Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

Personal Abuse including Name Calling is forbidden on this forum as it breaches the Forum Charter
    Warnings have been given to the posters involved.

As a side note I would like to point out that a genuine poster who had come to the forum to ask a question was ignored so that a slagging match could continue. Name calling on the forum causes arguments, so attack the post not the poster and if you have an issue with a post use the Report Post button.
    Back on topic please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 jmcc89

psni wrote: »
    Usually people volunteer because they want to. Giving your time and talents can be so much more than a CV building exercise, and if that's all you want it for, you'll be destroyed in an interview. Any member will attest to that. I know people who never did a day of volunteering in their lives and got in because of who and what they are.

What distinguishes you from other applicants primarily is YOU. If you approach this from a "What do I have to do to get in?" standpoint, you're setting yourself up to fail. I'd advise you to approach it from a "What do I have to be to get in?". Answer that one, work towards it, and you've given yourself a clear advantage over others who think there's a 'step' approach to becoming a Garda/Police Officer.

Hi Psni, brilliant post and your completely right, just to say though that my reasons for wanting to join are completely genuine i want to help people and try to make the community a better place, its just from reading other posts and forums posters talk about helping out in youth centres, joining reserves, coast guard etc and getting courses " under thier belt " before applying to give them a better chance and i just thaught these things were neccesary, but reading your post set me straight as it makes more sense!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭eru123

I know you can apply for your increments after 2 years. Could anybody tell me how much a degree together with a masters would boost your pay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭da__flash

eru123 wrote: »

I know you can apply for your increments after 2 years. Could anybody tell me how much a degree together with a masters would boost your pay.

check www.gra.ie and its all there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭DustyMan

delancey42 wrote: »
    A number of months ago it was reported in the newspapers that 3 named individuals who had their applications to join the Gardai rejected on age grounds ( all over 35 ) were bringing Judicial Review proceedings against the Commissioner and Minister for Justice.
    Anyone here know what became of their case/claim ?

This was the last I read on the matter;
    'Challenge to Garda age limit fails
    THE HIGH Court has ruled that an Equality Tribunal has no power to decide whether the 35-year age limit for joining An Garda Síochána is discriminatory.
    The only remedy for three people who had challenged the age limit was to seek a declaration from the High Court that Irish law in relation to the age limit was in conflict with European law, Mr Justice Peter Charleton said.'

how do 3 increments translate into money terms? Are they a once off payment or an annual payment?

eru123 wrote: »
    how do 3 increments translate into money terms? Are they a once off payment or an annual payment?

Eru did you follow the gra link and find pay scales? You effectively go up in salary so that your pay is higher. There are no one off payments or anything like that.

Yes. I was in the pay scale area the first time and there was nothing about increments but i eventually found it in the faq section:) they outlined how many increments you get for specific qualificaitons but was still wondering exactly what that meant in money terms e.g 2% extra of your pay per increment etc etc.. but i get it now...thanks blue belle agus da flash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭Rothmans

DustyMan wrote: »
    This was the last I read on the matter;
    'Challenge to Garda age limit fails
    THE HIGH Court has ruled that an Equality Tribunal has no power to decide whether the 35-year age limit for joining An Garda Síochána is discriminatory.
    The only remedy for three people who had challenged the age limit was to seek a declaration from the High Court that Irish law in relation to the age limit was in conflict with European law, Mr Justice Peter Charleton said.'

Based on have you've written there it seems that the high court have only decided that an Equality Tribunal cannot be delegated the power to decide whether the 35-year age limit was discriminatory. This seems to be a straight-forward decision. However the HC doesn't seem to have decided on whether the age limit itself is discriminatory.
    Methinks it would be a very interesting case if the legality of the age limit in and of itself was tested in the near future. For all I know, it could have been, but I doubt any court would find it to be discriminatory (Seperation of Powers and all that):(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Interesting points Rothmans - I do know that part of the case these 3 brought was that the P.S.N.I. and indeed all UK Forces have no upper age limit , worth remembering that up till perhaps 7/8 years ago ? the Garda age limit was a mere 26 !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 josephwhfc27

hi all im a garda in limerick city now 2 years any general questions ye can throw em my way, best of luck with the recruitment process:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 iony

hi there guys,just rang the HQ and when i've asked where abouts i'm standing rite now as i'm waiting since 2008,was told that they can't tell me anythin as the server was down,i've asked if there's many like me waiting just for the medical and the physical,and was told that is against the"protocol"..i've asked if there any medicals or PCT's at the moment and was told that is confidential...not nice at all to be honest with ye...
    is it just like that?nobody knows anything about the recruitment yet?after all we went through exams and stress,and long journeys...etc..
    all i can see on the net is that they'll take on new recruits by the end of the year..but that's it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

iony wrote: »
    hi there guys,just rang the HQ and when i've asked where abouts i'm standing rite now as i'm waiting since 2008,was told that they can't tell me anythin as the server was down,i've asked if there's many like me waiting just for the medical and the physical,and was told that is against the"protocol"..i've asked if there any medicals or PCT's at the moment and was told that is confidential...not nice at all to be honest with ye...
    is it just like that?nobody knows anything about the recruitment yet?after all we went through exams and stress,and long journeys...etc..
    all i can see on the net is that they'll take on new recruits by the end of the year..but that's it..

Like pulling teeth it is - apparently its what the guards is all about, ive heard when you get in there nobody tells anyone anything either. You ever hear it being refered to as the Mushroom Farm? They put you in the dark and feed you full of sh!t. just sit and wait for the call is all we can do...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 HWRower

Hi there, was hoping someone would be able to tell me if you need a reference from a guard/sgt/inspector etc when applying, what stage of the recruitemnt process this is at and what is entailed in it etc. Any help on this would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 fastbowler

Just to throw this into the mix..I was in Raphaels today and the lads there heard they are looking to take on up to 500 recruits once the new training schedule is sorted... make of that what you will..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Ruairi88

Can't see that happening!. When times were good they were only taking in 250 a intake every quarter. I know the College can accomodae nearly 600 people but I'm not to sure on the accomodation of 1st time Recruits.

Haven't said that it would be fantastic to see 500 pulled in at once would give people hoping to get in something to shout about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭itsallgood

Ruairi88 wrote: »
    Can't see that happening!. When times were good they were only taking in 250 a intake every quarter. I know the College can accomodae nearly 600 people but I'm not to sure on the accomodation of 1st time Recruits.

Haven't said that it would be fantastic to see 500 pulled in at once would give people hoping to get in something to shout about.

There isnt even 500 people ready to go at the moment, there is 150 with about 200 awaiting med and pct...
    Anyone of new campaign that hasnt started yet will be waitint i'd say at least 6 months to get interview, background checks, meds and pct's.
    We have been assured that there will be an intake before the year is over so there will not be 500 going in.
    Maybe 500 within the next year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 fastbowler

yeah I don't think they meant 500 all in one go..doh! However it just goes to show what sort of rumours there are flying around the place...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Ruairi88

I reckon there will be an announcement within the next week or two. I think whenever there is a recruitment campaign this side of the year they wait till after the leaving cert results are out in which they are released tomorrow. And the best of luck to them!. So I think there will be a bit of activity soon.

And "Itsallgood" made a comment in which he would be right in saying there wouldn't even be 500 ready to start although there is slightly less than 350 I think it's a slight bit below the 300 mark. As reported by many newspapers and in the words of the justice minister there will be an intake into the Garda College this year so even if they only took in a hundred or so it would defo trigger a new campaign and those fresh applicants to be brought through the system fairly quickly as there would be no obstructions as they would have the identified number in which would be small.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Geansai

I fully agree with Ruairi88. I expect news pretty soon, although we may have to wait till the Dail sits again next month.

Also, even though 350 applicants have passed the interviews two years ago, a number of these may have gone on to other things and so may not be still available.

Anyway, I do expect that recruitment drive to open soon, so not much longer to wait till Templemore. Even less for those with everything passed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭rugby

HWRower wrote: »
    Hi there, was hoping someone would be able to tell me if you need a reference from a guard/sgt/inspector etc when applying, what stage of the recruitemnt process this is at and what is entailed in it etc. Any help on this would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

When your filling out Form B (after you have passed your Aptitude Test)it asks in the reference section ,(A) Give the name and station of any member of An Garda Siochana known to you and who would be willing to recommend your application. :D(B) And then it asks for a reference from any member of the academic staff at your college, and then finally part (C) it asks for a reference from any 2 people that would be willing too recommend your application , and you need too know these 2 people at least 5 yrs (oh and these 2 people cannot be members of the guards ) Hope this helped, im going by what i filled out from the 2008 batch, but im sure your application will be the same information. Best of luck with it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 SICKBOi

hi Ive just got my leaving cert and always wanted to join ags im just 18 and have family in ags.my question is should i go for the reserve or apply for full time ags? my family say the reserve to get some experience.do ags take reserves? i herd that they dont really consider them sometimes because they have had to pay for costs for them and to train them again wouldn't be worth it in some cases.so my question is should i go for reserves or full time ags? any info would be great thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 DaDon

Does anyone know what would be the most beneficial course to help get into the Gardai? Would something like a degree in public and social policy or criminal justice studies help get in and get promotions?

Thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 934 ✭✭✭C-J

DaDon wrote: »
    Does anyone know what would be the most beneficial course to help get into the Gardai? Would something like a degree in public and social policy or criminal justice studies help get in and get promotions?

Thanks!

go through the forum theres a separate thread that will answer this question. To make sure youre thinking about joining for the right reasons make sure to read the faqs at top of page they're very helpful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 SICKBOi

hi guys im a part time volunteer with cork simon community.would this work count towards the community involvement needed to be a Garda?

SICKBOi wrote: »
    hi guys im a part time volunteer with cork simon community.would this work count towards the community involvement needed to be a Garda?

You don't need to volunteer or do community work to become a Garda.
    Where it may help the process, is in your interview. You may be able to use your experiences in the Simon Community as one or more of your scenarios . It certainly won't hurt your chances by any means and it willl look good that you are actively involved in your community. However you will still need to pass every stage of the recruitment process.
    Best of luck with it. :)

Absolutely

hi Ive just got my leaving cert and always wanted to join ags im just 18 and have family in ags.my question is should i go for the reserve or apply for full time ags? my family say the reserve to get some experience.do ags take reserves? i herd that they dont really consider them sometimes because they have had to pay for costs for them and to train them again wouldn't be worth it in some cases.so my question is should i go for reserves or full time ags? any info would be great thanks!

Go for the full time. If you've allways wanted it go for it now.
    'A good plan, violently executed now, is better than a perfect plan next week'. George S. Patton
    US general (1885 - 1945)

DaDon wrote: »

Thanks!

A Law Degree. However the Degree courses you've mentioned certainly would be of great help. However the most important thing is that your the type of person AGS want! Degree or no Degree.
    P.s I'm sure someone here will pipe up and say I'm wrong! You can be the best judge of the advice you get here. ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 DaDon

DustyMan wrote: »
    A Law Degree. However the Degree courses you've mentioned certainly would be of great help. However the most important thing is that your the type of person AGS want! Degree or no Degree.
    P.s I'm sure someone here will pipe up and say I'm wrong! You can be the best judge of the advice you get here. ;-)

THANKS!!! Finally an answer thats not as clear as mud:D:D
    I'd press the thank button but I don't have enough posts yet...