Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Why no ghettos in dublin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

take it from guy who been to 90 countries around the world, Dublin is one safe city believe me

And take it from a guy who has served in war torn cities which were safer than Dublin - Dublin is a dangerous kip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,485 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

jimpump wrote: »
    in comparison to the likes of paris,london,marseille etc. it is 100Xs safer

paris and london are 10 times the size of dublin, its like saying compared to dublin, galway is far safer......well of course it is

central london late at night is probably safer than many streets in central dublin late at night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

leggo wrote: »
    In fairness, you judge any statement like that with crime stats, surveys etc like the one's provided. Not whether individuals were followed home by some skangers a few times. For example, I've rarely had trouble in Dublin myself but during the space of a two-week holiday in Zakynthos had a bottle thrown at me by some English lads (unprovoked) and had a bunch of Cork lads threaten me another time because I didn't have a smoke. Does that mean that I can conclusively say, with credibility, that Dublin is safer than Cork, England or Zakynthos? Of course not!
    Agreed. But when you've been around a bit, and lived in other countries for years and months, you get some perspective. Dublin is not a particularly safe city.

What possible motive would I have for running down my own city unnecessarily? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Well if Mercer say so, it must be true...

Well if you say so, it must be false...

We cant rule out that possibility that you are a bit of a twat who people feel like giving a few slaps, which would of course skew your own opinion of the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Come down to Limerick City OP, I'll show you around Moyross, Southill and Weston - then try tell me Ireland doesn't have any ghettos!

CiaranC wrote: »
    Well if you say so, it must be false...

We cant rule out that possibility that you are a bit of a twat who people feel like giving a few slaps, which would of course skew your own opinion of the place.

I never had you down as a dick, Ciaran. I guess you're right - I am wrong from time to time.

And take it from a guy who has served in war torn cities which were safer than Dublin - Dublin is a dangerous kip.

What absolute bollocks. What war torn city was safer than Dublin and in what way? Are you saying the rate of violent injury and death, in the middle of a war, was lower than in Dublin?
    Agreed. But when you've been around a bit, and lived in other countries for years and months, you get some perspective. Dublin is not a particularly safe city.
    Ive been around plenty, and lived in state capitals in the US, Europe, Canada and Australia. Dublin was far safer than any.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

What possible motive would I have for running down my own city unnecessarily? :confused:

I'm not saying that you have a motive, just a perspective. Many others, myself included, have a completely different perspective. Which is why it's difficult for one person, or another, to state with any credibility that it's dangerous.

The stats say differently than your life experience...but the stats are compiled with the collective life experiences of many, not just one, so they get instant credence.

But, hey, without your opinion we wouldn't have anything to debate so you're more than entitled to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

grenache wrote: »
    Come down to Limerick City OP, I'll show you around Moyross, Southill and Weston - then try tell me Ireland doesn't have any ghettos!

I've lived in all three (the rents were cheap) and would agree...those area's would definitely fit into my understand of what a ghetto is and why it is formed.

What the OP really means is "where the blacks at?" but is trying to wrap it up as something else...the giveaway is his inability to fathom white people living in ghettos.

The stats say differently than your life experience...but the stats are compiled with the collective life experiences of many, not just one, so they get instant credence.
    I think I already related why I am suspicious about the statistics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Tobyglen

You serious? The city has plenty of desperate areas. You ever been to parts of Tallaght, Ballyfermot, Crumlin? I haven't even ventured much past the southside of the city. Dublin is one of the poorest capital cities I have visited/lived. Aesthetically it's ugly & has more than it's fair share of junkies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

ghettos will come in time, on current policy. we're destined to repeat the mistakes of other european countries.

What would you call O'Devaney Gardens, if not a ghetto?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,968 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Should have seen Hillside in Galway before they cleared it out and built the new social housing
    Castlepark next door has an awful reputation but the locals don't bother you if you're not from around there, they stick to their own. And so I'd consider it safe, walked past it every day for years at all hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Fcukin lol at anyone who thinks Dublin doesnt have ghettos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Dublin is a kip. But dangerous? No not really - except in about 7 of the post codes. And the taxi driver Jow Duffy thing? Jaysus! Give me Moyross or Moghadishu anyday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

I think I already related why I am suspicious about the statistics.

I live in Blanch. Throughout my life, I've either hung out and/or worked in the likes of Finglas, Ballymun, Clondalkin, Tallaght, pretty much every so-called hole/ghetto you can think of in Dublin. And, somehow, I've managed to escape it all pretty much unscathed. That's my life experience.

So either you're (unfortunately) an easy target which has led you to a certain opinion that has already been discredited. Or I have an unnaturally high threshold for danger. As much as I'd like the latter to be true, giving rise to my theory that I have an as-of-yet-undiscovered superpower, I have a sneaking suspicion it's the former.

But I give up. You can't argue with the guy who screams "the stats are wrong!" when given clear evidence that disagrees with their statement.

Tobyglen wrote: »
    You serious? The city has plenty of desperate areas. You ever been to parts of Tallaght
    Considering I was born there, yes.
    Dublin is one of the poorest capital cities I have visited/lived
    Are you taking the piss? Even after the economic crash Dublin has one of the highest GDP per capitas on earth.
    has more than it's fair share of junkies.
    It doesnt have a particularly high level of problem drug use.
    http://www.emcdda.europa.eu/stats11/pdutab1a

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

jimpump wrote: »
    unlike most large cities in europe,we dont have any large mainly black/asian areas like peckham,brixton etc. in London.

it is actually one of the reasons dublin is probably one of the safest places to live in europe IMO.

it is obvious that multiculturalism has failed in europe like in countries such as england,france,holland,belgium etc.

ireland has thankfully avoided the situation england is in at the minute

Where I live is full of Africans, Poles and Arabs and its a very dodgy place but all the trouble is caused by whites so I dont know why your singling out foreigners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,168 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

charlemont wrote: »
    Where I live is full of Africans, Poles and Arabs and its a very dodgy place but all the trouble is caused by whites so I dont know why your singling out foreigners.

White people could be foreigners and Irish people may be black.

Imagine that!!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

CiaranC wrote: »
    It doesnt have a particularly high level of problem drug use.
    http://www.emcdda.europa.eu/stats11/pdutab1a

I don't live there but it seems to me the problem in Dublin is that drug users and drug use is more out in the open in the heart of the city center itself rather than it being seen in the outskirts and suburbs as in other major cities in Europe, so it seems like there are more of them in Dublin.
    Probably something to do with treatment centres being in the city center bringing them in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

I have an unnaturally high threshold for danger

Indeedin you do not

Greentopia wrote: »
    I don't live there but it seems to me the problem in Dublin is that drug users are drug use is more out in the open in the heart of the city center itself rather than it being seen in the outskirts and suburbs as in other major cities in Europe, so it seems like there are more of them in Dublin.
    Probably something to do with treatment centres being in the city center bringing them in.
    Indeed, this situation is poorly managed and it appears that there are lots of addicts around. In other European cities, they are pushed out of the centres (altough not in Canada for some reason).

A lot people are frightened and creeped out by addicts, when in fact they are actually mostly just an annoyance and not dangerous. Especially the non street-savvy types which populate boards.ie. I live in D8 and take the Luas from James' every day, anyone who lives around the area will know the gang of delinquents who hang around the area. They are an eyesore, but totally harmless.

I lived in Victoria in BC for a while, the place was riddled with crackheads. If one of the poor bastards had a freakout on a bus or on a main street, you knew all about it. They were terrifying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

No ghetto's yet as such,but a fair few dodgy areas like any other major city really.

But some of the newer developments(poorly constructed apartment complexes with little or no recreational facilitys etc) that have popped up over the last 10-15 years or so will probably become ghetto's over the next decade or so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

charlemont wrote: »

Aye, when I'm waiting for a bus at night on Parnell St. I'm relaxed when the Blacks and Asians go by. It's only when some dying-looking **** with a barely-decipherable Dublin accent and his stupid hood over his 2 pound head comes along I feel at all nervous and annoyed at the fact that he may well have seen me put a cigarette box into my pocket instead of into the bin and knows I have some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭jimpump

amacachi wrote: »
    Aye, when I'm waiting for a bus at night on Parnell St. I'm relaxed when the Blacks and Asians go by. It's only when some dying-looking **** with a barely-decipherable Dublin accent and his stupid hood over his 2 pound head comes along I feel at all nervous and annoyed at the fact that he may well have seen me put a cigarette box into my pocket instead of into the bin and knows I have some.

you really need to grow a set of balls pal, along with all the other spineless boards members who are scared of your own shadows

god help ye if ye lived in a place like liberia,sudan.somalia etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

I dunno now. Berlin seems like a pretty good example of a place that is dealing quite well with multiculturalism. They don't seem to have many problems these days. Although, they've done well to learn from the past I suppose.

So either you're (unfortunately) an easy target which has led you to a certain opinion that has already been discredited.
    Um...I'm not an easy target. In nearly 20 years of wandering around cities all over the world, I've had trouble once - in Dublin. I'm talking about what I've seen happen to other people. Altthough, having said that, the only murder I witnessed was in Amsterdam. But in terms of assaults, drunken fights, low-level aggro and abuse, nowhere has been as bad as Dublin. I'm factoring in the fact that I've spent a lot longer in Dublin than have in other cities.
    But I give up. You can't argue with the guy who screams "the stats are wrong!" when given clear evidence that disagrees with their statement.
    You seem to be giving an awful lot of credence to stats without knowing the first thing about the methodology involved, or the reliability of the data. You sound like an advertisers' dream (unfortunately).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Magic Beans

We are too poor to be able to afford ghettoes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭LondonIrish90

Equium wrote: »
    Not really. Poverty, overcrowding and generally unfavourable conditions are usually required. Like someone above said, Kilburn wouldn't be considered a ghetto despite being largely populated by Irish.

*Asians. Irish people in London don't really have a small area which you would instantly associate with Ireland anymore. Irish people live all over as immigrants have radiated out. It would be how you would actually define "multiculturalism" as opposed to seperateculturalism which exists in many other parts of the city.

Brixton a ghetto? :eek: Not a bad area really, becoming quite a trendy place to live. Its just the name Brixton which people associate with crime and rioting.

I'll give you Peckham though. Tip of the highest order.