Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Why no ghettos in dublin?

12346»

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 919 ✭✭✭wicklowstevo

they dont have to , they get them for free, also , there are many area where the population is mainly non irish , they are just smaller and consist of one or two streets rather than whole areas

• Site Banned Posts: 71 ✭✭Zer0

You'd seriously want to be off your head if you thought there were no ghettos in Dublin, head to Dolphins Barn, Ballymun, and Blanchardstown. Not to forget Tallaght or Swords. I'm not sure what you're idea of what a ghetto is, but from my impression of being there, I'd say high unemployment, drug use, robbery (my house was cased out over two different nights in Crumlin), open drug use (users shooting up in a park!) and just general mental teenagers knacker drinking in a field and throwing empty bottles at the house or kicking in windows on the car.... Every country has its own ghettos I'm sure, and there is a huge presence of different nationalities in Ireland at the minute and yes, some of these different nationalities also live in ghettos from what I've seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,897 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Zer0 wrote: »
    different nationalities also live in ghettos from what I've seen.

The original question was why we dont have any large mainly black/asian areas like peckham,brixton etc. like other European countries.

Do you think Tallaght or Swords is comparable to Brixton, Peckham, Neukölln district or Villiers-le-Be? Have you seen these places?

amacachi wrote: »
    Aye, when I'm waiting for a bus at night on Parnell St. I'm relaxed when the Blacks and Asians go by. It's only when some dying-looking **** with a barely-decipherable Dublin accent and his stupid hood over his 2 pound head comes along I feel at all nervous and annoyed at the fact that he may well have seen me put a cigarette box into my pocket instead of into the bin and knows I have some.

This is SO true. I think Dublin is the only city I've ever lived in/visited where the locals cause 100 times more trouble than the immigrant population.
    jimpump wrote: »
    you really need to grow a set of balls pal, along with all the other spineless boards members who are scared of your own shadows

god help ye if ye lived in a place like liberia,sudan.somalia etc.

Yes, let's compare our first world, developed country to some third world war torn sh1tholes, that's so reasonable. :rolleyes: Why don't you try comparing it to similar cities of a similar size in Northern Europe like Copenhagen? You can generally stand at a bus stop there for more than 2 minutes without worrying about some mangy knacker hassling you for change, spitting in your face or hurling insults at you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭lightspeed

Can someone please define muliculturalism? reallly is that when our european fuhers pass laws that force casino bank ccountries like Ireland to give to free houses and social welfare as we import people from other countries even though we cant afford nor could we ever afford the welfare state that exist in Europe? Or is it when most of the people i work with dislike the idea of having to speak English and so they speak in polish /russian/spanish/portuguese to name a few and also they struggle to understand the english language? is that multiculturalism?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

lightspeed wrote: »
    is that multiculturalism?
    No. HTH.

John_Rambo wrote: »
    The original question was why we dont have any large mainly black/asian areas like peckham,brixton etc. like other European countries.

Do you think Tallaght or Swords is comparable to Brixton, Peckham, Neukölln district or Villiers-le-Be? Have you seen these places?

It's a really stupid question, in fairness. Have you any idea how many black people and Asian people live in London? There are well over two million non-whites in London, making up well over 30% of the population. Dublin might have a lot of immigrants but it's still a white city. I don't know why you're making it into a race thing. Ghettos aren't just for black people, you know. I think Tallaght is as much of a sh1thole as Peckham is, what does it matter if the residents are mostly white?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,897 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I don't know why you're making it into a race thing.

It's a perfectly legitimate question. I'm not. I am answering the OP's question. He/she asked why we don't have similar ghettoes of black and Asians like other major European cities... I'm answering him/her. Dublin doesn't have comparable areas because we didn't have an invading Empire, also, because, we are a small island on the Western seaboard.

Aside from race and creed, if you think Tallaght is comparable to some of the ghettoised super high rise suburbs of Paris you are deluded. It's simply not that bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭A Disgrace

The only argument for our low density planning policy. We simply don't have the numbers in any given area for ghettos to develop.

As for the Tallaght arguments - Ridiculous. It's such a vast area, with MANY good, quiet areas and I think you'll find anyone who lives there will be bemused at some of the comments. Sure, there are some dodgy parts, but again, due to our weird social housing planning, you'll get the same so-called 'lower class' hubs in practically every post code in Dublin. Even Killiney.

Also, we're a different species, us Irish. We tend to have some civic and local pride

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭flas

What would you call O'Devaney Gardens, if not a ghetto?

half empty at this stage!

flas wrote: »
    half empty at this stage!
    Even better!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭Snacker

Because Galway is the ghetto

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,968 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Galway isn't a ghetto but Doughiska is heading that way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭joshrogan

Zer0 wrote: »
    You'd seriously want to be off your head if you thought there were no ghettos in Dublin, head to Dolphins Barn, Ballymun, and Blanchardstown. Not to forget Tallaght or Swords. I'm not sure what you're idea of what a ghetto is, but from my impression of being there, I'd say high unemployment, drug use, robbery (my house was cased out over two different nights in Crumlin), open drug use (users shooting up in a park!) and just general mental teenagers knacker drinking in a field and throwing empty bottles at the house or kicking in windows on the car.... Every country has its own ghettos I'm sure, and there is a huge presence of different nationalities in Ireland at the minute and yes, some of these different nationalities also live in ghettos from what I've seen.
    I live in Swords and I wouldn't classify it as a ghetto.

joshrogan wrote: »
    I live in Swords and I wouldn't classify it as a ghetto.
    That's exactly the type of thing that someone who lives in a ghetto would say. Wocka Wocka.

Last time I was in Swords I saw a skating park full of kids with their skateboards
    Automatically gives ghetto status, look at those hoodies and graffiti everywhere

It's practically south central LA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

I always get the words "ghetto" and "grotto" mixed up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

So Tallaght and Swords are ghettos now hahaha fck me. Another thing in this thread which gave me a laugh is people labelling a place a ghetto just because there's a high number of black people living there, sheer ignorance.

Maybe The Tenaments on Tv3 should be required viewing for anybody who thinks the above are ghettos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Another thread in AH thats premise is so dumb you don't even know where to start in replying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Very small pockets of North Clondalkin,Ballyfermot,Tallaght,Finglas,Blanchardstown,Coolock and the north and south inner city are a bit rough and tired looking,but I wouldn't class any of them as ghetto's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

Ghetto - a densely populated slum area of a city inhabited by a socially and economically deprived minority
    link

Only posting the above definition because people seem to confusing "ghetto" with "places they don't like".

Coolock gets an unfair reputation

Any crime or shooting around that area and the lazy journalist hears Coolock garda station and they label the location of the crime as Coolock

Will wrote: »
    link

Only posting the above definition because people seem to confusing "ghetto" with "places they don't like".

Or 'places with lots of black people, who may well be millionaire lawyers'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭UsernameInUse

Do we have ghetto's such as the Brazilian favela's or African townships? No.
    Is Dublin one of the safest cities in Europe? No.

But as opposed to genuine poverty stricken countries of the world, the "dangerous areas" of our cities comprise of wannabee hardmen walking around with a chip-on-shoulder trying to prove their worth on the way to their local welfare office and collecting their 200Euro/week dole; something virtually unheard of in legitimate dangerous cities around the globe. Anyone in Ireland that participates in "wannabee hardman" behaviour deserves a mandatory kick up the arse by everyone in the country while pondering over pics from real ghettos throughout the world where food is not even available, let alone free cigarettes and alcohol on the weekends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,301 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

mikemac wrote: »
    Coolock gets an unfair reputation

Any crime or shooting around that area and the lazy journalist hears Coolock garda station and they label the location of the crime as Coolock

No Coolock deserves its reputation. I grew up close by and it has and still is a dangerous place. It has massively high unemployment, high criminal class and poorly educated population. Some of my friends are from Coolock and I went to school with lots of people from Coolock.

Friends of mine now work there in social services, policing and training. It is one of the worst areas of the country. It accounts for a large portion of the prisoners in Mountjoy.

Lazy reporting doesn't account for that in fat it rarely mentions the extent of the problems in the area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

lightspeed wrote: »
    Can someone please define muliculturalism? reallly is that when our european fuhers pass laws that force casino bank ccountries like Ireland to give to free houses and social welfare as we import people from other countries even though........?

I'm afraid that hasn't in this Time/Space Continuum, whatever about yours.