Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭DustyMan

jmcc89 wrote: »
    I asked this question before but im just looking for new opinions as its really bothering me.
    Like most of you my dream is to join AGS, but about 2 years ago i received an adult caution for criminal damage i was with a few friends, they went to court and the case was dismissed for lack of evidence, we actually didnt do anything!
    Also i received a fine for no motor tax a while back.
    finally, i have a large family (cousins) some of which have been in trouble for minor offences.
    none of this reflects my character in any way, im a student in my last year of a degree course in college.
    So basically im just for your thaughts on my situation, and if/how it will affect my application?
    Thanks in advance for any replies!!!!

Firstly do you know anyone friend etc who is in AGS who could possible do a search on the system to see if you show up on the radar? Why not just go into your station and just directly ask one of the Gaurds there your situation and what he/she thinks? I'm sure they would advise you. I did that once myself and they were of great help. In fact I got caught once for having no tax and there was no record on the system. However that is maybe 10 years ago so things have probally changed since then. If you are not convicted of a crime then you have no worries. But having said that I don't know about cautions? Are they convitions? I don't know? Perhaps someone on this forum could advise on that.
    As regards family matters. That would'nt be your fault! Don't worry about it. On the tax thing again if you did'nt mention it and the AGS did know e.g at an interview (I'm just surmising here), then they would see you as un-trust worthy and your application probally would'nt go any further. If you were asked on the application form or at an interview re the tax I'd admit it. They would probally admire your honesty. Believe me it's honest people their looking to be coppers! I would'nt bring up the criminal damage thing at all. If their is no convition then you should be ok on that. Sorry to be so long-winded with this reply. But really if you are serious about this if I were you I'd go down to your local AGS station. Tell them your applying and what your concers about the past are. I'm sure they will advise you. But look all of this is just my opinion. But do call into the station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭talla10

No you have nothing to worry about as was previously stated once you were not convicted of an offence then you are eligable to join even if you recieved an adult caution when an inspector in your local station again this is not criminal conviction and does not go on 'record'. also if you recieved juvenile liasion caution (JLO) as a youth but were never charged or convicted then again you have clean slate.

Dont worry at all about your family you cant account or be responsible for for family members get up to. Many members have relations who are regularly in trouble with Gardai its common enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

DustyMan wrote: »
    Firstly do you know anyone friend etc who is in AGS who could possible do a search on the system to see if you show up on the radar? Why not just go into your station and just directly ask one of the Gaurds there your situation and what he/she thinks? I'm sure they would advise you. I did that once myself and they were of great help. In fact I got caught once for having no tax and there was no record on the system. However that is maybe 10 years ago so things have probally changed since then. If you are not convicted of a crime then you have no worries. But having said that I don't know about cautions? Are they convitions? I don't know? Perhaps someone on this forum could advise on that.
    As regards family matters. That would'nt be your fault! Don't worry about it. On the tax thing again if you did'nt mention it and the AGS did know e.g at an interview (I'm just surmising here), then they would see you as un-trust worthy and your application probally would'nt go any further. If you were asked on the application form or at an interview re the tax I'd admit it. They would probally admire your honesty. Believe me it's honest people their looking to be coppers! I would'nt bring up the criminal damage thing at all. If their is no convition then you should be ok on that. Sorry to be so long-winded with this reply. But really if you are serious about this if I were you I'd go down to your local AGS station. Tell them your applying and what your concers about the past are. I'm sure they will advise you. But look all of this is just my opinion. But do call into the station.

In my opinion that is an unwise course of action to recommend - there is every probability a record of that caution exists - failure to disclose it will probably result in rejection of an application. I would agree that a caution may not go against you - witholding it certainly will.
    Also , do be aware that gardai may not be in a position to tell you what ( if anything ) is on their ' system ' about you , there are Data Protection implications and in the case of Garda information the Official Secrets Act.
    Just my 2 cents worth....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 jmcc89

delancey42 wrote: »
    In my opinion that is an unwise course of action to recommend - there is every probability a record of that caution exists - failure to disclose it will probably result in rejection of an application. I would agree that a caution may not go against you - witholding it certainly will.
    Also , do be aware that gardai may not be in a position to tell you what ( if anything ) is on their ' system ' about you , there are Data Protection implications and in the case of Garda information the Official Secrets Act.

Your probably right Delancy42 about the gardai not giving out info, but it probably wouldnt hurt to ask.
    Also i have no intentions of not mentioning the caution, that would be a big mistake!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭thelongwait

I was arrested a few years back for drunk and disorderly. i left it off the form and almost had me application thrown out. i had to do a second interview with super and some major ass kissing!! if i just put it on the form in the first place i'd prop be a guard by now, basically my point is answer every question as honestly as you can and you should be ok. honesty is the key word.

about the relations, i have 1 cousin who as a record for fighting and another who has quiet a big drugs record but that didnt stop me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 TOPJOB

HI There
    Just wondering what is the least limit on height and other requirments do you need to be a gaurd,what if you got penalty points or careless driving all driving offences???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭kensey

TOPJOB wrote: »
    HI There
    Just wondering what is the least limit on height and other requirments do you need to be a gaurd,what if you got penalty points or careless driving all driving offences???

Height restriction is not a big thing anymore
    See www.garda.ie or www.publicjobs.ie for job requirements or read through the posts.

They are awash with information.

Penalty points (low and reasonable amount), eg. 2 for speeding, again, no biggie

Careless driving?? Do you mean driving without due consideration?
    "all driving offences"? Your post isn't quite clear. If you have been convicted of a driving offence, ie been to court, then I'm afraid your application would be rejected in my opinion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Ruairi88

It shouldn't stop you from joining as you were not convicted in court you were just cautioned!. Although Im sure when they do a background check this will crop up it's better when you fill out a background information thats if your successful in your aptitude test it will ask you to submit personal information it's best you do it there.

Topjob The Height restriction is gone. It was replaced by a (PCT) which is (Physical Competency Test).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭thelongwait

Thanks thelongwait thats the sort of answer i was looking for.:D
    the only problem is these things wont exactly help my chances, especially with the competition being so fierce.

They wont help you but they shouldnt stop you either. They wont affect your aptitude test or interview. if you pass them then you'll have to fill in form b i think. thats where the tricky questions are. tell them everything, thats where i went wrong. i thought because i wasnt charged with anything and that i wasnt taken to court or convicted of anything that it wouldnt matter. it did!!!:(

after you submit that form you'll be called for a "chat" with the local super. you'll have chance to make your excuses and explain yourself there.

best of luck

delancey42 wrote: »

Fair enough. My primary advice was and is to be honest, and also to directly ask a Garda re his queries. I was unsure if a caution was then a conviction hence I asked if others here could add info on that.
    I had similar queries to this poster. I've found it to be no problem myself when I asked the Gardai. They could'nt have been more helpfull. That was my experience.

Very good. So what's your advice then? The poster is asking for advice.

It says what it says dustyman.

The poster (delancey42) is telling him to declare it.

kensey wrote: »
    Height restriction is not a big thing anymore
    See www.garda.ie or www.publicjobs.ie for job requirements or read through the posts.

They are awash with information.

Penalty points (low and reasonable amount), eg. 2 for speeding, again, no biggie

Careless driving?? Do you mean driving without due consideration?
    "all driving offences"? Your post isn't quite clear. If you have been convicted of a driving offence, ie been to court, then I'm afraid your application would be rejected in my opinion

I wonder will the age limit ever go like in most countries? Most have no upper age limit (within reason). If your fit (pass the fitness tests) and healthy enough (pass the medical) no worries. Anyone have any opinion on this?

I wonder will the age limit ever ago like in most countries? Most have no upper age limit (within reason). If your fit (pass the fitness tests) and healthy enough (pass the medical) no worries. Anyone have any opinion on this?

In all honesty who knows, was brought up before and to no avail. As far as I'm aware, you have to meet the age limit at the time of application, if not; for the moment anyway, it's a no-go

Who knows what changes they may bring in future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 jmcc89

Hi again, now that i got my first query out of the way, just wondering what anyone is doing re: volunteering, first aid courses etc to build up a c.v because as far as i know these could be the things that distinguish you from other applicants.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,893 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Usually people volunteer because they want to. Giving your time and talents can be so much more than a CV building exercise, and if that's all you want it for, you'll be destroyed in an interview. Any member will attest to that. I know people who never did a day of volunteering in their lives and got in because of who and what they are.

What distinguishes you from other applicants primarily is YOU. If you approach this from a "What do I have to do to get in?" standpoint, you're setting yourself up to fail. I'd advise you to approach it from a "What do I have to be to get in?". Answer that one, work towards it, and you've given yourself a clear advantage over others who think there's a 'step' approach to becoming a Garda/Police Officer.
    Hi again, now that i got my first query out of the way, just wondering what anyone is doing re: volunteering, first aid courses etc to build up a c.v because as far as i know these could be the things that distinguish you from other applicants.

I can't see the government changing this as you hav to work up a certain amount of years to be eligible for the pension. I suppose at my age of 22 I wouldn't welcome that but ask a guy or gal 34 going on 35 they will say different.

Secondly I don't think they should raise the age limit as at 35 you would surely have some sort of direction in your life and not just joining AGS for the sake of it. I knw people will argue that they want a job change or whatever....Well thats what the Garda Reserve is there for. So no I hope they don't raise the Age limit and most importantly I can't see them changing this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭itsallgood

Ruairi88 wrote: »
    I can't see the government changing this as you hav to work up a certain amount of years to be eligible for the pension. I suppose at my age of 22 I wouldn't welcome that but ask a guy or gal 34 going on 35 they will say different.

Secondly I don't think they should raise the age limit as at 35 you would surely have some sort of direction in your life and not just joining AGS for the sake of it. I knw people will argue that they want a job change or whatever....Well thats what the Garda Reserve is there for. So no I hope they don't raise the Age limit and most importantly I can't see them changing this.

Is the pension not the defining reason for the age limit?
    Get your full service in to be entitled to full pension.
    Why bring someone it at 40 or 45 and only work for about 20 years before retiring?
    They want to get the maximum service out of everyone due the the cost of recruiting and training.
    Everything in this country revolves around money.

psni wrote: »
    Usually people volunteer because they want to. Giving your time and talents can be so much more than a CV building exercise, and if that's all you want it for, you'll be destroyed in an interview. Any member will attest to that. I know people who never did a day of volunteering in their lives and got in because of who and what they are.

What distinguishes you from other applicants primarily is YOU. If you approach this from a "What do I have to do to get in?" standpoint, you're setting yourself up to fail. I'd advise you to approach it from a "What do I have to be to get in?". Answer that one, work towards it, and you've given yourself a clear advantage over others who think there's a 'step' approach to becoming a Garda/Police Officer.

You should post that on the reserve forum for people joining them just top get a heads up. If your only trying to use people and services for the wrong reasons you will be found out quick enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Geansai

itsallgood wrote: »
    You should post that on the reserve forum for people joining them just top get a heads up. If your only trying to use people and services for the wrong reasons you will be found out quick enough

Itsallgood, you really do seem to be against people joining to reserves who then want to progress onto the full-time Gardai. I agree with what you are saying about only doing to it tck a box, so to speak, but there are any number of advantages to a reserve who then progresses, even if he/she is only in the reserves for a sort period.

The reserve training will make the full-time training easier as it won't all be new.

The trainees expectations of what the training and the job are like will more realistic.

The trainee will ahve had experience working shift hours (which most people would not who join the Gaurds...)

Doing only to sound good in the interview is obviously not an adequate reason to join, but there are many good ones.

Geansai wrote: »
    Itsallgood, you really do seem to be against people joining to reserves who then want to progress onto the full-time Gardai. I agree with what you are saying about only doing to it tck a box, so to speak, but there are any number of advantages to a reserve who then progresses, even if he/she is only in the reserves for a sort period.

The reserve training will make the full-time training easier as it won't all be new.

The trainees expectations of what the training and the job are like will more realistic.

The trainee will ahve had experience working shift hours (which most people would not who join the Gaurds...)

Doing only to sound good in the interview is obviously not an adequate reason to join, but there are many good ones.

Not at all Geansai,
    I'm fully behind people joining, if its for the right reasons..
    But som people are under the influenece that they will have priority over others and that they will walk into full time Gardai if they are a reserve.
    I just want them to see the bigger picture.

You are right that it will help with regards to experience etc...
    Some people are fooling themselves in thinking the reserves are a must and a stepping stone into full time Gardai.

I agree it's all good but I supoose without money you can't do anything. That is the main reason why the accelerated recruitment went belly up as the money ran out. My mate who's a guard subscribes to the Garda review for myself and that topic was discussed in last months issue. Also with the age limit an ordinary Guard has to complete 30 years of satifactory service to AGS so if one thinks about it, Joining at 40 years of age and you can't retire until you are 70 now with all due respect to old age pensioners at 70 your 5 years into your golden years!.

So I think if anything they could bring the age the other way!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Hi guys. I'm hoping you guys can help answer some questions I have. I hope they haven't been asked to often before. If so I apologize.

Would you have to be a specifically healthy weight to pass the medical? I'm n ot over-weight but I could lose a few pounds ATM.

I live in Galway. Is there a training facility here?

Is it very difficult to get a place? I'll be 18 in October but I'd really love to be a Garda to help out others.

Thanks guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭rugby

I agree it's all good but I supoose without money you can't do anything. That is the main reason why the accelerated recruitment went belly up as the money ran out. My mate who's a guard subscribes to the Garda review for myself and that topic was discussed in last months issue. Also with the age limit an ordinary Guard has to complete 30 years of satifactory service to AGS so if one thinks about it, Joining at 40 years of age and you can't retire until you are 70 now with all due respect to old age pensioners at 70 your 5 years into your golden years!.

So I think if anything they could bring the age the other way!.

Sorry not picking a fight here , but im annoyed at some of your mails, firstly what ever the age limit for the guards is , as long at the person passes all four stages they are entitled too be there the same as everyone eles. secondly you say reduce the age limit ??? Too what exactly??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

A number of months ago it was reported in the newspapers that 3 named individuals who had their applications to join the Gardai rejected on age grounds ( all over 35 ) were bringing Judicial Review proceedings against the Commissioner and Minister for Justice.
    Anyone here know what became of their case/claim ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

Hi guys. I'm hoping you guys can help answer some questions I have. I hope they haven't been asked to often before. If so I apologize.

Would you have to be a specifically healthy weight to pass the medical? I'm n ot over-weight but I could lose a few pounds ATM.

I live in Galway. Is there a training facility here?

Is it very difficult to get a place? I'll be 18 in October but I'd really love to be a Garda to help out others.

Thanks guys.

Hi Diabhal Beag,
    For the medical your BMI should really fall below 30 and you will have to pass a Physical Competence Test to prove you are physically fit.

You must also be 18 to apply. So if when the next competitions opens you meet the age requirement you are free to apply.

The college is in Templemore, Co. Tipperary. This is where all new recruits are trained.

If you haven't done so already, please have a good read through the FAQ Thread

And welcome to the forum. ;)

Rugby I never said that people under the age of 35 are not entitled to join the Guards your a bit trigger happy in my opinion. A question was aked and it clearly said in your opinion meaning us Boarders and the Quetion wa "Do you see the government changing the age limit in the Gardai" I firstly gave an informative reply stating that you have to give AGS 30 years satisfactory service this fact I gained from the Gardai and then I proceeded to give my opinion as to why I don't think they will extend the age limit and why I don't think they should. I can't see how you are getting annnoyed!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭talla10

Hi I was just wondering if a two year higher certificate qualifies for increments?

sorry man but no- needs to be a degree :mad:

you claim 1 increment if you got three honours in your leaving cert and 1 of which was maths, irish or english

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭rugby

Rugby I never said that people under the age of 35 are not entitled to join the Guards your a bit trigger happy in my opinion. A question was aked and it clearly said in your opinion meaning us Boarders and the Quetion wa "Do you see the government changing the age limit in the Gardai" I firstly gave an informative reply stating that you have to give AGS 30 years satisfactory service this fact I gained from the Gardai and then I proceeded to give my opinion as to why I don't think they will extend the age limit and why I don't think they should. I can't see how you are getting annnoyed!.

Well your a bit TRIGGER happy in my opinion

From the Belfast Telegraph written by Jim Cusack 24th May 2010.
    Pehaps it's somewhat out of date now, but non-the-less it makes for intresting reading.

Garda hopefuls look to join PSNI
    Over 1,000 people in the Republic, including garda reservists, have applied to join the Police Service of Northern Ireland (PSNI) since a recruitment embargo on the gardai came into effect.
    In the last recruitment campaign to the PSNI, which closed in February, 1,004 out of a total of 8,984 applicants listed "home addresses in RoI", the PSNI press office said.
    The trend is likely to continue because a new streamlined training regime was being introduced for new gardai just as the recruitment ban came in. Garda trainers have themselves yet to retrain, so this could further delay the next recruitment intake which Irish Justice Minister Dermot Ahern said he hoped to see take place later this year.
    Gardai say they are expecting an overwhelming response to the next recruitment campaign. With take-home pay and allowances for relatively young gardai at around €40,000 a year, along with the guaranteed pension scheme, it is expected that thousands will apply for the next campaign.
    Among those applying for jobs in the PSNI are members of the Garda Reserve who volunteered for unpaid police work in the hope that it would pave a way into the force. A number of these are applying to the PSNI because they are past the age limit for recruitment to the gardai of 35.
    The PSNI does not have such a limit and decides on recruits on the basis of ability and fitness as opposed to age.
    Garda sources say that some reservists are becoming frustrated at the lack of any advancement system, and many feel they are being confined to menial work.
    There were some cases bordering on harassment in the early stages after the Garda Representative Association came out strongly against the formation of the Reserve.
    Sources say antipathy has died down, but confirm that duties that reservists perform are limited.
    The reservists are not allowed to drive cars, make arrests, issue summonses, or use pepper sprays.
    Gardai say that in many stations there appears to be confusion over what reservists can and cannot do and in many instances, they say, they are either left to sit in stations or in the back of squad cars.
    Other stations take a more active approach and regularly place reservists on the beat, as was envisaged by the then - Irish Justice Minister Michael McDowell when he introduced the Reserve in 2006.
    So far about 700 people have volunteered for the unpaid work and about 600 are allocated to stations. Many joined with the idea of seeing what police work was like with a view to joining the regular force if they enjoyed the work.
    Around 50 who had applied to join the regular force before joining the Reserve were accepted as regular members during the big recruitment drive up to 2007.
    However, since then, it is understood, very few if any have been accepted into the ranks of the regular force.
    The Garda Press Office said it did not have numbers available for the number of reservists who had applied to join the full-time ranks or had been recruited full time.
    The last intake to the gardai is understood to have contained no reservists and had an unusually large number of recruits with family members already serving in the force.
    Gardai say that though the reservist scheme is now four years old, it does not appear to be developing in ways that volunteer reservist schemes in other jurisdictions have.
    In the UK, reservists, or 'special constables' who show commitment and ability are actively encouraged to join the full-time ranks.
    The UK police also have a Police Community Support Officer scheme of salaried police officers who deal with day-to-day community policing. Many special constables join this, and those who show ability continue into the regular forces.