Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭gigity gigity

Do they keep you on a panel until you get in or can they send you a dear john at any time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

Jypo1 wrote: »
    Guys, you know when the email comes through to us from public jobs to apply, usually does the aptitude test come around quickly i.e within a couple of weeks of that email? Reason i ask is i want to do a course for the aptitude but i want to hang on until i can save up a few quid, so if the email came though in the morning say would i still have time to do a course?

Hi Jypo, say for example if the email came through in the morning it might advise you to call the phone number on say friday to book your aptitude test. The aptitude tests usually run for about 3 or 4 wks and you would have a few (about 3 or 4 from memory) wks before they start also. They then provide some practice material on the public jobs website so you have an idea of what to expect on the day. Once you have your date for the test I would say book your course then. The courses will start running when the competition opens until the tests are finished. With the huge volume of people applying though I would make sure you have your name down to do one sooner than later though. With my course I paid on the day (although I may have paid a deposit I cant quite remember :) ) Hope that helps anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭itsallgood

Do they keep you on a panel until you get in or can they send you a dear john at any time?

No, the Minister for Justice has stated the panel will be kept and used to fill the upcoming intakes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭thelongwait

yes, he did say that, but keep in mind, 1 thing that seemed to be on every form and letter i received from them was that the commissioner reserves the right to refuse anybody entry to ags at any time. its very unlikely the would drop any1 after the minister said they wouldnt but who knows what there capable of doing.

Just having a quick google round and noticed one of the Aptitude Course companies are advertising dates and locations for 1 day aptitude test courses running from July right through the end of August.

Now, I ain't no detective (yet ;) ) But that sounds to me like the competition could go live around the start of July giving a few weeks for people to get their dates etc.. with the Aptitude Tests then running through to the end of August. Just a hunch, but that looks likely.

Now if only I could figure out when the intake will be....

If anyone has heard any rumours or inside info they wish to share with me via pm, I will be the sole of discretion. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Blue Belle wrote: »
    If anyone has heard any rumours or inside info they wish to share with me via pm, I will be the sole of discretion. :p

Ya....I heard from somebody whos in the know (cant say who of course its super duper top secret etc) that Santa Clause is REAL!!!:eek::eek: Intel suggest he is living in North County Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Ya....I heard from somebody whos in the know (cant say who of course its super duper top secret etc) that Santa Clause is REAL!!!:eek::eek: Intel suggest he is living in North County Dublin.

A mod going off topic??:eek: :p

eroo wrote: »
    A mod going off topic??:eek: :p

Hey....she wanted a rumor!!!

(and im only a mod if I post in regards a mod issue....normally in bold....cause it means you are!!!! Otherwise im just another poster that can ban everyone:pac::p)

So I've been reading the recommendations made by the Training Review Group, with regards to pre selection requirements for applying to AGS.

This is my view on the recommendations, take from it what you will..

Certification of ability to swim..
    It is recommended that certification in swimming to an agreed standard with a recognised
    qualification
    is a pre-selection requirement for entry to An Garda Síochána.
    Seeing as nothibg has been agreed yet, it would be highly unlikely for AGS to launch a campaign and expect people to be certified with a specific swimming organisation or to seek certification in a matter of weeks.

The first aid does seem likely as a requirement. Contrary to many rumours, it seems Basic First Aid would suffice.
    It is recommended that garda applicants have a first-aid certification. Proficiency in first
    aid is a necessary component of an officer safety course. There are specific requirements
    of ‘police first aid’, which will build upon the basic first-aid pre-selection requirement.
    Basic first-aid courses[] are widely available in Ireland and should be a pre-selection
    requirement allowing student/probationer gardaí training to focus on ‘police first aid’.

Manual handling seems likely as it is very easy to get a course done.
    It is recommended that certification in manual handling is a pre-selection requirement to
    An Garda Síochána. Manual handling is a course that is available nationwide within
    ‘safe pass’ training

Full drivers license seems likely too, and makes sense imo if they plan on introducing driver training into new training programme.

Computer certification
    However, it is the view of the Review Group that it is
    reasonable to expect new entrants to have a minimum level of IT skills. The European
    computer driving licence (ECDL) training would provide a standardised minimum level
    of computer skills prior to entry to An Garda Síochána
    This is one that I believe makes sense, but I cannot see it coming in. Why? Because ECDL courses are hard to come by at times and can be pricey.. and long in duration.

140 CAO points.. no real major change there from previous requirements.

These are just my own summations, but I feel that these requirements will not be introduced for this campaign as it is too short notice. Maybe they will be introduced in the future.

Only time will tell;)

Well now I know you're lying coz Santa Claus would never live on the north side ;-)
    Spot the dude whos already in the job, its all Santa Claus and sugar plumbs in your world isnt it NGA? Little to worry about... :D

Blue Belle wrote: »
    Well now I know you're lying coz Santa Claus would never live on the north side ;-)
    Spot the dude whos already in the job, its all Santa Claus and sugar plumbs in your world isnt it NGA? Little to worry about... :D

LOL.....ye'll be here shortly...very shortly my presious!!!

Its all ice cream and take aways in my world.....as I try to fight back all the honezzzzz after the clubs!!!!

LOL.....ye'll be here shortly...very shortly my presious!!!

Its all ice cream and take aways in my world.....as I try to fight back all the honezzzzz after the clubs!!!!

So thats you outside Coppers......thought you were a legend the first few times i saw you but now its just pervey:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Cullen82

How does one get a certificate to swim anyway, The only courses i have found re this are in terms of Lifeguard Courses which are obviously not going to be expected.

If someone can swim (quite well), Do you think they will they be expected to take a "learn to swim class" just for a certificate???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭klong

If there is a swimming requirement added, it would form part of the fitness test; presumably something like swimming distance X in time Y, along with treading water for another period of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Henrys Grimey Paws

Hi I've been following this thread for quite a while and I'm looking into getting either a 1 day course or home study course for the Garda aptitude test (or possibly both) I'd really appreciate it if someone could pm me with their reommendations for where to take these courses as there's a few different ones around when you search it on google and was just wondering which ones ye lot would recommend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭gamby

Hi I've been following this thread for quite a while and I'm looking into getting either a 1 day course or home study course for the Garda aptitude test (or possibly both) I'd really appreciate it if someone could pm me with their reommendations for where to take these courses as there's a few different ones around when you search it on google and was just wondering which ones ye lot would recommend?

Could i get a pm of this too if anyone has any recommendations ??

Also if you have any Basic first-aid courses that you might recommend ??

Or even anything that might look good on an interview?

gamby

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Koku

I have been following the postings on this thread for a while and wonder would anyone have the answer to the following query. Is it a strict requirement that you have passed maths in the leaving cert. to gain entry to the guards. Im a qualified barrister, i have three degrees and im starting a phd in Sept. but I have extreme difficulty with complicated maths (algabra etc), I failed maths in the leaving cert. I got into college through the access course.

Any information would be appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 pento

why are you trying to qualify yourself to people here by saying you have 3 degrees and are a barrister? None of that matters, at the end of the day if you do not meet the basic requirements which includes leaving cert maths you are not elligible to join. It doesn't matter if you have 10 degrees and are best friends with robocop, if you dont have the basic requirements you cannot join the guards. No offence by the way...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭da__flash

Koku wrote: »
    I have been following the postings on this thread for a while and wonder would anyone have the answer to the following query. Is it a strict requirement that you have passed maths in the leaving cert. to gain entry to the guards. Im a qualified barrister, i have three degrees and im starting a phd in Sept. but I have extreme difficulty with complicated maths (algabra etc), I failed maths in the leaving cert. I got into college through the access course.

If you do not pass in leaving cert maths you are not able to join simple as that so i d say you'll just have to study your PHD and leaving cert maths in sept if you want to join AGS.

pento wrote: »
    why are you trying to qualify yourself to people here by saying you have 3 degrees and are a barrister? None of that matters, at the end of the day if you do not meet the basic requirements which includes leaving cert maths you are not elligible to join. It doesn't matter if you have 10 degrees and are best friends with robocop, if you dont have the basic requirements you cannot join the guards. No offence by the way...

The person was just asking a question and probably mentioned the degrees+barrister because there is a mention of possible exemptions in the requirements.

As da flash said, you will probably have to re take maths in the leaving cert next year.

pento wrote: »

He asked a question, the poster has a right to. no need to have a go at him.....

Warning infraction issued

He asked a question, the poster has a right to. no need to have a go at him.....

Warning infraction issued

*Snip*
    Do not question a moderator on forum... breach of forum charter, infraction issued
    NGA

The man is a barrister with 3 degrees and going for a phd.
    We should be asking him for advice on things that are set in law, the only thing he should be concerned about is the age limit.

Koku, go get your maths, you dont need it at a high level and you have a year to get it. Best of luck and hope it works out for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 crusifixio2000

adrianjc20 wrote: »
    I would not believe anything from anyone until I have a firm phone call from HQ. The last 6 months have been nothing but rumour after rumour. My aunt heard from the postman who's sister is friends with the brother of a nurse whos married to a Garda, Bull****e. Give your nerves a holiday, at least till after budget.

To me, you ve made one of the funniest and greatest statment stating''The last 6 months have been nothing but rumour after rumour. My aunt heard from the postman who's sister is friends with the brother of a nurse whos married to a Garda, Bull****e. Give your nerves a holiday, at least till after budget''..I can stop laughing about it..well done haha

x PyRo wrote: »
    But if i dropped out would it go against me ?

My Father's a Garda and he says it will, But he's desperate for me to stay in College regardless. Which I'll only do if it hinders my chances of getting into the Gardai.

I suggest that you ask your father really how it is going to hinder your chances. I would love to hear from a member like your father to know exactly how things may go wrong shoulf you drop out of college. I am currently in college and wishes to apply for the next garda recruitment.

Hey i was the same when i applied back in May 08. I had intended to leave half way through my course as i hated it too but was strongly advised against it by some members as it could come against you in your application for AGS. So thats what i did do and im finishing up my course this May and im delighted i did now looking back.

P.S. I know a lad who applied a few years back who had dropped out of college and got a grilling in his interview about it. He wasnt sucessful either, im not saying that it was the reason why either.

Hope that helps anyway:cool:

How is it going to come against you in your application? are they gonna think that you re a quitter or something? you did not commit a crime for dropping out of college for something that you love and something that is right is it?

TheNog wrote: »
    Courses are not the only thing you should be doing. There are lots and lots of things you should be doing. When I applied 5 yrs ago I spent about 8 months preparing myself for every aspect of the recruitment.

My advice:

for the aptitude test start doing the free online tests and keep doing them over and over and over and over. Make sure to do the tests with time limits whether the time is set by the test itself or set a time limit yourself. The aptitude test is a very important first step and it is paramount that you get it right on the day. The really good score here will set you up for an early interview.

Hi, for the free online test, could you tell me on how and where to do it?..do you have the web address for it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭thelongwait

on the dropping out of college subject.

i dropped out of college and then applied for guards. so it could have been argued that i only applied cause i wasnt able for college. i still passed the interview, and didnt get grilled over it. <mod snip> i did 1 of the interview courses and they told me how to use it to my advantage.

i'm not saying you should drop out but if you are really not happy in your course and decide to, then its not completely ruining your chances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Ruairi88

Koku I do find it hard to understand that a man or lady of your intelligence has not passed maths. I failed maths 1st time and went back and put the work in. I went from an "E" student to a c1 student in the space of a year and I only hav an ordinary degree in applied social studies in social care. You MUST have maths in your leaving certificate in order to apply for the guards. I'm speaking from personal experience.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,893 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

I sent the OP a PM reminding him that a combination of all his studies so far might satisfy the following requirement:

"Like Grades in another examination, which, in the opinion of the Minister for Justice, Equality & Law Reform, is not of a lower standard than the above."

I suggested that the OP take a look at the syllabus for LC Maths at Foundation Level because he might have inadvertently exceeded the standard in his third level studies without knowing it.

Koku wrote:

As psni suggested you should double check that. Your qualifications could far outweigh the Leaving Cert standard for all we know. This might be useful
    http://www.publicjobs.ie/publicjobs/downloads/08012_Notes_for_Candidates.pdf
    Page 4 has entry requirements.
    Applicants wishing to present alternative qualifications should note that alternative qualification must still contain qualification in mathematics and two languages, one of which must be Irish or English.
    It also advises you contact the National Qualification Authority of Ireland at info@nqai.ie to see if your qualification is comparable.
    For anyone reading that document though, this is "Notes for Candidates" for the last competition so any or all of that document could change for the next one for all I know.

Best of luck with the application ;)