Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bouncers-do we really need them?

• 30-09-2010 12:04am
    Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭

Bit of a bugbear of mine is bouncers.

Was out last night, spur the moment job, went down to local late bar, got to door and was stopped by this short arsed ugly baldy doorman, who gave the usual 'where ya coming from', 'ya been here again' in a really aggressive manner, then asked my mate to take his hat off so he could have a look at him, I turned around and said why the **** does it matter what he looks like under his hat? he got smart with me and said he wanted to see if he seen him before, then made a remark that he'd too much hair and should get it cut, I replied that least he had hair unlike his baldy chrome dome, he laughed and in we walked.

It was a moderately busy night, me and the mate just sat there quiet drinking afew pints, all the while I was watching the bouncer in action, walking around randomly chatting up women in front their boyfriends, annoying people who didnt want talk to him, for someone suppose to keep tension and hassle to a minimal he was doing the opposite.

Got me thinking ,do we really need bouncers? like other then asking kids for their passports, have they any useful purpose, in most cases they cause more trouble then prevent, if there is trouble shouldnt the over paid Gardai not be called to stop it rather then these power tripping apes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

They don't need bouncers in the pubs I go to & funnily enough, they don't have them either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Wouldn't have let you in myself tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Yes
    You'll be thankful when they save your drunken ass in a brawl

/wasted my 1000th post on this :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,731 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Where there's alcohol and a few people with violent tendencies then yes - you probably do.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Also, what is this WE craic about.

The pub's hire them to keep underage people out and stop fights, they are covering their own áss from lawsuits, it's not a WE, it's a THEM.

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭McNulty32

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    Wouldn't have let you in myself tbh.

And whys that pal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Well 90% of them are grand from my experience, the ones that i have a problem with are usually when I'm hammered but don't think i am or the small percent that are just actully pr*cks

KeithM89 wrote: »
    Yes
    You'll be thankful when they save your drunken ass in a brawl

/wasted my 1000th post on this :(

Dont worry I dont need wannabe hardmen in black to save me from anything, if its serious why not call the Gaurds, isnt it their job to deal with civil diorder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

McNulty32 wrote: »
    And whys that pal?

It's after hours.;)

Cause you seemed very cheeky and full of lip.

And in my experience, it's the cheeky and full of lip people that start the fights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Moar bouncers.

Less whingers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Yes,most definitely,places would be crawling with drunken idiots without them.

I've never had any problems with them either,don't give them an attitude they wont give you one,simple!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Dont worry I dont need wannabe hardmen in black to save me from anything, if its serious why not call the Gaurds, isnt it their job to deal with civil diorder?

Problem is, the Gardai take half an hour to show up - by then you could be in a bin bag headin up a mountain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

Says the hardman behind his keyboard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Yes we do need them. It helps to keep the riff raff and the drunkards out so the bar staff and decent paying customers from having to deal with them. If a fight happens they break it up how long would you think it would take the guards to respond to every fight that happens in pubs around the country. In regards to the hat ya your friend should have taking it off before going in this is pretty standard in most pubs.

Must have being a crap night out if all you did is watch the bouncer to be fair!

Most bouncers are fair and hard working its just a few that give them a bad rep its the same in any walk of life really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

We'll need a bouncer in here soon/

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    Cause you seemed very cheeky and full of lip.

And in my experience, it's the cheeky and full of lip people that start the fights.

Well can tell you Im very mild mannered and keep to myself and rarely get into fights unless Im provoked, why should I have be abused by some arsehole about what Im wearing or where Ive been, when all I want to do is go into my local pub and have a drink which is what Im legally entitled to do?

Have I not the right to tell this person with no authority what I think of his comments?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I turned around and said why the **** does it matter what he looks like under his hat?

OP, you were the first person to swear so you were the first to escalate the situation.

When a bouncer asks you questions it is to suss you out and judge your sobriety and state. They don't care which bar you came from, they do care if you swear back at them. Shows you are pissed off and looking to enter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

We wouldnt need them if people could head out for the night, drink somewhat sensibly and enjoy themselves.

Well can tell you Im very mild mannered and keep to myself and rarely get into fights unless Im provoked, why should I have be abused by some arsehole about what Im wearing or where Ive been, when all I want to do is go into my local pub and have a drink which is what Im legally entitled to do?

Have I not the right to tell this person with no authority what I think of his comments?
    Oh wow.

Hats come off so your face can be seen on cctv.
    Where you been is a standard question to see if you're drunk or not based on your response.
    You are not legally entitled to drink in a pub. You are legally entitled to make an offer to drink in a pub, which the doorman has the legal right to refuse you.

Bouncer threads are like AH's period.

OP, you were the first person to swear so you were the first to escalate the situation.

When a bouncer asks you questions it is to suss you out and judge your sobriety and state. They don't care which bar you came from, they do care if you swear back at them. Shows you are pissed off and looking to enter

I get pissed off being abused by someone for no reason, let me walk in without provocation and I wouldnt swear.

By the way some bouncers are sound, but alot of them are complete pricks

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

Dont worry I dont need wannabe hardmen in black to save me from anything.....

what if you were pissed
    What if someone blindsided you, and then with the assistance of his ten mates cut you up with glass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭questionmark?

:confused: Ah no

A public house has a right to refuse service to anybody once its not of a raciest or sexiest reason.
    Legally a place that serves intoxicating liqueur must maintain an orderly house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

You have the right to tell him what you think of his comments.
    He has the authority to speak and act on behalf of the owner, who has hired him to do so. It's not just a random lad standing in the doorway. If he feels that the owner would like him to prevent you from entering, he has that authority.

I get pissed off being abused by someone for no reason, let me walk in without provocation and I wouldnt swear.

By the way some bouncers are sound, but alot of them are complete pricks
    Oh and you abused him. He asked your matew to take off his hat and where you been. Wow what a complete knob. You were right to try be smart and put him in his place.

The Citizin would be proud of you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

It's about time we discussed bouncers on this forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,950 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

I thought this was a thread about Mrs Mangels dog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,779 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

A pub with bouncers on the front door is a bad sign - they cause more trouble than they prevent.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

scudzilla wrote: »
    I thought this was a thread about Mrs Mangels dog

the dog was belonged to the Robinsons wasn't it?

It was just Mrs Mangle and Plane Jane Superbrain in their house, no pets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Was out last night, spur the moment job, went down to local late bar, got to door and was stopped by this short arsed ugly baldy doorman,

Every word there is irrelevant there. I'm no Brad Pitt, I doubt you are either but you know what? Unless you even have an equity card and going for a specific job then being short, ugly or bald doesn't prevent someone from doing a job.

A short, ugly, bald bouncer stops you, you swear at them and then report back to boards.ie with their negative traits.
    Did noone type keyboard warriors?

You do have a point on aggressive pricks working the door and then you ruin it like being being ugly, short and bald means your opinions are worth more then them?
    Is your daddy a barrister?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

Ah they're not all that bad. I got stopped on Saturday night going into a pub, got the old 'not tonight' line.

Now I've been going to this place for years and I calmly informed him as such but said if he didn't want to let me in that was fair enough and started walking off. A few seconds passed and he stopped me and told me to go on in. It's like he was testing me.

He must have felt bad afterwards, he came over to where we were sitting a bit later to see was everything ok!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 722 ✭✭✭Rycn

Bought a bag of shtuff in Qbar jacks one night.

While i'm putting it in my wallet on the way out the jacks door, this fat mess of a bouncer bumps into me and sees it, so he grabs my wallet and we proceed to engage in a hand war. What is he doing? He's not a Garda!

I'm there saying to him, "kick me out, do what you want mate but your basically stealing from me, even if the stuff is illegal".

It's mine, he can kick me out if he wants to but hes the one in possession of drugs the second he takes it off me. I was taking the risk with it, what's the point in him putting his job in jeopardy?

I was fuming.

The next day I was delighted he took it off me though, as I hadn't done any of it when he took it, so I was fresh as a daisy when I woke up the next day.

That mephedrone has a horrible comedown.
    Its never worth it.

Every word there is irrelevant there. I'm no Brad Pitt, I doubt you are either but you know what? Unless you even have an equity card and going for a specific job then being short, ugly or bald doesn't prevent someone from doing a job.

A short, ugly, bald bouncer stops you, you swear at them and then report back to boards.ie with their negative traits.
    Did noone type keyboard warriors?

You do have a point on aggressive pricks working the door and then you ruin it like being being ugly, short and bald means your opinions are worth more then them?
    Is your daddy a barrister?
    Are you ugly, short and bald by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭Dohnny Jepp

Rycn wrote: »
    Are you ugly, short and bald by any chance?

Are you a troll by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Lets keep this somewhat civil please.

I wouldn't have let you in either op.

Bald, short and ugly.
    Since you avoided my question i'll take it you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭10green bottles

I hope, after your postings on here that you never have to be "rescued" from a situation by a "bouncer" some night because, after listening to all you have said you will be in this prediciment sooner rather than later.

Rycn wrote: »
    Bought a bag of shtuff in Qbar jacks one night.

While i'm putting it in my wallet on the way out the jacks door, this fat mess of a bouncer bumps into me and sees it, so he grabs my wallet and we proceed to engage in a hand war. What is he doing? He's not a Garda!

I'm there saying to him, "kick me out, do what you want mate but your basically stealing from me, even if the stuff is illegal".

It's mine, he can kick me out if he wants to but hes the one in possession of drugs the second he takes it off me. I was taking the risk with it, what's the point in him putting his job in jeopardy?

I was fuming.

The next day I was delighted he took it off me though, as I hadn't done any of it when he took it, so I was fresh as a daisy when I woke up the next day.

That mephedrone has a horrible comedown. Its never worth it.
    He wasn't. The amount of times i gave guards drugs at the end of the night is crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I rarely come across sh1t bouncers or doormen. Whenever one has given out to me I have deserved it.

I know a few bouncers around Cork, and get into places fairly easy anyway because the bars I am a regular in I am REALLY regular, so the doormen know my face.

But even when I go to different places I can get in without too much hassle, accidentally headbutted a bouncer before and was left go.

So your theory that bouncers are cnuts is fair wide of the mark I would think!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

Bit of a bugbear of mine is bouncers.

Was out last night, spur the moment job, went down to local late bar, got to door and was stopped by this short arsed ugly baldy doorman, who gave the usual 'where ya coming from', 'ya been here again' in a really aggressive manner, then asked my mate to take his hat off so he could have a look at him, I turned around and said why the **** does it matter what he looks like under his hat? he got smart with me and said he wanted to see if he seen him before, then made a remark that he'd too much hair and should get it cut, I replied that least he had hair unlike his baldy chrome dome, he laughed and in we walked.

It was a moderately busy night, me and the mate just sat there quiet drinking afew pints, all the while I was watching the bouncer in action, walking around randomly chatting up women in front their boyfriends, annoying people who didnt want talk to him, for someone suppose to keep tension and hassle to a minimal he was doing the opposite.

Got me thinking ,do we really need bouncers? like other then asking kids for their passports, have they any useful purpose, in most cases they cause more trouble then prevent, if there is trouble shouldnt the over paid Gardai not be called to stop it rather then these power tripping apes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

OP if what you say is true then you just got a weak doorman.

Personally I'd have turned on the 'thick cvnt bouncer attitude' and told you to 'fvck off' with your attitude.

To the question "Bouncer-do we really need them?".. My answer is some pubs do, some don't. All clubs do - but what we don't need is smart fcuks with attitude making our working nights any harder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Only ever been refused twice. Once was Qbar and it was about 1am and me and my mates had a jockey back race to the door, stumbled up to the entrance to a laughing bouncer who just smiled and shook his head and told us "we were well oiled". We couldn't disagree so we jumoed back on each others backs and raced off to Dorans where we got in without a bother :cool:...to an empty bar :(.

Second time was Krstyle and the "elitist" a$$holes that run the place had the bouncers on a "members only" (Hot sluts and fair city actors) buzz so we were declined. Probably had a better time in Dicey's anyway.

Had one bouncer at Citi bar make stop me as I walked up and asked why I was so nervous. I was fine til you started making me paranoid about how I looked ya arse! He let me in though. Wish he didn't, the pints were muck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I used to go to this busy club, the dance floor was always packed and there were always bouncers right at the edge of the dancefloor. And I would always get harassed by creeps, coming up to me even though I said go away, and grabbing me. And the bouncers never did anything, even if you asked them too! Now if 2 guys started a fight, they got dragged out straight away, but it was fine to sexually assault women. And since all the bouncers had the same attitude, you know they were told that was the code of conduct.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

:confused: Ah no

A public house has a right to refuse service to anybody once its not of a raciest or sexiest reason.
    Legally a place that serves intoxicating liqueur must maintain an orderly house.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    I'm always falling foul of this ;)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,576 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I just couldn't be arsed with going to pubs in Dublin any more. It's like the bloody airport with their ridiculous security checks when you just want to go for a pint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

What I like about the bouncer tales is that the people with the gripe always manage to hint in their post as to just why they don't get in. ;)

As a punter, I've come across a small number of out of order bouncers in my time but most range from decent to just doing a job. It's not their job to be your mate.

Treat people with civility and the majority treat you the same way. If you're refused, you move on somewhere else. Surely there is enough bars for that.

Any place that I was ever a regular in that had door staff, you would know them from being friendly over time anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,459 ✭✭✭Riddle101

This thread has degeneralised into a flaming thread against the OP's attitude.

However to answer the question. Yes we really do need bouncers. Security is important for a club or pub, in an enviornment where people can get drunk and out of control it's important to have someone in place to sort it out. If someone starts getting too rowdy and causing hassle, who's supposed to deal with it? the bartenders? the guys who work in the toilets? it's a matter of safety and security OP.

Of course you do tend to get the odd d*ckhead bouncer, but usually if you show bouncers respect and communicate with them in a casual and compliant manner you'll be fine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

So when you're getting your face crunched in by 2 fellas inside a night club, you want to wait 10 mins for the guards to arrive to pull them off you?

PS: Most bouncers are just dickheads on power trips anyway, but they have their uses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I replied that least he had hair unlike his baldy chrome dome

Ha........I bet that you didn't.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,674 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

I think it depends on the type of place tbh, in the local one of the locals is a boxer/army guy and everyone knows him and he's a sound lad had never ever seen any trouble up there in over 10 years. And he might "work" one saturday in 6 and i think the owners just pay him to walk around :)