Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭da__flash

CiaraAB wrote: »
    hey everybody,
    Sorry now, i know people have probably gone through all this in previous posts but the thoughts of going through 186 pages of post doesnt seem fun.
    I just want to know has anyone heard ANYTHING since setting there job alert on the Public Jobs website?

Would appreciate a reply.
    Thankd:)

no nothing and dont worry when something happens it will be all over the media so its not like you can miss anything :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

da__flash wrote: »
    no nothing and dont worry when something happens it will be all over the media so its not like you can miss anything :D

you might not miss it but the earlier you apply the better...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 pento

Would anyone be willing to share what they have been doing to prepare for/ improve their chances of being accepted? Apart from the obvious aptitude prep courses, has anyone been doing 1st aid courses, other courses, community work etc?
    Personally I did a 1st aid course, and am doing an aptitude prep course...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Jypo1

Not being funny or trying to be smart or anything but i think its good to be prepared and well educated but in the same breath i think its good to have some experience in the real world, doing some hard graft.I think its kinda overlooked on these threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

Jypo1 wrote: »
    Not being funny or trying to be smart or anything but i think its good to be prepared and well educated but in the same breath i think its good to have some experience in the real world, doing some hard graft.I think its kinda overlooked on these threads.

true. you can have all the qualifications in the world but at the end of the day all you need is the basic requirements and after that youre judged on your interview, your life experience, and how much the local seargant likes you! If you cant sell yourself to him and string two words together, you can wave goodbye to all your fancy certs. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 934 ✭✭✭C-J

Jypo1 wrote: »

true. I would consider myself well educated but don't think i'm any better than joe bloggs applying with minimum leaving cert. We're all going to be starting off at the bottom of the pecking order in ags regardless of how many letters we have after our name

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 pento

well the question i was asking wasn't really about education, more about life experience, community involvement, and obviously 1st aid etc.
    I'd imagine AGS, like most employers, want their trainees to be blank canvases, and train them up up their own way, but no harm in having the basics that are useful in everyday life anyway.
    Thats why I wouldnt bother with any of those forensic and criminology diploma courses. I cant really see them of being any benefit in being accepted as a trainee. They will spot all the CSI wannabes a mile away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

I know that the age for joining the Gardai is 18-35. If you're already 35 since May of this year, is that too old?

youre never too old Monkeypants, youre never too old. As long as you feel young inside, thats all that matters. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Devil08 wrote: »
    youre never too old Monkeypants, youre never too old. As long as you feel young inside, thats all that matters. :D

Great to hear that , so all Monkeypants has to do is quote that to the Interview Board ? Can anyone give Monkeypants the correct (and more helpful ) answer ?

delancey42 wrote: »
    Great to hear that , so all Monkeypants has to do is quote that to the Interview Board ? Can anyone give Monkeypants the correct (and more helpful ) answer ?

You must not be over 35 on day of applying for the competition, not day of starting training :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Ruairi88

Monkeypants On applying for the competition you must not be over 35 years of age. Although it does say you have to be between 18 and 35 and once you turn 18 you can apply so I'd imagine at 35 you can still apply but there will obviously be a cut of date. Ring Garda Hq and find out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 jim davis

A rumor here now

The announcement for the upcoming 2010 campaign has ben taken down off public jobs homepage and is after being replaced by a notice that the site will be down on monday for essential maintenance.

Is it just me or does this kinda look like they are getting set to start taking applications for aptitude tests.To upgrade the site to cope with the mass of bookings that are going to flood in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭MarkJD

Why is it you have to redo literally everything for joining the Garda if you only failed on the Medical? It wasnt a permanent or long term reason for the fail on the medical by the way.

The whole interview / test process etc? Seems like that creates more work for them when people go to re apply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭glhoran121

so does anyone know exactlly how many people are in the pipeline waiting to be taken in i hear it is somewhere around 200 - 300 people ???also the new requirments i.e full licence manual handleing ofa course swimming course are not for next reruitment but following is this true????

glhoran121 wrote: »
    so does anyone know exactlly how many people are in the pipeline waiting to be taken in i hear it is somewhere around 200 - 300 people ???also the new requirments i.e full licence manual handleing ofa course swimming course are not for next reruitment but following is this true????

nobody actually knows the true amount of people in the pipeline its all only guess work at the moment. Also no one knows about the requirements as they are only recommandations from a report so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

da__flash wrote: »
    nobody actually knows the true amount of people in the pipeline its all only guess work at the moment. Also no one knows about the requirements as they are only recommandations from a report so far

actually the minister lately said there were 150 with everthing done and 200 with just interview done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 SICKBOi

hi ive always wanted to join ags and my uncle is after making sergeant so makes me want to join even more.my question is can you join if u wear contacts i have an astigmatism in my left eye anyone know if i can join with that or would i need the lasik.would be a real pain to my application doh cause ide have to wait 3 years before i qualify for the lasik any info would be great thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭thelongwait

SICKBOi wrote: »
    hi ive always wanted to join ags and my uncle is after making sergeant so makes me want to join even more.my question is can you join if u wear contacts i have an astigmatism in my left eye anyone know if i can join with that or would i need the lasik.would be a real pain to my application doh cause ide have to wait 3 years before i qualify for the lasik any info would be great thanks!

The following is the physical requirements taken from http://www.garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=338&Lang=1&PersistList=1&PersistPage=213.

Any of the following examples of medical conditions may be a bar to passing the medical exam:

Defective Vision: the vision standard required of a Garda trainee is not less than 6/18, 6/18 (correctable to 6/9, 6/12) unaided by glasses or contact lenses, with normal colour vision.
    Varicose veins
    Being overweight
    Albumenuria
    Dental Caries
    Defective Hearing
    Hypertension

the best thing to do is take these requirements to your optician and see how you do. theres no way around them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭ajjmk

What do you do if you're 18 & have completed your Leaving Cert this year, but havnt recieved the results yet because they're not out til August? Are you let apply this time round, or do you have to wait? :(

dont worry ajjmk

you'll have your results long before anything happens.things are on a serious go-slow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭glhoran121

Yo may be lucky as it will probably be august before they recruit !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭thekopend

ajjmk wrote: »
    What do you do if you're 18 & have completed your Leaving Cert this year, but havnt recieved the results yet because they're not out til August? Are you let apply this time round, or do you have to wait? :(

i'm on the same boat,results will be out on the 18th of aug, im 18 since last december. if the application started in a week for example do you have to show results strait away or when you go to aptitude test cause if it was the latter we would be grand as it would take weeks before we get a test :confused:

i know this might sound a bit stupid now.

but could joining the garda reserve actually go againest you when appyling to be a full time member.what i mean is that if your interview came up for the full time guards and you were nearing the end of the reserve training would they be inclined to leave you as a reserve untill the next full time drive in an effort to offset the cost of training you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭thelongwait

no, applying for the reserves will help you if anything. it shows your interest in the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭ForeverYoung90

Ok I asked this before but cant remember getting a clear answer.Are you entitled to increments with a lev6(higher certificate) or do you need a lev7/8?Also how do they work?How much are they worth,do you get them after a certain amount of time etc.Thanks.

ring HQ and ask them that they would know better or else go on to gra.ie and look at the payment section and that will give u an idea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭itsallgood

Just noticed that Garda recruitment has been removed from under the latest information section of publicjobs.ie.

Maybe they're getting it ready to put up in featured jobs, which would indicate something is happening.

Just my opinion as its been in the latest information section since minister announced the upcoming campaign

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Jypo1

itsallgood wrote: »
    Just noticed that Garda recruitment has been removed from under the latest information section of publicjobs.ie.

Maybe they're getting it ready to put up in featured jobs, which would indicate something is happening.

Just my opinion as its been in the latest information section since minister announced the upcoming campaign

Someone else mentioned that aswell on here. They were also doing maintenance on the site. Fingers crossed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭shampon

I think they were doing maintenance...nothing more nothing less.