Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A little bit of everything, just faster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Run - 10km

Calculated my MHR and RHR. MHR was calculated by running 800 metres, going all out for last 400. First time MHR was 193. Second time was 192. Not fool proof but was pretty spent at the end of each set.

So using the Karvonen method:

50% 121 75% 157
    55% 128 80% 164
    60% 135 85% 171
    65% 143 90% 179
    70% 150 95% 186

So:
    Zone 1 = 121 - 135
    Zone 2 = 135 - 150
    Zone 3 = 150 - 164
    Zone 4 = 164 - 179
    Zone 5 = 179 - max.

No idea what it all means but will apply it and see what happens

Sunday 30km mountain bike

Up early in Ticknock on a beautiful winter's day. Trails are great fun. Getting use to the twists and turns. Cycling back up is a good work out.

Monday 15kmish run

One of those rave runs. Another beautiful day, ran out to the Great South Wall and onto Poolbeg lighthouse. Felt fast and easy

Monday night swim lessons

First night of lessons. Joined advanced group. Was worried that I might be out of depth but was fine. All very basic stuff for the first night. Haven't done any lessons since primary school so useful to be reminded of position etc.

Tuesday 7km run home

Wednesday 1000meter ish swim

Lane swim at lunch time. Just swam lengths to build up endurance and technique. Getting into the habit of breathing on both sides, four/five strokes per breath etc. Interesting to watch other swimmers who manage to swim the a length in 6 or 7 powerful strokes, mad.

First turbo session tomorrow so see how that goes. Still trying to figure out a training plan. Had a look at Beer's 220 Triathlon plan and it didn't look great with just one run a week.

Turbo intervals.

First turbo session ever. Two words. F**king hell!

10 mins warm up at 65% HR
    3 * 10 mins at 85% HR with 4 mins rest in between followed by 10 min warmdown.

Suppose first lesson learnt is to choose something other than masterchef to watch while doing a session. Enjoyed it, first interval I didn't think I'd finish the session, was a hard effort to get HR to 85% in the first place. The sweat was a revelation.

Rest tomorrow and Powerscourt IMRA race on Saturday, work permitting. IMRA race looks tough. Plan is to enjoy it but almost impossible not to end up racing it.

Week Summary

|# sessions|Time hh:mm|Distance kms
    Total|7|8 hours 40|98.6
    Swimming|2|100 mins|1600
    Cycling|2|3 hrs 30|60km
    Running|3|3hrs 30|37km

First proper week of tri training which ended with all time best position in an IMRA race, nice way to end the season. Some of the times are guess work, no garmin.

2 swims incl 1 lesson, 2 cycles (turbo and mtb) and 2 runs and a race. Happy with the week and didn't feel too tired.

Saturday IMRA race Powerscourt

Beautiful day for a bit of messing in the hills. I was half thinking of just enjoying the scenery and jogging around it, but as I said earlier, almost impossible not to race these races.

Started off at a nice pace and paced myself off a runner I knew to be a strong climber. If I was ahead of him at the first climb, Maulin, I was going out too hard. So tucked in behind at the start and as expected he pulled away on the climb. I don't think I lost any places up Maulin but legs and lungs were burning. The descent was tricky and a lost a couple of places there but passed out the strong climber.

Cross the Dargle and started the climb towards Djouce. Felt ok at this point and the plan was to save something in the tank for the descent. So walked/ran all the way up, 20 sec walk, 20 sec run. I was with another runner so we both kept each other honest. I'd start to pull away, he'd catch up and vice versa. At this stage, the strong climber passed me just at the main climb djouce and flew up the mtn.

Had a iso gel on top, soley for thirst, and onto the descent and what a descent it was, great buzz. There was a small train of runners ahead of me so chased them down with another train caught by the time of the Dargle. Up the small valley and on the home straight and spotted another train of four runners. Was really feeling it at this stage and was in two minds whether to tuck in and wait. In the end I thought fvck it, I'll go for it and put the foot down. A couple tried to go with me but I kept the pace high to dissaude them from trying too hard :)

There's a horrible flat part on the descent that just takes the leg from under you. I caught up with a fellow boardsie and passed him, only for him to come back at me on the flat. I was seriously fvcked at this stage and last thing I wanted was a sprint. We went shoulder to shoulder for a while until the road dipped again and I managed to pull away. Another boardsie was in front and initially I managed to gain on him before he pulled away and finished 5 secs ahead.

Brilliant race and delighted with 17th and my pacing. Probs caught about 10 people on the descent.

Monday 70km road bike avg speed, 22.4kmph, 747 metre climb, avg HR 136 BPM

Beautiful day so decided to head up over Sally Gap on a leisurely spin to loosen the legs which were really sore from Saturday. Really enjoyed the first half but the second half was misery. I was knackered and didn't intend to cycle longer than 50km. Doh! Wicklow mountains were stunning tho, spotted some paragliders flying over the lake by Powercourt road.

It was fairly warm until the sun disappeared around Blessington which resulted in a cold and miserable cycle home with dozens of trucks for company.

Swimming lesson tonight so hopefully my legs will work later.

Monday Swim lessons
    Lessons were mainly focusing on body position, swimming sideways with your hands by your side, using a float with one hand etc, breathing work, back stroke etc. Would prefer if we got around to arm stroke technique but another 9 weeks or so left.

Tuesday Run 6km recovery 32 minutes ish.

Legs were in a bits from Saturday and cycle on Monday. So just went for a recovery 6km jog before the match.

Wednesday Swim 800 metres ish

Massive hangover so a minor miracle that I made it to the pool at lunch time. Concentrated on technique, well what I think is good technique based on youtube videos.

I usually take a breath every two strokes but did today’s session breathing on every three which went well. Took breaks every 100 metres or so in order to keep good technique. Decent sessions considering the hangover.

Plan for tomorrow is turbo. Maybe an hour at a consistent pace or intervals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Nice report from Saturday. Nice descending! The trail finish I find pure hardship :p Fair play too for back to back sessions since then.

Cheers SJ, that fireroad is indeed torture.

Thursday Turbo 60 minutes

Avg cadence 92, avg speed 25kmph, heart rate 156. Watt for what its worth on the flow, was 156.

I did the calib test before work out which was +8. That right? Or does it even matter?

Decent workout, still finding the turbo to be marginally tougher mentally than physically. Time appears to stand still. Was happy to sustain the cadence and keep HR in check as I was feeling it after 20 mins. There's also the impulse to back off which I wouldn't normally get on a run but that's probably down to never really sustaining a specifc pace longer than 15 mins.

Usual story, didn't do a thing over the weekend other than create hangovers.

Monday 12.5km avg pace 4.33

Lovely run today. Gradually increased the pace throughout the run, with a couple of four-minute kilometres, and final km at km 12 of around 3.45 which felt easy. Plan is to try set a new 5km PB either at Donore or Clonliffe in December or maybe both. Current PB is 19.42 which I think is a bit soft. Will try go 18.xx but might just go out in a blaze of glory and try 17.5x.

Swimming tonight, intervals tomorrow, Swimming on Wednesday and maybe recovery run, turbo Thursday.

Monday night swimming lesson

As the weeks go on, it seems an increasing number of people are dropping out of the lessons. Means more lengths per lesson and less people in the lane.

Lots of drills again, swimming with arms by the side, one arm out in front, swimming sideways, so legs were getting a good work out. A few lengths of back stroke and front crawl. Was knackered after it. But my stroke seems to be coming on.

Tuesday afternoon. Easy lunch time 60 minute run 11.5km

Legs felt tight so nice handy trail run out by Sandymount. Stunning day.

Drawing up my training plan this evening, identifying A, B races, Base/build etc. A races will be two half ironman and one multisport, probs Gaelforce. Then a collection of Olympics and one of two sprints.

Hey lads, quick question re prep/base/build phrases. According to when my A race is on, I've 8 weeks of prep before starting base phrase. Which seems a bit long?

Any suggestions? Do 4 of prep and maybe repeat a block of a base or build phrase?

Drawing up schedule as per Joe Friel.

Any help much appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

nerraw1111 wrote: »
    Hey lads, quick question re prep/base/build phrases. According to when my A race is on, I've 8 weeks of prep before starting base phrase. Which seems a bit long?

Any suggestions? Do 4 of prep and maybe repeat a block of a base or build phrase?

Drawing up schedule as per Joe Friel.

Any help much appreciated.

One thing i have noticed in my first year of tri training is that you cannot plan too far ahead. I would work on the basis of a 4 week prep and see where you are at then before you decide what to do. You may decide you need to extend out your prep period by another week or two.
    I would not repeat a block of base but would look at trying to extend it out and start working on what you think are your limiters.

Cheers JB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

Ideally I'd be aiming for some top 30 positions. Crazy high target but basing that on previous races against triathletes in Gaelforce etc where I did ok with little bike training. I finished within 36 mins of Marrey at GF so if I can do that in half ironman, I'd be delighted.

Surprise surprise Marrey is a strong swimmer as well, although it is definitely his weakest as he doesn't spend much time on it! If you can get within that of him at the Humbert next year you will be in great shape - hes a sub 4.30 man ifs he fit and ready. Beauty about the swimming is that it becomes less important as the distance gets longer!

catweazle wrote: »
    Surprise surprise Marrey is a strong swimmer as well, although it is definitely his weakest as he doesn't spend much time on it! If you can get within that of him at the Humbert next year you will be in great shape - hes a sub 4.30 man ifs he fit and ready. Beauty about the swimming is that it becomes less important as the distance gets longer!

That's one of the reasons I'm doing the half iron distance. Theory is I'll be more competitive at the longer distance rather than getting hammered on the swim in sprints. Didn't realise Marrey was a strong swimmer, that'll make that 30 min (sub 5 target) more difficult.

Wednesday swim lunch 1300metres ish

Bit knackered doing this, wasn’t really feeling it. Mainly did 50 metre reps to work on technique. Shared the slow lane with what appeared to be the fastest swimmer in the pool. So ended up swimming a bit faster than I was comfortable with, so as not to hold him up. Turns out he was a sound bloke and was returning to swimming after a break of a few years. He considered himself slow so that’s why he was in the slow lane. The lads in the fast lane were pretty slow. Bit Irish I suppose. Technique was ok, the breathing every three strokes is fine which I’m happy with it. Still lose count of lengths after about 5.

Wednesday evening turbo 45 mins

I did this session from Wheelworx.
    http://www.wheelworxbikes.com/blog/2011/10/turbo-thursday-aerobic-endurance-week-5/

Bit of a struggle. The spin ups were tough and HR was way up. Right leg is far stronger than the left following the one leg revs. Pleased to finished it as legs were falling off me towards the end. Somehow left the chain on the big ring for the recovery. Doh!

HR avg of 158, max of 180
    Cadence avg 96, max 110
    Watts avg 180, max 335
    Avg speed 24.8, max 43.5.

45 minute recovery spin

Decent spin session as legs were feeling a bit heavy. Still a bit of an effort with a few minutes on the big gear. But starting to really like the turbo for training. Not sure I could do longer than 90 minutes on it but for short hard work, it's great.

Plan is to get a run intervals in tomorrow morning before work. Nothing today and see what happens on Sunday.

Didn't do much at the weekend. Besides lifting pints.

Monday
    8km run at lunch time and swimming lessons this evening. Lessons were grand. Decent workout.

Plan is run a 5km PB on Saturday at Donore's race work permitting. So will keep the running light this week.

Turbo intervals 60 minutes

Really tough session. Happy that I managed to complete it as it was touch and go. Last 5 minutes I struggled to match a cadence of 100 on big ring.

Cad max 134, avg 94
    watt total 634 max 290 av 184
    km total and avg 27.5 max 40.4

Wednesday noon
    Swim 1400 metres ish

Really good session today. Stroke was pretty consistent thoughtout the session. Didn't get sloppy.

Wednesday eve
    7km run. Nice and handy run. Still wearing shorts!

5km race pb attempt on Saturday so nothing too hectic planned before then

Saturday 5km race

Just the second time to run a 5km road race. Plan was to go under 19 and sure maybe even under 18 if conditions were right.

Started off way too fast, first 1km done in 3.32. So sub 18 was on for about 3 mins 52 seconds before the turn onto Chesterfield. Deliberately tried to slow down and the wind did the rest to clock a 3 52 second km. Got passed by a few here. Started pulling people back on 3 to 4 kms, 3.46, 3.39. Hung on for the last km with a 3.29 to scrape under 18.30.

Fun but tough race. Splits were all over the shop but the wind and downhill meant that would be the case. Definitely think the hill running is helping with speed as I've got quicker without a huge investment in intervals. Particularly downhill with high leg turnover but without the huge effort required. Powerscourt 2 weeks ago I was clocking sub 3.20 kms on tired legs on the descent. Defo a mental advantage in last km of a 5.

Swimming lesson later

Monday noon

Out with the running tights for first time this winter. Lovely 16km run, 5 min per km pace. Beautiful and crisp day for it

Monday night
    Swimming lesson. Some good pointers tonight. Stroke is ok but not really exerting on the pull. So will concentrate on getting stroke rate down. When I do, I knock about 7 strokes from a length.

Tuesday turbo intervals.

Bloody hell these are tough. Barely completed the session and struggled to make 100 rpm, instead managing 92 ish on the big gears. Still happy to finish as the urge to bail was tempting.

Total km 28.1 max 44.3
    cadence avg 92 max 143
    watt trp 648 max 318 avs 188

Wednesday swim about 1300 metres

Enjoyable session. Did a series of 4 * 25 metres lengths. Quick rest and repeat. Concentrating on form and reducing number of strokes. Really noticed the difference with the effort, arms were a bit sore afterwards.

Getting harder to do a decent week of training with Christmas parties/work etc. Not that I mind, tis the season and all that. A weekend of boozing.

Monday
    Lovely trail run up Bray head and along the Bray to Greystones trail. Haven’t been up there since the IMRA race during the summer. Great views, fresh air and winding trails along the cliff. Fantastic. Still managed to get lost on the way down though.

Monday swim lesson
    This session was a bit of a pain in the arse. Practicing butterfly which I have absolutely zero interest in. Plus the regular coach wasn’t there so the lesson was a bit all over the place. Not the fault of the new instructor, he was pretty good actually. Just one more lesson left. Mixed feelings overall on the lessons. Some good tips but very stop/start from week to week and we haven’t got around to a lesson on the front crawl. That said, the others in the group seem to be happy.

Hectic week with work followed by boozy lunches. Missed swimming and bike sessions.

Thursday 8km 35 mins

Dreaded this run and took me ages to get out the door. But loved the run, felt great and was cruising at a fast pace. Few days off had me feeling fresh. Nice booster to be feeling strong coming to the end of the year.

Time to get log back on track. I'm off for the week, yuss, so besides stuffing my face, I'll also be able to get some decent sessions ahead of Christmas.

13km tempo run 60 mins

Wore too many clothes for this so was sweating for most of it. Very mild for this time of year. Few kms warm up, out by Sandymount, few kms at a guessed half marathon pace, out onto the Great South Wall where it was a bit slippy, and back home, increasing pace to 4.20 min per km pace. Enjoyable run.

Hope to do the half marathon plod route at some stage this week, weather depending. Few swims, turbos and I'll be in shape for Christmas!

I read a cool challenge on slowtwitch, which measures your miles versus the number of units of alcohol you drink. Think some aim for one mile for every drink over the Christmas period. Might give it a go starting from now

Some decent sessions over last few days. Some nice runs, sessions in the pool and a turbo interval.

The turbo was a bit of a killer and was unable to hold the big gear towards the end of it. The plan called for 4 mins at 53 * 17 at 41 minutes into the session. Decided to change it to one minute on 53 * 17 and one min recovery. Still a decent session but I need to do it more often.

Last few days have been all about getting out and running off the beer/wine/celebrations. Swim later today.

Raring to go for 2012 so that's a good sign.

I got into Ballycotton so that's a good target early in the year. McMillan says 64 minutes but I don't know, I harbour ambitions of sub 60. Never trained for a ten miler but I reckon I might be able to hold 3.44 kmph pace for the duration. Shall see how next few weeks go

Attempted to do some intervals last night but just wasn't arsed so packed it in after one. It was dark, cold, windy and miserable. Tired from working and socialising all week so was on a hiding to nothing.

My planned interval route was only 500 metres long so didn't have the heart to run up and down the same path 10 times or so. Note to self, pick a decent route for intervals in the future.

So Christmas etc is over and time to get back into it. Kept ticking over the Christmas with a few runs and nice hike in the mtns.

Monday

Nice 12km run last night. Felt good and was motoring along at around 4.30 per km pace. I’ve the Raheny five mile and then Ballycotton. Ideally I’d like to run the 5 mile in around 28mins and then see how Ballycotton is shaping up.

Didn’t do any bike work so hopping on the turbo this evening for a decent tempo session. Any suggestions for what HR zone to ride in for 60/90 minutes? Keep it aerobic? Intervals later in the week.

Plans for this year include a few triathlons incl 2 half ironman, some multi-sport/adventure races such as Roar, War and Gaelforce. I’d love to target a top 10 at Gaelforce and I think that’s possible as long as my bike improves.
    A few duathlons and of course some IMRA races.

Also looking at doing an X-terra in Europe, France or Germany maybe. A lot to pack in, need to sort what are my A races etc. X terra would be a nice way to include a holiday.

Another aim of mine to eat healthy. My diet is shocking. I can’t cook besides boiling an egg. Also learn to drive. Training options are really limited due to not driving.

Best of luck everyone for 2012.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭DogSlySmile

McMillan says 64 minutes but I don't know, I harbour ambitions of sub 60. Never trained for a ten miler but I reckon I might be able to hold 3.44 kmph pace for the duration.

Yikes best of luck with that one mate! Its a big jump from a sub18:30 5k to a sub 60 10 miler!

You've got some pretty big goals lined up for 2012, I'd love to do x-terra (seen it on telly, looks like the business) but I wont be doing it any time soon :P

Best of luck with it all.

McMillan says 64 minutes but I don't know, I harbour ambitions of sub 60. Never trained for a ten miler but I reckon I might be able to hold 3.44 kmph pace for the duration.

Yikes best of luck with that one mate! Its a big jump from a sub18:30 5k to a sub 60 10 miler!

You've got some pretty big goals lined up for 2012, I'd love to do x-terra (seen it on telly, looks like the business) but I wont be doing it any time soon :P

Best of luck with it all.

Quote]

Cheers. Ten miler goal is probably more of an aspirational goal rather than realistic one!

Tuesday turbo

Plan was ten min warm up and 50 mins at aerobic. Worst session so far. Only feeling normal 90 minutes later. Didn't fuel properly. No breakfast, small lunch and that was it. Stomach was growling 10 mins in. 40 mins felt like I was going to bonk. Legs were like jelly getting off.

Won't be making that mistake again. Changed the resistance to plus one so following figures aren't comparable to previous.
    50 mins.
    Avg cadence 95, max 107
    Avg watt 176, max 213
    Distance 22.6
    Avg speed 27.1.

Swimming 1600 metres Wednesday lunch

Bit of a breakthrough swim for me. Aim was to see how far I could swim continuously. Managed to get to 800 metres semi-comfortably so delighted with that. Stroke was getting a bit messy in the end and had to resort to breathing every two strokes for the last 300 but happy enough.
    Then did a few 50 metre sprints off 90 seconds, 4 reps of them. Was coming in for 100 metres around 60 seconds. A few more lengths concentrating on form and finished it off with few lengths of breast stroke. Felt great, could really feel it in my arms and my stroke was all right, compared to youtube videos, for what it’s worth.
    My kick needs a bit of work as I’ve no idea what I’m doing with them. They seem high enough in the water so don’t think I’m dragging them.

Wednesday evening
    Planned a short run but the weather was nuts and didn’t fancy getting taken out by a rogue branch. Did some core work instead which I’ve neglected.

Plan is some intervals tonight. My main problem with intervals is finding a decent stretch to run in the dark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

Swimming 1600 metres Wednesday lunch
    Was coming in for 100 metres around 60 seconds. A

You will be giving Interested and shotgun tips at that pace ;)

Having a good swim session or two always lifts the spirits!

Ha, jaysus.
    I meant 50 metres. 50 metres!

Intervals 5 x 1km with 90 second break.

Tough session. Pace was all over the shop. Intervals were. 3.32, 3.33, 3.44, 3.44, 3.38.

Started each interval too fast and was damage limitation from then on. Hitting 3.17 at one stage which was ridiculous. Need to run on feel more. Same 1km stretch up and down.

2km warm up and 4km warm down so 11 in total. Legs are wrecked. Recovery cycle tomorrow and long run Saturday.

Saturday 16km 75 minutes.

Did this after work last night. Was hungover to bits from night before. First few kms were an effort. As were the last 12. Avg pace was 4.45. It's not a bad time to go for a run tho. Streets and paths are empty, Jenny Houston is on 2FM banging out the cheesey old skool. felt great afterwards, hangover was gone.

Plan is to get a long outdoor cycle in tomorrow. It's been a while.

Monday swim 45 mins, 1km ish.

Was a like a scene from the film Cocoon this morning. All OAPs bobbing around having the craic and chat. The lanes eventually went in and they left. Was fairly busy compared to previous weeks. Found a nice lane and off I went. Decided to do 4 * 50s off 90s seconds, a few lengths of bs, then 5 * 50s off 90s seconds, few lengths of bs and then another 5 * 50s off 90s. Decent session as I felt like bailing on some of the intervals but kept at it.

Monday 90 min turbo

Did this 2 hours after the swim. Sundays and Monday are my days off and as Sunday is the only full day I get to hang out with the GF, I keep Mondays for training.

Aim was to do 90 minutes in the aerobic zone. Stuck on Bladerunner and off I went. First 45 mins were fine but second half was a struggle. My aerobic zone is between 150 and 164. Avg HR was 156. Bit disappointed to see the distance was only 36.5 but suppose distance isn't that accurate. Happy with the cadence tho. I also need a new pair of shorts. Did this in tri shorts and it was damn uncomfortable.

Watt 160 max 240
    dist 36.5 avg speed 24.3
    Cad 94
    avg HR 156

Totals for the week (Tuesday to Monday)
    Bike 59.1 2 sessions
    Swim 2600 2 sessions
    Run 27km 2 sessions.

Decent week but would ideally would like to have 3 sessions of each discipline.

Tuesday 10km recovery run 5.15km pace.

Handy run. Legs were quite heavy though. Tried new pair of runners, Christmas gift. High mileage stability shoe asics 2170. Over pronate so not sure if suitable.

Plan to do FTP test tomorrow. Swim at lunch time first. Be interesting to see results and chart progress. Never measured my cycling before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Best of luck with the testing

Did the dreaded FTP. Fuppin hell. Was nuts. Was questioning why was I putting myself through it.

But first Wednesday morning.
    Swim 1500 metres.

This was a great session. Pool was quiet. Swam 1,000 metres very comfortably. Then did 3 * 100s off 3 minutes. Some recovery and warm ups in between.

FTP test.

10 min warm up and into an all out effort for five mins. Think I managed to sustain my starting pace for the 5 mins.

Avg watt was 273.

Ten min recovery and into T20. Ridiculously tough and not even remotely enjoyable bar one tune kicking in a great bassline. Time stood still. Held the speed for first ten but after that had to drop a gear which I then held till end with a short burst.

HR avg was 178. My redline is 179. So I think I paced it ok? Went into 180s for last 2 mins.

Result was avg watt of 228. Avg cadence 98. Distance 10.6. Did it on a flow turbo. Went all out on both tests despite wanting to cry off. So 3.5 watt per kilo.

So something to measure myself against but man, that test isnt fun at all.

Thursday evening intervals 12km total

5 * 1km 90 seconds rest.

Tough going. Legs tired from last night. Usual mental battles. Splits were 3.35, 3.35, 3.39, 3.38, 3.41

Last interval wasn't that bad just a bit of traffic added a few seconds. Very happy with the session given the tired legs.

Sunday 12km tempo
    Two day break due to work/socialising.

Nice run in Phoenix park with the gf cycling with me. First 6km were handy, then 5km at 3.55 per km pace. Did the 5 in 19.33 with a 3.40 or so last km. Felt I could do a couple more but the other half was wrecked cycling in the wind after me and wasn't pleased to see me disappearing down the road. Bodes well for Raheeny 5.

Monday swim 1250 metres

Lane swim was only open for 45 minutes so straight into 750 metres. Felt good after the 750 but noticed my elbows appear to be quite low on the pull. Think it is time to join a club. After the 750, did 10 * 50metres off 90 seconds.

Today's lanes were all over the place. OAPs were happy to walk up and down the fast lanes, crossing between lanes etc.

Monday afternoon bike 43km
    Did a loop of Howth Head. Lovely winter's afternoon and felt great to be spinning out by the coast, especially around the South wall where the waves were crashing in.

I've no winter cycling gear but running tights with cycling shorts over the top did the job, nice and toasty. I had hoped to do 60km but misjudged the distance and didn't fancy doing loops of the city centre to get the distance up. I need to really up the bike training, really over estimating my ability and under estimated the amount of training required to improve.

Totals for the week
    Running 34km
    Cycling 53.6
    Swim 2750

Tuesday run 13km

Nice pace of around 4.30 per km with a few 4.20s. 7km of it on grass out by Clontarf seafront. Think I run 10km plus sessions too slow normally so kept the pace up tonight.

Pretty warm tonight, was sweating. I did have a moan at another runner crossing a bridge. She was two abreast with a friend, taking up whole path running towards me. Surprisingly neither of them would give way by dropping into single file forcing me to either stop or step into traffic. Grrrr. The bridge was empty besides us. Let out an exasperated "ah come on, move over!".

I'm blaming the lit up like a Christmas tree newbies ;)

Looking at sunset times, March 25th is the date when the bright evenings return with a sunset time of 19.48.

Wednesday 1500 metre swim

1000 metres with 10 * 50 off 90 seconds. 
    Enjoyed this. Pretty much had lane to myself. Concentrated a bit more on stroke. My kick is crap. In that I barely kick. 

Going to try a club swim session in next week or so. 

Wednesday eve 
    60 minute turbo "pyramid of pain." 
    This is it here http://www.triradar.com/2012/01/13/fun-triathlon-turbo-training-workouts/
    Total distance, avg 25.7
    Avg cadence 92
    Avg watt 175, max 334
    Avg HR 153
    Quite enjoyable. Legs felt ok. Did 2 reps of the pyramid. HR was 80% plus the whole time. First decent turbo session in ages. Found some of the intervals i was doing previously too tough. Intervals here were short enough to sustain. 

Not a bad week last week. Took a bit of a step back.

Saturday swim 1200ish

Didn’t do anything on Thursday or Friday due to work.
    Decent work out session. The speed isn’t quite there but I’m comfortable swimming over 1000 metres at this stage. Need to push myself a bit more in training.

Sunday Howth IMRA race 5km

I forgot how much I love trail running and it’s kind of put a spanner in the works regarding focusing on triathlons this year. Not sure if I want to give up on the mountain multi races in favour of road tris.
    Despite living 20 mins away from the race, I barely made registration. Massive crowd for this one, good to see some familiar faces. Howth is pretty a fast and furious, all out race. Positioned myself near the front as there is some bottlenecks near the start which you can lose a lot of time.
    First 1km was out around the pitch, usual jockeying for position. Into the woods and I was about 15th, a lot higher than I’d normally would. However, felt pretty good and decided to stick with the group. I was a bit quicker on the twisting descents so tried to make a break on the downhills. Still felt strong so pushed on any flats and on the climbs the plan was just hold on. Just before the main climb, I passed a fairly strong runner. Was in two minds whether to pass or sit in. Got a shout of encouragement from him when I did which was nice. He also told the person behind me to ‘keep going and catch him.’ That’s what I like about IMRA, no egos.
    Got over the main climb and headed towards the aerials where I was starting to feel it. Bit of a long drag and was caught by the strong runner. Tried to go with him but legs didn’t react. Onto the last descent and I could hear someone coming from behind me. Last 500 metres is around the pitch and everyone has a big target on their back. I caught a club runner here who was just dying on his feet. Managed to hold off the chasers but unable to close the gap.
    Knocked almost four minutes off last year’s time to record my highest ever IMRA position. Sweet!

Monday 63km cycle
    Around 25kmph avg speed.

Slowly increasing the bike distance.
    Dublin to Greystones and back again. Was expecting this to be flat, out by the coast but was hilly enough. Out by Dun Laoghaire, Dalkey, Killiney etc, stunning views. However Bray was a bit grim. Long hard slog over to Greystones and back again. Legs felt a bit tired for the last 10km. Be interested to see the Garmin profile to see the total climbed. Great to be out on the bike in January though.

As I was saying the Howth race has reminded me of how much I enjoy the hill and trail running. I was thinking of focusing on triathlon this year but following Sunday, I’m not so sure now. I may swing the focus back to multi-sport/adventure races with a few triathlons added in for fun rather than serious competition. I do want to keep the swimming up though.

Tuesday Run 11.5km

Recovery run along the quays and over to Sandymount, avoiding the One Direction fans at the O2. Enjoyable run, kept it around 5min pace per km. Trying out some new asics 2170a. Got them as a Christmas present. I pronate and have been using asics DS trainer for the last year. Worn the same pair for best of a year without any problem. A great shoe so will get another pair when the price goes down.

2170s are a stability shoe which I’ll use for long runs. So far so good. A small hot spot on the arch but they seem ok.

Wednesday Swim 1200 metres

2 * 200s
    8 * 100s

Ok swim. Wasn’t really feeling it to begin with plowed on. My kick is beginning to annoy me. I need to do a time trial soon to measure improvement. My distances have gone up but not swimming any quicker. Patience I suppose.

Raheny 5 mile on Sunday so will take it handy this week with intervals. Turbo tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Well done on that result, four minutes is some improvement for Howth!
    ... I passed a fairly strong runner. Was in two minds whether to pass or sit in. Got a shout of encouragement from him when I did which was nice. He also told the person behind me to ‘keep going and catch him.’ ...

... and was caught by the strong runner. Tried to go with him but legs didn’t react.

If this is who I think it is, he's notorious for doing this! Slaps your back, Good Man, as you go past, before tearing past you before the finish :D

Ha. Never thought of that but now that you mention it! Brilliant.

Wednesday eve Turbo 40 mins

Quick pyramids before legging it to dinner.

10 seconds on, 50 off ending with min on/off and back down again.
    Was able to hold the high gears till the end and managed to push on. Did a few isolated leg drills. Was holding around 300 watts for the hard efforts. Did another five 1min off/1 off efforts.
    Distance 17.9 max 44.6
    Watt avg 182, max 343
    Cad avg 84, max 142.

Handy run tonight with a three * 1km intervals to remind legs of what they need to do on Sunday