Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Marathon 31/10/2011

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Gringo78

seanynova wrote: »
    anyone know how the sub2:50 guys got on? tds wont work for me.

thanks

3:07 for me....knew I was in trouble after 11/12 miles but glad I finished as really enjoyed the last 800m. Did not enjoy miles 15 on when I knew my B target of 2:55 was beyond reach.

No excuses....2:50 just wasn't in the legs today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Did Tunguska run?

I think he may have had some problems at half way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭hollypink

captain P wrote: »

Me hands are killing me from clapping, cheering is tough stuff.

Haha me too! I was at the 5 mile and then headed off on my bike to the 25 mile point. Well done to all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭earlyevening

Got my sub 3. 2:58,16 on my watch. Am delighted. Didn't think I'd do it when the pacers started to leave me at about 18 but somehow I caught them and overtook them.

Nearly cried at the finishline! :)

Congrats to everyone who got what they wanted and commiserations to those who fell short. We've all had our good and bad days. We'll all be back again (I'm sure).

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/125555036

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

3:16 for me-

Had the mother of all blow ups at 18- I was on target for a 2:56/ 2:57 but the strength just wasn't there. Had to have a massive HTFU gut check with myself to even finish this one so glad I made it through as its good to get the 1st marathon out of the way.

I certainly have the leg speed to run faster but my endurance needs some work. The pain from 20-26.2 was pretty much the worst I've ever experienced. Congrats Early Evening thats a great run- everyone else who hit their targets well done!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭asimonov

Got my sub 3. 2:58,16 on my watch. Am delighted. Didn't think I'd do it when the pacers started to leave me at about 18 but somehow I caught them and overtook them.

Nearly cried at the finishline! :)

Congrats to everyone who got what they wanted and commiserations to those who fell short. We've all had our good and bad days. We'll all be back again (I'm sure).

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/125555036

that's great running on what seems to have been a very tough day. well done.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

You had it well in hand with those mile times, although it is a good example of the fact that you need to run faster than 6:52 on your Garmin in order to run the sub 3hr time.

What was going on at mile 22 though? Stick the roller skates on for the downhill?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭liamo123

Despite the rib little crackage and not one run over 13 miles in a long time , i came home in 3.14.40. Was with the 3.15 lads the whole way and chatted to them all at one stage or another. I remember saying to Krusty at around mile 10 i think that i could run at this pace all day long, still by mile 22 i was feeling it.

Enjoyed it much more sopaking it in for first 18 miles. Toilet stop twice. Was slightly freaking about not having my usual pre race 'dump' luckily it didnt rear irs head during the race!

Well done man.... Nice to meet u and great performance considering ur preparation....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭sideswipe

robinph wrote: »
    What was going on at mile 22 though? Stick the roller skates on for the downhill?

I was wondering about 22 myself. The gradient profile shows its a mainly downhill section.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭Sosa

Gringo78 wrote: »
    3:07 for me....knew I was in trouble after 11/12 miles but glad I finished as really enjoyed the last 800m. Did not enjoy miles 15 on when I knew my B target of 2:55 was beyond reach.

No excuses....2:50 just wasn't in the legs today.

I was hoping to read about a good day for you today....sorry to hear it didnt work out to plan....what happened ? Injury ....
    With you having no log i have no idea what your prep was like but anytime you posted you sounded confident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭cwgatling

you need to run faster than 6:52 on your Garmin in order to run the sub 3hr time.

Great point.

Well done EE. Beast of a time.

Fair play for sticking it out Drquirky, that will stand to you, make no mistake about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭grahamor

I'm sorry if this is the wrong forum but i've noticed my urine is almost totally red after the race.

<mod> not so much the wrong forum as the wrong place. Look for advice from a medical professional rather than the internet <mod>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,927 ✭✭✭hawkwing

3 stars (average)
    littlebug wrote: »
    Anyone else noticing missing people/ times on tds :confused: A few people I know seem to have disappeared after half marathon. hopefully it's an error :( There are too many of them for it to be anything else.
    No time up for me although after such a pathetic cramp filled race from 14 miles maybe just as well.Is it me or were more people getting cramp than the last 3 years,had to run along the side for 12 miles in order to stretch as the legs were going from under me.Also --was in a ball of sweat for first 6 but took loads of drinks and gels so that was not the cause of the cramp..Anyways happy in the end to finish,medal is nice.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I was wondering about 22 myself. The gradient profile shows its a mainly downhill section.

Just had a look at my times from last year and mile 22 is faster than any others in the second half. You had way more consistent pace throughout than I had managed last year for my similar finishing time. Great effort.

Now get ye to the pub. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Kone

3:24...

I didn't hit the 3:15 I was hoping for, things went a little pear-shaped at mile 18 and I never really recovered, not to worry, there's always the next one!

Congratulations to everyone who hit their targets (and to everyone who finished), see you all again next year!

Now get ye to the pub. :D

Already had a pint in MCGrattans. Home now for a shower, (only 10 mins away).

I was chatting to a fella in the pub - finished in 3:00,00 - even showed me his garmin. Sickener! :eek:
    Can only hope chip time might have been 1 sec faster. +he hadn't gone sub 3 before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Gringo78

Sosa wrote: »

I was hoping to read about a good day for you today....sorry to hear it didnt work out to plan....what happened ? Injury ....
    With you having no log i have no idea what your prep was like but anytime you posted you sounded confident.

Prob just took it too hard too early when today's conditions called for a sizeable negative split. Training was a bit lacking but more done than last year. Just too ambitious a first half. Once 2:55 was gone there was no incentive to push too hard, time flys away easily then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

763 pics here
    I ran out of memory. I finished up just before the 3:45 pacers went by 25km so hopefully you're in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭Dotcomdolly

Woddle wrote: »
    763 pics here
    I ran out of memory. I finished up just before the 3:45 pacers went by 25km so hopefully you're in there.

And you've tagged them all I presume ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭brownian

drquirky wrote: »
    3:16 for me-

Had the mother of all blow ups at 18- I was on target for a 2:56/ 2:57 but the strength just wasn't there. Had to have a massive HTFU gut check with myself to even finish this one so glad I made it through as its good to get the 1st marathon out of the way.

I certainly have the leg speed to run faster but my endurance needs some work. The pain from 20-26.2 was pretty much the worst I've ever experienced. Congrats Early Evening thats a great run- everyone else who hit their targets well done!

Sorry to hear that, Andy. You'll just have to join me for a spring effort. Take, and enjoy, a break...on a day like that, getting around in one piece is an achievement all you runners can be proud of.

The pictures of the pacers are funneh.

Nobody around in the preceding pictures, then a balloon and a big gang of people escorting them along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Pronator

3 stars (average)
    Did Tunguska run?

I was just behind him at half way but he was stuggling with his leg so not sure if he finished?? He was not moving too freely, a real pity as he was on for a top class marathon until the injury:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭RubyK

Pronator wrote: »
    I was just behind him at half way but he was stuggling with his leg so not sure if he finished?? He was not moving too freely, a real pity as he was on for a top class marathon until the injury:(

Ah no, sorry to read that. I was sure he was on for that sub 2.35. Hope he's ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,927 ✭✭✭hawkwing

3 stars (average)
    hawkwing wrote: »
    No time up for me although after such a pathetic cramp filled race from 14 miles maybe just as well.Is it me or were more people getting cramp than the last 3 years,had to run along the side for 12 miles in order to stretch as the legs were going from under me.Also --was in a ball of sweat for first 6 but took loads of drinks and gels so that was not the cause of the cramp..Anyways happy in the end to finish,medal is nice.
    Result has now appeared,a real halloween horror show :o I might try and cross out the "star" performer from my shirt but it was completed so what the hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 pulpo

My time 3.26.XX. My marathon training was aiming 3.15, but 10 weeks ago I injured my knee and could not run at all. Last 3 weeks could little run only 2-3 miles and few times a week. This was my first marathon and I'm very happy, because I missed over 620km and all my long runs. Next time then 3.15!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

3 stars (average)
    3:59:20 by watch as a 4 hr pacer. Times on tds still seem to be gun times rather than chip times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

3:29.13 for me, totally emptied the tank, delighted. Must have been running close to Ray but unfortunately didn't introduce myself. Doesn't look like I'll get to McGrattans, hotel is a mile away and I can't walk.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

Another thing, I thought it started at 9am and was all ready for that. Just realised an hour ago that it was a 10 start. Did it start at 9am other years or have I remembered incorrectly?

Great prep EE! Still, didn't stop you getting your sub 3. Well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭911sc

3 stars (average)
    Worse marathon time ever:mad:
    Not a bad thing to be honest, i did not follow a structured training plan because i knew better having ran 6 before today. Lesson learnt. I am being put back in my place and will listen to others. I neglected the LSR as "sure, i'll be grant". And the longuest distance i had to run this year was 21km as part of IronMan 70.3 galway. After that, only did one 25kms and one 32kms:( I paid for it today, but I will bounce back soon though.