Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Registered Users Posts: 23 www.bored.ie

does anybody know when the next garda recruitment will take place?
    thanks

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Hey guys, Interested in applying for the Guards. Sitting my leaving cert this year, so Im wondering what kinda results do I need in my subjects?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭Haz33

R_H_C_P wrote: »
    Hey guys, Interested in applying for the Guards. Sitting my leaving cert this year, so Im wondering what kinda results do I need in my subjects?

Go to the publicjobs.ie website. Go to current campaigns then garda trainee and download the "notes for candidates". This contains all you need to know including exam requirements. Hope this helps!

does anybody know when the next garda recruitment will take place?
    thanks

Unfortunately no one only public appointments and the Gardai know the answer. The last one was May '08 so there may be one before the end of year. Register with publicjobs.ie and keep your ear to the ground is all I can tell you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 giggsy99

Hi guys, just did L.C., applying for Gardaí at next available opportunity.
    Have the public jobs alert thing sorted too, but just looking for advice from previous applicants, experiences etc.

Any thoughts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Darraggh

They only look for recruits when they need them. They could take in recruits 5 times in one yr and they may not need more till 5 years dwn the line.

Not tryin to ruin your life plan or dreams but every garda i know would tell you not to go straight into the Gardaí frm school. You should go and be dat 19 yr old lad stumblin around town lookin for the closest Kebab shop then bein the 19 yr old sittin in your squad car straight out of templemore wit the law book on your lap that has book sense and is ready to bring da lad in for drunk in a public place....

Its all about life experience mixed in with street sense and common sense and in the end it will make you a better Garda and by the time you are 21/23 you will be sure that the job is for you and hopefully you would have had some craic in between then without the Garda tag and the responsibilities and expectations that come wit it.

But then again theres no harm in just applyin and decidin later...............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

Darraggh wrote: »
    They only look for recruits when they need them. They could take in recruits 5 times in one yr and they may not need more till 5 years dwn the line.

Not tryin to ruin your life plan or dreams but every garda i know would tell you not to go straight into the Gardaí frm school. You should go and be dat 19 yr old lad stumblin around town lookin for the closest Kebab shop then bein the 19 yr old sittin in your squad car straight out of templemore wit the law book on your lap that has book sense and is ready to bring da lad in for drunk in a public place....

Its all about life experience mixed in with street sense and common sense and in the end it will make you a better Garda and by the time you are 21/23 you will be sure that the job is for you and hopefully you would have had some craic in between then without the Garda tag and the responsibilities and expectations that come wit it.

But then again theres no harm in just applyin and decidin later...............

id agree a garda told me that they dont want 18-19 year olds that they need someone with a year or two of life under their belts

now when i did my lc i would have disagreed, but now i agree if i was doing the lc again, i would have done a trade,become qualified then apply and have the trade for nixers! but do something for at least a year first

im doing a degree in computer science at the moment, going into 3rd year now in September, I want to complete the degree which has 2 years left and then take a year off to go to thailand/australia and then come back and apply for the gardaí, this means i will be 23/24 applying is this too late or ok? thanks for any help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

im doing a degree in computer science at the moment, going into 3rd year now in September, I want to complete the degree which has 2 years left and then take a year off to go to thailand/australia and then come back and apply for the gardaí, this means i will be 23/24 applying is this too late or ok? thanks for any help

Age limit is 35.

And you are dead right doing your own thing before applying.

thanks alot for putting my mind at a bit of ease ojewriej

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭Mark63

Smiling at you asking if 23/24 is too old!! There are enough us around 30 only applying so definitely 23/24 isn't too old. Think it is good to have some life experience before going into this job - be that working, college, travelling whatever.

There is a court case going on about people challenging the upper age limit at 35 but think there has to be some upper age myself.

Weird to think that a few years ago you had to be under 26 to join. If that rule was stil in there would be alot fewer applying and some of the people starting in August wouldn't be.

As the other posters said Gardai that I've met say they prefer people coming in a few years older so no worries about being 23/24.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Audi2008

Hi Guys does anyone know when the next Campaign is for the Guards i would be very interested?? I would be very grateful if ye would get back to me as i don't know how this works...

Thanks!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

Audi2008 wrote: »
    Hi Guys does anyone know when the next Campaign is for the Guards i would be very interested?? I would be very grateful if ye would get back to me as i don't know how this works...

Thanks!!!

Hi Audi2008.
    You have to register on the Public Jobs website and set up an alert for when the next campaign is on. Then they will either email or txt you (depending on your preference) and let you know when one is about to start and how to go about applying. Then you will be called for Stage 1, which is aptitude test.
    I don't know when the next one will be, but I think there are rumours of October/ November. Hope that helps.

Hey thanx Blue Bell... i have registered and all that and really want it to be so much sooner than October/November ha ha lol(",)

Are you a member or you just going joining like me??? (If you dnt mind me askn)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,450 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Hey thanx Blue Bell... i have registered and all that and really want it to be so much sooner than October/November ha ha lol(",)

Hehehehe, that impatience is gonna drive you mad. Get ready for plenty of waiting!!!!!!

I'm a wannabe member :D
    Hahaha I have the aptitude passed, and I'm waiting on my interview at the moment so I've still a long road to go.

Charlie Croker is right, the majority of the process seems to be waiting, so get used to it. :)
    If (like me) you need something to do in the meantime, you can start practicing for your aptitude test. Have a look on the public jobs site for practice material, and at least when it does come around you'll know it inside out. There's alot of info on here aswel thanks to all the kind people on here who post their knowledge and experience, so your best bet is to get really familiar with the whole thing.

Does anyone have an idea when the next campaign is for joining the guards????:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 becks4bucks

nobody knows for sure audi2008 but ur looking at oct/nov this year - thats the word going around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭keith101

Hi ive been reading a few posts and realised there is a few people like me, that is..... that i have only done the L.C last june and im only 19.. from what i can gather the feedback has been negative...(there not looking for people straight out of school)... so does anyone think that someone straight out school has no chance of getting in for at least another few years..

keith101 wrote: »
    Hi ive been reading a few posts and realised there is a few people like me, that is..... that i have only done the L.C last june and im only 19.. from what i can gather the feedback has been negative...(there not looking for people straight out of school)... so does anyone think that someone straight out school has no chance of getting in for at least another few years..

It's not that they wont take people straight out of school, it's more that they would prefer people a little older and with some work and life experience.
    This doesn't mean you have no chance but I reckon it means it would be harder to convince them at interview. Obviously they will take the right candidates when they see them, regardless of age.
    It is well worth your while applying as, if you dont get in this time it will stand to you next time and will show commitment etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭li@mo

I'm only 19 but have spent 2 years in college. (just gone 17 doing the leaving cert)
    I'm halfway through my 4 year degree and have toyed with the idea of joining the Gardai.
    In fact if i had been 18 when I did the leaving cert I would certainly have applied.
    I'm condidering applying for the next campaign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭keith101

im 19 ill be twenty in jan so i dont think im that young so ill def be applying... if hopefully i find out next week i pass irish ha ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

keith101 wrote: »
    so does anyone think that someone straight out school has no chance of getting in for at least another few years..

There is a 19 year old boardsie starting with us tomorrow.

I do agree with what Haz is saying though.

Hey im 21 and will be 22 in march nxt yr!! I just finished my 3rd year in colg now, 1 more year to go and il be finished....

But my Question is am i to young to join??? what do you think???

AND

Also I never did Irish in school i was exempt from Irish Because i wasnt born in Ireland i moved here 11 years ago and was told i was exempt from Irish so i never had to go threw Irish??? Im just worried will this affect my chances in beingn picked:( What Do You Think???

So if anyone could help me out id be very gratefull.....

Hey im 21 and will be 22 in march nxt yr!! I just finished my 3rd year in colg now, 1 more year to go and il be finished....

But my Question is am i to young to join??? what do you think???

AND

Also I never did Irish in school i was exempt from Irish Because i wasnt born in Ireland i moved here 11 years ago and was told i was exempt from Irish so i never had to go threw Irish??? Im just worried will this affect my chances in beingn picked:( What Do You Think???

So if anyone could help me out id be very gratefull.....

Educational requirements- you don't need to have passed Irish, but you will need English instead...

(from garda webside http://www.garda.ie/faq.html#R2 )

What are the educational requirements ?

Candidate must have obtained, in the Leaving Certificate Examination:

(a) A grade not lower than B3 at Foundation Level or D3 at another level in Mathematics, and

(b) A qualifying grade in two languages, one of which must be English or Irish, as follows:

English: a grade not lower that D3 at Ordinary Level,

Irish : a grade not lower than C3 at Foundation Level or D3 at another level,

Other language : a grade not lower than D3 at Ordinary Level, and

(c) A grade not lower than D3 at Ordinary Level, in not less than two other subjects

Or

The Merit Grade in the Applied Leaving Certificate,

Or

Like Grades in another examination, which, in the opinion of the Minister for Justice, Equality& Law Reform, is not of a lower standard than the above.

Also, no you're not too young to join. 18 is the minimum age, but they tend to lean more towards people with some life experience but there aren't any rules on this. Hope that helps :)

Thanks Blue Belle:D

So Does that mean i don't need Irish at all??? Cause i have English and also French in my Leaving Cert:)

Thanks Blue Belle:D

So Does that mean i don't need Irish at all??? Cause i have English and also French in my Leaving Cert:)

You dont need it now once you have English and one other language, but you will have to study Irish in Templemore if you get it.

Thanks Blue Belle that really eased my mind:D

Can i ask you this??? You don't have to answer but are you training?? or have you passed threw already??:)

Thanks Blue Belle that really eased my mind:D

Can i ask you this??? You don't have to answer but are you training?? or have you passed threw already??:)

I'm in the midst of the recruitment process, waiting for my interview. I've a long way to go still unfortunately.

Blue belle.....

What was the aptitude test like??? was it hard??? did you get much time to do it??? Is dare anywhere i could get a sample aptitude test just to see what it is like?:)