Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hate the English??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,266 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Rondolfus wrote: »
    Is that the best you can come up with? Seems to be a trend on this thread. If you can't think of an articulate logical response type something random with a face and people will think you're being all "ironic".

Fail.

It's no worse than coming up with some statement and not being able to back it up with verifiable facts and figures.

Your post is "ironic".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 374 ✭✭Rondolfus

RiverWilde wrote: »
    Ah yeah just the response I was expecting, 'if ya don't like it here ye can feck off.' It's okay that the problems with this country are endemic ... 'the difference is, 'we're Irish!'

Get off the stage.

Riv

Well it is pretty logical. You don't like a place why "punish" yourself? There are two types of people in this country, those who are striving to make things better and those who sit on the sideline complaining and slagging everything off. To be honest we can do without the latter.

I read in one of your posts that you'd prefer if Ireland was part of the UK...LOL That tells me everything I need to know about you... You're not the type pf person I want to be communicating with in any way.

Irelands trying to move forward and anyone who is not willing to roll up their sleeves and dig in should, as you put it, feck off. Traitors should do the same (not naming any names)...

ejmaztec wrote: »
    It's no worse than coming up with some statement and not being able to back it up with verifiable facts and figures.

Your post is "ironic".

And of course ALL your posts are backed up with facts and figures :rolleyes:. I've read through some of them and I don't think you're in any position to judge anybody lol

BTW how many facts and figures do you expect to find when you are participating in forum " do the Irish hate the English?" Its hardly bio-technology ffs.

Get off your high horse

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Are you aware of how contradictory the last few of your posts have been?

Ireland - oh forgive them for they know not what they do, it's all in the past, they didn't mean it.

England - hate, hate, evil, evil, rant, never forget, they are out to get me......etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭RiverWilde

Well it is pretty logical. You don't like a place why "punish" yourself? There are two types of people in this country, those who are striving to make things better and those who sit on the sideline complaining and slagging everything off. To be honest we can do without the latter.

I read in one of your posts that you'd prefer if Ireland was part of the UK...LOL That tells me everything I need to know about you... You're not the type pf person I want to be communicating with in any way.

Irelands trying to move forward and anyone who is not willing to roll up their sleeves and dig in should, as you put it, feck off. Traitors should do the same (not naming any names)...

No, whether or not Ireland is part of the UK is much of a muchness for me. Considering what we've done with the country since independence and the bitter internecine warfare that followed. It's been a time of wasted potential. We could have built a country based on tolerance and fairness. Instead we have what we have, which frankly does not inspire confidence.

Riv

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Ah in fairness, while there are some improvements to be made (and at least we have the freedom to moan about them) Ireland is hardly that bad a place to live overall. The way it can be depicted on these pages as some sort of banana republic - I've even seen it compared to China because of the censorship thing.
    Frankly, that's some funny sh1t. And more seriously, it's a bit of an insult to those who actually live in repressed societies - real repressed societies.

robinph wrote: »

Ireland - oh forgive them for they know not what they do, it's all in the past, they didn't mean it.

England - hate, hate, evil, evil, rant, never forget, they are out to get me......etc

LOL what a clever guy you are. Did you not see I pointed out this hypocrisy in an earlier post. That was my whole point!

So I assume you also agree that all the people hating Ireland for its past, but refuse to critique England for its past are hypocrites too???

And of course ALL your posts are backed up with facts and figures :rolleyes:. I've read through some of them and I don't think you're in any position to judge anybody lol

BTW how many facts and figures do you expect to find when you are participating in forum " do the Irish hate the English?" Its hardly bio-technology ffs.

Get off your high horse

Another mature response from Rondolfus.:pac:

No, whether or not Ireland is part of the UK is much of a muchness for me. Considering what we've done with the country since independence and the bitter internecine warfare that followed. It's been a time of wasted potential. We could have built a country based on tolerance and fairness. Instead we have what we have, which frankly does not inspire confidence.

Riv

It is clear that you have absolutley no sense of national pride at all. You come across ultra negative, which is not really the type of person people like being around. Its also not the type of person that gets things done. So if your so bitter about life at the moment, perhaps you should look inwards instead of blaming everything on the people/country around you.

Also If you think things would have been better under British rule, then I think your clutching at straws. Ireland has done pretty well for itself as a young small open economy. You talk about equality and fairness??? Do you think that existed in Britain prior to Ireland breaking away from the UK??

If independence never happened the North East of the country controlled by "loyal British subjects" would have continued sucking the resources from the rest. We would have endured a longer period of borderline poverty as the British, continued a subtle policy of discrimination. This is turn would have given the Catholic church even more a strangled hold over the vulnerable catholic people for a longer period of time. And you can guarantee some little trun-coat Irishmen would gladly sell out their own people and serve the crown of Britain. It is these "Irishmen" that would have been given positions of power. Nightmare scenario.

I had to assume that they were written by at least two people, each contradicting the others on the same point.:confused:

Another mature response from Rondolfus.:pac:

LOL here we go again. The old " I can't think of a decent response so i'll try say something really smart and use a smiley face" routine.

Yes ejmaztec , that'll really get the people on your side. The wit, the sarcasm, the downright recklessness! Please , master of the smiley face, teach me your ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

If independence never happened the North East of the country controlled by "loyal British subjects" would have continued sucking the resources from the rest. We would have endured a longer period of borderline poverty as the British, continued a subtle policy of discrimination. This is turn would have given the Catholic church even more a strangled hold over the vulnerable catholic people for a longer period of time. And you can guarantee some little trun-coat Irishmen would gladly sell out their own people and serve the crown of Britain. It is these "Irishmen" that would have been given positions of power. Nightmare scenario.

At least Dublin would have had a decent public transport system.

I had to assume that they were written by at least two people, each contradicting the others on the same point.:confused:

Good idea ejmaztec. Try to butter up some other posters. Evidently I'm too much for you do deal with alone. Maybe you can point out those witty little quips. I'm sure they'd appreciate them and think you're really cool.

At least Dublin would have had a decent public transport system.

We'd have an even better one if Germany had won WW2

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

So if your so bitter about life at the moment, perhaps you should look inwards instead of blaming everything on the people/country around you.

Hang on, is this really Rondolfus or has someone hijacked their account, they now seem to be criticising themselves?

Best add in a smiley now for added effect... but which one ... :pac:

Hang on, is this really Rondolfus or has someone hijacked their account, they now seem to be criticising themselves?

Best add in a smiley now for added effect... but which one ... :pac:

Judging by your grasp of that post you should have used:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭RiverWilde

It is clear that you have absolutley no sense of national pride at all. You come across ultra negative, which is not really the type of person people like being around. Its also not the type of person that gets things done. So if your so bitter about life at the moment, perhaps you should look inwards instead of blaming everything on the people/country around you.

Also If you think things would have been better under British rule, then I think your clutching at straws. Ireland has done pretty well for itself as a young small open economy. You talk about equality and fairness??? Do you think that existed in Britain prior to Ireland breaking away from the UK??

Better to be badly ruled by an Irish govt, is that it? I just think we can do better than that. What we have now is a political/business class that looks after itself and in consultation with the RC church rules in their favour. To hell with the rest of the country.

If you're saying was society divided prior to independence, if anything it's even more divided now. Those of us who want open, honest, equitable govt. which legislates impartially and allows individual citizens to make up their own mind and what we currently have. A govt. that is terrified to make difficult decisons because of the interference of 'interested groups.'

Considering what people went through to gain independence, what we have now is a pale shadow of what we could have. By that I mean a society that respects difference and legislates and provides for the whole of society. Not just those who bow to those in positions of authority.

Riv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

I wonder if there's a similar thread to this somewhere in the UK... "Hate the irish".. I also wonder would it be filled with as much bile...?

Good idea ejmaztec. Try to butter up some other posters. Evidently I'm too much for you do deal with alone. Maybe you can point out those witty little quips. I'm sure they'd appreciate them and think you're really cool.

There's no point in trying to handle a person who is obviously arguing with himself.

You continue to make incorrect assumptions.

I can't help making witty quips when I come across something that I find particularly amusing. Your posts remind me of the Oozlum bird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,547 ✭✭✭jacool

If there is one English person you like, then you can't hate the English.
    If you like Alan Smith, Robert Smith, Sydney Smith or The Smiths (all born in England) or if like me you've lived in England and met a few nice people, none called Smith though(?), then that's it.
    Feel free to insert Kelly Brook, Wayne Rooney, Harry Enfield, Ricky Gervais, Queen Elizabeth II, Lester Piggott or whoever. The last named is a huge sporting hero of mine, the first named the one most linked with the word "insert".

Better to be badly ruled by an Irish govt, is that it? I just think we can do better than that. What we have now is a political/business class that looks after itself and in consultation with the RC church rules in their favour. To hell with the rest of the country.

If you're saying was society divided prior to independence, if anything it's even more divided now. Those of us who want open, honest, equitable govt. which legislates impartially and allows individual citizens to make up their own mind and what we currently have. A govt. that is terrified to make difficult decisons because of the interference of 'interested groups.'

Considering what people went through to gain independence, what we have now is a pale shadow of what we could have. By that I mean a society that respects difference and legislates and provides for the whole of society. Not just those who bow to those in positions of authority.

Riv

I understand your concerns. And I agree with many of them. However, I don't think there is such thing as a perfect Government. I am totally pissed off with the current crop in charge. Thats the nature of democracy. Hopefully the next government will be better.

If you think they have it better in Britain then your wrong. Gordon Brown is just a more polished version of Cowen. Both unelected. Both fools. In the same way Cameron is a shallow little worm like Enda Kenny.

But there are people trying to make changes. You shouldn't just throw in the towel and say "everything is crap , we're all doomed, lets steep in this bath of self pity." Ireland is a great country with great people, and it will overcome anything thats put in its path.

There's no point in trying to handle a person who is obviously arguing with himself.

You continue to make incorrect assumptions.

I can't help making witty quips when I come across something that I find particularly amusing. Your posts remind me of the Oozlum bird.

I have no idea what a OOzlum bird is. Must be something only the "cool" kids know about.

"Incorrect assumptions" incorrect according to who?? You and your smiley faces??

Your posts remind me of David Brent for some reason... in particular David Brent doing his dance... wonder why

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

We'd have an even better one if Germany had won WW2

and saved a lot of money by not having to make all the modifications for disabled people.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

I have no idea what a OOzlum bird is. Must be something only the "cool" kids know about.

The Oozlum bird is a folkloric creature which, when scared, flies in ever decreasing circles until it disappears up its own ar*ehole.

"Incorrect assumptions" incorrect according to who?? You and your smiley faces??

Your posts remind me of David Brent for some reason... in particular David Brent doing his dance... wonder why

;)........................:cool:.........:p

..and in keeping with the tone of your posts: na na ne na na.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,183 ✭✭✭furiousox

and saved a lot of money by not having to make all the modifications for disabled people.:rolleyes:

ls that you tommy tiernan?? :pac:

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,264 ✭✭✭Ridley

Noffles wrote: »
    I wonder if there's a similar thread to this somewhere in the UK... "Hate the irish".. I also wonder would it be filled with as much bile...?

If there is, it'll be on a far-right, nationalist website.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

LOL here we go again. The old " I can't think of a decent response so i'll try say something really smart and use a smiley face" routine.

Yes ejmaztec , that'll really get the people on your side. The wit, the sarcasm, the downright recklessness! Please , master of the smiley face, teach me your ways.
    See, I was going to point out that you were doing the exact same thing, but I noticed you haven't included smileys. So it's cool.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

Britain never had a right to rule Ireland.

Britain does not have a right to rule Ireland.

Britain never will have a right to rule Ireland.

By their deeds you shall know them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

Rebelheart wrote: »
    Britain never had a right to rule Ireland.

Britain does not have a right to rule Ireland.

Britain never will have a right to rule Ireland.

By their deeds you shall know them.

How enigmatic... just reminds me yet again to try and move back asap.