If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

VW Golf MK6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,536 ✭✭✭✭L-M

DJ Hafez wrote: »
    Ones I saw were white. But that was only the little screen showing u what door was open

Ugh, the one thing i loved about Vw's. I must fly in tomorrow and have a look, i think they're open for a few hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,748 ✭✭✭Do-more

DJ Hafez wrote: »
    metallica paint etc etc

Is that the one with the heavy metal flakes? :D

invest4deepvalue.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭.Longshanks.

I'd assume/hope so? Oh god if it doesn't, such a pity.

Fair enough the blue lights in the dash looked cool, but I can't belive it would be a deciding factor if buying the car :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭DJ Hafez

Do-more wrote: »
    Is that the one with the heavy metal flakes? :D

Haha, was listening to either Iron maiden or Metallica when i wrote that, so subconsciously it must have come through :P

Fair enough the blue lights in the dash looked cool, but I can't belive it would be a deciding factor if buying the car :(

It wouldn't at all. I and nearly everyone i know with a Vw loves them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,559 ✭✭✭JoeA3

The blue dash lights are no more. Both the Scirocco and new Golf have Audi-style white back-lighting. A pity IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 danielperkins20

Hi there i have 06 Golf MK5 1.9 TDI, sunroof,fogs,nice alloys and so on car in great condition and only 26,000 Kilometres on clock anyways bought it for €32,500...... went to get price on my car for new MK6 2.0 TDI 110 BHP firstly got quote from Belgard motors €13,500 which i laughed at then i went down to Sinnot Autos (whom which i bought my current car) in Wicklow and got offered 16,000.

Just wondering does anyone have any advice or info on this matter because obviously i know trade in's have taken a hit but seriously that much!!! Obviously Belgard are taking the p**s i know that but think i'll go aroufn few more garages but if trade in is not decent i think i'll give the MK6 a miss after all the Garages must be desperate to sell cars cause nobody is buying at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭napapa

new Golf comfortline 2.0 tdi
    not bad eh?but not stunning:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

napapa wrote: »
    new Golf comfortline 2.0 tdi
    not bad eh?but not stunning:rolleyes:

looks almost the exact same as the mkiv golf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,697 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Hi there i have 06 Golf MK5 1.9 TDI, sunroof,fogs,nice alloys and so on car in great condition and only 26,000 Kilometres on clock anyways bought it for €32,500...... went to get price on my car for new MK6 2.0 TDI 110 BHP firstly got quote from Belgard motors €13,500 which i laughed at then i went down to Sinnot Autos (whom which i bought my current car) in Wicklow and got offered 16,000.

Just wondering does anyone have any advice or info on this matter because obviously i know trade in's have taken a hit but seriously that much!!! Obviously Belgard are taking the p**s i know that but think i'll go aroufn few more garages but if trade in is not decent i think i'll give the MK6 a miss after all the Garages must be desperate to sell cars cause nobody is buying at the moment.

As has been discussed in other threads on here recently. The cost to buy your car new back in July decreased dramatically due to the changes in the VRT system. This in turn reduced the resale value of second hand similar models.

This factor plus the fact that nobody is buying at the moment so forecourts are jammed full of used cars, chances are these garages have plenty of cars like yours that they cannot sell so taking another one in may not make sense. They are giving you the trade-in value of a 3 year old Golf and are allowing for the car to be potentially sitting on their forecourt for a long time.

Also the extras you paid for are worthless now, they may make the car easier to sell but they have little or no monetory value on a used car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭lafors

bazz26 wrote: »
    As has been discussed in other threads on here recently. The cost to buy your car new back in July decreased dramatically due to the changes in the VRT system. This in turn reduced the resale value of second hand similar models.

This factor plus the fact that nobody is buying at the moment so forecourts are jammed full of used cars, chances are these garages have plenty of cars like yours that they cannot sell so taking another one in may not make sense. They are giving you the trade-in value of a 3 year old Golf and are allowing for the car to be potentially sitting on their forecourt for a long time.

Also the extras you paid for are worthless now, they may make the car easier to sell but they have little or no monetory value on a used car.

So to sum up bazz (and the lot of other threads on the same subject)......
    Dealers don't want your car so will offer a paltry sum, so sell the car privately for a lot less than you think its worth or hold on to it until its dead, Your Decision!

Its a sh*te situation to be in, but put it this way, there are a lot of people in cars a couple of years older than yours who are in a worse position. I'm in the same position as you with a late 06 car thats going to probably end up selling for 2k less that I wanted, its terrible to have to do it, but thats the price we've to pay for wanting to upgrade.

Back on topic, anyone know when the full price list for the Golf in Ireland will be available online? Or does anyone have a copy they can post up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

bazz26 wrote: »

Yep, bang on. This post should be made a sticky. Also it should be noted that the original poster was complaining that he was only offered €16k for his Golf more or less giving out about dealers. On the flip side you'd have someone else complaining if the dealer offered daniel something like €20k for his Golf and advertised it at €21k, saying that he could have a similar one in from the UK for €16k.
    Now I've no sympathy for dealers as they have been reefing us for years, but something has to be done. You either reef the used car buyer and offer the seller of their one owner car a reasonable price or you reef the seller of the one owner car and offer the used car buyer a reasonable price. Either way someone suffers.
    While everyone is right to buy a car from where ever they find cheapest, (UK typically), one of two things are the only possibility of bringing the car market back to Ireland. Either get rid of VRT completely and suffer the massive loss on all 2nd hand cars or increase the cost of VRT on used imports to the point where it's uneconomical to bring one in. I'd vote for option 1. Increase fuel tax to compensate.

Thanks for the reply lads, yeah seems a no win situation i'm not sure whether to bother even goign to others dealers i can't imagine i'd get much more than 16 anyways i might just knock it on the head.

I have the Highline price list:

2.0 TDI 3 DR M5F 110HP :€26,165
    1.4 TSI 3 DR M6F 122HP :€26,260
    2.0 TDI 5 DR M5F 110HP :€27,055 (i'd go for this one)
    1.4 TSI 3 DR D7F 122HP :€27,075
    1.4 TSI 5 DR M6F 122HP :€27,205
    2.0 TDI 3 DR M5F 110A :€27,540
    1.4 TSI 5 DR D7F 122HP :€27,980
    1.4 TSI 3 DR M6F 160HP :€27,840
    2.0 TDI 5 DR M5F 100A :€28,445
    1.4 TSI 3 DR D7F 160HP :€28,585
    1.4 TSI 5 DR M6F 160HP :€28,790
    2.0 TDI 3 DR M6F 140HP :€29,370
    1.4 TSI 5 DR D7F 160HP :€29,490
    2.0 TDI 5 DR M6F 140HP :€30,275
    2.0 TDI 3 DR D6F 140HP :€32,680
    2.0 TDI 5 DR D6F 140HP :€33,625

Obviously add delivery and a metallic colour onto that straight away apparantly the extras price list hasn't been released over here yet i've asked 2 garages about it.

Thanks for the reply lads, yeah seems a no win situation i'm not sure whether to bother even goign to others dealers i can't imagine i'd get much more than 16 anyways i might just knock it on the head.

There is a win situation here, unless your current car is falling apart why not just hold on to it longer?

Yup thats true which is what i'll probably do, i'd be very curious to know exactly how much the VW dealers are buying in the cars for?? I mean in regards to how much their marking up the price, actually prob make me sick if i knew ha ha

Actually the mark up on new cars is not as generous as is common thought but it varies from brand to brand.

So obviously thats why the garages are trying to make as much money from your trade in as possbile, all about profit i suppose, i delighted things have slowed for them they've been caining it and ripping us off for years.Karma!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Puncell

samsemtex wrote: »
    Its yet another in an incredibly long line of dull looking golfs. The ultimate in boring cars as far as im concerned.

What do you drive then Mr. Perfect!!!!

samsemtex wrote: »
    Its not ugly, but there is not one interesting design feature on that car. Not a single one. Interior looks quite nice alright.

BORING.

its fxxxn lovely....

Biro wrote: »
    I'd be very surprised if that TDi manages to get into the €100 bracket.

me too.Ive a 1.9TDI on neew tax system and its 290 to tax.
    theres a new 1.6 TDI which wil be available here after march, maybe thats the one in the €100 tax bracket.

More than 15% of your posts, one ofter the other. It doesn't hurt to do it all in one post:D

More than 15% of your posts, one ofter the other. It doesn't hurt to do it all in one post

BLAAA BLAAA BLAAAAA:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Typically in the UK you will see a 30% year on year drop in value from new. That would put Belgard around spot on and Sinnot pricing themselves out of the resale market for your car as it could be got elsewhere for less. I know which one I'd do business with, Belgard, because they've got the fiscal sense not to offer a price more than the market can bare for a car that's flooding the market. Hogans in Limerick have at least 12 '08 Golfs (admittedly not TDI) on the lot between €17.5-€19k.

Put bluntly, Belgard will be there to do business with in 3-4 years, if Sinnots offer trade in like that, they won't, and you can forget aftersales too if they go belly up.

Boring Volkswagen golf. I mean how could they make such an ugly heap of crap? O.K inside looks better than the old one. And Don't forget the reliability of volkswagens has hit an all time low! If you can't afford to pay off the golf before the Really useless two year warranty expires, then don't buy it. Trust me! Wait at least two years to see if the reliability has improved. And why buy a TDI they are so much more expensive. The TDI is 4k more expensive than the 160ps TSI with 7speed dsg. Now the dsg is a fantastic autobox Really and 10 out of 10 for that! But It makes much more economic sense if buying new to get the TSI with 7 speed dsg. You would have to drive for probably well over 100000k miles to make up the difference in purchase price between the TDI And TSI. And remember the TDI will not get over 30mpg more in town anyway and how many miles do people really do on the open road to justify a TDI. And remember the partical filter on new diesels will give you trouble if you do not do a lot of miles as it needs to clean the filter and it only does it at speed and problems with short driving are not covered under warranty. Buying 2nd hand diesels on the other hand makes more sense. And I think if I was buying new I would buy a hyundai I30 because it is cheaper comes With much more kit has a good warranty and best of all the 1.6 diesel is chain cam! The new Golf does NOT even come with alloys as standard only with the highline spec. So there is no way I would buy a miserable golf. DO people actually think that the premium prices of Vw's are worth it these days? You sure don't get premium quality thats for sure! As I have had bad trouble with VW's I would never touch another. Remember if you buy one make sure and flog it before the warranty is up, It will cost you dearly to buy a VW every two years lol. Sorry for the long post folks I just had to let it out of my system!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭PaulKK

Blah blah blah...

First off, ever hear of paragraphs?
    Boring Volkswagen golf. I mean how could they make such an ugly heap of crap?

In YOUR opinion, I, and I suspect the vast majority of the general motoring public, do not think it is ugly at all. Its by no means styled like a lambo, but it certainly isn't ugly. Last time I checked, most family hatchbacks and saloons are conservatively styled, whats wrong with that? Its not a track racer, its for bringing the kids to school in etc. (unless its a GTI :D)

And Don't forget the reliability of volkswagens has hit an all time low! If you can't afford to pay off the golf before the Really useless two year warranty expires, then don't buy it. Trust me! Wait at least two years to see if the reliability has improved.

I really hate this shite being thrown around on here. VWs are average for reliability, no more or less. From the crap that most VW haters spout you'd swear the car was going to implode after 6 months. Average reliability means its pretty reliable. See here: http://www.whatcar.com/NonCar/13105544635.jpg
    VW is ranked 15th out of 30, above the BMWs and Fords which most are so quick to suggest.

I'm driving a 98 TDI for the last 2 years and have put 60K on it with just oil and filter changes and a balljoint replaced.
    My GF is driving an 04 MK5 and putting up 300 miles a week on it for the last year with no trouble at all.

And why buy a TDI they are so much more expensive.

Ahhh, because you get that premium back when you sell it?? And because you get far superior economy and lower tax?
    The TDI is 4k more expensive than the 160ps TSI with 7speed dsg.

And?? Without DSG the TSI 160 and TDI 140 are roughly the same price? Whats your point, not everyone wants DSG!!
    And remember the TDI will not get over 30mpg more in town anyway and how many miles do people really do on the open road to justify a TDI.

And what will the TSI get around town if the TDI is getting 30mpg? Far less, and therefore a redundant point IMO.
    There are many people doing high mileage "on the open road". I am one of them, I do 400+ miles a week at the moment. Not everyone spends all of their time driving around a city.
    Remember if you buy one make sure and flog it before the warranty is up, It will cost you dearly to buy a VW every two years lol.

So its going to fall apart after two years? Right so.

I've never read such crap in my life. Granted they are a premium priced car, but so what? If people are willing to pay that for their car they are entitled to, and will get a lot of it back come resale time (current market conditions aside).

Its ridiculous the amount of brand bashing that goes on here.
    I could come on and say "why buy a 3 series when a mondeo is cheaper"?
    Nobody mentions the problems with BMWs (turbos etc) and even Toyotas aren't invincible these days (e.g Auris).

Same principal, but I'd get flamed for saying it.

If people want premium, let them buy premium.

I think your username is rather appropriate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭crocro

And why buy a TDI they are so much more expensive.
    I had to price these cars (diesel vs petrol golf VI) recently for a fleet replacement for my company. The diesel worked out cheaper than the even the base model based on 20,000 km/year. The calculation included depreciation, fuel costs, motor tax and purchase price. This is despite the fact that the initial list price of the diesel is 2500 more than the petrol.

DSG is a very nice option but it's a luxury for a fleet car and a small proportion of golfs sold up to now have been automatics.

I would worry about the DPF/ short journeys problem and just hope that this has been fixed on the new engines.

PaullKK the vast majority of the motoring public do not drive a Golf. And why do you try insult me by saying my name suits me? do you speak like that to other fourm members? Did it make you feel better? You and your girlfriend drive a vw, big deal, I mean who cares? You just don't like me talking bad about vw because you like vw. If you like them that's good for you. If you are prepared to pay higher prices for an average quality car then that's good for you.

new paragraph you happy now?

I will say 1 thing good about the new golf is the new common rail TDI is a gem of an engine, it is so quiet compared to the older pd engines. My brother has it in the new A4.

PaullKK the vast majority of the motoring public do not drive a Golf. And why do you try insult me by saying my name suits me? do you speak like that to other fourm members? Did it make you feel better? You and your girlfriend drive a vw, big deal, I mean who cares? You just don't like me talking bad about vw because you like vw. If you like them that's good for you. If you are prepared to pay higher prices for an average quality car then that's good for you.

new paragraph you happy now?

I will say 1 thing good about the new golf is the new common rail TDI is a gem of an engine, it is so quiet compared to the older pd engines. My brother has it in the new A4.

Could of done with a few more paragraph's:P

crocro wrote: »
    I had to price these cars (diesel vs petrol golf VI) recently for a fleet replacement for my company. The diesel worked out cheaper than the even the base model based on 20,000 km/year. The calculation included depreciation, fuel costs, motor tax and purchase price. This is despite the fact that the initial list price of the diesel is 2500 more than the petrol.

DSG is a very nice option but it's a luxury for a fleet car and a small proportion of golfs sold up to now have been automatics.

I would worry about the DPF/ short journeys problem and just hope that this has been fixed on the new engines.

2500 more to buy. So if the TSI gets 48 on the combined and the TDI gets 57. That's say 10mpg more for the diesel, How many miles would you have to drive to make up the difference in the purchase price at 10 mpg? Depreciation aside?

Diesel is for drivers who drive big mileage and they do not like short journeys as they are most economical when warmed up and they do take much longer to warm up than petrol. And then the dpf people should just be warned about them. People will be too tempted to buy diesel because of the lower tax. And that's not so good for nox emissions and partical matter that comes from most diesels in out towns and cities. And dpf problems.

The dsg will eventually change peoples impression of automatics as being slow, thirsty and not fun to drive. Ford have powershift same really as dsg. Fiat to get it by 2010.

The TSI with dsg makes much more sense buying new especially if you do less than 20k miles a year. The dsg of course is what makes the TSI so good emissions wise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭E92

DSG works in diesels extremely well.

The petrols have an even better version of DSG so I can only imagine how good it is.

Especially as in the Golf it puts the 1.4 TSI in VRT band B while the manual counterpart is in VRT band C.

I agree with Mad_Lad in that 1.4 TSI is the only option here, especially with the DSG box.

With the new VRT laws and everything it really is a smart choice for those who want to spend a bit more on their Golf.

At the lower end of the scale that antiquated 1.4 80 bhp engine is still being offered, and those newer TDIs are a masssive improvement on the PD lumps so it would have to be the 2.0 TDI 110 for those on a tighter budget.

I'm delighted to see that both air-conditioning and ESP are standard on every Golf sold here, even though it does make the new car rather expensive.

Fair play to VW for being the first in the class to do this for Irish buyers.