Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭clayton1

woohoo wrote: »
    How do you know this is for "fresh applicants"?

well thats what i presume, why else would dermot aherne say "Minister for Justice Dermot Ahern says recruitment in the Gardaí will re-start before the end of the year."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Mainistir

klong wrote: »
    And why? Nobody still left has been offered a job, sad to say.

Very true....but it wouldnt look good turning around to 300 odd people saying sorry start again, but is suppose stranger things have happened

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭itsallgood

clayton1 wrote: »
    well thats what i presume, why else would dermot aherne say "Minister for Justice Dermot Ahern says recruitment in the Gardaí will re-start before the end of the year."

you cant just put something in quotes cause its your opinion or what your hoping.
    podsieboy is right.....by the time they have exams, interviews, background checks and med then pct anyone not in the system will be waiting roughly a year from the date you apply.
    This will apply to all of us so stop argueing over who is involved and who isnt.....its common sense

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭michealc_87

Great news delighted Dermot Ahern has confirmed it. I was beginning to think this day would never come. Time to hit the gym im thinking :D:D:D

ok, maybe i am missing something here.... So if recruitment resuming towards the end of this year isn't relating to fresh applicants, are you saying it releates to candidates who have already done the medical etc?

Nah i wouldn't say so. I'd say they will be called already to do the next steps of application process and that they are eager to start fresh applicants (as per Aherne)... Thats my take, and seemingly most other peoples too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭podsieboy

what other stages is there to do after the medical and physical??only to be recruited is all thats left?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭itsallgood

ok, maybe i am missing something here.... So if recruitment resuming towards the end of this year isn't relating to fresh applicants, are you saying it releates to candidates who have already done the medical etc?

Nah i wouldn't say so. I'd say they will be called already to do the next steps of application process and that they are eager to start fresh applicants (as per Aherne)... Thats my take, and seemingly most other peoples too.

It appeals to everyone, even those in the system have yet to be recruited......noone is recruited till they start, we have applied and gotten through stages. Applying isn't recruiting, start training is recruiting......people will be recruited to train and people will be invited to apply for a recruitment campaign.
    how i missed you and your take on things:D....

Whether this applies to people waiting to start in templemore or whether its for new applicants we can argue the toss til the cows come home no one will know until the calls start coming.....so lets be happy we have good news for a change!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭I'm listening

And not sure how re-start means start from scratch... Its means to re-start from where it stop..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭spudz21

So can anyone hazard a guess as to when the actual recruitment drive (for those who haven't started the process!) will start?:D

Im thinking they will begin with an intake end of this yearr for all those in system and then a recruitment drive 2011 sometime!

Typical.....paid off the last of my travel costs yesterday (heading off the end of the year!) and then this was announced:p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭I'm listening

spudz21 wrote: »
    So can anyone hazard a guess as to when the actual recruitment drive (for those who haven't started the process!) will start?:D

Im thinking they will begin with an intake end of this yearr for all those in system and then a recruitment drive 2011 sometime!

Typical.....paid off the last of my travel costs yesterday (heading off the end of the year!) and then this was announced:p:p

Yeah sounds about right, but I wouldn't worry about it, do the travel and if something does come up its only a flight back..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 collig2

So whats the first step to take to be in with a chance of being recruited?..how/where to apply etc...

By the way I joined publicjobs and showed interest in the garda....should I have filled out some form or something?

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

collig2 wrote: »
    So whats the first step to take to be in with a chance of being recruited?..how/where to apply etc...

By the way I joined publicjobs and showed interest in the garda....should I have filled out some form or something?

Cheers

The first step is to join public jobs and register your interest in the guards. You have done that bit so now you have to wait on an email/ txt (depending which preference you chose) that informs you a drive is about to start. When it does you follow instructions to apply and call to book a date for your aptitude test. Dont take the aptitude test for granted, alot of people fall at this hurdle and your result in this will determine if and when you make it to interview stage. Best of luck with it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 collig2

Blue Belle wrote: »
    The first step is to join public jobs and register your interest in the guards. You have done that bit so now you have to wait on an email/ txt (depending which preference you chose) that informs you a drive is about to start. When it does you follow instructions to apply and call to book a date for your aptitude test. Dont take the aptitude test for granted, alot of people fall at this hurdle and your result in this will determine if and when you make it to interview stage. Best of luck with it :)

Cheers!..appreciate it!

collig2 wrote: »
    Cheers!..appreciate it!

bloody sure, i failed the apt test myself - cocky as hell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭we3gkfu6qit95s

hey folks basically i re-registered with public jobs but i cant quite figure out how to be notified when the new garda recruitment will start?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,154 ✭✭✭redsteveireland

hey folks basically i re-registered with public jobs but i cant quite figure out how to be notified when the new garda recruitment will start?

read the first section here
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055681811

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

Quick question, in relation to the leaving cert requirements, do you still need to have passed maths even if you've gone on and got a degree and would now be classed as a mature student?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

Id say you'll be grand. Employers generally look at your highest educational qualification, so theyll be saying 'ooh this guys got a degree' and not 'ahh this guy failed LC math in 19**'

Although anyone in the know feel free to correct me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 hurler_87

all this news has come at the wrong time... how am i meant to focus on my exams and read all these at the same time... :rolleyes:

• Moderators Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭x PyRo

I'm applying to join whenever they're accepting applications and I'm also trying to get into the reserves. What I'd like to know is if i dropped out of my college course would that be held against my chances ? I really despise the course I'm doing and want to get away and work for a while but if it hindered my chances of getting in to AGS I'd have to stay. Any ideas lads ?.

Cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

x PyRo wrote: »
    I'm applying to join whenever they're accepting applications and I'm also trying to get into the reserves. What I'd like to know is if i dropped out of my college course would that be held against my chances ? I really despise the course I'm doing and want to get away and work for a while but if it hindered my chances of getting in to AGS I'd have to stay. Any ideas lads ?.

Cheers.

Say nothin to no one about being in college, if you get through then leave college and if you dont, stay. A degree will always stand in your favour.

But if i dropped out would it go against me ?

My Father's a Garda and he says it will, But he's desperate for me to stay in College regardless. Which I'll only do if it hinders my chances of getting into the Gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭michealc_87

x PyRo wrote: »

Cheers.

Hey i was the same when i applied back in May 08. I had intended to leave half way through my course as i hated it too but was strongly advised against it by some members as it could come against you in your application for AGS. So thats what i did do and im finishing up my course this May and im delighted i did now looking back.

P.S. I know a lad who applied a few years back who had dropped out of college and got a grilling in his interview about it. He wasnt sucessful either, im not saying that it was the reason why either.

Hope that helps anyway:cool:

That's made up my mind Micheal, Thanks for your help.

Looks like I'll be completing my course! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Clarker09

Just wondering did any-one do any specific courses (e.g security,community work etc) because some-one advised me i should be doing certain courses like them to aid me geting into the guards and if so, could you pm me what you did.if its not to much trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Clarker09 wrote: »
    Just wondering did any-one do any specific courses (e.g security,community work etc) because some-one advised me i should be doing certain courses like them to aid me geting into the guards and if so, could you pm me what you did.if its not to much trouble.

Courses are not the only thing you should be doing. There are lots and lots of things you should be doing. When I applied 5 yrs ago I spent about 8 months preparing myself for every aspect of the recruitment.

My advice:

for the aptitude test start doing the free online tests and keep doing them over and over and over and over. Make sure to do the tests with time limits whether the time is set by the test itself or set a time limit yourself. The aptitude test is a very important first step and it is paramount that you get it right on the day. The really good score here will set you up for an early interview.

for the interview - read everything there is about AGS and I mean everything. You also need to talk to as many guards as you can about the job such as what it is like, rosters, roles, how it can affect your private life etc etc. You need to know your CV inside and out as well as the competencies you set out. Have someone look your CV and competencies objectively and anticipate likely questions or problem areas. Devise your answers accordingly. <mod snip>. Also to brush up on your interview skills, apply for as many jobs as you can find even if you have no interest in the job. You are looking for experience and believe me this experience will stand to you at the interview.

Fitness - start getting into shape

Folks, remember this competition will be fierce. 18,000 people applied for 1000 positions in 2005 when I applied and for 8 months of my life I was obsessed. I scored 187 nationally in the aptitude test and into the 4th group of interviews. My preparation was unbelieveable tbh and very time consuming but was well worth it in the end. For this recruitment drive I would expect in excess 25,000 people applying for just a few hundred places so dont be one of those people going in there on a wing and a prayer.

One other peice of advice, do not try to bluff your way through a difficult question at interview. You will be interviewed by a Superintendent amongest others who will see well past your bluffing and you will be out the door.

Good luck with it and start working on it. You have a long and very difficult road ahead of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

TheNog wrote: »
    Folks, remember this competition will be fierce. 18,000 people applied for 1000 positions in 2005 when I applied and for 8 months of my life I was obsessed. I scored 187 nationally in the aptitude test and into the 4th group of interviews. My preparation was unbelieveable tbh and very time consuming but was well worth it in the end. For this recruitment drive I would expect in excess 25,000 people applying for just a few hundred places so dont be one of those people going in there on a wing and a prayer.

Can I just echo everything theNog said. A1 post mate.

And just to add....when I did my aptitude test 11,000 people went for approx 700 places....I scored under 150 and was in the first intake. The point of us posting this.....be the best you can be. Follow The Nogs post to the tee.....and if you get time try get a few courses like swiming, first aid and manual handling under the belt.

Again, thenog....great post man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Cullen82

It may have been mentioned already but does anyone have any clues as to when they will start taking applications or more importantly when the test/interview stages might happen?

Can only take holidays in August/September but i'm presuming it will be before then right?

Cullen82 wrote: »
    It may have been mentioned already but does anyone have any clues as to when they will start taking applications or more importantly when the test/interview stages might happen?

Can only take holidays in August/September but i'm presuming it will be before then right?

I wouldnt hold my breath lad, they said recruitment will recommence at the end of the year, no one knows where this will be a new recruitment drive for fresh applicants or an intake to templemore (im hoping for the latter). Even if it is a new drive im thinking october/november, with the amount of people that will apply you could be looking at a few months for them to organise aptitude tests. This is all guess work as no one knows but if i were you id book the holidays, you are never more than 24 hours away, bar the ash cloud throwing a spanner in the works aswell. Im booked for hols in late august and fully intend on going except of course if i get the magical call to report to the college before then!