Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 collig2

Was just wondering if the next recruitment will be focused on people already in the 'system'? (i.e have done their medicals and interviews etc. in a previous drive). Or will it be open to both sets of candidates..?

Cheers in advance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 GearoidOM

Alright lads hows the form:)....can anybody give me info on the garda aptitude test and the interview,like what questions will be asked etc...also info on whos the best course provider for doing a pre exam/interview...thanks alot lads..pm me...cheers:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭da__flash

collig2 wrote: »
    Was just wondering if the next recruitment will be focused on people already in the 'system'? (i.e have done their medicals and interviews etc. in a previous drive). Or will it be open to both sets of candidates..?

Cheers in advance!

no one really knows whats around the corner to be honest its just a matter of sitting and waiting now again until we get more offical news. i would assume that people in the system will be taken in first and then a new campign will begin

GearoidOM wrote: »
    Alright lads hows the form:)....can anybody give me info on the garda aptitude test and the interview,like what questions will be asked etc...also info on whos the best course provider for doing a pre exam/interview...thanks alot lads..pm me...cheers:)

u ll find all here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055289425. as for the courses its up to each person no one fits all ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭rossi272

does anyone know approx. numbers of how many applied for the last few recruitment drives and while we're at it hazard a guess as to how many people will apply for the next one.....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

rossi272 wrote: »
    does anyone know approx. numbers of how many applied for the last few recruitment drives and while we're at it hazard a guess as to how many people will apply for the next one.....:D

Take the last ones at 10,000 - 15,000 or so each time.

This time it will be more like 25-30,000 I would guess......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭klong

rossi272 wrote: »
    hazard a guess as to how many people will apply for the next one.....:D

hmm...how long is a piece of string? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭rossi272

klong wrote: »
    Wow thats a great guess!!!
    Guess:
    verb
    to arrive at or commit oneself to an opinion about (something) without having sufficient evidence to support the opinion fully

klong wrote: »

I dont know.....how long did you cut it???:rolleyes::rolleyes:

(I hate these:rolleyes:!!!:mad::mad:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭ForeverYoung90

Take the last ones at 10,000 - 15,000 or so each time.

This time it will be more like 25-30,000 I would guess......
    And roughly how many places are there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭clayton1

A lot a lot of speculation and hear-say on here about Garda recruitment on many different counts. I would advise people not to read much into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

And roughly how many places are there?

there is no set number of places its purely what the budget allows, im sure garda management had their way they would have a class of 400 like the good aul days but i doubt it

shakin wrote: »
    there is no set number of places its purely what the budget allows, im sure garda management had their way they would have a class of 400 like the good aul days but i doubt it

Looking at the past the Minimum average class was 100.......where as the excellerated recruitment was about 300 (average...it rose to 370 at one stage)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭ForceOfNature

hey folks,
    in may 2008 i did my aptitude test and my interview and i passed.
    then i heard about the freeze. I rang up and asked what the story was regarding people who have already passed the interview.
    I was told that when the recruitment drive becomes inactive that i will have to start from the very start again.
    So is anybody in the same situation or does anyone know where i stand??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 jmcc89

Hi all, Im new here and i dont know if im posting in the right place so let me know if im doing anything wrong!

Like most of u my dream is to be a garda, but there is a couple of things that are demotivating me.
    firstly, I received an adult caution about 2 years ago at the start of college, there was 5 of us involved they went to court(i didnt) and it was throw out because lack of evidence,
    secondly, I received a fine for no tax a while back.

None of this reflects my character and my question is what are my chances of even being considered during recruitment if at all!

I really hope this isnt a definite no no!

thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭michealc_87

hey folks,
    then i heard about the freeze. I rang up and asked what the story was regarding people who have already passed the interview.
    I was told that when the recruitment drive becomes inactive that i will have to start from the very start again.

Did you do your interveiw in May aswel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 redmons2

hey folks,

I am in the same boat waiting to be called for medical and physical. I rang the hq a week ago and they told me that we would still be live on the system when the drive was active again. So they seem to be given out different answers unless they have changed there mind in a week which would be a disaster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭ForceOfNature

micheal87 - sorry i actually did my aptitude test in may 08 and did my interview in sep 08

redmons2 - well that aint so bad because it was over a year ago when i rang hq and was told that. so there may be some hope for us after all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Ruginator

jmcc89 wrote: »
    Hi all, Im new here and i dont know if im posting in the right place so let me know if im doing anything wrong!

Like most of u my dream is to be a garda, but there is a couple of things that are demotivating me.
    firstly, I received an adult caution about 2 years ago at the start of college, there was 5 of us involved they went to court(i didnt) and it was throw out because lack of evidence,
    secondly, I received a fine for no tax a while back.

None of this reflects my character and my question is what are my chances of even being considered during recruitment if at all!

I really hope this isnt a definite no no!

thanks!

There is a place on the form you fill out after you pass the interview when they are doing a backround check on both you and your family about any dealings you've had with the guards, the fact that you'll have to put these down and won't get a chance to talk your way around it id be very surprised if you make it in.
    If you leave them out they will both appear on PULSE garda computer system, unless you know someone highup you will be rejected in my opinion. A friend had a problem with a family member and was rejected on this basis despite being in the top 100 in the aptitude test and having no criminal convictions himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 candy girl c

not true ruginator! he has no criminal convictions. only his friends where charged and he was'nt. also no tax is not a criminal offence, it's a road traffic offence. i know people who have gotten into the guards with a drink driving offence so he should definately go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Locust

I know a few people in the job who had bad run in's with Gardai prior to joining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Saxobank

Ruginator wrote: »
    There is a place on the form you fill out after you pass the interview when they are doing a backround check on both you and your family about any dealings you've had with the guards, the fact that you'll have to put these down and won't get a chance to talk your way around it id be very surprised if you make it in.
    If you leave them out they will both appear on PULSE garda computer system, unless you know someone highup you will be rejected in my opinion. A friend had a problem with a family member and was rejected on this basis despite being in the top 100 in the aptitude test and having no criminal convictions himself.

Wrong again ruginator...Talking about shoot a man while hes down, since when does an adult caution mean refusal to the Guards....??

JMCC89, You'll be grand, there would be a few members who may have been in trouble or arrested and received adult cautions before and they got in no bother.. make sure to mention it in the form when you get asked about previous deadlings with the Garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭ForeverYoung90

Hi I was just wondering if a two year higher certificate qualifies for increments?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 jmcc89

Saxobank wrote: »
    Wrong again ruginator...Talking about shoot a man while hes down, since when does an adult caution mean refusal to the Guards....??

JMCC89, You'll be grand, there would be a few members who may have been in trouble or arrested and received adult cautions before and they got in no bother.. make sure to mention it in the form when you get asked about previous deadlings with the Garda.

Thanks all for the feedback, i feel a bit better now, but its still hard to know especially now that the competition is going to be fierce, its not going to help!!
    At least i know its not a definite NO, and i wont be doing all the preperation for nothing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Simpleton

I've a simple question. Has there been a new recruiting campaign recently?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 mini--c

last one i remember was about 2 and half years ago, the ban that was imposed by the government has been lifted tho and there will be one this year, but one is just a guessing game for now

Simpleton wrote: »
    I've a simple question. Has there been a new recruiting campaign recently?

i have a simple answer No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Simpleton

Thanks for that. A friend of mine (Garda) told me that there had been a competition recently. He's obviously mistaken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 mini--c

he prob ment there is one coming up because i was told the other week it had started by a garda mate of mine but he just meant ter was one coming up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 ChopperLambe

how many of yous after waiting around since may 2008 joined the garda reserves??????