If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Why no ghettos in dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Hold up...only black people live in ghettos?

News to me.

We need some balance between the scumbag/welfare/racist threads...it's actually getting hard to figure out who the villain du jour is for AH.

Don't worry OP, we'll have more obvious asian/black communities in Dublin eventually, they'll be so obvious even you will finally spot them.

Oddly enough it will be people with your mentality that made them as well.

Go figure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭Equium

The social welfare/benefits system here is quite generous. As a result there isn't as large an amount of people in abject poverty as in other places such as the UK.

We're also new to immigration in comparison to elsewhere in Europe. Something like 80% of Dubliners are 'white-Irish'. In London the proportion of indiginous 'white-British' people is less than 60%. Not that ethnic demograpics can tell you about the quality of life in an area. Nonetheless some people here seem to equate an area lived-in by minority groups with the area being a ghetto...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Equium wrote: »
    The social welfare/benefits system here is quite generous. As a result there isn't as large an amount of people in abject poverty as in other places such as the UK.

We're also new to immigration in comparison to elsewhere in Europe. Something like 80% of Dubliners are 'white-Irish'. In London the proportion of indiginous 'white-British' people is less than 60%. Not that ethnic demograpics can tell you about the quality of life in an area. Nonetheless some people here seem to equate an area lived-in by minority groups with the area being a ghetto...

Well unfortunately thats the way it has panned out in various cities over the past 100 years or so. People are tribal, they stick together, birds of a feather and all that. Thats just the reality of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭NSNO

newmug wrote: »
    Well unfortunately thats the way it has panned out in various cities over the past 100 years or so. People are tribal, they stick together, birds of a feather and all that. Thats just the reality of it.

The Irish are a minority group in the UK. Kilburn is hardly a London 'ghetto'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭bayern282

Demographics and history are the real answers here, we've never had colonies, of course having been a colony for many years.

There wouldn't have been any real cause for an economically driven influx for jobs here throughout most of the 20th Century which also kept Ireland pretty homogeneous.

Plus also, and maybe going out on a limb here, the African community here in Dublin tend to be spread thinly across the city and by and large they are less volatile and have less of a connection with gangs and criminality than the Caribbean Black people you see in London or Amsterdam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

Equium wrote: »
    Nonetheless some people here seem to equate an area lived-in by minority groups with the area being a ghetto...

isnt that what a ghetto is?

wonton wrote: »

Nope. You're confusing the result with the cause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭Equium

wonton wrote: »

Not really. Poverty, overcrowding and generally unfavourable conditions are usually required. Like someone above said, Kilburn wouldn't be considered a ghetto despite being largely populated by Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

i don't agree dublin is one of the safest cities in europe

Dublin is one of the safest cities in the world.

http://www.marketwatch.com/story/worlds-most-safe-dangerous-cities

http://best-city-reviews.com/index.php/2008/09/safest-cities-in-the-world-mercer-2008/

But carry on convincing yourselves otherwise, bedwetters.

CiaranC wrote: »

Don't burst the bubble mate, people really seem to want to believe that they are beset on all sides by scumbags, knackers, junkies and welfare frauds of a serious doubtful moral make up.

Superiority complexes need fuel after all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

NSNO wrote: »

I think you mis-understood me there. I never said it was.

Don't burst the bubble mate, people really seem to want to believe that they are beset on all sides by scumbags, knackers, junkies and welfare frauds of a serious doubtful moral make up.

It really is the boards.ie zeitgeist. The website has become the Daily Mail/Joe Duffy for kids with iPhones.Beyond pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭ShiresV2

NSNO wrote: »

You've never lived in Kilburn then. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

dolphin house on the southside is literally 'do not enter if your not from the complex'
    closest thing to a ghetto

That's ridiculous. I remember I had to work out there for a few days. The kids give you grief but, if you can speak their language and have a bit of banter back, you're a good lad in their eyes. The people themselves are very friendly for the most part. Have to say, I felt sorry for the conditions many lived in, but there was a good community spirit that you just don't see in wealthier parts of Dublin. I was brought in for tea, introduced to entire families and by the end of it knew many people's names there and could have the craic. I looked forward to it by the end, really opened my eyes. Compare that with time spent working in Clontarf, I believe it was, and I'd have poorer conditions over being treated like dirt off someone's shoe anytime.

Dublin is a fine city to live in. We're not perfect but if the riots in England haven't given you some perspective as to how much worse we could have it, nothing will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭shannon_tek

What an interesting thread. i'll be back :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

take it from guy who been to 90 countries around the world, Dublin is one safe city believe me

Irrelevant, there's a big difference between visiting a country and actually living in it for an extended period of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

Why no ghettos in Dublin? Hmm... I imagine because there has never been a large enough population of Jewish immigrants to a predominately Catholic island.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

Ireland Isn't as culturally Diverse as London or Paris but in the past century this has changed and will continue too.
    The Large european nations colonised the world, and this has allowed for a culturally diverse nation to emerge as natives of colonies went to the empires heart, we Irish just Infested the world, leaving our damp smelly little Island for better things abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭Downlinz

Dublin is about the only city in Europe where the locals are infinitely more dangerous to the public than the minority communities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

jimpump wrote: »
    it is actually one of the reasons dublin is probably one of the safest places to live in europe IMO.
    I have to say that I think this is total BS. I lived in Dublin for about 7 years, and the place is not safe. I've seen and encountered trouble in Dublin loads of times. I've lived in a few other places, and travelled to a couple of dozen other capitals and I don't know if I'd even have Dublin in the safer half of those.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

Why no ghettos in Dublin? Hmm... I imagine because there has never been a large enough population of Jewish immigrants to a predominately Catholic island.
    Wrong sort of ghetto buddy.....

also not exactly funny either

Solnskaya wrote: »
    you don't agree Dublin is one of the safest cities in Europe, or- you don't agree, Dublin is one of the safest cities in Europe. Small comma, big difference.???
    Nothing wrong with the grammar there tbh.

I have to say that I think this is total BS. I lived in Dublin for about 7 years, and the place is not safe.
    It is safe.

http://best-city-reviews.com/index.php/2008/09/safest-cities-in-the-world-mercer-2008/

Dublin is one of the safest cities in the world.

http://www.marketwatch.com/story/worlds-most-safe-dangerous-cities

You missed the thread about the Gardai discouraging people (including my good self) from reporting assaults?

Those statistics aren't exactly reliable based on my experience.

You missed the thread about the Gardai discouraging people (including my good self) from reporting assaults?

Those statistics aren't exactly reliable based on my experience.

"The statistical proofs dont fit my paranoid outlook, so Ill ignore them"

Well if Mercer say so, it must be true...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

I have to say that I think this is total BS. I lived in Dublin for about 7 years, and the place is not safe. I've seen and encountered trouble in Dublin loads of times. I've lived in a few other places, and travelled to a couple of dozen other capitals and I don't know if I'd even have Dublin in the safer half of those.

In fairness, you judge any statement like that with crime stats, surveys etc like the one's provided. Not whether individuals were followed home by some skangers a few times. For example, I've rarely had trouble in Dublin myself but during the space of a two-week holiday in Zakynthos had a bottle thrown at me by some English lads (unprovoked) and had a bunch of Cork lads threaten me another time because I didn't have a smoke. Does that mean that I can conclusively say, with credibility, that Dublin is safer than Cork, England or Zakynthos? Of course not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

Mousey- wrote: »
    Wrong sort of ghetto buddy.....

also not exactly funny either

Who's laughing? The history of the ghetto is based upon the centralization of Jewish communities in urban areas; in the US, once the Jewish inhabitants began leaving the urban areas, low income Blacks, Asians, and Latinos moved in. That is how the modern concept of the ghetto began.

"The statistical proofs dont fit my paranoid outlook, so Ill ignore them"
    Paranoid? How so? I've lived there, I've lived elsewhere, and I've seen other places again. If you want to dismiss my life experience as a 'paranoid outlook', well...

And 'statistical proofs'? I can show you statistical proofs from the same year that show Ireland to be in the top 5 richest countries in the world, when it was already bankrupt. Did you not quail a little bit as you found yourself writing 'statistical proofs'?