Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Awkward Moments....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭Rossibaby

Having a huge rant to a friend about his ex who he just broke up with a few days earlier. Saying how I had to stick her and keep my mouth shut while they were going out,and that it was a great relief I could make my feelings known about what a ****ing **** she was.

Only for them to get back together later that week....

• Registered Users Posts: 273 ✭✭Elphaba

CKWPORT wrote: »
    Awkward moment: Watching that annoying school teacher singing on the apprentice last night.

Somehow I don't think it's the last awkward/cringetastic moment we'll see from her!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭themilkyone

...When you ask a fellow colleague how his holiday was only to hear the response "I wasn't on holidays,I was at my dads funeral"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

When you pass comment about the horrible yolk standing in front of you with her fat spotty back turned to you to a mate you haven't met in a while and he tells you it's his girlfriend.
    It actually happened he wasn't lying and i learned to try not to be such a judgemental asshole.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

When you hold the door open for somebody but then realise they're a little far away so then you let go and it ends up hitting them in the face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 xxxLoueeZxxx

cant believe this hasn't been said yet...
    when your sending a text to one of your friends (usually bitchin) about someone else and then u end up sending it to the person u just ripped apart in said message... cringe...

Also things that happen me regularly:

*walking into everything bins, trees, people etc

*pushing doors that say pull and vice versa

*tripping over nothing and letting out a little squeek usually in public

*occasionally snorting when i laugh

*singing in my car and realising there are other drivers and pedisterians staring at me like my mental health isn't all there

• Registered Users Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

In a busy public toilet (like at a restaurant), when you accidentally leave off a pre-poo ripper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Banter Joe

I was just heading on a night out in town and I was waiting with my friend in the queue for the atm. I see these two really large girls in the distance walking up the street towards us.

My friend says to me, "Do you see those two there?"

"Two", I say, "looks like three people at least!"

To which he replies, confused, "Oh no, it's two alright, that one on the left is the one I've been going out with for the last few weeks."

I made up a quick excuse about not having my contacts in, but still quite the awkward few minutes :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

Reading a thread on boards about the olympics in work one day.. and the song "Gold" popped into my head, Im always singing in work, so usally give it socks and sing off key to annoy the people i work with
    so had my head down and was singing out really loud, got to the really high pitched part of the song " your indestructible" , when one of the girls started calling my name, i thought she just wanted me to shut up, so i started singing even louder, then i looked up to see a customer standing there looking non impressed.. had the great joy of serving her also when all my work mates were laughing there asses off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭NotSoDumbBlonde

when your sending a text to one of your friends (usually bitchin) about someone else and then u end up sending it to the person u just ripped apart in said message... cringe...

Has been mentioned actually...

But yes, it is cringy!!!

:-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Any word errors / freudian slips are awkward! When you combine two phrases and end up saying to someone with a big grin on your face as you shake their hand: "You're You" which was meant to be "You're welcome, Thank YOU" or when you tell someone "Its a problem" instead of "Its okay/no problem". :p

Yeah, the wrong word ones are always bad. I remember being at my friends house a few years ago, I was about 17 I think, it was just me, him and his girlfriend and her sister. I think the idea was introduce me and her little sis cause they figured we might hit it off. Anyway we were sitting around having a few drinks, when my mate and his girlfriend decide they'll run down to the off license to pick up more drink. So the second they are out the door I turn to Laura to say "ye couldn't pass me my lighter there, could ye". but as I start to say it I kind of half coughed, the result was me turning to her and saying "ye cuunt!" quite loudly and then stopping dead. Now the best thing to do would have been to laugh it off and appoligise, but of course I didn't do that, I just turned and faced straight ahead and said nothing else, for ten minutes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭smileysurfer

Actually its been said a few times...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭burner2009

:D the worst thing ever is when you take your gf 2 meet ur parents for 1st time and the show her all your baby pictures

• Registered Users Posts: 733 ✭✭✭Tea-a-Maria

Watching a film with your parents and a sex scene comes on..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

I was sitting beside an old classmate on the bus. We were going through the rest of the old class, a sort of "where are they now"?
    Anyway, we got to a girl called Gina, and i went on a 5 minute rant of what a slut she was. Some of it was a bit over the top, you know when 2 lads are talking.
    Anyway, at the stop before ours, guess who gets out of the seat in front of us to get off the bus? Fecking Gina! It was the second time I seen her in about 10 years, and she heard everything we said. I wanted the ground to open up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭lemon head

Does anybody know where i can find an letter template , letting my colleagues know that i'm finishing up and i would like to invite them for a beer or two.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

lemon head wrote: »
    Does anybody know where i can find an letter template , letting my colleagues know that i'm finishing up and i would like to invite them for a beer or two.:(

Hardly an awkward moment. Unless you slept with one of their mothers and that's why you're finishing up.

• Registered Users Posts: 157 ✭✭dr.quirky

putting your finger in a dogs bum, and then posting it in a thread about awkward moments............................:eek::eek:

*cue silence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭john-joe

Buying Bogroll from a pretty girl at the checkout...

I went into supervalu yesterday and picked up 4 bogrolls for 50cent (twas an emergency) as soon as I went up to pay I was looking for the old biddy who would not blink an eye when scanning my purchase. She of course was busy yapping away to someone and so I was left with the nice teenage girl, well I ended up buying bag of cat food (don't own cat) and a newspaper (the SUN of all things) to try hide my shameful purchase.

I could see the girl looking at me and I am sure she was thinking; dirty bastrd going home to feed the pussy and **** off to the SUN paper!

I should have bought some eggs & rashers as I could have fried them on the cheeks of my face they were so red!

Never again!

God bless TESCO and the express tills, no more bogroll drama.......

• Registered Users Posts: 14,410 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Was working in the Pro Shop at a golf course couple of months back. We always answer the phone the same way everytime "Hello, Pro Shop"
    Well a friend of mine lways says - "oh, I dare you to say hello porn shop or porn stores"

one morning he says that again, the phone rings,,,I answer with a "Hello,Porn Stores"..was hoping the other person didnt hear what I had said...Turned out it was the Pro himself checking up on things..To this day, I don't know if he heard me say that or not...Quite embarrasing

• Registered Users Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

anyone else ever walked out of their house fully clothed from the waist up then only realize when your five mins from your house at use no bottoms on ??

not really awkward as i be out before anyone normally wakes up but my keys where in my bottoms and my neighbor had to let me in so i could jump the backwall....

needless to say... Never spoke to her again.

:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 gav_neonstars

Here's one...

when your in bed with a new girlfriend and she's asleep and your watching telly.. And then she lets the hugest sleep fart you ever heard.. relationship over..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

On Friday, I was walking down a street in Galway along with two other Boardsies. We were passing a pub where my friend works as a bouncer. Acting like some slick tosser, I pointed at my friend with my thumbs up and a broad cheesy grin on my face until I walked into a pole. So much for mister slick.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

This was sort of awkward for me; but moreso for the other bloke I think.

I was at this 'Tesco Metro' in town, buying some sweets for the cinema, mates were waiting by the door. I went to the self-serve thing and it decided to duplicate something I scanned, I must have scanned it twice.

The bloke who was keeping an eye on the self-checkout things came over, starting fiddling around.. I glanced around the shop and heard an "Ah shit" "You're gonna have to scan everything again mate".

He walked off sheepishly :D

And in English today, I was bored.
    Mate says to me "Tom, can I tie your foot to the chair?" "Go for it" I says.
    So he ties my shoelaces around a hook on the side of the chair. He tries to untie it.
    "Err.. I can't do it Tom"
    "What the fuck Cam?!"
    I bend down, trying to undo it. This lasts about 5 minutes.

"TOM.. WHAT THE HELL ARE YOU DOING?!" I sit up as much as possible.
    "Eh..eh.. Nothing Miss".
    "Tom, stop being a nuisance, I'll send you outside!"
    "You'll have a job.."

"Tom.. sit up!"
    "I can't miss"
    "Tom; SIT UP!"

I sit up, and in doing so; pull my mate's chair towards me and he goes flying off.

Awkward

• Registered Users Posts: 9,701 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

On Friday, I was walking down a street in Galway along with two other Boardsies. We were passing a pub where my friend works as a bouncer. Acting like some slick tosser, I pointed at my friend with my thumbs up and a broad cheesy grin on my face until I walked into a pole. So much for mister slick.
    It's what you get for being a smug bastard ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

brummytom wrote: »
    This was sort of awkward for me; but moreso for the other bloke I think.

I was at this 'Tesco Metro' in town, buying some sweets for the cinema, mates were waiting by the door. I went to the self-serve thing and it decided to duplicate something I scanned, I must have scanned it twice.

The bloke who was keeping an eye on the self-checkout things came over, starting fiddling around.. I glanced around the shop and heard an "Ah shit" "You're gonna have to scan everything again mate".

He walked off sheepishly :D
    I don't get it.

He tried to help me, but ended up fucking it up even more. It was awkward after the "Ah shit". Imagine that in a completely deadpan Pakistani accent

Well it was awkward at the time, might not translate well onto the internet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

He tried to help me, but ended up fucking it up even more. It was awkward after the "Ah shit". Imagine that in a completely deadpan Pakistani accent

Well it was awkward at the time, might not translate well onto the internet

Oh Tom! You and your crazy adventures! What won't you do?!

Get laid :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

And in English today, I was bored.
    Mate says to me "Tom, can I tie your foot to the chair?" "Go for it" I says.
    So he ties my shoelaces around a hook on the side of the chair. He tries to untie it.
    "Err.. I can't do it Tom"
    "What the fuck Cam?!"
    I bend down, trying to undo it. This lasts about 5 minutes.

"TOM.. WHAT THE HELL ARE YOU DOING?!" I sit up as much as possible.
    "Eh..eh.. Nothing Miss".
    "Tom, stop being a nuisance, I'll send you outside!"
    "You'll have a job.."

"Tom.. sit up!"
    "I can't miss"
    "Tom; SIT UP!"

I sit up, and in doing so; pull my mate's chair towards me and he goes flying off.

Awkward

Yeah right that was awkward. You were loving it ;)