Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting Back To My Best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Marthastew wrote: »
    Don't you dare bring the snow home Brian:)
    Quoting for emphasis :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    Actually missed a few snowy runs this year - when is it due to clear?

Well it's supposed to be like this for the whole of February :mad:. The whole continent seems to be covered in snow apart from Ireland. Hoping it's gone by Monday when i'm back.
    Marthastew wrote: »
    It is lovely running in the snow but after last year I never want it to snow here again. Don't you dare bring the snow home Brian:)

I'm hearing stories of 10-12 degrees and humidity over there, i'd say your safe ;)

Sat 11th Feb, 20 mls LSR group run in the Phoenix park. Good crowd out and ran 10 mls with Aimman, Chinguetti and Pistol at 8'30 pace, having run 2 mls up to meet them, then a mile with theboywonder before pushing on the last 7 mls. The overall pace dropped from 8'27 to 8'06 over these miles so i was running 7'30 ish pace for the last 7 essentially. Overall 20 mls in 2'42'05 (8'06) Good run and happy with my strong finish.

Sun 12th Feb, 3 mls recovery on the clontarf seafront before heading to Leopardstown in 28'30 (9'30). Fatigued and hungover from a night on the black stuff (standard protocol for weekends in Dublin) and happy to get it done.

Weekly Review, 62 mls and 7 runs. First time over 60 and a lifetime peak mileage week. Happy enough with the week overall. Most of the snow has cleared but there's patches around the place still.

Yearly Mileage, 263 mls.

Mon 13th Feb, 4 mls recovery in 38'20 (9'35). 2 recovery runs in a row but needed as i was poleaxed from the weekend in Dublin (got in at 1.30am Sunday night) and the calves were very stiff from Saturdays LSR.

Tues 14th Feb, Track session on Parliament Hill in the heath after work today. Consisting of;

1.5 mls w/u then

10 mins at MP (done at 6'50 pace), followed by 2 mins jog recovery
    10 mins at HMP (done at 6'12 pace), followed by 2 mins jog recovery
    10 mins at 10k pace (done at 5'58 pace)

then 2.5 mls w/d for 9 mls total.

The MP section felt quite comfortable, but 6'50 pace on a track aint fast tbh. Getting a bit tougher for the HMP bit, had to focus to keep on pace. The last 10 mins was quite tough then and i was willing it to end but kept pace throughout. happy enough with the session.

Weds 15th Feb, 7 mls easy in 57'10 (8'10) this evening. Felt surprisingly good tonight and i didnt feel like i had a session yesterday at all. Another track session tomorrow.

Thurs 16th Feb, track session on the track in the heath after work today, consisting of;

2.5 mls w/u in 20'30 (8'12), done in daylight which is great for a change.

then 20 x 200m (aim was to hit between 38-40 secs for each one) with 200m jog recovery between them (roughly 80 secs)

200m times were;

40, 40, 39, 39, 40, 39, 39, 39, 38, 38, 38, 39, 38, 38, 38, 38, 38, 39, 38, 34.

Pretty consistent and happy with the times. Recoveries were mostly 75-80 secs with a few 85's thrown in by accident. Picked it up a bit for the last rep as i was feeling strong. Left the legs a bit dead aftere though on the w/d.

2.5 mls w/d in 21 mins (8'24) for 10 mls total.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/150032012

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

Weds 15th Feb, 7 mls easy in 57'10 (8'10) this evening. Felt surprisingly good tonight and i didnt feel like i had a session yesterday at all. Another track session tomorrow.

I was looking back through your log, the last 12 months and have noticed your easy runs are definitely 20-4 seconds quicker. This is great progress and a sign that you're getting stronger and training is working

then 20 x 200m (aim was to hit between 38-40 secs for each one) with 200m jog recovery between them (roughly 80 secs)

200m times were;

40, 40, 39, 39, 40, 39, 39, 39, 38, 38, 38, 39, 38, 38, 38, 38, 38, 39, 38, 34.

And just to prove my point you churn out a great session the following day.

My head is wrecked I was coming on here with a few HTFU to dish out :D Good stuff dude keep it up. Won't be long coming around. You're well on track just keep it steady and controlled. Every session is a building block, foundations are there.

Checked the status of my New York Marathon application today and it said "accepted" and they charged me 2 weeks ago without me noticing :D Delighted i got in and this changes the summer a bit.

Don't think i'll be going full on for it, just wanna run a comfortable 3'15 or so and enjoy the day. The Cabbage Patch 10 will be the main autumn goal and thats 2 weeks before NY. London will be the one and only sub 3 attempt in 2012.

The 2 best marathons in the world in the same year lol. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

The overriding thought from the weekend is that i’m not suited to the marathon distance. I’ve invested a lot of time and effort chasing the sub 3 and i think the time has come to give up on it for a year or so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭shazkea

Checked the status of my New York Marathon application today and it said "accepted" and they charged me 2 weeks ago without me noticing :D Delighted i got in and this changes the summer a bit.

Don't think i'll be going full on for it, just wanna run a comfortable 3'15 or so and enjoy the day. The Cabbage Patch 10 will be the main autumn goal and thats 2 weeks before NY. London will be the one and only sub 3 attempt in 2012.

You jammy git :eek:, knew I didn't like you :p

shazkea wrote: »
    You jammy git :eek:, knew I didn't like you :p

My Waterford half time (sub 1'23) got me in so its not luck. Just hard work :cool:

Fri 17th Feb, 7 mls easy in 57'58 (8'17) around the outer circle and back. Felt good after a couple of miles to shake off thursdays session.

Sat 18th Feb
    , 4.5 mls easy in 36'00 (8'00) in the heath. Felt very good today.

Big test of my sub 3 credentials tomorrow with 10 easy plus 8 mls at MP planned. I'm much fitter than i was before Berlin so it should be ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

My Waterford half time (sub 1'23) got me in so its not luck. Just hard work :cool:

Wonder if they accept 400m IAAF points equivalent performances as a means of entry to NYC Marathon ;):cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Think that you might find if you progress over the summer, hit a nice sub 60 in the 10 mile - Sub 3 should be nice easy run arount NY. Mt money is on you going for it closer to the date. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

shels4ever wrote: »
    Think that you might find if you progress over the summer, hit a nice sub 60 in the 10 mile - Sub 3 should be nice easy run arount NY. Mt money is on you going for it closer to the date. :)

Susssshhhhhhh!!! Don't put ideas into his head. Next August he needs to be hitting his peak drinking wise for the Olympics. Sub 3 marathon training is a mere distraction and inconvenience ;)

Sun 19th Feb (am), headed down to Arsenal tube stop for a 5k run with Mo Farah and 200 others. It was a Nike sponsored event and as soon as my brother told me about it i was doing this. We were all given tech t-shirts with "One Mo Mile" on the front and after a speech from Mo we all headed out. Pace was handy at first but it slowly cranked up, until i looked at the garmin and saw sub 7 pace on it :eek: I was running alongside Mo here and had a brief chat with him about O'Lionaird and Salazar. Nice guy.

We headed through Clissold Park and the pace picked up again, it was like a Tour de France mountain stage with runners falling off the back one by one. I didnt fancy 6'30 ish pace so i dropped back a little. We headed through the old Highbury stadium, which is now apartment blocks but still looks like it used to before it closed. Then we headed towards the Emirates Stadium and finished with a lap of the stadium. I ended up with 7'04 pace but Mo and the frontunners finished in 6'20 pace overall. The run with Paula Radcliffe and Steve Cram i did last April was similar, these runs are for the swift!

After that we headed into the stadium to the corporate level, where we got free breakfast, followed by a Q&A with Mo. This was very good and a bit of a laugh. Didnt know Radcliffe gave him a grand when he was 18 to help with his running. A fair few Spurs fans were twisting the knife too :D (Mo is a mad Arsenal fan). A great morning out and one to remember for quite a while. See photo below (i'm 2nd from left but obscured)

morun.jpg

Garmin link;

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/150916323

Pm;

After the excitement of all of that it was back to the grind with an LSR, some 6 hrs later. Original plan was 10 mls easy followed by 8 mls at MP. Ecoli (my coach) reduced this to 7 mls easy plus 8 mls at MP instead, which sounded much more doable. Did the first 5 mls in the heath, a quick stop at the house to pick up gels and a swig of powerade and headed down to Regents Outer Circle (where else). First 7 mls covered in 56'49 (8'07) and i was feeling good and confident for the MP miles, which consisted of 3 laps of the circle (which is 2.7 mls a lap)

The MP miles were like a dream, i never felt uncomfortable and they sailed by. Wore the Adizero Mana's today for only the second time and they made a big difference. The MP no longer felt like tempo pace, more like steady pace and the 8 mls flew by. I used nothing but a positive mental attitude the whole way, telling myself this was slow, that this is almost a minute a mile slower than my 10 mile time. It worked and for the first time MP felt easy in training. Did half a mile warm down at the end to round up to 60 mls for the week. Today will leave a mark so a couple of easy days are on the way. 8 mls at MP in 54'50 (6'51) and overall 15.5 mls in 1'56'08. (7'30) and 18.5 mls for the day.

Garmin Link;

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/150916304

I have had some great days in my 18 year running life but today just may have topped them all :D Roll on London!!

Weekly Review
    , 60 miles and 8 runs. First time doing 8 runs in a week and only the 2nd time over 60 miles. I seem to be taking it well for now.

Yearly Mileage, 323 mls. That's more like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Great stuff brian, sounds like you are finally getting your head round the sub 3 thing. Christ If I am starting to think sub 3 (in the future mind) it should be simple for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,102 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Nice running - have to say I love the Manas, up to what distance are you planning on racing in them.

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    Nice running - have to say I love the Manas, up to what distance are you planning on racing in them.

I got them as the shoes for London and they passed the first test today. Even though they are as light as my Brooks racers they feel far sturdier. Doing 10/12 mls easy plus 10 mls at MP in the Phoenix Park in 2 weeks time which will decide if they are the London shoe.

Maith an buachaill. Was worried when I didn't see an entry earlier but happy to hear it went well. 8 miles at 6.52 should feel relatively easily for a man with a 10 & half marathon time like yours. 60 mile week as well, much respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,554 ✭✭✭Mr Slow

Great stuff Brian, keep the mind positive and great things will happen!

Mon 20th Feb, 4 mls recovery in 38'45 (9'42). Painfully slow stuff but the legs were tired from yesterday (as expected) Glad to get that out of the way. The plan for the rest of the week isnt pretty.

The number for the Silverstone Half arrived today. Excited about the race now (even if it is 20 days away) Most of the race seems to be on the F1 circuit. Not sure if i'll go for sub 80 or sub 81, i'll see how the next 2 weeks go.

Tues 21st Feb, 7.5 mls easy in a little over an hour (at 8'26 pace) I was going fine the first 4 mls but got a bit tired after that on a few uphill drags and the pace dropped. Was supposed to be 8 mls but passed the house at 7.5 mls so called it a day then. Tough 10 x 1 ml @ MP tomorrow. Hoping the legs play ball for that cause they're a little dead now.

Weds 22nd Feb, tough midweek long MP session last night. 2 mls w/u then 10 x 1 ml at MP (60-70 secs jog recovery). Times were;

6'51
    6'52
    6'54
    6'47
    7'09 (for 1.04 mls so 6'52 pace)
    6'54
    6'51
    6'55
    6'47
    6'50

First 6 were fine and comfortable enough. I had to dig in a bit the last 4 then.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/151769054

Some were faster and some were slower due to the wind and the uphill/downhill drags around the circle so i tried to keep the effort the same throughout.

Legs were smashed on the warm down (1.5 mls) and they're heavy enough today. Couple of easy days anyway to follow. 14.5 mls overall. Happy i got through the session ok but the deadness in the legs is alarming.

Thurs 23rd Feb, 5 mls recovery in 44'50 (8'58). Legs were still tired from last nights run (and the higher mileage routine in general) so this was needed.

Video from last Sunday's Mo Farah run. See if you can spot me :D

Fri 24th Feb, 5 mls easy at lunchtime today in a sun drenched heath in 40'19 (8'04). Felt better today but not fully recovered. The course for the national XC Champs which is on in the heath tomorrow was being laid out. Tough course and glad i'm not doing it.

Another 7-8 mls easy tomorrow (hungover no doubt) before a progression run from hell on Sunday.

Couldn't catch sight f you in that video but I'll be disappointed if you didn't wear your Tottenham jersey into the emirates!

About 11 secs in on the left as we leave the park. I'm sure Mo would have been impressed if i did!

Sat 25th Feb, 5 mls easy in the heath in 40'30 (8'06). Should have gone further but i was sucked into watching the national xc races. Saw the 2 u17 races. They weren't hanging around! Savage day for it and a great advertisement for North London running. Hope we get the worlds here some time. Wishful thinking maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

the heath
    i was sucked
    u17

Durty fecker :pac:

Feb 26th Feb, 15 ml progression run LSR today. Plan was;

8'20, 8'10, 8'00, 7'50, 7'40, 7'30, 7'20, 7'10, 7'00, 6'50, 6'40, 6'30, 6'20, 6'10, 6'00

which not only looked tough, it looked impossible. Decided to give it a lash anyway. Did the first 5 mls in the heath in fading daylight and headed down to the circle. The miles up to 7'20 went fine, even if 7'20 pace took a bit of maintaining. 7'10 and 7'00 went ok ish but 6'50 was a struggle. 6'40 went better but slighly downhill but 6'30 pace proved a bridge too far. Couldnt hit that pace and faded badly to 6'55. Called it a day here after 12 mls, didnt want to flog a dead horse. 12 mls in 1'28'55 (7'24)

Legs were dead after and they're feeling it now. The signs were there on Weds that all was not well. Hope to bounce back next week.

Weekly Review
    , 7 runs and 53 miles. Not the worst week but feeling the double run last Sunday a bit during the 2 key sessions.

Yearly Mileage, 376 mls.