Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Amir Khan v Paul McCloskey - Manchester, April 16

• Registered Users Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

That reported clause that he has to fight for **** all in the rematch is bull**** if it's true.

Fair enough to be tightfisted with giving him the opportunity but if he beats Khan, he has a title and a win over him, so he should be getting a ****load more.

• Registered Users Posts: 790 ✭✭✭alanceltic

Like I said earlier the deal has to be right, being offered a world title crack at any price just isnt enough. Can help but think how duddy was shafted in negotiations like these which he didnt even know about and the fee was believed to be 1.7MILLION...... Mc Closkey could potentially have 1 shot at a big purse and that is how his team have to approach it, theres no doubt a boxers instincts would be more about "i can win this fight" but that is why he has a manager to deal with this bull****.

I have to say quite some clever and imaginative initiatives to try and get some sort of a deal done and kudos has to be paid to his team here and its not often I have paise for the white collars in the sport! Sometimes you have to be braver to walk away and with these conditions attached it was an absolute no brainer.

On a seperate issue options on an opponent should he win should be BANNED, i mean neither figher benefits.....its a crazy situation.... Im even borderline on even a rematch clause (mabey a fixed purse split could work similar to EBU's rules on a mandatoy)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭Syferus

It sounds like a woeful offer that any serious fighter could never accept and I'm sure Kahn's team knew as much. Watching Johnny Nelson intimate 'fighters' price themselves out of fights with Kahn smacks of bias, ignorance or simply handling their guest with kid golves. Whatever the situation with other boxers, no one can say that deal was serious.

What it does highlight is how little any of us know about the dealing that go on and how easy it is for one fighter's team to cynically warp the discussion to suit their ends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Feargal as Luimneach

McCloskey interview about the Khan fight:
    http://www.boxingsocialist.com/video/exclusive-interview-jr

• Registered Users Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Wild_Dogger

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Rob113

I've said it before it's Khans entourage that will stop him becoming a superstar. That's bad form if true. Scumbags. What makes it worse is it's his family. Very hard for him to break away from them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭pbffan

Shocking decision, can't believe Amir is letting this happen. He's could turn out to be the new Naz if he doesn't cop himself on and get rid of the hangers-on soon

Fight appears to be on:eek: again
    http://www.amirkhanworld.com/?p=1132
    I won't believe it toatally until Dudley sayes so on his Twitter
    http://twitter.com/paul_mccloskey

• Registered Users Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Dan Rafael has posted it on his twitter. Schaefer told him it is on against Mc Closkey.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭lolie

Fight appears to be on:eek: again
    http://www.amirkhanworld.com/?p=1132
    I won't believe it toatally until Dudley sayes so on his Twitter
    http://twitter.com/paul_mccloskey

just googled it and seems its for def. hope dudley gets his fair share

• Registered Users Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭Boooourns

Yep confirmed on Khans facebook page, he said he would announce it earlier in the day. Was sure it was going to be Witter, mad turnaround.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭gene_tunney

cool

• Registered Users Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

We're going to the MEN now lads.... Cant waaaaaaaiiiiitttt!!!!

joepenguin wrote: »
    We're going to the MEN now lads.... Cant waaaaaaaiiiiitttt!!!!
    X2
    happy0045.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 41 cmf22

i think dudey has the style to cause khan major problems.
    Major underdog but surely with mccloskey magee and casey 1 of them at least will cause an upset?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Vintagekits

off to the opening presser in Manchester with Khan and McCloskey in the morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭BoxingIrel.com

If you want to sit in the "Irish section" or the MEN and want to avoid ticketmasters fees and make sure more money goes to the fighter, contact us.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

Do ya know what section or how much yet? Keep me two, if anymore ill let ya know

"Hey all our paulmcloskey fans tickets will be on sale tommorow from www.paulmccloskey.com"
    From Dudey twitter....
    http://twitter.com/Paul_Mccloskey

All our tickets will be coming out of the Mccloskey pot and ALL the money going to McCloskey.

Ticket prices for Khan vs. McCloskey, priced at £300, £200, £125, £75, £50 and £40.

Just send me a PM with the number of tickets you want, the price category, your email address and phone number!

This reminds me of the build up to Magee-Hatton. If Magee had McCloskeys dedication he would have been champion that night, agh well!!

• Registered Users Posts: 236 ✭✭ollieo

I'm a casual boxing fan and don't know much about McCloskey, does he have a realistic chance of beating Khan or just a punchers chance?

Tv3 have saved the day with the coverage. Fair play to them. Anyone know who their commentators / analysts will be?

Balls. Wrong thread. Ignore post above. Sorry folks.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭Boooourns

Arizo on the split with Khan.....
    http://boxingonyoutube.blogspot.com/2011/02/alex-ariza-on-amir-khan-team-split-they.html

Some shoddy work from Khans team, he's in bad hands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

any idea of the undercard ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭makl

ollieo wrote: »
    I'm a casual boxing fan and don't know much about McCloskey, does he have a realistic chance of beating Khan or just a punchers chance?

he's gona fookin nail him ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭BoxingIrel.com

If anyone needs packages (coach, ferry, hotel, transfers, ticket) from either Belfast or Dublin just let me know.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

If anyone needs packages (coach, ferry, hotel, transfers, ticket) from either Belfast or Dublin just let me know.

Was good to talk to you yesterday!

Any idea when I might be contacted about the package deal, hadn't heard anything yet so was going to head up to Dungiven this evening to get tickets. Would rather be sorted wih the package though but don't want too wait and maybe miss out!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭peejay1986

Balls. I just bought 3 tickets on Ticketmaster then seen that I could get tickets in the 'Irish section' through people on here :(

Got great seats but I think I'd prefer to be around Irish.

John Breen says there is nothing wrong with Khans chin!

It's his temple that needs hittin with a banjo!

"John Breen predicts ‘Temple of Doom’ for Amir Khan"

http://boxing-ireland.com/20110212_breen_mccloskey_khan_29.html