Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

I agree about Occupational First Aid- a very worthwhile course. Thats not to say it will be a requirement for recruitment in the future. It is still only a recommendation for now not something you 'need to do'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭kensey

It might not be necessary or a definate requirement but I can't see it hindering your chances, it is bound to assist your application

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭halfback5

hey guys have just joined and caught up with the thread. I am another who wishes to join. I found the thread very usefull, I was just wondering could someone pm on the name of the courses that were flying around a couple of pages back.
    Many thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 smufett

Do you have to have a full driving license?

smufett wrote: »
    Do you have to have a full driving license?

My understanding of it is while's its not officially a requirement,( its a recommendation), its is strongly advised to have one. I'd imagine if they're down to two people going for one position surely the person with the full licence has a big advantage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

halfback5 wrote: »
    My understanding of it is while's its not officially a requirement,( its a recommendation), its is strongly advised to have one. I'd imagine if they're down to two people going for one position surely the person with the full licence has a big advantage

It wont make a difference at all to be honest - and they dont choose between people to whittle numbers down - if youre good enough you will be put on the panel - i.e if you pass tests and interview you will be put on panel, once you have the basic requirements thats all that matters - they never compare applicants

Devil08 wrote: »
    It wont make a difference at all to be honest - and they dont choose between people to whittle numbers down - if youre good enough you will be put on the panel - i.e if you pass tests and interview you will be put on panel, once you have the basic requirements thats all that matters - they never compare applicants

surely the fact that you've a full licence has to be some advantage to you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,059 ✭✭✭Uriel.

halfback5 wrote: »
    surely the fact that you've a full licence has to be some advantage to you

No it's not. Not in terms of getting in.

The competition element of the process is the initial exams. That's were you're competing with other applicants to get as high on the interview panel as possible to be called earlier than others.

The interview is not a competition. There a standard pass mark which you must reach. If you do, you're successful and onto the next stage of the process. If you do not pass, then please try again next year.

Interviewers do not know anything about you except your standard details (work, education, age etc...). There is no formal cross reference of candidates made. To pass the interview it's all about your competencies and how well you can relate your previous expereince and skills to successfully using these competencies in the role of an Garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 jim davis

so uriel are you saying the only thing that will put candidates in any real order is the aptitude test and after that all the stages are a simple pass or fail.No other grades.Including the interview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭shanehillview

Having a full license shouldnt have any impact because as it stands you can't officially drive a Garda vehicle until after you are attested as far as i am aware. Open to correction on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭Lenn Brennan

You don't need a full license full stop. It's not a requirement. candidates that reach a certain level get put on a panel. after interview your vetting checks happen, when they come back you get called for medical according to merit on your aptitude test. they don't compare applicants! maybe in the future ye might need a full license to join but for now ye don't.

Having a full license shouldnt have any impact because as it stands you can't officially drive a Garda vehicle until after you are attested as far as i am aware. Open to correction on this.

Yes you are correct- you have to do a special driving course after you have been attested - and at that you might be waiting longer - I know a guy who was in a station 3 years before he got near a car - depends on the station really and how eager they are to get you behind the wheel!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭eru123

More than 100 recruits by end of the year it says.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/garda-recruitment-drive-2208412.html

At least 1 months notice before ya start, and sure they couldnt start ya trainin in the middle a santy season so we'll say oct / nov for an intake at the very latest:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭kensey

eru123 wrote: »

At least 1 months notice before ya start, and sure they couldnt start ya trainin in the middle a santy season so we'll say oct / nov for an intake at the very latest:)

Cheers for the link eru.. Wouldn't that be a nice Xmas pressie!

This is from 2 months ago? There is nothing new mentioned here? We know there will be an intake at the end of the year and more than likely it will be more than 100, all dependant on the number of retirees, also where did you hear about a months notice?

just from talkin to people who were accepted. 2 guys received nearly a months notice last year. However on both occasions the acceptance letter that was sent by HQ was dated 42 days before the intake day.

I know people who were called on the Friday and told they would be starting on the Monday! its not unusual! This time around we should get plenty of notice though..but I wouldnt be surprised...

Jeez, hope his previous employer didnt lose it altogether!!!:eek:
    I suppose they try and fill the class up as much as possible, so people get hurried along and called at the last minute sometimes. But since a large number are ready to go, i dont see why a gud lot of notice shouldnt be given.

Jeez, hope his previous employer didnt lose it altogether!!!:eek:
    I suppose they try and fill the class up as much as possible, so people get hurried along and called at the last minute sometimes. But since a large number are ready to go, i dont see why a gud lot of notice shouldnt be given.

Is anyone really gonna give a f&£k about their previous employer when they get called?! I know for sure that I wont! I cant wait to hand in my notice and tell them to go f&$k themselves!! Maybe others might like their current jobs though!!

Not everyone has as little respect for their employer as you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 934 ✭✭✭C-J

Not everyone has as little respect for their employer as you.

i don't think it's about a 'lack of respect' he was just having a sense of humour! I don't know anybody who wouldn't gladly leave work this minute if they got a call to start monday!

jim davis wrote: »
    so uriel are you saying the only thing that will put candidates in any real order is the aptitude test and after that all the stages are a simple pass or fail.No other grades.Including the interview

Yep you have it in one. The Aptitude is the only part of the campaign that is a competition - you do your competing with other people there. After that, it's a matter of prooving YOURSELF as having the required standard to be a Trainee. That is, experience, ability and temprement (interviews), health (medical) and physical ability (PCT).

Candidates orders may change depending on different circumstances after interviews, length of time to get Security checks, availability (and/or problems with) medical etc... But the aptitude decides the order in which you will be called for interview. The higher the better - meaning the sooner you get called to stage 2.

There is a minimum grade to pass the interview, once you reach that, you are successful at that stage.

Is anyone really gonna give a f&£k about their previous employer when they get called?! I know for sure that I wont! I cant wait to hand in my notice and tell them to go f&$k themselves!! Maybe others might like their current jobs though!!

You are forgetting that some (perhaps the majority) of employment terms have a minimum notice period etc... it's not always as easy as just telling your boss to feck off and walking out the door.

And I wouldn't ever condone that sort of behaviour irrespective of how much you want another job.

wats the craic Devil, yea I know a guy who got a call on a thursday, did med on the friday, did pct on the saturday and started on the monday. So everyone should be prepared to recieve very little notice. Especially this time around seeing as nobody knows whats happening with numbers and dates!

Uriel. wrote: »
    You are forgetting that some (perhaps the majority) of employment terms have a minimum notice period etc... it's not always as easy as just telling your boss to feck off and walking out the door.

And I wouldn't ever condone that sort of behaviour irrespective of how much you want another job.

Jesus theres no messing with you Uriel! Well ive to give 2 weeks notice to my current employer. But what are they going to do if I dont? They may dock my wages or something but not much I can do about it if I get called with short notice. You might like your job and your boss. I hate mine and my boss is the biggest miser you will ever come across and I have nil respect for him for many reasons. Im sure there are more in the same boat as me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 pento

You don't need a full license full stop. It's not a requirement. candidates that reach a certain level get put on a panel. after interview your vetting checks happen, when they come back you get called for medical according to merit on your aptitude test. they don't compare applicants! maybe in the future ye might need a full license to join but for now ye don't.

How do you know its not a requirement? It says on the public jobs website that the eligibility requirements will be made available when the recruitment campaign begins, and it hasn't begun yet...

pento wrote: »
    How do you know its not a requirement? It says on the public jobs website that the eligibility requirements will be made available when the recruitment campaign begins, and it hasn't begun yet...

It never has been a requirement - and it doesnt look like they are going to change the requirements yet - the new suggested requirements are still at the review stage.

pento wrote: »

The requirements have'nt just changed overnight maybe in the future it will be a requirement but for now its not. End of story!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,893 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Mod note:

When posting on this thread, please bear this post in mind.

This thread is not for chat, opinions or rumour.

Keep it helpful, relevant and on-topic.

Myself and Blue Belle will, over the coming days, start pruning this thread down to remove such back and forth chatter that is not relevant to this thread.

There is no shortage of server space on boards.ie so if you want to start a thread about something, go for it. Let's try and preserve these for their intended purpose.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 jmcc89

I asked this question before but im just looking for new opinions as its really bothering me.
    Like most of you my dream is to join AGS, but about 2 years ago i received an adult caution for criminal damage i was with a few friends, they went to court and the case was dismissed for lack of evidence, we actually didnt do anything!
    Also i received a fine for no motor tax a while back.
    finally, i have a large family (cousins) some of which have been in trouble for minor offences.
    none of this reflects my character in any way, im a student in my last year of a degree course in college.
    So basically im just for your thaughts on my situation, and if/how it will affect my application?
    Thanks in advance for any replies!!!!