Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[CoD MW3] General News and Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,748 ✭✭✭rolexeagle1

Are there going to be sniper only lobbies? I cant find an anwser on this anywhere.

• This content has been removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭GEasy

Quickscoping FTW :p

As long as its not as ridiculous as COD4 or MW2!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭GEasy

srumball wrote: »
    As long as its not as ridiculous as COD4 or MW2!!

COD 4 was grand. Don't know why people get so upset about the whole thing. Only time I find it annoying is when some little **** on my team is trying it in SnD for the GWK and he's the last alive.

(****) Quickscopers/Snipers on/as the opposition? EASY MODE

Hopefully they have listened to the community and it wont be as much of a joke as MW2 became, at least there is no commando and one man army.

Maybe i'm just bitching a bit casue i've been playing a load of COD 4 and MW2 lately getting ready!!

I'm sure it will be awesome anyways!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

LakesKeane wrote: »
    COD 4 was grand. Don't know why people get so upset about the whole thing. Only time I find it annoying is when some little **** on my team is trying it in SnD for the GWK and he's the last alive.

(****) Quickscopers/Snipers on/as the opposition? EASY MODE

I'm the same, lobby full of snipers on the other team means an ac-130 for me :pac: lightweight spas, sorry lads, try a gun that fires more than one bullet at a time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

krudler wrote: »
    I'm the same, lobby full of snipers on the other team means an ac-130 for me :pac: lightweight spas, sorry lads, try a gun that fires more than one bullet at a time.

I love doing the reptilllian run towards someone with a sniper and them franticly trying to quickscope me.

Leeg17 wrote: »
    I love doing the reptilllian run towards someone with a sniper and them franticly trying to quickscope me.

its even funnier if you dont shoot them and run around them in circles watching them trying to panic knife you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭iMuse

@KrimsonGunner SitRep Pro counters Dead Silence by cancelling it out. Just as Recon cancels Assassin by making you show up when tagged.

About time they did that, Sitrep will be a must have in tier 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

AGB_Ghost wrote: »
    For PC definitely Sniper Only Severs.

For Public console games, no, there will be the ability in private match to restrict all classes to snipers only.

pretty sure sniper lobbys have been confirmed ? Could be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭hightower1

yimrsg wrote: »
    First person shooters for a long time have had instant or near instant death kills by knives

And thats why the majority of folks hate tubes , knives and snipers in FPS games. Their insta kill weapons that a player rarely has an active counter to. I dont mind being killed by someone in a fair firefight but when Im insta killed by some ****ty MLC player that moved at unreal speed so much so that turned what should have been a major disadvantage weapon into a massively advantaged one. Same goes to quick scopers, at most quick scoper ranges of 50m or less snipers are more often than not one hit kills meaning no chance of a firefight and at its core thats why people play FPS game.... to be challenged in a firefight, not instantly killed by weapons / perks not fit for the purpose.

Sure there are steps that can be taken to attempt to minimize the risk from these types of players but more often than not taking these steps leave you at a massive disadvantage when you come up against players playing the game as intended totally unbalancing the game in turn. eg avoiding CQC situations to avoid MLC players instantly killing you means you avoid sections of the map entirely ruining game movement ad flow. The same can be said for quick scopers who gravitate twords long corridors in order to make thier shots easier, a valid tactic yes but not for someone with a one hit kill weapon such as rockets and snipers. Then it simply becomes cheap.

AGB_Ghost wrote: »
    Was listening to the match commentator, Wallcroft sounds out of breath and kind of edgey, gives you that high tension fast paced feeling! :D

link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

hightower1 wrote: »
    And thats why the majority of folks hate tubes , knives and snipers in FPS games. Their insta kill weapons that a player rarely has an active counter to. I dont mind being killed by someone in a fair firefight but when Im insta killed by some ****ty MLC player that moved at unreal speed so much so that turned what should have been a major disadvantage weapon into a massively advantaged one. Same goes to quick scopers, at most quick scoper ranges of 50m or less snipers are more often than not one hit kills meaning no chance of a firefight and at its core thats why people play FPS game.... to be challenged in a firefight, not instantly killed by weapons / perks not fit for the purpose.

Sure there are steps that can be taken to attempt to minimize the risk from these types of players but more often than not taking these steps leave you at a massive disadvantage when you come up against players playing the game as intended totally unbalancing the game in turn. eg avoiding CQC situations to avoid MLC players instantly killing you means you avoid sections of the map entirely ruining game movement ad flow. The same can be said for quick scopers who gravitate twords long corridors in order to make thier shots easier, a valid tactic yes but not for someone with a one hit kill weapon such as rockets and snipers. Then it simply becomes cheap.

I would love to see you play cs for a day :P One hit kills galore. Even pistols can one hit kill with a headshot ! :) Snipers suck in console cod... get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭Dues Bellator

Any mention of the hardcore gamemodes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭pandaboy

I want barebones in this. 'Twas actually well fun in blops. Some great games and feck all dicks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭yimrsg

hightower1 wrote: »

Sure there are steps that can be taken to attempt to minimize the risk from these types of players but more often than not taking these steps leave
    you at a massive disadvantage when you come up against players playing the game as intended totally unbalancing the game in turn. eg avoiding CQC situations to avoid MLC players instantly killing you means you avoid sections of the map entirely ruining game movement ad flow. The same can be said for quick scopers who gravitate twords long corridors in order to make thier shots easier, a valid tactic yes but not for someone with a one hit kill weapon such as rockets and snipers. Then it simply becomes cheap.

Noobtubes and commando are completely different from being killed in a single shot by shotguns/sniper/desert eagle or magnum/lmg/ar or smg. Getting shot from a bullet or shell from any of those and it's respawn in 3.. 2.. 1... It makes perfect sense for the same 50 cal bullet fired from different guns to kill all the same. The first fps had health and armour percentages as you were generally some sort of super-human soldier and many of the current crop have regenerative health systems being closer to a normal super soldier. I don't like being killed by someone quickscoping but since mw2 never really tried or was able to incorporate what a true sniper does they had to make them powerful in order for players to use them. In black ops the guns in general are much weaker especially sniper rifle which unless you use the psg or l96 you're at a big disadvantage, and even then they're underused. If a gun is weak, then the majority of the community won't use it and if it's strong it's ubiquitous.

Noobtubes in mw2 are horrendously overpowered and there was a very poor counter to them in blast mask, which cost you your mini map and any offensive equipment. Combined with oma and danger close they ruined mw2. You can tell pretty much straight away in mw2 if there is noobtubes fired in the first 5 seconds that your team mates or opponents are cheap players. Commando isn't as much as a game breaker more so extremely cheap but it's still crappy dying from someone teleporting through your bullets. Complaining about sniper rifles being overpowered has been around for ages and isn't limited to the Cod series, look at CS and Halo and watch how deadly they are.

If there is no killer game breakers like dc/oma/noobtube or m/l/c in mw3 I'd be surprised seeing as there is so many options for crafty (read sh*tty) players to experiment with and take advantage off. When mw3 hits and people are complaining about a certain gun or class of gun being overpowered or overused and not a combination then I'll be pleasantly surprised that it's not turned into the clusterf**k of perks and killstreaks I had feared all along. But whether that happens or not remains to be seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

Thanked purely for the delicious use of 'Ubiquitous' :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

pandaboy wrote: »
    I want barebones in this. 'Twas actually well fun in blops. Some great games and feck all dicks

Not always the case, lately I'm finding hardcore team death match is just filled with campers hiding in dark corners.

Considering the cost of COD ELITE I think I'll just wait for a price comparison and get the regular version for cheap in harvey normans.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Re: quickscoping. My only beef with it is being paired with these twits and the fact that in MW2, SnD was made redundant for myself more or less despite it being my most played gametype in COD4 along with Sabotage. It was a glorified sniper lobby a lot of the time. There's no denying that.

Barebones is confirmed. I'll say it again like I've said in the past, but I wished they awarded more points for playing it. There is no incentive to play it for the majority of people who play the game. I was thrilled upon hearing news Barebones was being added but I ran into the same people over and over again, there was simply not many playing it and I wanted to rank up up asap so had to go back to the other game types with killstreaks allowed

On a game type related note, has there been any confirmation of Mosh Pit returning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭pandaboy

Not always the case, lately I'm finding hardcore team death match is just filled with campers hiding in dark corners.

Considering the cost of COD ELITE I think I'll just wait for a price comparison and get the regular version for cheap in harvey normans.

Hardcore is a diff playlist though ain't it? barebones has no kill streaks or perks and no attachments. Would've loved Domination in this playlist.

I avoid hardcore due to the excessive rape'age of my noobness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Hardcore is a diff playlist though ain't it? barebones has no kill streaks or perks and no attachments. Would've loved Domination in this playlist.

Oh I beg your pardon, I confused the two!

I used to despise Hardcore but now I love it, the m16 is an utter beast of a gun in that mode, its a headshot machine. stick 3/4/5 as your killstreaks and slow down your play style and you can own people on hardcore,it really ups your skill level playing with no uav for most of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭Dues Bellator

krudler wrote: »
    I used to despise Hardcore but now I love it, the m16 is an utter beast of a gun in that mode, its a headshot machine. stick 3/4/5 as your killstreaks and slow down your play style and you can own people on hardcore,it really ups your skill level playing with no uav for most of it

Hrdcore is all i play , if i went on to core via a friend invite i get raped bigtime , its visa versa with my core playing buddies . im sure if i changed my style id like it , but the hitmarkers on Blops are just CRAZY . 3 quick fire bursts from a M16 today with 3 hitmarkers . he then shoots me with his python , 1 shot bang im dead. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

On a game type related note, has there been any confirmation of Mosh Pit returning?

Don't know, but I do hope so dearly, way more interesting and engaging than playing the same game type, wash-rinse-repeat

"Lads, what ye wanna play?"

"don't mind"

"up to you"

"Dom by default"

:P