Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why no ghettos in dublin?

• 09-08-2011 10:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭jimpump

unlike most large cities in europe,we dont have any large mainly black/asian areas like peckham,brixton etc. in London.

it is actually one of the reasons dublin is probably one of the safest places to live in europe IMO.

it is obvious that multiculturalism has failed in europe like in countries such as england,france,holland,belgium etc.

ireland has thankfully avoided the situation england is in at the minute

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

My lord you're blind!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

Well there are, relatively speaking of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

cos its one big ghetto

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

jimpump wrote: »
    unlike most large cities in europe,we dont have any large mainly black/asian areas like peckham,brixton etc. in London.

it is actually one of the reasons dublin is probably one of the safest places to live in europe IMO.

it is obvious that multiculturalism has failed in europe like in countries such as england,france,holland,belgium etc.

What?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

hahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Do you think Dublin is missing out by not having any,( of the type you describe OP) ?.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Whats "multiculturalism" got to do with safety in a city?

France (despite whatever idea seems to be floating about) has never, ever had a policy of "multiculturalism".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

unlike most large cities in europe,we dont have any large mainly black
    Head to Ballybough OP, certainly not mainly but a lot around

But first head to Specsavers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭jimpump

ItsAWindUp wrote: »
    What?!

in comparison to the likes of paris,london,marseille etc. it is 100Xs safer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Because its to small.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,601 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

what about all those appartment complexes with the code locked gates ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,604 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

junkies can't afford houses?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Possibly because we have not had mass immigration for as long as the other countries you mention?

SCR has a high level of Muslim residents due to the mosque there, and my experience of living there. Not suggesting it's a ghetto though.

Also Dublin is a fairly small city geographically compared to e.g. London.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭Hunchback

i don't agree dublin is one of the safest cities in europe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

irish-stew wrote: »
    Because its to small.

To small what? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

chin_grin wrote: »
    To small what? :pac:

Average Penis size?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

you don't agree Dublin is one of the safest cities in Europe, or- you don't agree, Dublin is one of the safest cities in Europe. Small comma, big difference.??? And in fairness, we've it all ahead of us, as the waycist at the back said. What about the chinese on Capel street? Or the top of o'connel st, little Odessa? btw I don't feel unsafe because there are a lot of immigrants in an area, or somthing else unwacist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Solnskaya wrote: »
    you don't agree Dublin is one of the safest cities in Europe, or- you don't agree, Dublin is one of the safest cities in Europe. Small comma, big difference.??? And in fairness, we've it all ahead of us, as the waycist at the back said. What about the chinese on Capel street? Or the top of o'connel st, little Odessa? btw I don't feel unsafe because there are a lot of immigrants in an area, or somthing else unwacist.

Every time you said wacist I instantly thought of the Asian guy in South Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭jimpump

actually i just thought of tyrellstown and balbriggan. they are probably the closest thing to ghettos in ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

dolphin house on the southside is literally 'do not enter if your not from the complex'
    closest thing to a ghetto

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

dolphin house on the southside is literally 'do not enter if your not from the complex'
    not true, they are lovely, misunderstood people. Worked on a site there for nearly a year. You just have to hit the first chap who gives you guff really, really hard, and then they are grand to you. jungle, fear,smell, weakness etc..:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

actually i just thought of tyrellstown and balbriggan. they are probably the closest thing to ghettos in ireland

Surely you jest!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭Bassboxxx

Total crap...my 63yo father lives there and I've spent a lot of time there and never seen anything to make me think of it as a ghetto or anywhere near it. Maybe in the early 90's.

But for elsewhere it's only a matter of time. you can see it in certain areas of D15 already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 dunnariogh

as a taxi driver,i can honestly say dublin is a lovely place to drive round in after dark;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

One thing's for sure.. a lot of people don't know what a ghetto is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 dunnariogh

actually,dolphin house is one of the nicer parts of dublin,never had any trouble there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,461 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

take it from guy who been to 90 countries around the world, Dublin is one safe city believe me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

Adamstown in west dublin is pretty much what you would call a ghetto.

I read the school there was like 90% foreign born, there was actually an article about it on like cnn or cnbc before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Tehachapi

wonton wrote: »
    Adamstown in west dublin is pretty much what you would call a ghetto.

I read the school there was like 90% foreign born, there was actually an article about it on like cnn or cnbc before.

Probably an educate together school no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭ForeverYoung90

90??Really?Thats a lot of travelling,are you not just slightly exagerating a little bit?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Hold up...only black people live in ghettos?

News to me.

We need some balance between the scumbag/welfare/racist threads...it's actually getting hard to figure out who the villain du jour is for AH.

Don't worry OP, we'll have more obvious asian/black communities in Dublin eventually, they'll be so obvious even you will finally spot them.

Oddly enough it will be people with your mentality that made them as well.

Go figure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭Equium

The social welfare/benefits system here is quite generous. As a result there isn't as large an amount of people in abject poverty as in other places such as the UK.

We're also new to immigration in comparison to elsewhere in Europe. Something like 80% of Dubliners are 'white-Irish'. In London the proportion of indiginous 'white-British' people is less than 60%. Not that ethnic demograpics can tell you about the quality of life in an area. Nonetheless some people here seem to equate an area lived-in by minority groups with the area being a ghetto...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Equium wrote: »
    The social welfare/benefits system here is quite generous. As a result there isn't as large an amount of people in abject poverty as in other places such as the UK.

We're also new to immigration in comparison to elsewhere in Europe. Something like 80% of Dubliners are 'white-Irish'. In London the proportion of indiginous 'white-British' people is less than 60%. Not that ethnic demograpics can tell you about the quality of life in an area. Nonetheless some people here seem to equate an area lived-in by minority groups with the area being a ghetto...

Well unfortunately thats the way it has panned out in various cities over the past 100 years or so. People are tribal, they stick together, birds of a feather and all that. Thats just the reality of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭NSNO

newmug wrote: »
    Well unfortunately thats the way it has panned out in various cities over the past 100 years or so. People are tribal, they stick together, birds of a feather and all that. Thats just the reality of it.

The Irish are a minority group in the UK. Kilburn is hardly a London 'ghetto'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭bayern282

Demographics and history are the real answers here, we've never had colonies, of course having been a colony for many years.

There wouldn't have been any real cause for an economically driven influx for jobs here throughout most of the 20th Century which also kept Ireland pretty homogeneous.

Plus also, and maybe going out on a limb here, the African community here in Dublin tend to be spread thinly across the city and by and large they are less volatile and have less of a connection with gangs and criminality than the Caribbean Black people you see in London or Amsterdam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

Equium wrote: »
    Nonetheless some people here seem to equate an area lived-in by minority groups with the area being a ghetto...

isnt that what a ghetto is?

Nope. You're confusing the result with the cause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭Equium

Not really. Poverty, overcrowding and generally unfavourable conditions are usually required. Like someone above said, Kilburn wouldn't be considered a ghetto despite being largely populated by Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Dublin is one of the safest cities in the world.

http://www.marketwatch.com/story/worlds-most-safe-dangerous-cities

http://best-city-reviews.com/index.php/2008/09/safest-cities-in-the-world-mercer-2008/

But carry on convincing yourselves otherwise, bedwetters.

CiaranC wrote: »
    But carry on convincing yourselves otherwise, bedwetters.

Don't burst the bubble mate, people really seem to want to believe that they are beset on all sides by scumbags, knackers, junkies and welfare frauds of a serious doubtful moral make up.

Superiority complexes need fuel after all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

NSNO wrote: »

I think you mis-understood me there. I never said it was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Don't burst the bubble mate, people really seem to want to believe that they are beset on all sides by scumbags, knackers, junkies and welfare frauds of a serious doubtful moral make up.

It really is the boards.ie zeitgeist. The website has become the Daily Mail/Joe Duffy for kids with iPhones.Beyond pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭ShiresV2

NSNO wrote: »

You've never lived in Kilburn then. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

That's ridiculous. I remember I had to work out there for a few days. The kids give you grief but, if you can speak their language and have a bit of banter back, you're a good lad in their eyes. The people themselves are very friendly for the most part. Have to say, I felt sorry for the conditions many lived in, but there was a good community spirit that you just don't see in wealthier parts of Dublin. I was brought in for tea, introduced to entire families and by the end of it knew many people's names there and could have the craic. I looked forward to it by the end, really opened my eyes. Compare that with time spent working in Clontarf, I believe it was, and I'd have poorer conditions over being treated like dirt off someone's shoe anytime.

Dublin is a fine city to live in. We're not perfect but if the riots in England haven't given you some perspective as to how much worse we could have it, nothing will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭shannon_tek

What an interesting thread. i'll be back :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

take it from guy who been to 90 countries around the world, Dublin is one safe city believe me

Irrelevant, there's a big difference between visiting a country and actually living in it for an extended period of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

Why no ghettos in Dublin? Hmm... I imagine because there has never been a large enough population of Jewish immigrants to a predominately Catholic island.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

Ireland Isn't as culturally Diverse as London or Paris but in the past century this has changed and will continue too.
    The Large european nations colonised the world, and this has allowed for a culturally diverse nation to emerge as natives of colonies went to the empires heart, we Irish just Infested the world, leaving our damp smelly little Island for better things abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭Downlinz

Dublin is about the only city in Europe where the locals are infinitely more dangerous to the public than the minority communities.