners mucky unless i really have to and some of the trails were very wet....:eek:.....if you follow the wall the whole way round the park its about 7m if i remember correctly....North Circular rd, to castleknock gate is 2.5m!!

beeduybe wrote: »
    Was up in Claremont myself for this. You must be one of the many new faces in the group this year. Can't make it next week but I'm sure I'll see you again at some stage :)

We'll have to work out a secret signal so we can identify each other!!!! Galwayhooker was there too so we'll have to pick a corner and make it the Boards corner...i was just inside the main door on the left this week... there was a big crowd...were you wearing DCM 2011 tshirt??? i'll wear my 2011 half marathon tshirt in 2 weeks ;)
    This is me no 290

BobMac104 wrote: »

Thanks Bob...body is definitely giving out to me this evening...and i'm Knackered:eek:

Bob, when you starting you log (Sorry Nule's i'm taking your line;)):D

BobMac104 wrote: »

Thanks Bob...body is definitely giving out to me this evening...and i'm Knackered:eek:

Bob, when you starting you log (Sorry Nule's i'm taking your line;)):D

Ha ha. I dunno ill see.

Sat 17th - 4.81m including 8 x 70sec hills - Garmin Link

headed out to do this with a tired body that was starting to feel the effects of my two exercise classes on Wed & Thur evening and it was probably punishment for being so cocky on Friday that there "wasn't a bother on me":o

I wasn't sure if i was going to do the hill reps or just run my "hilly" course for 5m (its more drags and inclines with 1 or 2 proper hills)

when i got the warmup done i decide to head to the next hill and do 3 or 4 hills. This hill i was hardly able to walk up when i started trying to get fit a few years ago...i took the first rep nice and handy and was happy with the way it felt so walked back down and did the next couple....a few of the recoveries are a bit longer than others as texting while walking makes you go a bit slower:rolleyes:

Splits are a bit uneven

warm-up 1.17m @ 10.13/154

.14m in 1.15 @ 9.04/176 with 2.02 rec @17.07/144
    .13m in 1.08 @ 8.59/165 with 2.06 rec @ 15.38/144
    .13m in 1.10 @ 8.45/166 with 2.12 rec @ 15.01/145
    .14m in 1.11 @ 8.36/167 with 2.08 rec @ 16.04/148
    .14m in 1.09 @ 8.34/168 with 2.17 rec @ 15.15/148
    .14m in 1.11 @ 8.40/165 with 2.10 rec @ 14.52/150
    .14m in 1.10 @ 8.38/167 with 2.11 rec @14.40/152
    .14m in 1.08 @ 8.21/169 with 2.17 rec @16.41/154
    1m @ 10.27/162
    .43m @ 10.05/163
    (probably way too much info there but i just copy & past from my excel sheet;))

i was delighted to manage the full 8 reps without feeling the need to p:eek:ke....and ran home happy out....within an hr my back was killing me:eek:

spent the rest of the day walking between parades, bouncy castles and fire works...but had a few Miller to celebrate St Patrick day and really enjoyed them...but no more now till end of Lent

Sunday 18th - 10.12m in 1.44.53 @10.22/152 Garmin Link

Woke up this morning to breakfast in bed from the kids & lovely flowers and presents containing special kisses and lots of excitement:D
    got up to discover that i could hardly walk :eek: The base of my back and the middle of my backside were killing me....OH had to go unexpectedly to work so i didn't have to worry about getting out for a run for a while...i went back to bed to rest it:rolleyes: with some heat on it(i know it probably should have been ice:rolleyes:) and after finishing my book, it was much better....but i still wasn't sure if i would be able to run on it

OH got home after lunch and i decided i'd head out at about 3 and see how far i could go....it wasn't too bad as i started off so i just kept going...from time to time it got very uncomfortable especially going down any sort of a hill and God only knows what i looked like :o managed the full 10 miles and as soon as i stopped it ceased up again...its fine when im moving but when i stop and try to go again im hobbling and im waddling like a nine mth pregnant woman:(...I'll have to see whats the story tomorrow...think its just tired!!!!!:eek:

10.12/138
    10.31/150
    10.23/156
    10.25/156
    10.31/156
    10.24/151
    10.16/152
    10.20/152
    10.21/151
    10.13/159
    (.13)10.33/171

WTD:33.59m (Biggest week in a long time...but body is objecting big time!!)
    MTD:69.43m
    YTD:205.67m

Rested Monday and let my back recover....much better TG:D

Tuesday 20th - 5.51 m in 56.00 @10.10/151
    When i started running, my back was very sore but it started to ease out so i kept going:) It was a lovely and relaxed run and i didn't keep checking the watch, just covered it and went with the flow. Seemed to get fast as i went along, but nothing new there from me;) I found it very warm out but lovely day for a run!!

m1=10.21/138
    m2=10.16/156
    m3=10.15/154
    m4=10.05/153
    m5=10.03/154
    .51=9.48/154

Wednesday 21st - 5.53 in 50.58 @9.13/160

wasn't sure going out if i was going to take this one easy or do a few at HM pace...i went too fast in mile 2 so had to pull back and they got slower as i went along, but enjoyed the run and as i slowed for the cooldown the back started to tighten up...so plenty of stretching done after and its fine again now!! again another warm and muggy day

m1=9.57/147
    m2=8.38/173
    m3=8.48/167
    m4=8.58/162
    m5=9.42/156
    (.53)=9.18/158

Meath Running Group this evening so there'll be plenty more stretching!!!

WTD:11.04
    MTD:80.48m
    YTD:216.72m

Friday 23rd - 9.10m in 1:27:44 @ 9.38/161 Garmin link

Had to get my LSR in or it mightn't have got done at all..Time was against me and i ran out of "hard shoulder" on the road and i didn't fancy trying to add in a half mile up and back on the side roads so decided a 9m would do, better than nothing. I was feeling comfortable for all of this, it was very warm at stages and cool at others, wind in my face for the return run of this out and back...

m1=9.43/150, m2=9.36/158,
    m3=9.32/159, m4=9.38/163,
    m5=9.40/164, m6=9.37/161,
    m7=9.44/165, m8=9.37/163,
    m9=9.34/168, m(.11)10.12/178
    My long runs always end on a half mile drag uphill so tends to raise the HR

Sunday 25th - 7.12m in 1:08:02 @ 9.34/162 Garmin Link

This run was done on the Prom in Salthill and it was a beautiful sunny day. Very busy as i set off just after midday after the big hotel breakfast had settled. I spent a lot of time weaving in and out among people but it didn't take from the enjoyment of running by the sea. Lucky those who can do it everyday!!!
    Again a very comfrotable run and the hangover wasn't long about being blown out to sea:o

m1=9.41/158, m2=9.32/162,
    m3=9.34/163, m4=9.35/164,
    m5=9.38/165, m6=9.30/164,
    m7=9.25/164, m(.12) 9.37/162

WTD:27.26m
    MTD:96.70m
    YTD:232.94m

Good stuff Anne!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭red face dave

Great running Anne especially the Sunday. I don't know how you can run while been hungover have tired it a few times I just cant do it.

Dave, the secret is in taking a High 5 Zero hydration tab before I go out and it seems to do the trick.:D sshh don't tell anyone else;) (thanks Nules)

Tuesday 27th - 5m in 47:49 @ 9.34/160 Garmin Link

Did this one at home yesterday evening on my "hilly" route. It was much cooler for running and a lot of the route is shaded by trees....didn't meet another soul or a car and that's the beauty of running in the countryside!!!:D ......just a few scary looking dogs and I wasn't even sure if they were on a long chain or free...i hate the look of those Rothweillers...my sister has 3 but i know them and they are fine...don't like strange ones that are barking at me:eek: my max HR was 192:eek::eek:

m1=9.45/157
    m2=9.30/161
    m3=9.21/162
    m4=9.35/156
    m5=9.38/167

WTD:5m
    MTD:101.70m
    YTD:237.94m

;);)Wednesday 28th - 6.03m in 57:35 @ 9.33/160 Garmin Link
    The plan here was 1mile warmup followed with 5 x 800m @10k pace with 1m cooldown.....this all went to plan except for the 10k pace bit:eek:...pace turned out to be faster than my 5k pace, but it didn't kill me!!!(yet) I definitely need to pay more attention to pace!!!..but i never listen to myself!!!!!:rolleyes:

I am 3 years running in the Phoenix Park and today was my first day ever running on the Polo grounds... and I have to say I loved it and will definitely be there more often....only problem was that either the sun is playing havoc with the satellites or my Garmin is getting banjaxed.... I had to keep running further to get my distance to .5m...distance should be the same no matter what the speed is ...(i think)...but i had to run further each time to make up the distance and i was following the track so i wasn't cutting corners etc!!!!

anyway the splits were as follows:
    Warm up - 1.1m=9.58/149

5 x 800m with recovery
    1= .50m in 3:39 @7.16/177 with .21m in 3.02 @11.44/139
    2= .50m in 3.48 @7.36/174 with .12m in 2.10@ 18.49/143
    3= .51m in 3.48 @7.29/174 with .14m in 2.08 @15.48/149
    4= .51m in 3.48 @7.30/177 with .13m in 2.03 @16.21/149
    5=.50m in 3.48 @7.37/177 with .14m in 2.21 @16.24/144
    Cool Down- 1.68m in 15.59 @ 9.30/165

Total 6.03 miles

WTD:11.03m
    MTD:107.73m
    YTD:243.97m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭Nules10

Great running at the moment Anne. I am so jealous. I love running out the back roads although they are a bit busier where I am. I am looking forward to getting back on them now its bright again. Next up for you is the boyne 10k is it?

Hi Nules, yes i entered boyne 10k yesterday!

After that it will be something along the following lines:

May
    06/05/2012 10k Boyne 10K Drogheda
    16/05/2012 6k Simon Cumber & Paddy Hyland 6k Road Race Navan AC Claremont Stadium, Navan
    22/05/2012 5k Bob Heffernan 5k Road Race Na Fianna AC Hamlet Court Hotel, Johnstown Bridge, 
    June
    09/06/2012 5k Patrick Bell Memorial 5k Road Race & Fun Race Bohermeen AC Bohermeen Community Centre
    15/06/2012 5k Trail run The Braveheart 5k Trail Run Trim AC .Porchfields,Trim, Co. Meath
    30/06/2012 10K Michael Manning 10k Road Race & Fun Run Dunshaughlin Ac Dunshaughlin Community Centre
    July
    04/07/2012 5K South O'Hanlon 5k Road Race & Fun Run South O'Hanlon Senchelestown GAA Centre

the race series has to fit in there as well, not sure what the dates are, i need to feed them into the above to see what i can do.....

I hope you are feeling better and resting the hip properly.
    How did Fri night go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭shazkea

Good session Anne in the park. Interesting races coming up for you including a trail one! The race pimps were on to me to do Dunshaughlin too, they promised strawberries at the end - nothing like a good race finish enticement :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Good session Anne in the park. Interesting races coming up for you including a trail one! The race pimps were on to me to do Dunshaughlin too, they promised strawberries at the end - nothing like a good race finish enticement :D

oh yeah, strawberries and cream right at the finish line :)

RayCun wrote: »
    oh yeah, strawberries and cream right at the finish line :)

Ah don't know if i bother now...i'm not that keen on Strawberries and cream.......;) you can fight over mine!!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭red face dave

Interesting Anne. I have those tab alright. Will be trying one on Saturday night .
    In general how do you find those for running. Still not 100% sold on them.
    Great running by the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭Nules10

anne those races should keep you out of trouble for a while anyway. Hip is still stiff sore and a royal pain in me a** at this stage. We had a good night friday about 12 A/R/T women. You will have to come to the next one.