But its cold outside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭sunflowerRo

Younganne wrote: »
    Ah SunflowerRo....i don't think i'll be there tomorrow either but due back in Thur....i bet you made lots of peoples day!!

I just had the most painful sports rub ever:eek:...my IT bands(both of them) are in bits, felt like he was sticking glass into my legs.....heres hoping they get better now!!!

Well as long as you didn't cry. That can be rather embarrassing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Marthastew wrote: »
    VERY wet and windy out by the sea here also but as you say it's fine once you get going. Extra bragging rights for running in this weather:D

i agree...hopfully award will be received in lower chip times:D:D

Going for the painful sports rub next Monday. Kind of looking forward to it. Legs need it badly

Sadist....Enjoy!!!;)
    Well as long as you didn't cry. That can be rather embarrassing :)

cry:eek: i'm made of stronger stuff than that...just;)...

boy is it very tender today and i have bruises down my right leg, but its only sore to touch. I hope to get out for my run later before my Core & conditioning class......and i'm not allowed to let it get so bad before i get treatment again...he's coming back over next week to give it another good going over:eek:...i get house calls:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

Are you looking forward to Sunday younganne? Have you done this race before?

pistol_75 wrote: »
    Are you looking forward to Sunday younganne? Have you done this race before?

My 10k PB (54.00) is from 2010 Boyne 10k the first year it was run, but it had a different course to the current one. I was registered and collected my number last yr but on the day of the run i wasn't feeling well and it was a 7pm starts so i didn't make it. So Sunday will be my first time doing this course. Yes i'm looking forward to it to see how my training has helped me to progress and i hope intend better get a new PB...:D

are you running? are there many Boardies running???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

My 10k PB (54.00) is from 2010 Boyne 10k the first year it was run, but it had a different course to the current one. I was registered and collected my number last yr but on the day of the run i wasn't feeling well and it was a 7pm starts so i didn't make it. So Sunday will be my first time doing this course. Yes i'm looking forward to it to see how my training has helped me to progress and i hope intend better get a new PB...:D

are you running? are there many Boardies running???

The course is a lot fairer compared to 2010 I think. Not sure if many are doing it but I am. I'm sure you'll get a good PB out of it. Bit of a climb between 1 & 2K if I remember but mostly flat after that.

ye i heard that about the courses, good course by all accounts.
    Good luck & enjoy the race!!:D

Wednesday 2nd May - 4.61m in 46:38 @10.06/156

The plan for this was 1 mile easy, 1 mile @ 10k pace, 3 min recovery, 4x200m @ 5k pace jog 200m recovery, 1 mile easy.

So the legs were very sore fromt he sports rub the night before and i wasn't sure if i was going to do this or not, but decided as the day went on and the legs felt better that i'd give it a lash.....so got the keys and headed to my very own private training grounds (the local football pitch):D the two youngest came with me but i knew i'd be regreting it after a while...Maaaameeeeee:rolleyes:

So
    1.01m @ 10.01/149,
    1.00 @ 7.57/176 - (too fast should have been 8.10ish)
    3min recovery - .23m @ 13.32/156
    .13m @ 7.28/168 with .16m recovery
    .13m @ 7.16/156 with .16m recovery
    .14m @ 7.56/165 with .16m revovery
    .13m @7.47/166 with 1.44mins recovery,
    1.29m @ 10.16/153

I did the first 2 x 200 m too fast but i couldn't work out the pace until nearer the end, but i kinda knew it was a bit fast so the 2nd 2 were pretty spot on......
    Its definietly harder to run on the grass and in total i think i did 18/19 laps...3yr did half of the last one with me and she was in her element!!!!
    She was shoulting "go on Mammy" from the stands before that:D

Totals:D
    WTD:9.61
    MTD:9.61
    YTD:356.88

Thursday 3rd May - 5.52m in 53:46 @ 9.45/159

Headed out for this today with company again and i still haven't got the hang of running and talking:eek: I know ye told me not to be talking but i think its a bit rude not to talk to somone when they are beside you ;). She's very clever and lets me do all the talking.

I forgot to put back on my auto laps after yesterdays intervals so i don't have mile splits, but i lapped it at the Castleknock gate turning point!!!

I was on my own for the last mile as my partner walked back in (i think she got tired listening to me:eek::o) so my pace crept up - best pace 7.55

2.56m in 25.27min @9.58/154
    2.96m in 28.18 min @9.34/162

2 easy miles on Saturday and then the Race on Sunday

Totals :D
    WTD:15.13m
    MTD:15.13m
    YTD:362.40m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭Nules10

well anne i am an expert at talking :D only not so good at the running. Feck it if ya enjoy it why not makes time go faster... oh god i am gonna be shot down by all the serious heads for saying that ;) anyway great running last two days. You will do great on sunday. I might even pop down to cheer it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Dory Dory

Good luck on Sunday, and enjoy the race!! My fingers are crossed that you get your PB!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭BobMac104

Great training Anne, really diciplined!

Nules10 wrote: »
    well anne i am an expert at talking :D only not so good at the running. Feck it if ya enjoy it why not makes time go faster... oh god i am gonna be shot down by all the serious heads for saying that ;) anyway great running last two days. You will do great on sunday. I might even pop down to cheer it on.

Sure what better way to spend a Sunday;)
    Dory Dory wrote: »
    Good luck on Sunday, and enjoy the race!! My fingers are crossed that you get your PB!! :)
    Thanks Dory Dory...can you cross the toes too please;)
    BobMac104 wrote: »
    Great training Anne, really diciplined!

Thanks Bob, hope to do as good as your doing....with the improvements...i'll never get near your times:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭shazkea

Nules10 wrote: »

Anne watch your goody bag and race t-shirt if Nules is around ;). Best of luck with it, looking forward to the report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Dory Dory

Thanks Dory Dory...can you cross the toes too please;)

Toes are now crossed. ;);)

Saturday 5th May - 2.36m in 25.31@ 10.49/155

Plan was 10 min slow run with 4x80 strides @ 10k pace...

I never checked this before i went out and got this a bit mixed up :eek:
    and did 2m easy with 2x 80m strides
    got the recovery pace spot on...my recovery pace is between 10.43 - 11.13....
    m1 = 11.12/151
    m2= 10.46/158
    stride 1 - 288ft(88m approx) @ 7.22/146
    stride 2 - 293ft(89m approx) @ 7.54/164

this run felt lovely and comfortable...i was at the football pitch so easier to keep the pace down and i had company of a newish runner which helped keep the pace down too....

Lovely sunshine but an evil nip in the wind...my arms were frozen again...need to get them toughened up!!!!

WTD:17.49m
    MTD:17.49m
    YTD: 364.76m

Saturday 5th May - 2.36m in 25.31@ 10.49/155

Plan was 10 min slow run with 4x80 strides @ 10k pace...

I never checked this before i went out and got this a bit mixed up :eek:
    and did 2m easy with 2x 80m strides
    got the recovery pace spot on...my recovery pace is between 10.43 - 11.13....
    m1 = 11.12/151
    m2= 10.46/158
    stride 1 - 288ft(88m approx) @ 7.22/146
    stride 2 - 293ft(89m approx) @ 7.54/164

this run felt lovely and comfortable...i was at the football pitch so easier to keep the pace down and i had company of a newish runner which helped keep the pace down too....

Lovely sunshine but an evil nip in the wind...my arms were frozen again...need to get them toughened up!!!!

WTD:17.49m
    MTD:17.49m
    YTD: 364.76m

Good session, nice n slow ;). You got in before me on toughening up the arms :D:D

shazkea wrote: »
    Anne watch your goody bag and race t-shirt if Nules is around ;).

:eek::eek:No Chocolate in the goody bag...i had a very disappointed 3 yr old with me whom i had promised chocolate to....but a lovely peanut bar:D My number is 1550
    shazkea wrote: »
    Good session, nice n slow ;). You got in before me on toughening up the arms :D:D

i knew you'd be quick to get in there so i got in before you;);) couldn't believe the cold out there today,......i reckon my log title will never need to be changed.....after all its not Miami we're in;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭red face dave

Good luck tomorrow Anne. You will smash it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭madon

Good luck today Anne, I went into boots and got probiotic tablets for IBS after I collected my number and put them in my goody bag, when I got home my OH was astonished that they were puttign those into the goody bag!
    I'm 572, you can have a little walk around when you are finished, collect your tshirt, maybe go to the toilet and then come back out and shout for me crossing the line!

Boyne 10k quick update - i got my PB, didn't get my sub 50...

chip time 50.00:) ..they were giving chip times at the line of you wanted them

im delighted with my time, it was a lovely course but with a tough uphill finish...when everything was screaming at you to stop...i heard Nules shouting at me and i kept going right till the end....thought my head was going to explode...
    will give full update tomorrow...heading out on the tiles soon:D

madon wrote: »
    Good luck today Anne, I went into boots and got probiotic tablets for IBS after I collected my number and put them in my goody bag, when I got home my OH was astonished that they were puttign those into the goody bag!
    I'm 572, you can have a little walk around when you are finished, collect your tshirt, maybe go to the toilet and then come back out and shout for me crossing the line!

I hope it went well for you Madon, sorry i didn't get to meet you...i had to head straight home after....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭Nules10

well done again anne. Super running. But that is one hell of a nasty finish maybe they will cut it out next year and i might consider doing it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭sunflowerRo

Well done Anne. Fantastic time. You must be well chuffed with yourself. Enjoy your night out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭neilc

Well done Anne!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭madon

Well done Anne- Delighted you got your PB:) Well deserved.
    I seen you at the start, you were right behind me- I turned and seen your number and was about to say something then someone ducked under the rope behind me (standing on my ankle) and the horn for the start sounded and my brother in law started talking to me so when I turned again at the start shuffle you were about two rows behind so if I called for you we would probably have caused a road block LOL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭red face dave

Well done Anne, I knew you would do it. The hard training is paying off for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭BobMac104

Great running Anne. Speed work really beginning to pay off for you!

Well done Anne, that's great running. Heard the hill at the end was not nice!!

No sign of a report today though so you must have hit those tiles hard :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭scriba

Excellent PB Anne, you'll be eating up road come DCM!

Sorry its late Shaz...the tiles were lovely & comfortable:D

Boyne 10km Sunday 6th May

I have been following Ecoli’s weekly plans since the marathon which has been great. He has introduced me to intervals, tempo, speed, hills you name it …..so this was my first target race to see how my fitness is coming along. My previous PB of 54.00 was 2 yrs old and the nearest I had got to it was 56.27 last July..(I don’t race too often)

Anyway things didn’t start out too well as I had a thumping headache and had to return to a darkened room with 2 Sudafed to try and shift it…got up at 1pm, got ready and headed over to Drogheda…parked out the Slane road and jogged in for the warmup…turned out to be only half a mile but sure it was better than nothing. I went and joined the queue for the ladies and then headed out just before the start. Headache was still there and now I was parched and badly needed a drink of water, but none to be seen …anyway I met my brother and his girlfriend so I joined them at the start, about 80m from the start. I didn’t want to be too near the front so that the faster runners wouldn’t be giving out!!!

The starter went and away with us….stop:eek:….walk…stop…go it was a complete bottleneck with walkers, strollers etc blocking the way and the usual mess at the start…not helped by the narrow street and the taping from bollard to bollard to keep us on the road and off the paths…… there was some very strong language :eek: from some runners who obviously should have started further up. I was frustrated too as I was unable to get going properly….. it was almost 1km before it spread out enough to get going properly, but lesson learned, I’ll start a bit further up next time. ;)

The first few km had a few lovely hills to test the legs but nothing too bad…I didn’t look at the Garmin until I was running comfortably and was shocked to see pace at 7.47 but decided it was comfortable so just to keep going. At this stage my head felt like it was going to fall off and my ears felt like they were going to explode…a bit like being in a plane and the ears won’t pop…all I could think about was Water…where is the water….At about 4k I see what was suppose to be a water station…the table was too far in from the road and the kids couldn’t get the water out fast enough. A very frustrated man started shout at the kids to get the lids of the bottles…(there only seemed to be 1 or 2 adults and the rest were kids, but I could be wrong, poor kids) they had 500ml bottles and they were pouring it into cups but then people started taking the bottles out of the barrel the bottles were in…..I’m not sure if we were meant to get bottles but it was take a bottle or do without and at this stage I badly needed water…..screw cap lids, so got the lid off and got the water into me…started to feel a bit better straight way and the head eased a bit and the roaring in the ears stopped…..i was comfortable for the next bit and took an odd sneaky glance at the watch but ddn’t pay too much attention as the pace kept changing…crossed the bridge and reach 5k in exactly 25min so knew the sub 52 was in the bag if I didn’t slow too much, but know sure if I could keep the pace going…

Got to 7km and the head started telling my I had to slow down, my right IT band was paining me and my head was saying just slow down and finish the race, forget about times…I just kept telling it to shut up and leave me alone…breathing was fine and leg was not falling off…took a glance at the watch and pace was down at 8.27 and I knew the time was slipping…a few people passed me at this stage and I pleaded with two lads that were just strolling to bring me with them:o….i tried to go with them but alas…they drifted off without me….another man can and passed me but I upped it a tiny bit and kept him just in front of me…we reached 8km and I said to him…”2k left, time to up the pace” and magically everything stopped paining me:D…I upped the pace, the man said “fair play” as I passed him and left him in a cloud of dust….. nothing was getting in my way…but as I got to 9km I thought oh have I gone too early, will I last….all I could think off was Nules is here somewhere I can’t slow down she’ll be shouting at me. Across the bridge and I thought to myself only to get to the finish now and then I saw the hill…. Put the head down and pumped the arms to get me up the hill, passed one or two, round the corner, onto the main streed and could see the finish in front of me…hang on..thats not the finish ...that says "200m to go ” fxck me pink it’s all uphill:eek:…then the voice of an angel ;)…Nules roaring cheering me …. so I couldn’t slow down….a wave and a smile(think I was smiling, might have look like something else;)) legs are burning, head is about to explode but I will not stop…got over the line, click the garmin…no idea what the time is as there is no clock…look at he Garmin - 50.00.79…I don’t believe it…they are giving out the chip times at the end and I’m praying and praying and the man looks at my number, calls my name and and says 50.00 bang on….slight disappointment he didn’t say 49.59.59 but that was the time on the day and I am very happy with it…no excuses, that was the race and it was a 4min PB so the hard work is paying off….:D

My brother and girlfriend came in just behind me in 52.30, a PB for her by over 3min and a jog for him…his PB is 45 or something similar….

I went back to my cheerleader Nules and chatted her for a while and then jogged back to the car and home…thought about going for a 2/3min jog but decided against it. Took two Nurofen plus, drank 2 pints of water and a pint of High 5 zero but the headache didn’t lift. Drank over 3 pints of water with my meal and eventually chanced a few bottles of Miller;)…..

I still have the headache and now the pain is in my teeth, gums, throat, ears etc so I can’t ignore it anymore, I need to get an antibiotic for this sinus infection…… probably won’t run for a day or two but well see…sometimes the run lifts the headache

There’s a 4m race in work on Thursday but think I’ll give it a miss as Friday evening I’m doing the Simon Cumbers 6kn race in Navan. I’m guaranteed a PB as it’s my first 6k and I would be hoping for sub 30 but I’m not too worried either way…..
    Dunshaughlin 10k is my next target race and hopefully I will see my 49.59 on that day….

The Garmin clocked 6.27m so very accurate course. I finished 13th in F40 category so im chuffed to bits with that....

Garmin Link

Totals
    WTD:24.93m
    MTD:24.93m
    YTD:372.20m