Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

But its cold outside

• Registered Users Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BobMac104

Younganne wrote: »
    hey...Teachers ....

leave those kids alone!

• Registered Users Posts: 560 ✭✭✭madon

Thanks for the words of encouragement on my log- I see we'll both be doing Bohermeen, hopefully I'll finish about 7 mins behind you:D! Enjoyed reading through your log.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Saturday 4th - 6.4m - 4m @avg 9.52/166HB , 6 x hill, (1.6m) .83 cooldown @10.27/172

4m @avg 9.52/166HB, then reset the watch and started the hills,
    i wasn't sure what pace these were meant to be done at so i just did what i was able for:
    1. - .16mile @9.06/172= 1.24 mins
    2. - .15mile @8.50/172 = 1.16mins
    3. - .13mile @8.35/172 = 1.07mins
    4. - .13mile @8.05/172 = 1.03mins
    5. - .13mile @8.44/172 = 1.06mins
    6 - .12mile @8.37/171 = 1.04mins
    cooldown of .83m@ 10.27/172
    hills and Cool down was 2.4 m... so Total 6.4m

i decided not to do the full 8 hill reps as i wasn't sure what impact the 4m at the start would have on me BUT i Enjoyed the hills:eek:

Sunday 5th -8m @10.37/161 enjoyed this as it was nice and relaxed!!

m1=10.50/159
    m2=10.29/159
    m3=10.32/157
    m4=10.34/158
    m5=10.48/162
    m6=10.43/166
    m7=10.33/165
    m8=10.29/167

Total Milesbiggrin.gif
    WTD: 23.00m
    MTD: 19.49m
    YTD: 71.36m

• Registered Users Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭Nules10

Nice hill session there anne. Well done. I will do mine next week :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭neilc

A great weekend of running there Anne!!

Tuesday 7th - 3.7m @avg 10.00/157HB

I had the Garmin to Other Sport so no splits for this one. It was on hilly course at home, (soon i will try to do the garmin links) so happy enough with the pace, i tried to keep it comfortable....
    My back was tight/stiff for this one and i'd say it was a combination of the hill reps on Sat, and 4m walk on Monday on same hills

Wednesday 8th - 4.30m @ 9.38/163
    Plan 1m warm-up, 20mins @ HMP, 1 mile cool down

back better today, but took till mile 3 to settle into this, the first mile felt very fast & unsettled, but then relaxed into it and enjoyed the rest of the run.....

WU, 1m=10.19/150
    20Mins @HMP= 1m=9.27/169
    2m=9.03/171
    .26m 8.41/174
    CD-1m=9.57/163

Total Miles :D
    WTD: 8.02m
    MTD: 27.51m
    YTD: 79.38m

Saturday 11th - 6.8m - 4.01m @avg 10.03/162HB , 8 x hill, (2m) .77 cooldown @10.49/166

4m @avg 10.03/162HB, then reset the watch and started the hills,

didn't realise at the time how fast i was doing them, but when i nearly got sick on no 7 i realised it :eek:... did no 8 just to finish out the session::D
    1=7.46/169
    2=7.42/171
    3=7.28/172
    4=7.33/170
    5=7.53/166
    6=8.08/171
    7=8.03/170
    8=8.46/166

CoolDown .77m =10.49/168

Missed my LSR on Sunday but it couldn't be helped...Life sometimes just gets in the way of my running!!!:rolleyes:

Tuesday 14th February - Happy Valentines to all:p 4m in 36.30 @9.08/162
    Went out to do this and decided not to look at the Garmin, just go with the flow!!! And i have to say i really enjoy it, legs were fresh and i felt like i was gliding along!!! missing the long run on Sunday obviously helped!!!;)

Total Miles :D
    WTD: 4.01m
    MTD: 38.23m
    YTD: 90.10m

• Registered Users Posts: 522 ✭✭✭sunflowerRo

Well done Anne. They are impressive splits!

+1 well done Anne. Whats the aim for Bohermeen

Nules10 wrote: »
    Whats the aim for Bohermeen
    Nules, I'm not really sure....PB for half is 1:57:XX so would love 1:55 with a long term goal of 1:50, but don't want to worry about that at the min...i'm not getting out for all my runs at the min and i'm hoping that won't impact on the half, but to be honest i will just go with the flow on the day...i,m not overly worried abou tthe time, just want to get a good run in in the Home County!!!

I hope you get your sub 2 and with all the great training you're doing it should be fine on the day!!

Thursday 16th Feb - 3.12m in 29.11@ 9.22/167 followed by 6 x 400m reps

The run was fine, i did a new route that was hilly for the 1st mile, and then ok...legs felt fine...had to slow down for the last half mile as the dog was lagging behind...she's getting old and doesn't like running on the main road so back to the back roads for us!!!

the 6 reps were as follows:
    .26m @ 7.35 = 1:58.07
    .29m @ 7.44 = 2:14:43
    .28m @ 8.04 = 2:17:50
    .21m @ 7.16 = 1:31:05
    .25m @ 6.36 = 1:38:68
    .15m @ 8.01 = 1:09:85
    I was at home for this session so Im afraid the reps were all over the place...i put the garmin on to KM so that i could get the 400m and did the first 3 as 2 laps aroung the house and garden, but the kids and dog were following me and i felt like i wasn't in control of the run so headed out on the road for the next one, ended up running uphill and running out of hard shoulder, next one was down a long inclinel( hence 6.36 pace) and the i just walked and ran the last one up the end of the incline and decide to call it quits . Next time i will have a better structure in the session...i think it will have to be the Polo ground next time!!!:rolleyes:

Nules, I'm not really sure....PB for half is 1:57:XX so would love 1:55 with a long term goal of 1:50, but don't want to worry about that at the min...i'm not getting out for all my runs at the min and i'm hoping that won't impact on the half, but to be honest i will just go with the flow on the day...i,m not overly worried abou tthe time, just want to get a good run in in the Home County!!!

I hope you get your sub 2 and with all the great training you're doing it should be fine on the day!!
    Anne i have no doubt you will get a PB on the day. I honestly don't know about sub2 for me. I definitely think i train better than i race... i just give up when the going gets tough :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭red face dave

PMA Nules & Anne. Both for a new p.b in Bohermeen.

We didn't do all this hill and sprint training for the marathon. Bet both of ye get pb's

Cheers Dave, hope so...have to say definitely feeling the benefit of the variation in the workouts and ye hoping they can make a difference!!!

Saturday 18th -12.13m in 2:04:42 @10.17/168
    Had to change my LSR to Saturday as family event to attend and it was the first time i had company for my LSR and it was great to be able to run at proper pace and chat...we had rain, sun, wind, hail and snow during the run but it was very enjoyable, i did the first mile and the last 2 miles on my own
    Splits: 9:41/161, 10.28/160, 10.30/162, 10.22/165, 10.26/166, 10.24/169, 10.19/171, 10.09/171, 10.20/171, 10.30/171, 10.11/176, 10.05/174, 10.00/170

The heart rate seems a tad high for an easy run and this was a relaxed, comfortable run...only thing that might have affected it was bad nights sleep and a few bottles of beer....

Sunday 19th - 5.1m in 50:23 @ 9.53/159
    Went out for easy run and did the five mile, felt nice and relaxed but should have been a bit slower (i think)...not sure what paces i should be running at at the min and i feel the reps, and hills and the variety in training at the minute is giving me a better base pace, but will just have to keeping going by feel at the minute till i get a race in to see if there is an improvement...2 weeks to spring Half so heres hoping to beat current PB of 1.57

10.13/153, 9.47/159, 9.47/160, 9.47/162, 9.53/162, 9.28/181(uphill)

Totals:D
    WTD - 26.78m
    MTD - 61m
    YTD - 112.87m

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/150987470

trying to do garmin link...so heres a test run for my LSR yesterday...can it be read??

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭red face dave

Yep looking at it here. Fair play to you nice even splits. Good running

My plan for the week (as per Ecoli, Thanks Ecoli)

|Mon| Tue| Wed |Thur |Fri |Sat| Sun |
    |Rest| 3m |1 mile easy, 4x600m @ 5 mile Race pace w / 90 sec , 1 mile easy| 3m| rest| 1mile easy, 6x1 min hills 1 mile easy |75 min easy

Tuesday 21st - 3m in 26.35 - no garmin
    Went out for easy run and did the three mile loop (i think its just short of 3m, something like 2.93, i'll make up the .07 tomorrow!:p), felt nice and relaxed but should have been a bit slower. Actually lovely warm day out there today!!

Totals
    WTD - 3m
    MTD - 64m
    YTD - 115.87m

• Registered Users Posts: 6,554 ✭✭✭Mr Slow

My plan for the week (as per Ecoli, Thanks Ecoli)

|Mon| Tue| Wed |Thur |Fri |Sat| Sun |
    |Rest| 3m |1 mile easy, 4x600m @ 5 mile Race pace w / 90 sec , 1 mile easy| 3m| rest| 1mile easy, 6x1 min hills 1 mile easy |75 min easy
    Tuesday 21st - 3m in 26.35 - no garmin
    Went out for easy run and did the three mile loop (i think its just short of 3m, something like 2.93, i'll make up the .07 tomorrow!:p), felt nice and relaxed but should have been a bit slower. Actually lovely warm day out there today!!

Totals
    WTD - 3m
    MTD - 64m
    YTD - 115.87m

Welcome to the team! ;)

Mr Slow wrote: »
    Welcome to the team! ;)

Which team is that there now(i,m a bit SLOW today;)!!!!! Ecoli's trainees or the No garmin one??

Ecoli's Athletes!!!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

ecoli's a good lad, passing on his wisdom to a new (or perhaps old :)) gang of runners ;)

RayCun wrote: »
    ecoli's a good lad, passing on his wisdom to a new (or perhaps old :)) gang of runners ;)

None of us are as wise as you Ray! :P:pac:

How nice of you to say so :cool:

Surely editing a post is contrary to one of your charters?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

Mr Slow wrote: »
    Surely editing a post is contrary to one of your charters?

[Mod Note]

Raycun banned for life due to abuse of power :D

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 26,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

[Mod Note]

Raycun banned for life due to abuse of power :D

Oh dear, the thought of Brian having mod power is scary :eek:

less of the Old thank you very much...I'll always be Younganne..see my username:p

I don't see any edit note ;)

Wednesday 22nd - 4.5 m in 41:47 @ 9:17/167 with 4 x 600 reps

m1=9.26/158
    4 x 600m Reps
    1. .39mile @8.34/176 = 3:19mins with .15mile in 1:40min @10:48/170 recovery
    2. .39mile @8.32/180 = 3.17mins with .21mile in 2:15min @ 10.49/167 recovery
    3. .39mile @8.02/176 = 3.09mins with .16mile in 1:46min @11.11/162 recovery
    4. .38mile @7.51/176 = 3.00mins with .15mile in 1:29min @ 9.54/172 recovery
    Cool down: 1.26mile = 9.41/164

Found the second 2 reps easier than the first two and might have had something to do with the headwind i was running into. Happy enough with this run, couldn't have done the first two any faster as i was still warming up...i reckon.

Friday 24th - 5.7 m in 56:42 @9.57/160 with 6 x Hill Reps

headed for the Kyber for this and did the hills on the road, don't know if this was meant to be on the road or if i was meant to be running up the "big Hill" beside the road, but figured i wouldn't get a minute of the grassy hills so stayed on the road!!!:eek::o

I was happy with this and the run was fine until the cool down and legs were screaming in protest but i had to get back to work so plodded along....:(

Times look like this:

m1=9.11/159 m2=9.16/157

6 x Hill Reps
    1 =.18mile @7.26/172 = 0:01:18 with .17m in 2.02mins @11.51/157 recovery
    2= .16mile@7.05/175 = 0:01:08 with .17m in 2.00@ 11.42/160 recovery

3=.16m @7.33/177 in 00:01:13 with .17m in 02.03 @ 12.21/162 recovery
    4 = .16m @7:43/176 in 1:15 with .17m in 02:02 @10:02/164 recovery

5=.16m @7.25/179 = 1:12 with .17m in 2:05 @ 12.12/163 recovery
    6= .17m @7.26/177 in 0:01.13 with 1:37min recovery @16.20/168

1m @ 10.42/160 and .62 mile @10.05/161