Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

eroo wrote: »
    I see that went over your head! :D

google it!

Only kiddin man, just very bored, been sitting waiting since may 08!!! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭da__flash

Devil08 wrote: »
    Why....Use.....Dots....between ......words???? ;)

someone clearly isnt a joker;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Topic......back.......on.......?????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 934 ✭✭✭C-J

As much as i've been 'content' sitting back and waiting for the end of this godforsaken moratorium, i'v really come to the end of my tether. I pride myself on my patience but the last few weeks i've just had itchy feet waiting for my phone to start ringing or waiting for some sort of news from anywhere. After the gra conference i couldn't have been happier and really thought that the ball had began rolling, but it seems that ball has hit a wee pothole and is stuck! I don't know if it's just me but the past few weeks i've become very impatient, and i'm sick of people asking me 'any news'. I needed a bit of a rant guys so thanks for letting me get it out of my system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Ruairi88

CJ 1st of all I repesct that your a member for like 5 years just get that out....I don't think it has hit a pot hole in fairness Publicjobs said it would be launching in a few weeks and I don't think It will be long more maybe another 3-4 weeks tops. Minister for justice said that it will be launched towards the end of the summer so at least we have it to look forward too.

Don't know about you but im glad that the days of uncertainty are behind us. At least we know there is a campaign coming and although competitive it gives me and Im sure every othe guy and gal on boards a bit of Hope and something to fight and look forward to!.

Roll on Garda campaign 2010!!!!!.

Ruairi88 wrote: »
    CJ 1st of all I repesct that your a member for like 5 years just get that out....I don't think it has hit a pot hole in fairness Publicjobs said it would be launching in a few weeks and I don't think It will be long more maybe another 3-4 weeks tops. Minister for justice said that it will be launched towards the end of the summer so at least we have it to look forward too.

Don't know about you but im glad that the days of uncertainty are behind us. At least we know there is a campaign coming and although competitive it gives me and Im sure every othe guy and gal on boards a bit of Hope and something to fight and look forward to!.

Roll on Garda campaign 2010!!!!!.

haha well i'm one of the may 08 gang i'm afraid, everything completed, even got laser surgery done last year! Oh btw guys i was chatting to my local td at the weekend (who's due to be announced as one of fgs front bench) he said he'll get answers out of minister Ahern before summer recess. This guy is relentless so hopefully! Gotta love our desperation at this stage when we're gettin politicians involved :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Koku

pento wrote: »
    I want to join the guards as I enjoy helping people and its an honorable and varied career. Look I dont want to berate you or be "mean", but I think you should probably place less emphasis on joining a specialist unit. As things stand, you aren't even eligible to join the guards as a trainee, let alone a specialist unit, you're number 1 priority should be to get leaving cert maths, then apply, do your best to get in, and then work very hard for 3 years. Then is the time to start thinking about applying to join a specialist unit. Good luck with it.

I would respectfully disagree, I feel that everyone should have goals, its what motivates you to always do better, I wouldnt have started out in college saying ill work hard and see where it gets me, I would have a plan in place, with goals that had to be achieved within a certain time frame. I fully appreciate that not everything goes according to plan and that alot of people probably enter the guards with dreams of working in specialised units, while you must be realistic in your expectations, if you dont expect much you may not achieve much. I feel that if you set out from day one to mould yourself into someone that a specialised unit would want to recruit your half way there. After a phd i cant really go any further with legal qualifications but i will consider qualifiying as a solicitor also. I also intend to undertake distance learning courses on crime scene investigation etc, you can do these in 6 months. I have seen a few of these advertised. I always think you can present yourself better, it just takes time.

Koku wrote: »
    I would respectfully disagree, I feel that everyone should have goals, its what motivates you to always do better, I wouldnt have started out in college saying ill work hard and see where it gets me, I would have a plan in place, with goals that had to be achieved within a certain time frame. I fully appreciate that not everything goes according to plan and that alot of people probably enter the guards with dreams of working in specialised units, while you must be realistic in your expectations, if you dont expect much you may not achieve much. I feel that if you set out from day one to mould yourself into someone that a specialised unit would want to recruit your half way there. After a phd i cant really go any further with legal qualifications but i will consider qualifiying as a solicitor also. I also intend to undertake distance learning courses on crime scene investigation etc, you can do these in 6 months. I have seen a few of these advertised. I always think you can present yourself better, it just takes time.

Nothing goes according to plan in AGS.....

I thought you said you were a qualified barrister??? So you have a law degree (or KI diploma course) and have done the BL at hon society of Kings Inn?? Qualified suggests you have been called to the bar and done your year of deviling??

Now you want to go BACK to blackhall place and become a solicitor???

Hang in there CJ I'm sure within the next month or two ye guys will definately hear word. It was set in stone they want to pull another 100 in before the x-mas so it's looking good for you. I'd love to and love not to be in your position love to as a call to the Garda College is imminent love not to as you have done some serious waiting but look it's nearly all over and I hope you get the call soon!. There isn't that many left in the back log!. It's looking good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Koku

I thought you said you were a qualified barrister??? So you have a law degree (or KI diploma course) and have done the BL at hon society of Kings Inn?? Qualified suggests you have been called to the bar and done your year of deviling??

I have an arts degree - 3 years (legal science and social and political studies) , then i did the LLB in one year, usually a two year course but if you get a certain percentage average you can do it in one year, then i did the Kings Inn in one year, i think this has since been changed to a two year course. I get my Barrister-at-law degree in 2007 and took my call to the bar thereafter.

I have heard that the entrance exams to Blackhall are more difficult than the entrance exams to Kings Inns so I would like to do them for that reason, Im also employed as an in-house legal advisor for a private company and I understand that if you work in a legal role for 3 years you can apply to cross over to become a solicitor, you may be exempt from taking some/all entrance exams if you apply this way, Im not sure if i would go down this route though because I would always wonder if I would have been good enough to pass. If I didnt apply for the guards I would probably go the solicitor route eventually as I have also been considering trying to work with the DPP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Abed

You don't have to do the FE1 exams to be a solicitor if you are already a barrister practicing for 3 years. you only need an application, a letter from kings Inns, short training, and some procedural paperwork.

This is off the topic anyway, can we stick to the point "Garda recruitment".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

anyway back on topic........

for those worried about aptitude tests and not sure what course if any you want to do here is some free help!

[EMAIL="http://www.shldirect.com/"]http://www.shldirect.com/[/EMAIL]

Abed wrote: »
    You don't have to do the FE1 exams to be a solicitor if you are already a barrister practicing for 3 years. you only need an application, a letter from kings Inns, short training, and some procedural paperwork.

This is off the topic anyway, can we stick to the point "Garda recruitment".

That I honestly didn't know

In regards your off topic comment......last time I checked I was the moderator. Read the forum charter again before posting please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭gamby

what is the aptitude test for the gards?

I was looking on a website there with verbal test, numerical reasoning test, and Inductive reasoning test......

Is it a combination of these and other tests or is there just one of them?

gamby

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 pento

Koku, I hope any of the specialist units you hope to join don't involve undercover work as you've certainly blown your cover here! Mind telling us what your other 2 degrees are in?

Pento stop grilling the girl on her personal qualifications. We spend all year waiting for word and the minute we get it we are dragged of point!.

Gamby it's a combination of all 3 . To put in in simpler form the numerical is like shapes following a sequence or pattern not 2 bad but the time limit can get you . Inductive is like here's a typical ques...are you punctual?
    answers. Very I am somtimes or never natuarally you will say you are very punctual. Then job simulation will be lets say if your patrolling by yourself and notice youths been anti-social ques cud be (1) itervene (2) stop and call for back up or (3) call for back up and intervene without waiting for back up!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭gamby

thanks Ruairi88

another question...
    dunno where i heard it but is there a bunch of people that passed the first stage all ready last year that are still waiting on the second stage because there was a freeze on recruitment or something ?

gamby wrote: »
    thanks Ruairi88

another question...
    dunno where i heard it but is there a bunch of people that passed the first stage all ready last year that are still waiting on the second stage because there was a freeze on recruitment or something ?

i'm not entirely sure on this and stand to be corrected but i would certainly assume that there are those who were awaiting calls for interview when recruitment freeze came into effect, the further you are down the list as regards results from stage one the longer it takes to be called for interview, so i would guess that there are people in that situation. Haven't met any of them on here as of yet, but i'm sure somebody knows the answer to this question better than me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Newboy9

For any of the older hopeful applicants I have recieved the following information from the Garda Appointments office:

The cut off date for the upper age limit is based on the applicant being 34 years old on the 1st day of the month in which the competition is announced.

Now dont confuse this with the date of the current public jobs announcement. It applies to the competition only and not the expression of interest.

Best of luck to all the auld lads and ones!!! (like me);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭tinofapples

Newboy9 wrote: »
    For any of the older hopeful applicants I have recieved the following information from the Garda Appointments office:

The cut off date for the upper age limit is based on the applicant being 34 years old on the 1st day of the month in which the competition is announced.

Now dont confuse this with the date of the current public jobs announcement. It applies to the competition only and not the expression of interest.

Best of luck to all the auld lads and ones!!! (like me);)

The 29th August (When I hit 34) is fast approaching :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 pento

then you have 12 months from august to sit the aptitude test, sounds like its inclusive of 34. no need to look so angry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

Just read over on the PSNI Recruitment forum there that there's talk of a freeze up there. There could possibly be another rather large batch registering their interest in the shiny new Garda Recruitment competition if that happens, AGS might be a very good alternative for PSNI hopefuls. I wouldn't blame them, I certainly wouldn't wish that 'freeze' wait on anyone. So just make sure you are properly prepared for every stage of the process. Competition will be fierce this time around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭shampon

Blue Belle wrote: »
    Just read over on the PSNI Recruitment forum there that there's talk of a freeze up there. There could possibly be another rather large batch registering their interest in the shiny new Garda Recruitment competition if that happens, AGS might be a very good alternative for PSNI hopefuls. I wouldn't blame them, I certainly wouldn't wish that 'freeze' wait on anyone. So just make sure you are properly prepared for every stage of the process. Competition will be fierce this time around.

I applied to the PSNI because I failed the Garda Interview twice and felt applying for the PSNI aswell as being a Reserf would look good at the interview for the AGS third time round,got the PSNI one at this campaign and the wham...a nice swift kick in the bollocks off Matt Baggot on Thursday night. Gutted does not even cut the way I feel.
    I have already registered my interest in Public Jobs since failing the last interview.

Hey Shampn was looking for Announcements by the P.S.N.I what's up have they hit the same brick wall as AGS did nearly 2 years ago?

Ruairi88 wrote: »
    Hey Shampn was looking for Announcements by the P.S.N.I what's up have they hit the same brick wall as AGS did nearly 2 years ago?

Yeah man it seems that way at them moment. Though with the way things are I can only hope and pray that the Government's come to their senses. It is a good thing, I guess, as it will weed out all the people who appiled for the bull**** reasons. Which is always good. I cant see the PSNI having to suspend recruitment for as long as the AGS, it makes no visible sense and i'm sure the policitcal ramifications would be huge.

I was talking to a friend of mine, (who when we were in School gave me an awful lot of stick about wanting to join the PSNI/AGS), and once he heard the hugley unrealistic 15,000 lark, he removed himself from the process of both the AGS and the GR, talk about having no backbone, in it for the laugh and just wasting time. So you can guess that when push comes to shove many of the Fifteen Billion that have applied for the AGS will drop out because they have not thought about the sacrfices that have to be made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Jypo1

shampon wrote: »
    Yeah man it seems that way at them moment. Though with the way things are I can only hope and pray that the Government's come to their senses. It is a good thing, I guess, as it will weed out all the people who appiled for the bull**** reasons. Which is always good. I cant see the PSNI having to suspend recruitment for as long as the AGS, it makes no visible sense and i'm sure the policitcal ramifications would be huge.

I was talking to a friend of mine, (who when we were in School gave me an awful lot of stick about wanting to join the PSNI/AGS), and once he heard the hugley unrealistic 15,000 lark, he removed himself from the process of both the AGS and the GR, talk about having no backbone, in it for the laugh and just wasting time. So you can guess that when push comes to shove many of the Fifteen Billion that have applied for the AGS will drop out because they have not thought about the sacrfices that have to be made.

I dont think it matters how many people register interest or apply this time around , i would say the amount of people that are deadly serious about joining is the same as any other campaign, and its the people who do the preperation work that will be successful. Alot of people will show up on the day, hope for the best and wont care either way.

Jypo1 wrote: »
    I dont think it matters how many people register interest or apply this time around , i would say the amount of people that are deadly serious about joining is the same as any other campaign, and its the people who do the preperation work that will be successful. Alot of people will show up on the day, hope for the best and wont care either way.

I agree with that...I'm just saying from my experience that many people apply on a whim and as you said hope for the best, but the media will make a huge deal out the numbers that apply no matter what...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Newboy9

Spoke to a gda friend of mine who said that 2 of his classmates were 37 when they arrived in templemore so its up to the boss as to when you get to start training as long as you are eligible for the competetion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 CiaraAB

hey everybody,
    Sorry now, i know people have probably gone through all this in previous posts but the thoughts of going through 186 pages of post doesnt seem fun.
    I just want to know has anyone heard ANYTHING since setting there job alert on the Public Jobs website?

Would appreciate a reply.
    Thankd:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 colmwills5

Jus keep an eye here and your e.mail and you won,t miss it, im waiting to, it can,t come quick enough at this stage.