HS Precision

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭dCorbus

@silverfox1: You need to have a really good long chat with a certain german in cork! Mr. Edi and his marvellous hunting stocks combined with some sweet custom barrels and a blued action by Mr. F. White - and you'd have a hunting/stalking rifle you'd be more than happy with, i'd say!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭patsat

Hibrion wrote: »
    Didn't someone mention that Tikka give a sub MOA guarantee? Is that a bull**** guarantee that means little to those buying them? I know they cost a little less than half a HS, but I'm still curious.

I said that!

Not sure whether I should call it (a guarantee) that but if ya read their catalogue Here In the first section they state that every rifle must shoot a sub 1 inch group before they leave Finland!

If looking to go the custom route I'd pick a

-Left handed tikka action
    -stock barrel or else a light hunter barrel
    -pse stock with an AICS magazine system built in.

No plastic bits left then!

But a Blaser would be ideal if you are thinking to go that route, savage rifle and easily changed back to right handed if you decide to trade in/sell it in the future! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭dCorbus

Everyone seems to have very high opinons of Sako. I did see an M597 Stutzen that seemed like a nice hunting rifle, but it was in 243, and I'd really like something with a bit more poke in it! 243 is not a bad round, but I want to buy a rifle to keep, rather than something I will have to change... again!

Sako make good solid factory actions: If you could get your hands on a old Sako 75 or a second-hand 85 action, that would give you a great basis for a custom-build which shouldn't break the bank. HOWA also is a good solid action to work with. And with work, the old Remmy700 can be made sing.

Decent trigger, barrel fitted, and a PSE hunting stock - you'd have a serious set-up. And a rifle customised to your own requirements. Not sure how much that would cost, but I'd expect less than an RPA or HS or similar.

Calibre: Maybe look at the 308 as a good all rounder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Hibrion

patsat wrote: »
    I said that!

Not sure whether I should call it (a guarantee) that but if ya read their catalogue Here In the first section they state that every rifle must shoot a sub 1 inch group before they leave Finland!

If looking to go the custom route I'd pick a

-Left handed tikka action
    -stock barrel or else a light hunter barrel
    -pse stock with an AICS magazine system built in.

No plastic bits left then!

But a Blaser would be ideal if you are thinking to go that route, savage rifle and easily changed back to right handed if you decide to trade in/sell it in the future! ;)

That's not a bad suggestion, Patsat. I could do the same on a Remington action too and end up with an excellent bit of kit. I handled one of edi's light weight stocks in a shop recently: I was impressed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭zeissman

Anyone any opinions on Blaser? I've alos been offered a Heym R21? I know nothing, whatsoever, about Heym.
    I have shot 3 blaser rifles, 2 in 6.5x55 and 1 in 243
    All 3 shot under .5 moa at 100 yards.
    I have owned and shot a good few sakos and they all shot under .5 moa also.

How did you find the straight pull on the Blasers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭zeissman

How did you find the straight pull on the Blasers?
    It was fine once you got used to it.
    They are a very handy rifle for hunting.

I've only held one, never shot it, but you can't argue with the fact they are compact. The only thing that worries me about the R93 is that the blind mag will only hold three rounds. That's fine for stalking, but makes it a less than ideal driven game rifle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

From what you're saying, I'd say look at the likes of a Sako 591 or the like in a .308. You'll get five in the mag, and the Sako's not too heavy of a gun (If you don't like the weight, put a McMillan Edge on it to lighten it up. Will shoot and handle nicely. Stick a light enough scope on it and it'll be lovely. Next hunting scope I'm buying is a Swaro 3-10x42 I think. Only comes in about 12oz, rather than the 27oz S&B I have, which is more suited to a varmint rifle type setup where weight isn't an issue.

I'm keeping my eye out for anything left handed at this stage. Was looking at the leupold 2.5-8x36 for a nice, compact scope at a reasonable price. have a s&b at the moment, and as you say, they can be heavy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭silverfox1

dCorbus wrote: »
    @silverfox1: You need to have a really good long chat with a certain german in cork! Mr. Edi and his marvellous hunting stocks combined with some sweet custom barrels and a blued action by Mr. F. White - and you'd have a hunting/stalking rifle you'd be more than happy with, i'd say!:D

Don't be putting ideas in my head or herself will have me sleeping in the garage:D Im hearing a lot of good things about those stocks. i have yet to see one. i have a tikka hunter that id like to change the stock on. any rough ideas on a price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭ormondprop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭patsat

I'm keeping my eye out for anything left handed at this stage. Was looking at the leupold 2.5-8x36 for a nice, compact scope at a reasonable price. have a s&b at the moment, and as you say, they can be heavy.

Remember if you want a Blaser you can buy a right handed one and change it to lefty for roughly 200 euro!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

silverfox1 wrote: »
    Don't be putting ideas in my head or herself will have me sleeping in the garage:D Im hearing a lot of good things about those stocks. i have yet to see one. i have a tikka hunter that id like to change the stock on. any rough ideas on a price.

Edi guessed at the price for me today at around (hopefully I have this right) €765 for the tactical stock.

The .243 he selling at the moment puts bad and expensive thoughts in JG's poor brain. If it's near to what ya want, seriously consider it, I reckon that rifle is a keeper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Cupid__Stunt

Anyone any opinions on Blaser? I've alos been offered a Heym R21? I know nothing, whatsoever, about Heym.

I've had 2 blasers, an R93 and an LRS2 and I struggled to take to them. I wouldn't be a fan of 7mm 08 either. It's a caught in the middle caliber.. with a poor selection of ammo available. I now shoot two customised tikkas and love them.. My .270 has taken serious hardship over the last year and has performed better than I would have ever expected.. Your more than welcome to see it! Sure I'm only over the road from ya!

Everyone seems to be shooting Tikkas! I just can't seem to take to them :rolleyes: maybe I'll be proved wrong though.

What have you done to customise the Tikkas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭clivej

Everyone seems to be shooting Tikkas! I just can't seem to take to them :rolleyes: maybe I'll be proved wrong though.

When I was looking to get a Deer hunting rilfe the Tikka Super varmint in 308 is what I wanted but couldn't get one anywhere and ended up buying the Sako 75 varmint in 308.
    Try holding the Tikka Super varmint as its far better than the standard stocked Tikka's, just 2 extra bits screwed onto the stock but it makes a difference. And I like the heavy barrel as well, less felt recoil. And the 308 is a good deer round

supervarmint.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭kakashka

IMO the Sako is way ahead of the Tikka and the Sak 75 is one of the best,i know LH does limit you a little but patience does pay,as for guarantee-IMO most established dealers will stand by a gun and sort out any problems(incl accuracy)

on another note,i have .308+.243..243 is used most)IMO some calibers are inherently more accurate,for example 308 with bad barrel can still hit the mark,25 06,270 through same condition barrel will be hopeless

In my experience sako tend to be very ammo fussy. i had one and could not get it to group at all. they are a fine looking gun but i dont think double the price tag of a tikka is justified. I think if i had the money the OP is looking to spend id get a blaser r8. heym are also a nice stalking rifle, lovely action and timber. dont think your going to get near the 0.5 moa with one though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Cupid__Stunt

Both have PSE carbon stocks. .270 has a truflight barrel, .243 has a krieger fluted. Both shoot sub inch at 200 yards easily. When I'm in form I'll do that at 300. http://youtu.be/IE_jzbI2uqA check this out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

Ezridax wrote: »
    Thats good shooting by all accounts, but thats you, and not a guarantee from the manufacturer.

Also I never said they couldn't shoot. How could i having never shot one. I am merely responding to the claims on the website.

I'm sure in the right hands the rifle could do alot better, but H&S cannot guarantee better groups because no matter the quality of the rifle its the "nut behind the butt" that counts.

Look at the recent shoot in the midlands. There were lads shooting at 600 yards with less expensive, and by no means custom rifles, and some were shooting some pretty tight groups in the string. One shooter, i believe, had a 4 consecutive shot group of about 2"-2.5". Thats unconfirmed, but my point being even without the big expensive custom rifle the man pulling the trigger is key.

Anyway i'm going slightly off topic. Forget the custom thing for the minute. A Sako 85, decent S&B/Leupold scope, rings, mounts, etc would stand you what.......... €3,500. (?) Thats a fantastic setup for pretty much the same money.

This seems to be the "basis" of our different opinions. I look at the H&S and quite frankly i see a Remmy in a H&S stock. I know looks count for nothin if it shoots like crap, but really i would still place some "stock" in the looks of a rifle. I mean we are all that little bit vain about our guns, and the better looking the better. For the show-off factor. :D;)

All i'm saying, is all i have been saying. There are other options, but hey if someone wants to go and splash out by all means knock yourself out. I suppose the true measure of their success will be in the sales figures, and performance/comps, etc by their owners.

just reading threw this rather long thread and i spotted this highlighted statment. just wondering which target and in which of the line ups did this take place. 1st or 2nd

i am sorry if it has nothing to do with the op

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,876 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

It was in the first detail, as in before the change in butt crew. Not really sure of which detail of the first group as i was moving between markers so did not worry about which shooter was firing first.

If pushed i would say the second detail of the first group. I was monitoring targets 6/8/9/10, but also walking the entire line. It was to my right so that makes it possibly target 10.

As said above i cannot be 100% sure. I was walking the entirity of the butts throughout the shoot, and when i seen all the pasters on the edge off the v-bull i asked, and the lads marking said the lad shooting was hitting it consistantly. There was 2 in it at this point. Another came in beside them, but i had to move on. When we finished the markers told me he got another before the group spread out.

So unconfirmed, but still a good group. Could go back through plotting charts and see if i can find it. They record shot number and location. If time allows what i would like to do on the next shoot is have a new card/target per shooter. Let them take it as a "reminder" of their shoot. Plus compare plotting chart and actual target then they can measure any groups of 3/4/5 shots?
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

Well.. I have been proven wrong and bought a Tikka! Who'd a thunk it, eh? HS wasn't worth the price or the waiting time and I just couldn't get past the 3 round blind mag in the Blaser and didn't like the trigger being attached to the mag in the R8.

So after considering reliability, value and shoot-ability in any price bracket, I've end up going for a 30-06 Tikka T3 hunter with a sonic 45 moderator. Overall it's reasonable light, but still has a nice walnut stock. The sonic mod is very light, has a neilson recoil reducer and is fully strippable. I might add a PSE stock at some stage, will see how it shoots with the regular stock first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭tomcat220t

Well.. I have been proven wrong and bought a Tikka! Who'd a thunk it, eh? HS wasn't worth the price or the waiting time and I just couldn't get past the 3 round blind mag in the Blaser and didn't like the trigger being attached to the mag in the R8.

So after considering reliability, value and shoot-ability in any price bracket, I've end up going for a 30-06 Tikka T3 hunter with a sonic 45 moderator. Overall it's reasonable light, but still has a nice walnut stock. The sonic mod is very light, has a neilson recoil reducer and is fully strippable. I might add a PSE stock at some stage, will see how it shoots with the regular stock first.
    Best of luck with the Tikka ,great gun :cool:

fair play. i dont think your going to regret it. they are a great gun.