Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

From couch to 10k..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Munster_Gal

Fingers crossed that I can stick to my plan as much as possible. September could be a bit of a struggle as I'm going to be in Poland for a week.... :rolleyes:
    Don't really want to run streets of a city I don't know where they speak a language that I don't! But we'll see :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭racheljev

Fair play to you. I just registered for DCM as well, and I'm registered for the race series too. It's great to have something to look forward to / be terrified of!

racheljev wrote: »
    Fair play to you. I just registered for DCM as well, and I'm registered for the race series too. It's great to have something to look forward to / be terrified of!

Ah sure we'll all help each other out and encourage each other. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭abi2007

Hey Munster Gal, I'm at roughly the same level as you. The most i've ran so far is 10k. I'm not following any plan though. I'm going to give the half marathon on sunday a go, sure if I have to walk some of it I will. I plan to do the series races and the dcm.. Just need to get the money together to pay for them. I really should get a plan though!

Good luck with the training :-)

Week 1 Day 3

3 miles - 34'14"

Ran pretty much all of it - took 20 second breathers after each set of 10mins. Treadmill is really starting to bore me now. Thinking that my 6 miles might be done on the road this weekend. Even watching a bit of TV on the treadmill isn't killing the boredom.

Just weighed myself also.....Back down to 9st 3lbs again :):):)

27th June 09 - REST DAY

28th June 09
    Week 1 Day 4

2 mile walk done in 25 mins. Had intended on it being the 6 mile run but I had two dogs with me and they were too hard to manage so I'll go back out later today and do my 6 miles

update:

6 miles 69'25"

Found this really really tough! had to take a 30 sec break at 3 miles. was tempted to give up at 4 miles but managed to push through it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Bally8

6 miles 69'25"

Snap Munster_Gal exact same time it took me to do my 6 miles today:D

lol. We rock!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

Hey Munster Gal and Bally8 you're doing great- . Was your 6 miles on the treadmill? sounds hellish to me but fairplay for keeping going!

Thanks Littlebug

Yeah I did mine on the treadmill. It was pure HELL!!!
    I'd planned to do it on the road but I'm not a fan of running or walking in the rain. :( BUT I did it and that's the important thing :)

REST DAY

Taking today as my rest day - walking like an old woman with arthritis in her hips at the moment!! :(
    3 miles now scheduled for tomorrow instead of today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

Fair play on the 6 miles. The more you push through like that the better you will get!

Week 2 Day 1

3 Miles 32'49"

Found the 3 miles tough. Legs are still a bit sore from the 6 miles on Sunday.
    Looking back over last week it looks like my 3 mile times are dropping with each session. Walked a total of 3.5 mins in the 32'49" today which I'm delighted with so overall making decent enough progress. D :D:D

Turns out I have fallen arches so have to go and get some inserts for my runners sorted before it starts causing issues. I also have slight issues with my ITB but my father is studying sport physio at the moment so I'm getting free treatment to help me out which means I don't have to give up my training :)

Getting into the habit of my training though which is great. Felt crappy yesterday evening when I didn't do my 3 miles but at least I still have plenty of time this week to get it slotted in.

Also have 2 miles of walking as well yesterday and today

Week 2 Day 2

3 miles - 31'50"

Found this quite tough again. Legs were still a little bit sore from the 6 miles at the weekend.

1.4 miles walked in and out of work again.

Its gas our times are almost the exact same. Would be cool if we could help each other at the race itself:) as it looks like we could be running side by side

Bally8 wrote: »
    Its gas our times are almost the exact same. Would be cool if we could help each other at the race itself:) as it looks like we could be running side by side

We'll have to arrange to meet up for a run? You doing the Adidas series??

REST DAY

My legs were very very tired yesterday doing my run so taking today as a rest day.

3rd July 2009
    REST DAY

My calves are still really tight today and I have a small pain in my knee so going to take today off as well. Dragging my sister out for a 3 mile run tomorrow though. :D She used to run cross country in her teens so now I'm forcing the mum of two to find the runner in herself again lol.
    Weather in galway is improving and I've no treadmill to run on up here so I'll be outdoors for my 3 tomorrow. Fingers crossed that my calves loosen out by then :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Weather in galway is improving
    *looks out window*

YOU LIE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭spurscormac

FYI - there's a 5k in Salthill tomorrow evening, with a bbq afterwards.
    Its a relatively flat course (doesn't go up threadneedle road hill, and will have people of all levels.

Mostly a fun/fundraiser run, so there for anyone to do, and would fulfil your 3 mile run requirement.

*looks out window*

YOU LIE!

It was nice out there when I said it :( lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Its a relatively flat course (doesn't go up threadneedle road hill, and will have people of all levels.

Mostly a fun/fundraiser run, so there for anyone to do, and would fulfil your 3 mile run requirement.
    If I was staying up for the weekend I'd consider doing that, but I'm going home this afternoon.

Thanks spurscormac. I'm not going to be anywhere near Salthill tomorrow :( I'm actually in Athenry and I'm on weed picking duty to earn my keep for the last few days lol.

We'll have to arrange to meet up for a run? You doing the Adidas series??

Unfortunately no, family commitments. I dont think I'll be doing another race until October maybe the 7k in Limerick. If you are ever in Limerick though I would love to meet up for a run. There seems to be a few of us from the Munster region, maybe Amadeus could be persuaded to do a mentoring session in person some time?

oops thought I had replied to this hours ago!
    Yeah people in the Limerick area meeting up sounds like a plan

Amadeus - what do you think? (I know you're gonna read this at some point ;) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

Meet?

You mean in person?

Real life interaction stuff?

But you're GIRLS!!! I can't talk to girls!!

Besides if I tried to mentor in person you might find out that those suspicions you had that I actually know nothing at all and make it all up as I go along are really well founded...

Being serious I'd have no problem with a meet but not sure I could actually be of any use to you all. I'm not a coach, mentoring is ok because I've been through a few training cycles but I wouldn't ever put myself out there as an all knowing expert.

Ah no not coaching.... Just an ole training session or two or something like that. And you can mentor us while we're at it :D

Week 2 Day 3

Disaster of a run. Could only manage 1 miles. Calves are really tight and I was running on hills and was worried about an injury. Gonna have to get my father to work on my calves tomorrow before I attempt the 7 miles.

Also have 2 miles worked up from walking as well

UNSCHEDULED REST DAY

Well this week was a total write off! I was out gardening all day yesterday - weeding, digging, raking.... Legs are sore from squatting all day.

I'm starting from week 2 again tomorrow but following the 16 week plan in the non-runners marathon guide.

Week 3 Day 1

3 Miles - 33'49"

Walked for about 4 mins in total. Legs aren't sore today thank god. Managed some stretching on the calves after along with a small bit of core.