Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭aido112

Hi everyone,

Im new to this site but have been reading posts from it over the last few weeks with great interest.
    I applied for the gardai early last year and failed the interview by 3 points i was sick!!!!!!
    Anyway, just thought i would join as i have seen people get very good advice from the site so i hope to get the same!!!!!
    Talk soon,
    Aido

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

Welcome Aido. Sorry to hear you missed out last time, put it down to experience and better luck next time! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Mun23

It's nearly February fingers and toes crossed everybody!!! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭li@mo

While I would love a recruitment drive in February I have resigned to the fact that it's very unlikely.......However if there is none before the end of May I will be gutted.

I know ya but trying to be positive, surely before May there has to be!!! Its such a long wait :(

Mun23 wrote: »
    I know ya but trying to be positive, surely before May there has to be!!! Its such a long wait :(

Id be expecting the same as last year which was the end of May with aptitude tests in June

I was told june but i think at this stage its just a waiting game wont know for def till public jobs or the papers announce it!

Aido who told u June? Never know, just have to wait!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭i-digress

It's the uncertainty that kills me. This is what I want to do, I will wait as long as it takes but I'd like to know. If recruitment is effectively frozen I think we should be told. But the government is so afraid of public backlash that it releases all information in a slow, drip-feed way. Just tell us what's going on, we can take it! ;)

I know its the waiting that is killing me too :mad: im even having dreams about recruitment at this stage its on my mind so much! They shud just give an answer, its awful! Hopefully there wil even be a recruitment drive, who knows!!! Im the same as u ill keep tryin til I get there but if I had an answer wud go travelling or somethin for a bit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭jypo

Hi all, new to boards, dying to get in to the guards this year and the wait for the next recruit is getting painful at this stage, anybody have any updates(rumors) on when the next recruitment drive will be and what numbers will be going for it in light of the recession? Also i have heard that trainees with children and mortgage are accommodated on station placement's , is there any truth in that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 The Skipper

Did ye all apply last year or 2 years ago???

I should have applied last may, but stupidly decided to wait until the next recruitment drive...why oh why did I do that! :rolleyes: On the bright side it gives me time to prepare. I'm trying to get my fitness levels up and am doing some community work. Other than that am checking boards.ie and the newspapers daily for a glimmer of hope that I will be able to apply this year. The wait is hard, but its put in perspective for me by the amount of people getting laid off and losing their houses. My career may be being delayed but there are worse things happening out there.

I was told june by a sgt. in the local station but he is known to be quiet the spoof!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 trickysituation

I think they were supposed to recruit in Feb, but there will probably be one in the next few months, coz when i was looking at the courses they do it originally said feb and then it was changed to "the coming months." It might be wrong but they have to recruit once a year anyway. Lets just hope its not the end of the year!

I heard they're not cutting public sector wages. That may mean they'll cut recruitment to make up the difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 DAK69

Was think about joining the garda but was wondering if it is hard to get into phase 1 when they start recruiting, or even if they are recruiting in 2009.
    I meet all the requirements execpt i have to get my irish or secound language. but think that will only take a few months. But there no point doing it if it really hard to get into the whole process.
    this would be my 1st time applying but would people who tryed before get in ahead of me or is it a level playing field.

DAK69 wrote: »
    Was think about joining the garda but was wondering if it is hard to get into phase 1 when they start recruiting, or even if they are recruiting in 2009.
    I meet all the requirements execpt i have to get my irish or secound language. but think that will only take a few months. But there no point doing it if it really hard to get into the whole process.
    this would be my 1st time applying but would people who tryed before get in ahead of me or is it a level playing field.

Nope its a playing field, if u really wanted to join now is the best time to do the other language coz were in for a long wait!!! i found it hard ive failed the aptitude tests a number of times,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 smufett

God the wait is unbearably… Would anyone suggest doing a Garda Home Study Course?? €199?

Saw it on www.gardaentry.com

I hear you! When you click on this topic in the garda recruitment forum 'An Garda Siochana recruit often' comes up. I think its mocking me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭jt123456

DAK69 wrote: »
    But there no point doing it if it really hard to get into the whole process.

There's you first fault. If your not comitted and serious about it then your already one step behind everyone else. Its called a competition for a reason and if you are the right candidate they are looking for then you will get in no problem.

Was anybody listening to the Dáil proceedings today?

Do any of the cuts announced affect Garda recruitment?

They can't help but effect it. We're gonna be waiting a looong time. But with everything else that's happening in the economy I can't feel too hard done by. How does everyone else feel? Has the government levy and long wait put anybody off?

They are never going to recruit haha! do they not have to recruit at least once a year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

i-digress wrote: »
    How does everyone else feel? Has the government levy and long wait put anybody off?

Definitely hasn't put me off! I know what I want to do, and I'm willing to wait for my chance.:)

Def wont put me off at all i think they do have to recruit once a year not positive tho??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 conor46

aido112 wrote: »
    Def wont put me off at all i think they do have to recruit once a year not positive tho??

took this from gardaentry website...

Newsflash: The Public Appointments Service have communicated to us that the next Garda Trainee Recruitment will take place over the next few months.
    Future Garda Trainee applicants should avail of this time to study our superior Home Study Aptitude Test course.

....wouldnt that mean there will be a drive for new applicants in coming months?? or have i missed something?

conor46 wrote: »

Newsflash: The Public Appointments Service have communicated to us that the next Garda Trainee Recruitment will take place over the next few months.
    Future Garda Trainee applicants should avail of this time to study our superior Home Study Aptitude Test course.

....wouldnt that mean there will be a drive for new applicants in coming months?? or have i missed something?

They had feb up a few months ago!!!!! And now they have changed it, thats y i think there was supposed to be one but they changed it coz the country is broke!

God wud they just name a month!!! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Geansai

conor46 wrote: »

To be fair, they are a business trying to sell training courses. Of course they are going to say its coming soon!!!