After Hours, one and only Queen thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Why are the Uvf and the british military known as the forgotten?

My apologies InThetrees, But I intended to say or as most people who have a interest in our political history would know,I was talking about the 26 people who were murdered in Dublin and not forgetting the other seven that were murdered in Monaghan and that day has the terrible distinction of being the worst ever atrocity of the so called troubles, All done in the queens name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

How is it? The people making comments like 'where were all the peaceful republicans' obviously don't even know the meaning of the term..

According to Micky, everyone who has ever identified themselves as a republican is a scumbag!

hang on a mo .... as i said to wolf tone a few pages back
    i stopped going to similar protests/marches BECAUSE of the amount of non political violent hanger on's , they have hijacked a noble aspiration.
    its getting to the stage where flying the nations flag will get you a dig off the fuzz because 9 times out of ten its a ****ing brain dead dickhead that is holding one

i hate using class as a description of anyone but for this i will ,
    20 years ago all sections of irish society attended republican rally's
    now its a certain type from a certain " class " - hijacked

its no coincidence that the moderate are missing from these events because they dont want to be associated with these wasters

the big loser is republicanism because the powers that be will look at the fact that every time they gather trouble erupts - and will start to ban them from marching

dont forget who is in power - if the republican leadership don't address this then soon it will be the playground of gob****es and the state will deal with them as such

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

realies wrote: »
    My apologies InThetrees, But I intended to say or as most people who have a interest in our political history would know,I was talking about the 26 people who were murdered in Dublin and not forgetting the other seven that were murdered in Monaghan and that day has the terrible distinction of being the worst ever atrocity of the so called troubles, All done in the queens name.

I dont think anyone here is dismissing that. I certainly ament. But maybe improving relations with Britian will improve the chances of disclosure. It'll be hard to get anywhere if relations are frosty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭The Left Hand Of God

Re-read my post. Every one i've met has been a scumbag. Bit of a difference.

You live on De Nort Side? roight?

Cos that the only way that can be true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I was at the commemoration for the 26 people murdered by the Uvf & British military,or as more commonly knowing as the forgotten. But it seems its only republican violence that is remembered here by the usual select few.
    Strange, I've seen plenty of people here going on and on about British atrocities and glossing over republican violence. Some people seem to have some sort of blinkered view of history where only the crimes of the enemy count.

That wasn't really a protest though, was it?

Its an ongoing protest but unfortunately does not get the attention it duly deserves, To many people In very high places might get ;embarrassed:
    Maybe this year could be different ?.

humanji wrote: »
    Strange, I've seen plenty of people here going on and on about British atrocities and glossing over republican violence. Some people seem to have some sort of blinkered view of history where only the crimes of the enemy count.

You have never seen me gloss over any violence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭holyhead

Realies is it possible our government, the irish government, has questions to answer over the various IRA attrocities committed both in Northern Ireland and on the UK mainland. Could you argue that those attacks were committed in the name of the irish people. They were the Irish republican army right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

I was watching the news earlier and saw some 'Protesters' in town in clashes with the Police.

What would you think would be appropriate punishmment for those arrested?
    (or for those identified vandalising/attacking Guards)

Stop Social Welfare payments? Community service?

Although people have a right to protest, should this violence have been dealt with more severely?

(sorry for barging in here)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

You live on De Nort Side? roight?

Cos that the only way that can be true.

Nope. South-east of the country. I love how it's presumed that if you call a spade a spade you must be terribly middle-class. I grew up in a council estate.

How does where i live/lived change what other people are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

holyhead wrote: »
    Realies is it possible our government, the irish government, has questions to answer over the various IRA attrocities committed both in Northern Ireland and on the UK mainland.

No. The provisional IRA have never been a legitimate army no matter what support from within inside the Irish government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

All done in the queens name.
    In the same way that the atrocities committed by the PIRA et al. were carried out in the name of Irish people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭Wheelie King

Spudmonkey wrote: »
    Some of those tits were there with nothing other than trouble in mind. I mean that ape with his Man Utd jersey stuck in the middle, I swear....
    Agreed. What the hell have these guy's got no brain. Seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

m@cc@ wrote: »
    No. The provisional IRA have never been a legitimate army no matter what support from within inside the Irish government.

So illegitimacy means immunity?

Thats odd.

holyhead wrote: »
    Reality is it possible our government, the irish government, has questions to answer over the various IRA atrocities committed both in Northern Ireland and on the UK mainland. Could you argue that those attacks were committed in the name of the irish people. They were the Irish republican army right?

I cant answer that, But it is known that the British had a major part in the Dublin & monaghan bombings, But this is side tracking this lovely thread:D,So maybe its there to be discussed another day.

Ps its realies not reality ;)

So where are all the "peaceful" republicans then? To my knowledge the only protesters out today were utter scumbags, much like every person i've met that identifies themselves as a republican.

And isn't it all basically "Brits out" in the end anyway? It's like saying you're a racist but not "that kind of racist".

So all republicans are scumbags? Is that what you are saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Griffen262

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,689 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

InTheTrees wrote: »
    So illegitimacy means immunity?

Thats odd.

What is odd is you thinking that the IRA had immunity. There are thousands of members who have been imprisioned. What is different here is the British state never took their obligations seriously which has meant there are plenty of people in the employ of the British state who have killed civilians and have not been subject to the justice system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Anyone else spot the insult levelled at the Gardai by RTE this evening......
    At one point there seemed to be more Gardai than people in O Connell
    Street

Seemingly Gardai are not people ?

Seriously people saying the Gardai did a good job today but they let Bertie and Cowen into within spitting distance of the Queen, two of the biggest crooks in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Seriously people saying the Gardai did a good job today but they let Bertie and Cowen into within spitting distance of the Queen, two of the biggest crooks in the country.

A very fair point! They even got to comment on what the visit means for the country..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Anyone else spot the insult levelled at the Gardai by RTE this evening......

Seemingly Gardai are not people ?

They're like nuns in that regard so?

Cool_CM wrote: »
    In the same way that the atrocities committed by the PIRA et al. were carried out in the name of Irish people?

No its not in the same way at all, This was an operation approved by the British military ,with the joint committee on justice saying , we are dealing with acts of international terrorism that were colluded in by the british army.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

She doesnt carry cash so there was no chance of them pickpocketing her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,452 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I am not a huge royal fan but seeing those two eejits made my blood boil today .Respect to the Queen she laid a wreath , what did them two gob****e do for us ...............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

Griffen262 wrote: »

I kept noticing this today when the soldier raised his sword and turned it in front of his face.

It looks like he's smelling it and it smells so lovely that he has to lift it up to his face to smell its loveliness every few minutes. Quite odd but funny in a weird way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭hobbit stomper

phasers wrote: »
    What exactly is there to talk about beside everything you've excluded?

Anything you can find :-)

Try http://iwillusegooglebeforeaskingdumbquestions.com :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Done in the queen's name? Even if it was, I doubt she approved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

m@cc@ wrote: »
    The fella with the packet of ham is a cracker. Nothing like a hang sandwich for asserting your 'Irishness' :D

No that lad had a packet of sausages. He was probably told to bring bangers to throw at the gardai but being the bright chap he is he took sausages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Mayo Exile

Celtic FC?

No.