Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***MOTORS MEET - Saturday Jan 21st Portlaoise***

• Registered Users Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

EPM wrote: »
    1. EPM x
    2. R.O.R x
    3. Jemmy x
    4. TestTransmission x
    5. ottostreet x
    6. Gary ITR x
    7. Limerick man
    8. George Dalton x
    9. Bodhan x
    10. Rob x
    11. MidnightQueen
    12. Quazzie x
    13. Drummerboy08 x
    14. Marlow x
    15. MetzgerMeister x
    16. Laoishibee
    17. Tallon x
    18. CharlieCroker x
    19. -Corkie- x
    20. Stheno
    21. Beer Baron
    22. Confab x
    23. Jenizzle x
    24. Adaline Abundant Index x
    25. georgefalls x
    26. alexmcred x
    27. Challengemaster x
    28. Damo86 x
    29. LIGHTNING x
    30. Sean1141 x
    31. Bigus x
    32. conzymaher x
    33. PaulKK
    34. Padraig Mor x
    35. TheBazman x
    36. Fizman x
    37 Falconire x
    38. DirtyBollox
    39. the_syco x
    40. dar83 x

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Gary ITR wrote: »
    Aww I was just kidding! lol

I know lol :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Daved_XB

1. EPM x
    2. R.O.R x
    3. Jemmy x
    4. TestTransmission x
    5. ottostreet x
    6. Gary ITR x
    7. Limerick man
    8. George Dalton x
    9. Bodhan x
    10. Rob x
    11. MidnightQueen
    12. Quazzie x
    13. Drummerboy08 x
    14. Marlow x
    15. MetzgerMeister x
    16. Laoishibee
    17. Tallon x
    18. CharlieCroker x
    19. -Corkie- x
    20. Stheno
    21. Beer Baron
    22. Confab x
    23. Jenizzle x
    25. georgefalls x
    26. alexmcred x
    27. Challengemaster x
    28. Damo86 x
    29. LIGHTNING x
    30. Sean1141 x
    31. Bigus x
    32. conzymaher x
    33. PaulKK
    34. Padraig Mor x
    35. TheBazman x
    36. Fizman x
    37 Falconire x
    38. DirtyBollox x
    39. the_syco x
    40. Dar83 x
    41. Daved_XB x

Added

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

And why am I not on the list :D

• Registered Users Posts: 28,870 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

johnos1984 wrote: »
    And why am I not on the list :D
    Its only a list of people who drove home :p

Quazzie wrote: »
    Its only a list of people who drove home :p
    Ya cheeky bollix :p

Well it drove to Wicklow this evening. I'm told I have a sticking injector, although it still isn't throwing a fault code.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,569 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Ya cheeky bollix :p

Well it drove to Wicklow this evening. I'm told I have a sticking injector, although it still isn't throwing a fault code.
    TBH dude, I wouldn't drive it with the noise that it's making

Tallon wrote: »
    TBH dude, I wouldn't drive it with the noise that it's making

We went through everything in the car today. After a minute or two the noise goes out of it and it runs normal.

Mechanics reckons it's 'diesel' slap' and that for some reason (dirt or failing injector) the car doesn't run correctly until it's warmed up. We had it hooked up to autologic (?) and ran tests on the injectors and they appeared to be performing perfectly as did everything else.

In other words they only effective repair for now would be to replace all injectors or wait until one finally fails.

He is a VAG/BMW specialist so I'm happy to go with what he thinks. We discounted camshaft failure as it would have stayed running like a bag of nails when it had warmed up. As it is it seems to run fine.

Although I'm very tempted to bin it now and get something else as I'm not happy with all the repairs of late that it's needed. Still though, that means I've to arrange finance which I didn't want to do

• Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

We went through everything in the car today. After a minute or two the noise goes out of it and it runs normal.

Mechanics reckons it's 'diesel' slap' and that for some reason (dirt or failing injector) the car doesn't run correctly until it's warmed up. We had it hooked up to autologic (?) and ran tests on the injectors and they appeared to be performing perfectly as did everything else.

In other words they only effective repair for now would be to replace all injectors or wait until one finally fails.

He is a VAG/BMW specialist so I'm happy to go with what he thinks. We discounted camshaft failure as it would have stayed running like a bag of nails when it had warmed up. As it is it seems to run fine.

Although I'm very tempted to bin it now and get something else as I'm not happy with all the repairs of late that it's needed. Still though, that means I've to arrange finance which I didn't want to do

Could you fix this problem, sell it and buy another car with the money you get for the passat?

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Jomcc

1. EPM x
    2. R.O.R x
    3. Jemmy x
    4. TestTransmission x
    5. ottostreet x
    6. Gary ITR x
    7. Limerick man
    8. George Dalton x
    9. Bodhan x
    10. Rob x
    11. MidnightQueen
    12. Quazzie x
    13. Drummerboy08 x
    14. Marlow x
    15. MetzgerMeister x
    16. Laoishibee
    17. Tallon x
    18. CharlieCroker x
    19. -Corkie- x
    20. Stheno
    21. Beer Baron
    22. Confab x
    23. Jenizzle x
    25. georgefalls x
    26. alexmcred x
    27. Challengemaster x
    28. Damo86 x
    29. LIGHTNING x
    30. Sean1141 x
    31. Bigus x
    32. conzymaher x
    33. PaulKK
    34. Padraig Mor x
    35. TheBazman x
    36. Fizman x
    37 Falconire x
    38. DirtyBollox x
    39. the_syco x
    40. dar83 x
    41. Daved_XB x
    42. Jomcc x
    Was only there for short while but added name.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭MidnightQueen

Damn it, i missed this! :( Got my dates mixed up. Disgusted. Definetly hope to be at the next one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Damn it, i missed this! :( Got my dates mixed up. Disgusted. Definetly hope to be at the next one.

Jesus your worse than me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

'twas a fun day lads and lasses !

Sorry I shot off early. The girlfriend and what not.

Cheers all !

• Registered Users Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

EPM wrote:
    1. EPM x
    2. R.O.R x
    3. Jemmy x
    4. TestTransmission x
    5. ottostreet x
    6. Gary ITR x
    7. Limerick man
    8. George Dalton x
    9. Bodhan x
    10. Rob x
    11. MidnightQueen
    12. Quazzie x
    13. Drummerboy08 x
    14. Marlow x
    15. MetzgerMeister x
    16. Laoishibee
    17. Tallon x
    18. CharlieCroker x
    19. -Corkie- x
    20. Stheno
    21. Beer Baron
    22. Confab x
    23. Jenizzle x
    25. georgefalls x
    26. alexmcred x
    27. Challengemaster x
    28. Damo86 x
    29. LIGHTNING x
    30. Sean1141 x
    31. Bigus x
    32. conzymaher x
    33. PaulKK x
    34. Padraig Mor x
    35. TheBazman x
    36. Fizman x
    37 Falconire x
    38. DirtyBollox x
    39. the_syco x
    40. dar83 x
    41. Daved_XB x
    42. Jomcc x

Added me

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

That lack of an X by my name insults me!

Sickened i missed it.

Loads of reasons, the main reasons being i didn't want anyone to laugh at my car and i also didn't want anyone to find out i'm actually 12.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭voxpop

Was only about for a bit - some nice cars - any chance of a closer to dublin or mountain drive meet next time ?

@TestTransmission: that tin can exhaust melted your bumper yet? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

voxpop wrote: »
    Was only about for a bit - some nice cars - any chance of a closer to dublin or mountain drive meet next time ?

@TestTransmission: that tin can exhaust melted your bumper yet? :pac:

For a regional meet that can be in Dublin, but a national one needs to be somewhere more neutral.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Enjoyable meet in fairness, sound bunch of lads/lasses. Got to chat to a good few but only know a handful of Boards names to put against them.

Was good to chat to the other GTI owners to share tips and what not.

Highlight of the day was finding out that there is little or no difference between my GTI and TT's S2000. :)

Refill light came on driving to work this morning, with 472km on the tank. That is officially the earliest it has come on in my 24 months of ownership, so ya, Saturday was expensive. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Fizman wrote: »
    Highlight of the day was finding out that there is little or no difference between my GTI and TT's S2000. :)

Typical VAG driver, always under the illusion that the Honda is actually trying :pac:

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

Yeah I brimmed the tank Friday night and challengemaster emptied a quarter of it on a 15 minute test drive id say :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Typical VAG driver, always under the illusion that the Honda is actually trying :pac:

The Honda sounded like it was having an abortion, without anesthetic, so I just assumed it was trying. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,569 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

So soon?

Tallon wrote: »
    So soon?

Just to get the ball rolling. Only a small one for the yocals, boi:)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

The Honda sounded like it was having an abortion, without anesthetic

I've never been able to pinpoint the sound the Buddyclub exhaust makes until now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

yocals

A cross between 'yokel' and 'locals'? Wonder what the Dublin equivalent would be... maybe Skocals?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Refill light came on driving to work this morning, with 472km on the tank. That is officially the earliest it has come on in my 24 months of ownership, so ya, Saturday was expensive. :p

I'm incredibly jealous. I'd be over the moon if I was getting that out of my Civic :(
    I think I may have a problem at the moment.....my average per tank has dropped from ~380-400kms to about ~320-330kms and my driving style or type of driving hasn't changed :(

BDJW wrote: »
    I'm incredibly jealous. I'd be over the moon if I was getting that out of my Civic :(
    I think I may have a problem at the moment.....my average per tank has dropped from ~380-400kms to about ~320-330kms and my driving style or type of driving hasn't changed :(

Could be weather, tyre pressures etc. How many tanks have been lower? Was it gradual?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Could be weather, tyre pressures etc. How many tanks have been lower? Was it gradual?

Tire pressure is grand, been keeping an eye on it. Some of the lads on the owners forum have said they normally have a bit of a drop in the cold weather, which is partially due to the tank being under the drivers seat and actually having less protection from the weather. But this is a bit of a hefty drop in my opinion.

I gave the car a bit of stick for a full tank about 2 months ago, and only got 320kms out of the tank before the light came on. Thought nothing of it as I had been driving a bit harder than I normally would have. And since then, it's been the same, and that is about 4 or 5 tanks.

BDJW wrote: »
    Tire pressure is grand, been keeping an eye on it. Some of the lads on the owners forum have said they normally have a bit of a drop in the cold weather, which is partially due to the tank being under the drivers seat and actually having less protection from the weather. But this is a bit of a hefty drop in my opinion.

I gave the car a bit of stick for a full tank about 2 months ago, and only got 320kms out of the tank before the light came on. Thought nothing of it as I had been driving a bit harder than I normally would have. And since then, it's been the same, and that is about 4 or 5 tanks.

You'd be very suprised the differences that an extra couple of minutes a journey takes with traffic etc. Definitelty something to keep an eye on.

Also...320km to a tank is frightening:o